QAFL 2024 season

Yes despite winning only 5 games, Aspley 2nds percentage is above 100, so they must have lost a few close ones.
Good effort by Grange with consistency across all 3 grades. Morningside helped by having the soft draw, but they would certainly be happy with their year across all 3 grades.

The Broadbeach ranking of consistent across all 3 grades is kind. 2 out of 3 missing finals and reserves scraping in. I don't think that will last long with the young talent coming through though. I see that 7 Broadbeach kids were in the Qld u17s team. Pretty good effort.
Thats a super effort by the Cats junior club assuming that most of the 7 came through their junior club. U would think hot favourites for the 17's premiership... :)

There wouldn't be a single member of that QLD u17 team that plays u17 football at club level. Don't think Broady even made the finals in u17s.

Looking at the lineup

Geesu - Colts/Seniors
Tanks - Colts
Lillico - Colts/Seniors
Bridge - Colts/Seniors
Chambers - Colts
Grills - Colts
Gillet - he's not even u17?!
Annable - Seniors
Milner - lives in Vic, who knows?
Waller - Colts
Harrison - Colts
Moss - listed as playing for Kawana?
Patterson - VFL/QAFL
Murray - VFL/QAFL
Addinsall - VFL/QAFL
Hudson - Seniors
Uwland - VFL
White - Colts
Collins - Seniors/Colts
Coulson - Colts
Harris - VFL/QAFL
Gray - Colts
Hoy - Seniors/Reserves
Iverach - Colts

Looking at all the Broadbeach players selected, most of them are Burleigh Juniors.

Really!! How embarassing for the club if true

I wasn't quite right.

Moloney was suspended the week before and wasn't allowed to attend the game vs Redland.

With him suspended, their captain and another player took up his duties and were suspended for the Aspley game.

All of the suspensions allegedly for umpire abuse both during and after the games.

What’s everyone’s thoughts on how the QAFL Season has gone in 2024.

I think the Footy Content and social media coverage of the competition is sadly lacking and got worse in my opinion.

Think Clubs have stepped up another cog but think the support from headquarters has dropped off again.

Interesting on everyone’s perspective of competition and standard as well?

I think the Footy Content and social media coverage of the competition is sadly lacking and got worse in my opinion.

Think Clubs have stepped up another cog but think the support from headquarters has dropped off again.

If it doesn’t have anything to do with the afl they don’t care

Still Me ,
agree the footy content and reporting of thru the main media outlets is non existent .The only real social media content is each clubs websites and facebook pages, ( and BIG FOOTY FORUM )
Then a positive is is Live Streaming of games and I must admit the QAFL websites Statisics page is excellent being basically a Champion Data page every week....makes for good studies on every club and its players performances each game and season to date .
Agree, the clubs are rising to the challenges and this season has seen in general a much more even comp.
As of standard well the comp may be more even due to the improvement on field by most clubs but I dont think the overall standard is much better then the past 2 or 3 years. In saying that the standard is very good .
The competition needs to be at 12 teams max and why the hell does the QAFL bring in Coorparoo and retain Mt Gravatt ,, making a 13 team comp and Mt Gravatt to cop the flogings again ,,, Ive commented on this before and IMO , its best for the Comp and Mt Gravatt to go down a division ... and not bagging The Vultures , I respect their efforts this season but come on ,, get with reality and keep the club going and providing Aussie rules footy in the suburban area for all grades of footy including the Womens team

Ok lets go and here your opinions on which club has a good Canteen / hot food ,etc
For me its Broadbeach with great hot food and great variety of many foods/ sweets to cater for both tyhe adults and
the kids,
Palm Beach is good to,
Redlands is poor .
And I cannot comment on the 2 Sunshine coast clubs as I have not been there ..

Once upon a time all coaches at every level were contacted for an interview pre (Fri) and post (Mon) game every week with a competition preview/review.

This all formed part of the AFLQ Record.

Sadly, times have changed...

Ok lets go and here your opinions on which club has a good Canteen / hot food ,etc
For me its Broadbeach with great hot food and great variety of many foods/ sweets to cater for both tyhe adults and
the kids,
Palm Beach is good to,
Redlands is poor .
And I cannot comment on the 2 Sunshine coast clubs as I have not been there ..
Coffee at Noosa is exceptional. They need to be commended

Yes despite winning only 5 games, Aspley 2nds percentage is above 100, so they must have lost a few close ones.
Good effort by Grange with consistency across all 3 grades. Morningside helped by having the soft draw, but they would certainly be happy with their year across all 3 grades.

The Broadbeach ranking of consistent across all 3 grades is kind. 2 out of 3 missing finals and reserves scraping in. I don't think that will last long with the young talent coming through though. I see that 7 Broadbeach kids were in the Qld u17s team. Pretty good effort.
So Morningside had a soft draw ! They will probably finish at least 3 wins ahead of third. They didn’t play Grange, Redlands, Surfers and PBC twice. I can’t see any of those sides adding to their 3 losses for the season. Give credit where it is due !

