Dec 4, 2008
WA
Team Naitanui
Pros
Swift - Composed and effective
Masten - Hard to place him I could of put him as con due to his effectiveness, but he found a lot of the ball and showed some good signs.
Kerr - By far the most classiest player on the field.
Spangher - Great attack of the ball, might be replacing Wilkes shortly.
Cockie - Possible BOG. Found the ball had the pace to get away and dispose effectively unlike others ¬_¬
Nickoski - My vote for BOG 28d and was pretty effective, still did some woeful handballs.

Cons
Hurn - Was expecting a lot more from him but he struggled kicking out and disposing in general, when he got the ball he looked flat footed
Ball Movement - Huge issue here it was like the plan was if we can't handball it kick it as far and high as you can to a group of Collingwood players.
Forward structure - Or lack of one.
Injuries - Mackenzie (shoulder) and McGinnity (broken jaw), we didn't need that.

I could mention more crap players but there is no need.

Other Notes-
I was also going to mention being out coached but I don't think JW ever had any intention on changing things to get a win. Wasn't really an issue as of yet.

I also though McGinnity showed a bit before being injured, huge shame.

I reckon there's a tendency to over-analyse pre-seasons games, purely because it's the first footy we've seen for six months.

Everyone is so hungry for information that they read too much into it.

Chillax.

We've always been shit pre-season. Even when we were a top four side.

And tonight, we were missing 10-12 members of our best squad.

It's good that the young guys got out there, and I don't really care about the result.

I reckon there's a tendency to over-analyse pre-seasons games, purely because it's the first footy we've seen for six months.

Everyone is so hungry for information that they read too much into it.

Chillax.

We've always been shit pre-season. Even when we were a top four side.

And tonight, we were missing 10-12 members of our best squad.

It's good that the young guys got out there, and I don't really care about the result.
Yep agree with that:thumbsu:.

Still I was happy with the performance of Swift, Masten and Cockie.

The injuries are very frustrating and obviously it is not much to go on but McGinnity did look ok before the horrible shirt front.

Actually Staker had a very good first half, as did Nico and Kerr was sensational.

As an unbiased viewer I reckon the Eagles did too much handball circle work, but that's a fairly common complaint with many teams very early in the season.

The skill level wasn't quite there when trying to pinpoint a pass, and sometimes the eyes were not raised when kicking downfield, again, another pre-season complaint.

I would have preferred Kennedy to play closer to goal, you know, like an old fashioned CHF.

Glass should stay at full back, ignoring the opposition dummy quasi-forwards, he should have been all over Cloke like a dose of chicken pox.

Cox is needed to be the main ruckman, but hey, that's not news to anyone in Australia.

I like Kerr with his un-registered dog permit roaming at will, but he too needs to polish up the disposal.

I liked Cockie's game, but wasn't that enthusiastic over Masten's performance, he wasn't as clean, nor in as much space as I would have preferred to see.

Nicoski looks on the cusp to rise to a higher level.

I have my doubts if Worsfold even had a look at the scoreboard, it wasn't what his teams performance was all about.

Anyway, good luck blokes

You'd have to be happy with Swift. Very classy outing for someone that's missed as much footy as He has. Thought there would be more love for Masten too. Sure the disposal wasn't first class but it's early days and he sure knows how to get hold of the pill.

we had a full strength side in, look at us last year. we got flogged in arab land and still made the finals. you cannot use the pre season as an indicator, i honestly think you guys have the crop to challenge for finals this season.

Really, there were not a lot of positives. Let's not kid ourselves, we were pretty average.

I think Kerr can hold his head high and I think Cockie was very, very good. Kerr and Cockie were miles ahead of our next best, which was probably Masten.

Chris played a good game but turned the ball over just too much.

Really summed up our night. To be honest, it appears our footskills have not improved. :confused: Maybe still just a bit rusty..

I thought we had a "new" game plan? We handballed more than we did last year. Seriously, we just refused to kick the ****ing ball which really pissed me off. The dinky handballs to players under pressure.

