• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QAFA (B) Central-2014

As a long time player in this Div 4 competition, the standard varies significantly from year to year.

I'm with QAFL Fan in that many underestimate the standard at the upper end of Div 4.

I'm not saying we (Woodsmen) would win Div 3, or QAFA A as it is now called. In fact, we haven't even won Div 4 since 2009 and we're merely one of many who could win in 2014 - but I would suggest that the Top 4 or 5 sides in Div 4 would be very competitive in Div 3.

We did beat Beenleigh by about 200 points in a practice match last year, but I don't think it was their seniors!

Zillmere last year set a very high benchmark, and I feel they would have beaten any side in Div 3 of 2013. We had guys in our 2013 side who had won a Div 1 Premiership the previous season and to a man they felt that Zillmere would not have been out of place in Div 2 and would have given Div 1 sides a good hitout.

We played Zillmere last week and they were a vastly different side. Gone were Dickfos, Waters, Ziedler and others. While we are probably a 10-15 goal better side this year ourselves when our guys are all on the park.

I don't believe we would beat Moorooka, but they wouldn't embarass us either. Our midfield is essentially all blokes who have played QAFL level in the last 5 years, none of them are older than 35. We have 3 or 4 forwards who have all played very high standard of footy, including one who has had an 80 goal season at QAFL level and isn't our best forward!

In fact the guys we picked up from Magpies Seniors have commented that they have been surprised by the standard in some games. These are guys who have played in Div 1 Premierships in the last 3 seasons, far better qualified than any of us to give an accurate guide of the standard.

However, given we don't really train or prepare properly. Warm ups and warm downs involve beers/durries - I imagine we might compete with a Div 3 side for 2, maybe 3 quarters and then be over run by fitness issues in the last!

Forget predict, play it out and you will have your answer.

How many div 4 games have you watched this year ??
Cool your jets boys.... there's a reason one of them is in QAFA (A) and the other in QAFA (B). And it aint cause of the quality of playing lists. Quantity maybe, not quality.

It doesn't matter who might beat who, it's not going to happen. Time to move on. Let's just agree that it's great to be playing footy with your mates, regardless of the division.

Peely's in Melbourne BTW. At least that's where he was last rumoured to be. Good player, even better bloke. And a North fan to boot, what's not to love? :D

Have we worked out who in this division might be paying players yet?....... Is there a Storm brewing? Should we watch the club like Hawks? Have they pillaged the playing lists of other clubs like Vikings of old?? Surely Fan you've seen enough games to shed some light?

PS - Woodsmen for mine P Nut old boy. Just ;)

As a long time player in this Div 4 competition, the standard varies significantly from year to year.

We played Zillmere last week and they were a vastly different side. Gone were Dickfos, Waters, Ziedler and others. While we are probably a 10-15 goal better side this year ourselves when our guys are all on the park.

Playing Zillmere this weekend and I am super excited about it! I played all my junior football there and was around when these guys mentioned were playing QAFL and doing very well. Watched their success last year and thought they had a very strong team. Those blokes might have been a little slower but I am sure their skills had not diminished much.
We had a very tough season last year (being beaten by close to 100 points every game is not fun) and even had our old boys backing up to play reserve grade just to make up the numbers.
I for one though am certainly enjoying the atmosphere in this comp as well as some very skillful players. So far teams have been playing it hard but fair and generally speaking are good to chat with after the game. We would love to move up a division but unless we can find another 20 or so players that might be hard.

Zillmere last year set a very high benchmark, and I feel they would have beaten any side in Div 3 of 2013. We had guys in our 2013 side who had won a Div 1 Premiership the previous season and to a man they felt that Zillmere would not have been out of place in Div 2 and would have given Div 1 sides a good hitout.

However, given we don't really train or prepare properly. Warm ups and warm downs involve beers/durries - I imagine we might compete with a Div 3 side for 2, maybe 3 quarters and then be over run by fitness issues in the last!

Playing Zillmere this weekend and I am super excited about it! I played all my junior football there and was around when these guys mentioned were playing QAFL and doing very well. Watched their success last year and thought they had a very strong team. Those blokes might have been a little slower but I am sure their skills had not diminished much.
We had a very tough season last year (being beaten by close to 100 points every game is not fun) and even had our old boys backing up to play reserve grade just to make up the numbers.
I for one though am certainly enjoying the atmosphere in this comp as well as some very skillful players. So far teams have been playing it hard but fair and generally speaking are good to chat with after the game. We would love to move up a division but unless we can find another 20 or so players that might be hard.

