QAFA (B) Central-2014

To put it lightly our home ground is shithouse. One of the players has done his best to mark out the field properly but because the school has a tendency to just paint lines everywhere, it makes it difficult.

I was under the impression the sprinkler head problem was fixed though. Pretty sure the school told is they had been removed. I may be misremembering though.

The goalpost pads are our top priority at the moment. We're trying to pull the funds together as soon as possible.

All of that is beside the point. I have no idea why we complained about the Woodsmen ground, especially when we knew what our own was like. In fact I don't think the team actually knew about the complaint was lodged. I didn't until I came on here.

Anyway, thanks for the game yesterday mate. Was a good hit out in all. From my end just a pity it was so one sided. ;)

Yep,

We understand how hard it is. We don't even have a ground, we begged borrowed and stole early in the year just to find a venue and Moorooka have been our saviour and we owe them a huge favour for how they have looked after us.

I was just astonished that when a club dishes that up, they have the nerve to complain about others. Including our line markings, the lights only turning on 1 hour before the game and then being turned off immediately after the game due to a curfew!

Totally understand its nothing to do with the players mate, but I'm sure you can see our frustrations. Then again, we once again had no interchange steward on the weekend, so we might get another complaint.. who knows?!

I think it depends. A good player may end up leaving for a stronger club/higher division anyway.

Then again if a club is offering the type of environment which appeals, a good player may end up sticking around. Look at the Woodsmen, there's a few there who should be playing at a higher level, but given what the club offers (reduced training sessions/commitment to footy, lots of mates playing there) opt to stay.

They may move but you are right playing Friday night and the change to get a flag would keep most people around.

Back to the ladder and things could get very interesting over the last 2 games. If jomboomba were to knock off the woodies than they could jump to 3rd by seasons end. If yeronga were to lose to the woodsman and zillmere upset wynnum, yeronga could be knocked out. Exciting few weeks ahead. Woodsmen can't be knocked off the top now. So do they rest players for finals or go for the perfect home and away record ?

Big call northsider....... might not get outright top but could lose the last 2 with Wynnum winning their last 2 and it comes down to %.
Woodsmen have the toughest finish to the season I reckon, against 2 sides who they have struggled against. Jimboomba down there is like playing Freo in Perth. Last time Woodsmen won there was back in 09 in the 1st semi (ironically that was against an undefeated Redbacks).

I don't think they'll be resting anyone. Unavailables due to work? Possibly, but I would expect that it's all hands on deck for that game.

And Yeronga in the last round? What do you think they'll want to do to the Devils if they can.....

Top spot is far from assured I think.

Yep,

We understand how hard it is. We don't even have a ground, we begged borrowed and stole early in the year just to find a venue and Moorooka have been our saviour and we owe them a huge favour for how they have looked after us.

I was just astonished that when a club dishes that up, they have the nerve to complain about others. Including our line markings, the lights only turning on 1 hour before the game and then being turned off immediately after the game due to a curfew!

Totally understand its nothing to do with the players mate, but I'm sure you can see our frustrations. Then again, we once again had no interchange steward on the weekend, so we might get another complaint.. who knows?!

Probably a good thing they never got to see Jimboomba's old ground, that would of been at least a 10 page complaint.

King 05 you're slipping my friend. Woodsmen beat jimboomba last year at jimboomba if you look at last years draw. And wynnum need to out score woodsmen by 400 points over two weeks for top spot. Huge fan king 05. But more slips like that and I might have to re think that :)

Ahh northsider a bit of a stats man huh? :D

Well fair enough, I didn't realise they beat them down there last year. Didn't have to much time to follow the footy much last year.

Still (forgive me Phoenix) they are playing Springfield where % could rise considerably.

But I'll take your detailed analysis over my guessing on this one......... And hey, thanks for being a fan!!! I couldn't do it without your support. ;)

All is well King. ;)

We are getting some players back this weekend, ones who have been out with injury or work. Hopefully we'll even have a full, if weak, team. Our goal this week? To score more than once and prevent the opposition from kicking over 200 again.