Anyway, the pros are probably the performances of Cockie and Swift. Both played very, very well despite their lack of experience. I really think Cockie was in our top 2 for the night if not BOG.

I thought Kerr was outstanding for the time he played.

Not really sure what we could do different, I think the Pies were just a better side. I'm not sure what the possesion stats were but it must have been highly weighted towards them.

In all, it was a dissapointing night. I expected us to lose, but not by that much. We were just outclassed by the pies midfield and their stronger bodies up forward.

Only way is up I suppose. I don't think this is a real indication of where we are at, but I do hope we put in a couple of better performances in the pre season.

pro's:
- no injuries to key players (let's not kid ourselves, this is more important than winning)
- cockie looks ready-made
- swift was classy until tiring
- kerr is focused this year and will silence his all too numerous critics

con's
- average game by masten, slow decision making and poor skills
- brett jones is simply not good enough to be leader in the backline
- our need for a crumbing small forward to apply pressure was not addressed in the off season
- kennedy didn't really fire (although not a big concern at this time of year)

Pro's:Some of the youger players impressed me,Cockie will get elevated pretty quick to the main list one would think,Swift look composed.
Masten gets the ball well but needs to improve on disposal( he is no orphan though)

Con,s:Overuse of handball causing too many simple errors.
Delivery into forward line very average to say the least.
Seem uncertain how to run ball out of defence.

Early days and great to see the young ones get a run around,some looked out of there depth.
Does anyone think Maxfield might get a week or 2 for his shirtfront?He did not have eye's on the ball and simply lined up McGinnity.Solid bump though!

Besides a few positive individual performances, as a team we have a long way to come. First 5 min I was like here we go and then, the lack of experience and the lack of experience with game plan really did tell. We ar ea couple of years away from being super serious contenders. Even when at full strength. We need bigger bodies and that takes time.

Does anyone think Maxfield might get a week or 2 for his shirtfront?He did not have eye's on the ball and simply lined up McGinnity.Solid bump though!

Geez, you'd hope not, ball was within 5 metres, great hip & shoulder

Just how much experience is needed to be able to kick a ball a few metres to your own player rather than an opponent? Or to refrain from handballing to your team mate who is about to be wrapped up? Or hold a simple mark?
The skill level was woefull by most players....don't care how young they are.

Kerr was his usual classy self. Cockie and Swift were promising. Masten....don't think he will ever approach "gun" status.

Considering the few plusses like Cockie, Swift and Maginnity, and despite the absence of so many experience players, I feel we are in for another torrid season.........but don't worry are coach is "very happy" :thumbsdown:

Pros- Cockie and Swift can play
Cons- looked exactly the same as last year.
The majority of the players cant kick and too much stupid handball.
Kennedy and Hurn are over rated by some.
Priddis is one of the least effective high possesion footballers i have ever seen, invariably handballs it to someone standing next to him who is under the pump and cant kick over a jam tin without a 15 metre runup.
Probably bit harsh this early in the season but there it is.

PROS-
-We might be good enough to avoid wooden spoon again.
-Dean Cox is alive
-Daniel Kerr seems more relaxed, accepting the change between Flag team and cellar dwellers.
-Swift is something, Selwood like (Geelong version)
-Staker looks set for midfield. Could make a huge difference.
-Nicoski is back and should give drive from backline.

CONS-
-Forward line is too top-heavy, no crumbers in sight.
-Kicking disposal/distance is overall shocking. One of the worst in recent history.
-Lynch at FF - forget about it.
-No one is gut-running through midfield... just short sprints at best. No 'waves' going through the middle since most are too slow.
-Many of the deficiencies can't simply be coached/train
ed to improve eg bad disposal, speed, athleticism...

UNKNOWNS-
If Staker, Spangher, Nicoski, NickNat, Swift, Bones and Lecras start firing, along with the regulars... then who knows, maybe challenge for 8th.