Yeah agree with Stuyd on the live streaming and stats being terrific but the rest of the promotion really poor!
It’s a good standard to watch without doubt but wouldn’t say it’s changed much over past 2 or 3 years and whilst the soft draw obviously helped us I’ve never been a fan of a ‘socialist’ or ‘even’ up the comp.The fees are miles to dear for for you have to charge your players registration wise and infact for what you get.As an example,even just last weekend,no boundary umpires for colts and lucky Sherwoods assistant coach stepped up to assist with the field umpiring whilst we waited for the assigned umpire to get there and help
his 14 year old mate! And that sort of stuff has happened all year! No where near the professionalism needed to be called a State League which the salary cap reflects also! Obviously been a grind at club land for us but we will ‘stay the course’ and keep trying to improve like everyone else! Some wiser decisions off field and keep developing our juniors and hopefully things will turn pretty quickly!

Once upon a time all coaches at every level were contacted for an interview pre (Fri) and post (Mon) game every week with a competition preview/review.

This all formed part of the AFLQ Record.

Sadly, times have changed...
Good point Pugs, even the Jack and Jimmy show mainly for lower level footy is gone as well.

Stu/Noosaboy whilst I agree the statistics are great they are an external company doing that so clubs definitely paying for that anyway.

I just think the board and all the executives at headquarters are tired and have no new ideas or drive to implement them.

Even the Rising Star was always an interview with the player each week and highlights of his games. That has dried up as well.

I think whilst we get good live streaming and replay access of games and statistics, every competition around Australia does that even all the Melbourne suburban competitions.

We should be saturated with previews, post game reports and interviews. Rising Star nominations, goals of week, marks of week,coaches votes, which seem pretty standard in other footy states.

Think it’s something Presidents should be questioning as to what value for money are we getting for what clubs pay plus what AFL tip into each state.

Think it’s time for our leader at AFLQ to actually do something active.

Good point Pugs, even the Jack and Jimmy show mainly for lower level footy is gone as well.

Stu/Noosaboy whilst I agree the statistics are great they are an external company doing that so clubs definitely paying for that anyway.

I just think the board and all the executives at headquarters are tired and have no new ideas or drive to implement them.

Even the Rising Star was always an interview with the player each week and highlights of his games. That has dried up as well.

I think whilst we get good live streaming and replay access of games and statistics, every competition around Australia does that even all the Melbourne suburban competitions.

We should be saturated with previews, post game reports and interviews. Rising Star nominations, goals of week, marks of week,coaches votes, which seem pretty standard in other footy states.

Think it’s something Presidents should be questioning as to what value for money are we getting for what clubs pay plus what AFL tip into each state.

Think it’s time for our leader at AFLQ to actually do something active.
And that’s an issue too SM,we haven’t seen or heard of the CEO since our initial announcement into the comp!
We still go through Dean Warren(who is retired) to attempt to get answers!

And that’s an issue too SM,we haven’t seen or heard of the CEO since our initial announcement into the comp!
NB, you just need a photo opportunity arranged up there with some celebs and maybe politicians and you’ll get an answer pretty quick.

I wasn't quite right.

Moloney was suspended the week before and wasn't allowed to attend the game vs Redland.

With him suspended, their captain and another player took up his duties and were suspended for the Aspley game.

All of the suspensions allegedly for umpire abuse both during and after the games.
That's unbelievable then - what the hell is going on at the Gorillas!!

Fees are miles too high if you are needing to charge players at QAFL level $700 to play. If that includes club polo and other club uniform well thats on the club but many times the insistence that players get new shorts for example because of a new sponsor, well it just all adds up.
The cost needs to be kept to somewhere around the $300-400 mark imo. Mind you plenty of clubs can find $$ to pay players reasonable coin and maybe some of that could be redirected to subsidising ALL players with their rego fees at times?

Poor Deano just having a quiet beer looking over the Mary valley and he gets interrupted half a doz times in the week by a Noosa person asking why the boundary umpire didn't roll up in the colts the last 2 weeks.... :)

So Morningside had a soft draw ! They will probably finish at least 3 wins ahead of third. They didn’t play Grange, Redlands, Surfers and PBC twice. I can’t see any of those sides adding to their 3 losses for the season. Give credit where it is due !
I'm not saying they haven't done well. Just that the fact that they have played the bottom 4 teams twice (in seniors) helps when adding up wins and comparing it to other teams who didn’t.

It's difficult to do a proper comparison when the draw doesn't have everyone playing each other twice. I didn't expect Labrador to beat them by nearly 100 points either, so unless you play every team twice, some teams will inevitably end up with a softer draw than others. It's not their fault and you won't really know until the season plays out.
Morningside were bottom 4 last year and ended up with an easier draw this year as a result of the way that QAFL do the draw. I don't think it has had anything to do with where they have finished on the ladder. They have recruited well, been well coached and played good footy. But it skews a win/loss comparison, that's all.

QAFL 2024 season