Premiership Coach 2008 - now with pictures and stuff

Re: Premiership Coach 2008

Consider the amount of money they have to produce it and how difficult it would be to base a match engine on a sport as complex as AFL and you've got a recipe for disappointment. I hope I'm wrong because just by looking at some of the features it looks like a great game but I just can't believe that it would be an easy task to simulate a game of aussie rules.

If youre going to be negative, why dont you just f**k off.

Aussie rules is the hardest sport to portray in video games on both simple management games and the big AFL games. Just too much going on off ball. They'd have to have talented people like they have behind Football Manager (which has a pretty big budget and is a high selling game) to make a great in depth game.

You idiot.

That was a pretty honest post and I agree, aussie rules is very very complex and would be very difficult to turn into a video game as you have seen already.

Not everyone has to hold hands and give each other kissy poos.

You idiot.

That was a pretty honest post and I agree, aussie rules is very very complex and would be very difficult to turn into a video game as you have seen already.

Not everyone has to hold hands and give each other kissy poos.
Well mate, I dont see you trying to make one, Give AD and the guys some credit aye...

I was on their side for a few months, and the work theyre doing is not easy.

Well mate, I dont see you trying to make one, Give AD and the guys some credit aye...

Bit touchy aren't we?

As I said..... Looks like it has some great features and I'm sure the guys working on it ARE doing a fantastic job, in fact I'm pretty sure what I highlighted is the fact that their job is not easy. I was just commenting that given how many gripes people have with the FM match engine (which is probably produced by hundreds of people, backed with millions of dollars) that a complex aussie rules match engine produced on a limited budget may be a bit of a dissapointment to some. If you can't handle someone offering up an honest opinion then maybe you should **** off.

Bit touchy aren't we?

As I said..... Looks like it has some great features and I'm sure the guys working on it ARE doing a fantastic job, in fact I'm pretty sure what I highlighted is the fact that their job is not easy. I was just commenting that given how many gripes people have with the FM match engine (which is probably produced by hundreds of people, backed with millions of dollars) that a complex aussie rules match engine produced on a limited budget may be a bit of a dissapointment to some. If you can't handle someone offering up an honest opinion then maybe you should **** off.

Pretty simple then really, keep your money to yourself.

I wouldnt bother with a match engine yet.

Text commentry is fine, (was fine for the first 10 installments of ChampMan) As long as you have realistic stats/attributes, drafts/trading/contracts and results.

Then it will be the addictive game we want.

They might be biting off more than they can chew with a 2D engine in the first version of the game.

But with just text commentary and all the rest it really would be no different to TAR or FFFX. I personally prefer the idea of the match engine and considering how much time they have spent making this I reckon it will work well :thumbsu:

Text commentry is fine, (was fine for the first 10 installments of ChampMan) As long as you have realistic stats/attributes, drafts/trading/contracts and results.

Yep, I agree, get the basics perfect first, then work on some sort of game engine.

They might be biting off more than they can chew with a 2D engine in the first version of the game.

Game engine and graphics are different things......

Pretty simple then really, keep your money to yourself.

Maybe I will, maybe I won't. I'll probably wait until I hear some feedback about it first but I'll tell you what I will do...... In the meantime I'll freely offer up my thoughts and opinions on it without being told to **** off.

It's such a hard thing to do, to produce a match engine for an Aussie Rules game, if they get it right, and they can convert that into smooth match graphics it'll be a fantastic game!

On the other hand. Dots that do stupid things frustrate the hell out of me. Darn GLB, FM and CM!

What??
I am right behind it and always have been, I would love to see a decent management game released and I would pay for it too. No need to menstruate all over us.

Game engine and graphics are different things......

Even the awesome text games of CM had a game engine, it's not just random text flashing up on screen.... surely it needs to be text based to start with.

I don't have a problem with it as the text CM/FM games were probably better than the 2D's!

G'day Guys,

Hadn't checked this thread out in a while, but just came across it in some spare time at work.

For those who have commented on the matchday engine with concerns, let me assure you that it will be done, and done properly in this version before we release. No official release date is set at this stage :)

I understand people saying "just release it without the matchday", "text based is fine", "we want the game asap" - I waited 20 odd years for someone to create this game before i decided to make it myself.
Keep in mind, first and foremost that this is a game that I want to play myself. Every feature that I've committed to including in the game, I'm positive that I can implement to the high standard that i expect, and that includes the realtime matchday. Incidentally, it is incredibly complex - easily the most challenging thing I've ever worked on, and I'm a Software Engineer working on an enterprise level product which is used by many of the worlds largest corperations.

Although there are features that I'd like to add, but have left for later versions I'm determined that every feature in the game be implemented properly. If that means pushing the release date back, then so be it.

As frustrating as some people will find that, it's one of the main reasons that some of the games you have already played disapoint you. Studios work to budgets and release dates then release half arse products to meet deadlines. I'm completely unconstrained by everything but my own time, which leaves me free to prioritise quality over deadline. Bad news for those of you in a hurry - great news for those of you waiting for a quality footy game.

Lastly, I've seen comments around the place with scepticism about a "home made" game, and the possible quality they could expect Vs a studio game with a budget and full development team. That's a fair point, and one that I'd probably make myself if the roles were reversed. Keep in mind though, that we have all of the technology, know-how and experience that they do - just less manpower. :)

Cheers
Ad

Any comments are welcome at:

http://forum.premiership-coach.com

Premiership Coach 2008 - now with pictures and stuff