@ King 05: I can assure you, no players getting paid at our club. We're scratching to pool money for an end of year trip, so we'd be screwed if we were bringing in blokes from higher up to play for us.

We've had one bloke from Carrara play 2 matches for us because we've been looking short and he's a friend of our president. But I'm pretty sure we haven't paid him.

Griffith vs Woodsman? What score do you predict?

Roosters would beat Woodsmen by somewhere between 3 and 6 goals from what I've seen. As soon as the Woodsmen rotate their midfield, Roosters would get on top. Woodsmen 1st choice midfield would kill the Roosters. Dobson, Mihaopoulus, Mongahan & 1 of 3 good rucks. Their 2nd rotation of mids are good players, but none of them move too well anymore - old or carrying niggles by the looks. Baker was their best midfielder last year and is now averaging 5.8 goals a game - so he's obviously playing forward!

Woodsmen have an excellent half back line, but if it gets breached I feel their last line of defence is their weak link. Few inexperienced blokes down there who do plenty of ball watching and clearly haven't played a great deal of footy. Thats where the Roosters would hurt them most.

Given they both play at Moorooka, they should have a game at the end of the year!

Zillmere 2014 is nothing like 2013. Many of them hung up the boots, or went to Sandgate. Dickfos has only had a handful of runs.

2013 Zillmere would be better than Woodsmen or Wynnum of 2014 by a few goals.

@ King 05: I can assure you, no players getting paid at our club. We're scratching to pool money for an end of year trip, so we'd be screwed if we were bringing in blokes from higher up to play for us.

We've had one bloke from Carrara play 2 matches for us because we've been looking short and he's a friend of our president. But I'm pretty sure we haven't paid him.

The club paying players is Wynnum, I saw it on their Facebook page. If you're paying blokes in Div 4 - you'd want to win the flag! #embarassing

[/QUOTE]The club paying players is Wynnum, I saw it on their Facebook page. If you're paying blokes in Div 4 - you'd want to win the flag! #embarassing[/QUOTE]

That was when we were recruiting to stay in div 2. I can guarantee you that has changed. There is no way a club can stay financial with one team and pay players, just can not happen.

On a different note, I wonder with all the other leagues having byes if certain teams will drop players back from higher divisions to get wins????

Yeronga will roll out their Seniors vs Woodsmen on Friday and still get done!

They rolled out some Senior bloke last year in one game, he kicked 5 and they beat them for the first time since the Woodsmen started apparently.

Jokes aside, its not really common for that sort of thing in this league from what I've seen. 3rds sides just want a run, and I doubt they would bother with that sort of shenanigans.

The club paying players is Wynnum, I saw it on their Facebook page. If you're paying blokes in Div 4 - you'd want to win the flag! #embarassing[/QUOTE]

That was when we were recruiting to stay in div 2. I can guarantee you that has changed. There is no way a club can stay financial with one team and pay players, just can not happen.

On a different note, I wonder with all the other leagues having byes if certain teams will drop players back from higher divisions to get wins????[/QUOTE]

One could argue it's easier to stay financial and pay players with only 1 team as opposed to 2, Swamp. Tell me is there a COLA for living out by the bay? Should there be a meeting of presidents to discuss the future of this division and the increasing disparity between the "haves" and the "have nots"? ;)

Whatever happened to the simplier times in this division, before we got influenced by the almighty $$ and the chase for premierships. I mean with all the talk of player remuneration, ice baths, teams turning up in uniforms, warm downs instead of beers?

Next thing you know, clubs will start charging people an entry fee to watch their games.... in order to maximise their "revenue base" of course. :D

And now the concept of clubs dropping back players to gain an elusive win? Who needs reality TV when we have QAFA (B) to entertain us through the winter?

To my mind there's only a few clubs that could drop players back, given the Division their "seniors" are in, but if I was one of these players and had a weekend off, I don't think I'd be suiting up for what is effectively the 3rds side.

Oh that would be great if you could organise that cheers :)

It wouldn't surprise me if some teams did but, I know when we played yeronga the first time they had 4/5 of there div 2 players playing, wether it was coming back from injury or what not, teams will still do it.

Zillmere 2014 is nothing like 2013. Many of them hung up the boots, or went to Sandgate. Dickfos has only had a handful of runs.