Liked Swift's and Cockie's games. Good to see Nicoski getting some of the ball. Wasn't overly impressed with Maston, turned it over too much and felt he made poor decisions (altho hard to see options down field on the telly).

Kerr looked good, Fletcher still puts team mates under pressure with his delivery. Staker still does some really special things, would love to see him do it consistently. Good experience for Wilkes.

Disposal skills seem to be an ongoing issue. One suspects that a player at this level should have the skill to kick to a team mate 25m away when kicking out, from a free kick or when by themselves.

Players running ala Cuz thru the middle would be advantageous. We were caught out by Collingwood running harder and getting free eg Thomas, Didak at both ends of the ground.

Played at TIO Stadium last year. It is a fabulous ground, great surface. But as they say in NT, "there are two types of weather, hot and f.....g hot". OK at night with heat, real issue is the overbearing humidity.

There were positives there last night.

Swift and Cockie were outstanding in their first hit out.
Masten is a ball magnet and genius at the stoppages. Kicking needs work but at least he gets it.
Kerr looked in Brownlow form and attitude.

Areas of concern:
Kicking was poor again. Collingwood are magnificent by foot and highlighted our weakness in that department.
Forward structure was nonexistent. McKinley seemed to have an attitude issue. Refused to play from in front and embarassed himself. I rate him big time but he had a Dan Blocker.
Key Defender rank are shallow. Wilkes is not a KPP. Jonsey has had interruptions and we will say he "Needed the run".

Disappointed with Priddis.
His best was as our 4th midfielder but has not progressed into a top liner .

I think that it would have been tough to get some system going with so many inexperienced players out there. We had 11 of our best 22 not playing and some of the youngsters were obviously not ready. Thats OK to give them a taste.

I think that we will find Masten will become more effective when he gets the better players around him.

No one has mentioned Seaby. I thought he was dreadful. Given an opportunity and he blew it.

LIke every year, we must wait until the real stuff starts as we treat the pre season comp purely as training and development.

Biggest complaint:- That blinding flashing electronic fence signage on the Roberts Rd side. Shocking from a spectators viewpoint and I reckon the players would get unsighted by them also. Anyone who sat on the railway side have a comment?

SOOOO agree about the signage. Considered ringing Channel 7 to complain. Was alright when still, but the light movement was WAYYYYY distracting on telly.

Note to WCE admin. Please sort this out!!!!!

ytpme said:
Masten....don't think he will ever approach "gun" status.

Sorry what? He knows how to get the ball, and up until now has had excellent disposal, and after 9, count them 9 games, you can tell he is never going to approach 'gun' status?
Please lend me that crystal ball, and while you are at it, pick up that gun you have been jumping over so enthusiasticly.

Pros- Cockie and Swift can play
Cons- looked exactly the same as last year.

I think that is spot on. I'd love to see Cockie elevated should we get an injury. He reminds me very much of Kerr; he goes in hard to get the ball, quick with his hands, can spin and weave his way out of trouble and looks to have a good kick on him and good awareness of what's happening around him, which sadly lots of our players are lacking which explains the stupid amount of turnovers we make.

If there is a new game plan than it wasn't executed last night nor there were any signs of it. Our inability to kick the ball and hit a player on the chest is a huge mystery to me. Every kick and hand ball for that matter always either lands just in front of the player or right at his ankle thus putting enormous pressure which is compounded if that player has a defender right on his tail.

In my many debates with my mates over the past 3 years I have been very critical of Staker and Seaby and last night they again confirm how useless they are. I honestly do not see what the match committee see in those two. They have no heart nor any pride for the jumper they wear. They are a liability more often than not.

I know it is early. I know we are missing heaps of players from our best 22. I know C'wood was at near full strength. I know that traditionally we don't do well in the NAB Cup but I also know that what we dished out last night was too much like what we dished out in 2008 in as far as our skill level goes.

So having said all that I think this will again be a long and painful season but I'll be happy if the club can prove me wrong.

Pros and Cons of C'wood Game