• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QAFL 2024 season

Given the absence of all local club games this weekend, here is something different:

Most Number of Club Clashes 1904 – 2024

Let’s have a look at the clubs that have met the most number of times throughout the QAFL history.

Inevitably, in a particularly tumultuous scene over the past three decades, name changes, mergers, extinctions, re-births, etc are all obstructing factors. So, as a caveat, if any clubs have evolved into a shared history, “geography” has become the deciding factor in these game numbers. Please feel free to agree or disagree with any of the following Inclusion and Exclusion applications:

INCLUDE
Coorparoo-Western Districts AS Coorparoo
Coorparoo Yeronga AS Coorparoo
North Brisbane AS Windsor Zillmere
Kedron Grange AS Kedron
Taringa AS Western Districts
Windsor 2 AS Windsor
West Brisbane AS Western Districts

EXCLUDE

Ascot FROM Mayne
Coorparoo–Western Districts FROM Western Districts
Kedron Grange FROM Wilston Grange
North Brisbane FROM Sandgate
Windsor FROM Windsor Zillmere

Here is the list. It includes 25 contests, each involving at least 100 games:

186: Mayne V Western Districts [Includes West Brisbane (22) & Taringa (21)]
176: Kedron V Western Districts [Includes Kedron Grange (2), Taringa (17), & Kedron Grange V West Brisbane (19)]
173: Mayne V Kedron [Includes Kedron Grange (22)]
150: Mayne V Coorparoo [Includes Coorparoo Western Districts (1) & Coorparoo Yeronga (5)]
150: Mayne V Morningside
142: Coorparoo V Western Districts [Includes Coorparoo Yeronga (5), West Brisbane (9) & Taringa (4)]
139: Coorparoo V Kedron [Includes Coorparoo Yeronga (5) & Kedron Grange (12)]
133: Mayne V Sandgate
131: Kedron V Morningside [Includes Kedron Grange (25)]
131: Morningside V Western Districts [Includes West Brisbane (23)]
128: Sandgate V Wilston Grange
125: Morningside V Sandgate
124: Coorparoo V Sandgate [Includes Coorparoo Yeronga (5)]
124: Morningside V Wilston Grange
123: Mayne V Windsor [Includes Windsor 2 (2)]
123: Kedron V Sandgate [Includes Kedron Grange (2)]
122: Coorparoo V Morningside [Includes Coorparoo Yeronga (5)]
122: Sandgate V Western Districts [Includes Taringa (2)]
121: Mayne V Wilston Grange
113: Western Districts V Wilston Grange
112: Coorparoo V Wilston Grange [Includes Coorparoo Yeronga (5)]
112: Kedron V Wilston Grange
103: Windsor V Western Districts [Includes Taringa (39)]
101: Morningside V Windsor Zillmere [Includes North Brisbane (18)]
100: Morningside V Southport

A few notes:
  • It took me by surprise that based on this interpretation, Mayne V Western Districts is the most prominent combination of all.
  • The only clash in this list that is currently “alive” is Morningside V Wilston Grange (equal 13th place).
  • Morningside and Southport have played 100 games against each other. Remarkably, this is from a total of 667 QAFL games played by Southport. Their next most frequent opponent was Mt Gravatt (59), followed by Mayne (52).
  • All of the details above are based on QAFL games only. The fourth highest tally, Coorparoo and Mayne, is arguably ongoing in QFA Division 1. I will try to determine how many “lower grade” contests the two clubs have had.
All feedback, constructive or critical, positive or negative, is welcome. Do you agree or disagree with any aspect?

Wowee.

Very comfortable win by Tasmania. 40 odd points in the end. I only was able to watch the last 15 mins or so but the sting had gone out of the game by then. Anyone who either went or watched most of the game live. What’re your opinions of the game?
Jumped early and down by 40 but got within 2 points in third, but one way traffic post that. The little ground suited Tassie to a tee, as they play a contested style down there. Qld had their opportunities to get ahead and maybe assert some control, but wayward kicking in front of goal hurt them when it mattered most.

Wowee.

Very comfortable win by Tasmania. 40 odd points in the end. I only was able to watch the last 15 mins or so but the sting had gone out of the game by then. Anyone who either went or watched most of the game live. What’re your opinions of the game?
Checked in a couple of times and mostly seen the lethal left foot of Tassie captain, bloody impressive! Funny hyphen name too.

Tassie beat us last year and today ,,, Are we as good as a standard as a lot of the comp followers think .. like Ive heard many say the QAFL is a better standard then the top vic country comps such as the Ovens and Murray , Geelong football league etc etc.. I know a State game is not a measurement of the comp at a weekly level so dismiss this please ..
But is our comp better then the above ,, not that it matters ,, but many say its much quicker ,, really ,, not from what I saw in the Ovens And Murray Grand Final last year which I attended... I saw a game just as quick and with better overall skills.
just my opinion ..