2013 Zillmere would be better than Woodsmen or Wynnum of 2014 by a few goals.

The club paying players is Wynnum, I saw it on their Facebook page. If you're paying blokes in Div 4 - you'd want to win the flag! #embarassing

Pull your head in boys. Wynnum were searching for a Ruckman, tall defender and tall forward when they were doing their best to stay in Division 2. I think you'll find that Facebook post is a little dated and therefore irrelevant. I can assure you that no one there is getting paid to play. I'd have to agree with Swamp13 that a club is in a better financial position if you have 60 plus players paying fees than 30, not to mention the lack of sponsorship, match-day profit and support that one team only brings in.

Please don't start judging team's integrity and ethical standards based on assumption and innuendo. I'm sure that Wynnum would not appreciate it.

I don't think anyone was being serious mate, and it wouldn't be against the rules anyway.

Obviously someone spotted it and thought it was a bit funny. Everyone knows Wynnum tried to stay up a Division, especially given there were about 4 draws issued for Div 4 issued before the season commenced and Wynnum weren't on any of them!

Just make sure you follow the rules and lodge any contracts with AFLQ :)

I doubt Wynnum would be judged by any lack of integrity or ethical standards, but don't be surprised if some blokes laugh when you roll out the ice baths and warm downs!

I'm just an onlooker, but I like that the standard and volume of teams in this league has lifted, and Wynnum is adding to that, not detracting from it.

from 2010 to 2012 this league was a basket case with 5 or 6 sides and outside the top 2 sides, the standard was atrocious.

Pull your head in boys. Wynnum were searching for a Ruckman, tall defender and tall forward when they were doing their best to stay in Division 2. I think you'll find that Facebook post is a little dated and therefore irrelevant. I can assure you that no one there is getting paid to play. I'd have to agree with Swamp13 that a club is in a better financial position if you have 60 plus players paying fees than 30, not to mention the lack of sponsorship, match-day profit and support that one team only brings in.

Please don't start judging team's integrity and ethical standards based of assumption and innuendo. I'm sure that Wynnum would not appreciate it.

Deep breaths A.P, no one is questioning Wynnums integrity or ethics in this (or any other) division. It's a bit of lighthearted banter... you find that a fair bit down in QAFA (B).

I think everyone knew it related to earlier in the year and didn't take it that seriously. Unless you didn't get your asking price and you've taken it badly...... (JOKE...!!!) :D:D:D

Take your point on the 60 plus player argument, but there's also teams like Jimboomba/Coll Park who do well as stand alone clubs/teams with sponsorship, support etc.

As to match day profit, I reckon this is the best division for that. I don't think you'll find too many teams who won't hang around for a beer or 2 at the oppositions clubhouse post match.

My friend plays for yeronga and he said they are dropping a lot of players for tonight's game against woodsmen. Which will make it a tight game. Worth watching.

Personally think it's crazy to risk senior players in 4ths. But maybe they have conceded their seniors won't make finals.

My friend plays for yeronga and he said they are dropping a lot of players for tonight's game against woodsmen. Which will make it a tight game. Worth watching.

Personally think it's crazy to risk senior players in 4ths. But maybe they have conceded their seniors won't make finals.

I think Woodsmen have a bunch of injuries and outs too.

I know there's a history there but I'm not sure why you'd do that? Is it that important to get a "W" by Yeronga playing blokes who won't play again for them in the finals (if they make it). And how would you feel if you were the a bloke who is told despite your on-going commitment to the side, you're being replaced with someone who plays better than you, "just for this game mate"?

If it does happen or is true, I would think it's a clear indication of how you are valued by the club. Northsider, I hope your mates not one of those being told to stand aside for these blokes to drop down. If he is, well I feel sorry for him.

Based on results to date I'd never suggest that the Woodsmen wouldn't be trying nor respecting the opposition but perhaps at 8-0, there's a bit of man management going on. It's the one team problem I assume. Blokes paying rego expect to play x number of games. You're not always going to be able to field the same side each week if you have to give blokes a certain number of games.

At the end of the day.
Yeronga look like the only club who drops guns down to win games in fourth division. All it will take is one of them to break a leg and sure it won't happen again. I still say as a footy coach. I wouldn't think a senior coach could be that crazy.

There is no way Yeronga would do that, its just a myth.

The only time I imagine they would drop blokes back are if they are coming back from injury and there is a bye (like this week) or its a former 3rds player who wants to have a run with his mates.

I speak to a few of the guys from Yeronga every now and then, including their coach, and they wouldn't involve themselves in that sort of shenanigans so not sure who would benefit from just making up rumours.

Should be a good game, Yeronga were 'the bye' until 2013 - its nice to have more competitive sides in the league. We played them 3 times last year for total margins of less than 20 points.

QAFA (B) Central-2014