We'll have our work cut out for us I think... :D

All is well King. ;)

We are getting some players back this weekend, ones who have been out with injury or work. Hopefully we'll even have a full, if weak, team. Our goal this week? To score more than once and prevent the opposition from kicking over 200 again.

We'll have our work cut out for us I think... :D
We hope it's a good contest like it was Friday night against Sandgate. Any idea where we can get a beer after the game as I have no idea on the area and playing in the hot sun makes one thirsty

Hmm, well we usually go to the Springlake Hotel. If you have a GPS, you can put it in and it should find it. Failing that I can get the address if you like.

Never mind, I found it. Pretty easy. ;)
1 Springfield Lakes Blvd, Springfield Lakes QLD 4300
They're a bit expensive and they've not got Toohey's but better than nothing.

Cheers mate, we are looking forward to the contest.

What's everyone's thoughts on acouple of crucial games this weekend?

My tips:

Zillmere by 6+ goals
Jimboomba by 2 goals in an upset
Wynnum by 20+ goals

Zillmere look to be coming home strong, Jimboomba have the best form in the comp outside the Woodsmen and they will be short down there on a Saturday, in fact a little birdie told me a text went around Kenmore asking for players to fill in....

Wynnum easily over Springfield, although suggestions above Springfield might have some player back - so maybe not as big a margin as previous few weeks.

My tips:

Zillmere by 6+ goals
Wynnum by 20+ goals

Zillmere look to be coming home strong, Jimboomba have the best form in the comp outside the Woodsmen and they will be short down there on a Saturday, in fact a little birdie told me a text went around Kenmore asking for players to fill in....

Wynnum easily over Springfield, although suggestions above Springfield might have some player back - so maybe not as big a margin as previous few weeks.

Interesting QAFL, but then again there's some quality ex-maggies playing at the Bears (Corrie et al) , so you never know who might show up for the Woodsmen this weekend!! ;)

Yeah I think Woodsmen are a little short, I am having to be their club umpire tomorrow (I play for Red lions).

Woodsmen v jimboomba will be interesting. If woodsmen can win without a full strength squad I will say they will go through untouched. Next week will be the round to watch out for. Can yeronga beat woodsmen ? Can zillmere upset wynnum to make finals ?

Uni 5ths, get around us!

Well done to the Uni boys on getting their first win in their last round! Tough year for you but a Great way to finish the season off!

Scrappy game and Kicking for goal was terrible from both teams but a good contest between the 2 sides.

Yeah I think Woodsmen are a little short, I am having to be their club umpire tomorrow (I play for Red lions).

Much appreciated! Yes, we are a bit short on numbers, particularly 'quality' numbers - but we will have 21 or 22 thereabouts. I am heading down, but have another injury so won't be playing!

Uni 5ths, get around us!

Well done boys, massive effort to get up in your last game of the year - super effort!

My tips:

Zillmere by 6+ goals
Wynnum by 20+ goals

Pretty close, Vikings by 21 goals. Would have been much more if skills were better (myself very much so)

Any news on the woodsman game?

Woodsmen beat jimboomba. Woodsmen get sandgate 3 rd spot id say. Who gets the 5th spot ?

Zillmere 5th spot on % .

Woodsmen wont rest players this week, they run on bare min most weeks, resting players isn't a luxury they have. In turn they will beat Yeronga. Wynumn will take it easy in prep for the finals. Zillmere will take the chocolates in that game moving them into 5th.

Was a decent game, we only got up by 7 or 8 points in the end.

Windy conditions and a couple of club umpires who had differing views on how to go about it didn't help! Neither did a bad or bias job, just that one was very technical and paid everything, and the other paid nothing! No game without them though, so thanks for doing the job!

The game ebbed and flowed a bit, Watto for Jimboomba had a day out - always been a gun, but had a really dominant game on Saturday, particularly at the centre clearances.

We were missing 6 or 7 guys and I wasn't expecting to play due to injury, but we had some late withdrawals so I suited up and had a run.

I think we were up by 20 points with a few minutes to play, but Reddies hit back with a couple late - including one after the siren.

Very enjoyable game after previously going bye, Kedron, bye, Springfield - was good to crack in against quality opposition who have 22 players!

QAFA (B) Central-2014