Tassie beat us last year and today ,,, Are we as good as a standard as a lot of the comp followers think .. like Ive heard many say the QAFL is a better standard then the top vic country comps such as the Ovens and Murray , Geelong football league etc etc.. I know a State game is not a measurement of the comp at a weekly level so dismiss this please ..
But is our comp better then the above ,, not that it matters ,, but many say its much quicker ,, really ,, not from what I saw in the Ovens And Murray Grand Final last year which I attended... I saw a game just as quick and with better overall skills.
just my opinion ..
Did all the best qafl players play? Think it matters not. Occasionally SA beat vic in SOO games. Not sure anyone suddenly thought the sanfl was better than the vfl.

Tassie would be no doubt very good.

just my opinion ..
I was thinking same thing Stu but do we have the right process for this whole QLD State side or is it another slap together by AFLQ that does nothing to showcase our competition.

Firstly just sending 90 letters out to players to see if they are interested is wrong tone from start. Should be a privilege to represent the state like it was in the 80’s when we pushed AFL Teams in preseason games.

For mine we need a revamp of the whole attitude and process.

Nothing against Turtle as a selection as coach but he is involved at Coorparoo watching Div 1 footy every week so he is not even watching our competition weekly and teams evolve every year so do players. He was set up to fail.

I spoke to someone in Tassie during the week and they said their side was worse this year than last year and they still spanked us.

Look at QLD state of Origin. They have a lot of people involved with different skill sets on coaching side of things to gel the group. Plus they pick players to get job done not reputation.

I think our competition is miles ahead of Tassie footy but we represented it yesterday with one hand behind our back.

I was thinking same thing Stu but do we have the right process for this whole QLD State side or is it another slap together by AFLQ that does nothing to showcase our competition.

Firstly just sending 90 letters out to players to see if they are interested is wrong tone from start. Should be a privilege to represent the state like it was in the 80’s when we pushed AFL Teams in preseason games.

For mine we need a revamp of the whole attitude and process.

Nothing against Turtle as a selection as coach but he is involved at Coorparoo watching Div 1 footy every week so he is not even watching our competition weekly and teams evolve every year so do players. He was set up to fail.

I spoke to someone in Tassie during the week and they said their side was worse this year than last year and they still spanked us.

Look at QLD state of Origin. They have a lot of people involved with different skill sets on coaching side of things to gel the group. Plus they pick players to get job done not reputation.

I think our competition is miles ahead of Tassie footy but we represented it yesterday with one hand behind our back.
Yes well said Still ME

It’s the same as every year for the last 15 years or so. Players would rather have the week off. Life outside of footy is much more understandable today than it was in past decades.

That’s the attitudinal problem. If the actual best side was selected I have no doubt they would have won yesterday.

Well done to Tassie though!

It’s the same as every year for the last 15 years or so. Players would rather have the week off. Life outside of footy is much more understandable today than it was in past decades.

That’s the attitudinal problem. If the actual best side was selected I have no doubt they would have won yesterday.

Well done to Tassie though!
So is it played at wrong time Dez or do we need a bye round either side of it similar to the way they do State of Origin.

We need to find out why players don’t want to play and get creative to make the incentive for them to want to play.

Is it a true QLD State side or just a QAFL Representative side?

I think a true QLD side from all our Queenslanders playing around the country and play Tassie or even WA during the AFL Gather round in Adelaide would be an idea.

10 years ago the vafa beat the state side by 15 goals. Would the qafl get close to the vafa is they played next year
Damo VAFA would win by 20 goals if played this year. That match was a total mismatch and showed the huge gap in the standard of football between the 2 comps which won’t have changed

So is it played at wrong time Dez or do we need a bye round either side of it similar to the way they do State of Origin.

We need to find out why players don’t want to play and get creative to make the incentive for them to want to play.

Is it a true QLD State side or just a QAFL Representative side?

I think a true QLD side from all our Queenslanders playing around the country and play Tassie or even WA during the AFL Gather round in Adelaide would be an idea.
It’s a QAFL rep team, QLD players playing SANFL or VFL can make that state team,if you don’t play QAFL why would we pick them. it’s about showing off players who’s play QAFL footy

It’s a QAFL rep team, QLD players playing SANFL or VFL can make that state team as if you don’t play QAFL why would we pick them as it’s about showing off players who’s play QAFL footy
Agree our problem is that many of the players who may have played qafl once upon a time are now playing vfl footy for one of the afl sides or Southport. The comp is diluted bc of that. Tassie obv don’t have to consider this.
It’s a good concept and it shouldn’t be about major bragging rights. Gee I know blokes that have gone to TSL sides that were only solid div1 footballers here.

Remember QAFL boys played 11 straight before the rep game. TSL boys had 2 byes. It’s why the best players don’t play, and also let’s be honest no one gives a shit. Would’ve been 800 at best at the game yesterday vs 8000 at the game in tassie last year, and tbh of the 800 a good couple hundred were tassie people.

Look at state of origin in Rugby League. NSW have 5 times the depth of QLD but the Maroons keep winning. It means more to QLd simple as that, the rep game similar.

The QAFL is a good comp what happened yesterday doesn’t change that.

Remember QAFL boys played 11 straight before the rep game. TSL boys had 2 byes. It’s why the best players don’t play, and also let’s be honest no one gives a shit. Would’ve been 800 at best at the game yesterday vs 8000 at the game in tassie last year, and tbh of the 800 a good couple hundred were tassie people.

Look at state of origin in Rugby League. NSW have 5 times the depth of QLD but the Maroons keep winning. It means more to QLd simple as that, the rep game similar.

The QAFL is a good comp what happened yesterday doesn’t change that.
agree ,, good comments mate

See a Blast from the Past in the Incredible Hulk ( full Forward ),, be it Jason Eagle whom played for Redlands for a season and Broady for 2 seasons back in the NEAF comp is still playing at Tynyalder in the Central Murray league ( Swan Hill area )
He would have to be close to 40 years of age now and is averaging 3 goals a game this season here .. I see his career tally at senior level is 978 goals , so I reckon hes going to chase that magical 1000 mark.

Damo ,,
the VAFA is pretty much the best comp in surburban melbourne and has been for years,, Geez they would flog a QAFL side by 15 goals again imo

You can’t read that much into rep games. I watched the Sydney AFL get beaten by a couple points by the VAFA in 2008 13.8 to 11.15 (Sydney should’ve won had heaps of chances). A young Dane Rampe played Sydney.

I’ve watched both leagues the VAFA way stronger as you’d expect but that didn’t play out in the rep game.

There’s heaps of chat about the best suburban league in Melbourne most people think their league they follow is the best. Whenever I go to Melbourne I go to local games in various leagues, from what I’ve seen as a neutral I’d rate the Eastern league number 1, followed very closely by the VAFA.

But in my opinion the QAFL is about on par with these leagues.

As for country leagues just going on watching livestream finals games I reckon the Geelong league is strongest but im sure my mate Stuyd would disagree.

Definitely impressive when country GFs get 8-10000 people pretty amazing

You can’t read that much into rep games. I watched the Sydney AFL get beaten by a couple points by the VAFA in 2008 13.8 to 11.15 (Sydney should’ve won had heaps of chances). A young Dane Rampe played Sydney.

I’ve watched both leagues the VAFA way stronger as you’d expect but that didn’t play out in the rep game.

There’s heaps of chat about the best suburban league in Melbourne most people think their league they follow is the best. Whenever I go to Melbourne I go to local games in various leagues, from what I’ve seen as a neutral I’d rate the Eastern league number 1, followed very closely by the VAFA.

But in my opinion the QAFL is about on par with these leagues.

As for country leagues just going on watching livestream finals games I reckon the Geelong league is strongest but im sure my mate Stuyd would disagree.

Definitely impressive when country GFs get 8-10000 people pretty amazing
Agree , rep games do not express the true quality of a league come the normal home and away season plus finals.
Also agree with you on the suburban rankings and yes the Gelong league would be the highest standard in the country arena with the Ovens and Murray next.
I dont think the QAFL is quite as good as the Eastern comp and VAFA comps but certainly is close to and I believe the QAFL is quicker.

Agree our problem is that many of the players who may have played qafl once upon a time are now playing vfl footy for one of the afl sides or Southport. The comp is diluted bc of that. Tassie obv don’t have to consider this.
It’s a good concept and it shouldn’t be about major bragging rights. Gee I know blokes that have gone to TSL sides that were only solid div1 footballers here.

Hi, just thought I'd mention the fact that although Tassie don't lose players to their own VFL side, we continually lose players to SANFL, VFL & QAFL. So Its a bit misleading to think its only a QAFL issue. The TSL side, like the QAFL are rep sides for those competitions. (although Tassie picked 2 guys from lower regional competitions because of standout performances).
I doubt Tassie will have a state team moving forward. AFL Tas have killed the TSL for next year. We'll have a VFL team, & AFL Devils from 2028. Below that we'll go back to 3 regional comps. The standard will drop, players will still try SANFL, VFL & QAFL as the regional level wont be able to keep the better players who want a better challenge & opportunity to improve their footy.
Its a pity. AFLTas did this when we had the last VFL team in 2001-2008. We lost players to other states as regional footy was not much of an attraction. They never learn. We do need a TSL as part of the 'pathway' like the QAFL is.
Anyway it was a nice win but sadly, state games don't really mean much anymore. :(

Hi, just thought I'd mention the fact that although Tassie don't lose players to their own VFL side, we continually lose players to SANFL, VFL & QAFL. So Its a bit misleading to think its only a QAFL issue. :(

The QLD Captain is a TSL boy, as were a few others.

Any QLDers in the Tassie side?

Actually, that last question was tongue in cheek, then I realised Tomkinson played!

QAFL 2024 season