Radical New Look

greg

Jun 26, 2001
West of Nth Melbourne
Here's my thoughts on a bit of a different line up for this week assuming Arch is still not fit, please feel free to rip it apart, it's just for a bit of fun a bit like Benno's U/25 team.

Colbert, Brown, Makepeace
Simpson, Mc Kernan, A Stevens
Wells, Firrito, Rawlings
J Clayton, Watt, Harding
Chad Jones, Cory Jones, Motlop

Petrie, Harris, Harvey

Watson, Hale, Trotter, King.

Emergencies: Rocca, Grima, LeGras.

Originally posted by greg
Here's my thoughts on a bit of a different line up for this week assuming Arch is still not fit, please feel free to rip it apart, it's just for a bit of fun a bit like Benno's U/25 team.

Wells, Firrito, Rawlings
J Clayton, Watt, Harding

Petrie, Harris, Harvey

Get serious and write down a team that will have a go for us not some of these blokes that look like superstars one week and go missing for a few then bob up again....
Rawlings, harding, King have too go!!!
im sorry but Rawlings is too soft, Harding plays Five minutes o good footy every 8 too 10 games and King he has been good for us and if you people are smart football judges you can see that he trying too intimidate and be tough too much now cause he cant get a kick or explode like he used too....

Kids That will Have a Go For Us and i think URCH goes straight too the top of the list....

Originally posted by Anvil16
McKernan in the backline and Watt up forward?

Thank **** your not coach

I said it was for a bit if fun you C*cksmoker watts the idea of being personal

Just for your info Mc Kernan played down back on Ottens in an MCG semi final and actually held him down pretty well.

When was this final against Ottens please please please tell me, just for my info of course

I remember him doing ok against Ottens in a home and away match at the SCG, that was a one off.

Who would he play on Saturday night?? Lynch??? Brown?? Get serious

Originally posted by THIRTY-THREE
Actually could be a good move they both doo nothing... two of the biggest men out there and got hearts the size of peas...

No heart hey? Go down to training during the week and tell them that. Of course if Urch came in he would tear it apart right?

Re: Re: Radical New Look

Originally posted by THIRTY-THREE
Rawlings, harding, King have too go!!!
im sorry but Rawlings is too soft, Harding plays Five minutes o good footy every 8 too 10 games and King he has been good for us and if you people are smart football judges you can see that he trying too intimidate and be tough too much now cause he cant get a kick or explode like he used too....

Harding was given about 10 minutes in the first game against Adelaide and has not played since. Where is he meant to go to?

Harding is a very good rover, something Corey Jones and Motlop are not as good at, they are medium sized forwards and nowhere near as good when the ball hits the ground, which is most of the time one of our tall forwards goes for a mark inside 50.

Forward pockets do not kick 10 goals a game every week, they are not the focus of the football, they have to fight and scrap for crumbs, at times it does not bear a lot of fruit, at other times they can turn a game around with a few quick goals they have created out of nothing. We are not seeing much of that creative work so far this year.

Boomer is our only real goal kicking rover in the side, Jeremy Clayton can potentially become another but Turtle has played the role well for a couple of years now and do not understand why he is not given more of a go, its not like anyone else in the senior team is oozing with spectacular form.

More Rawings bagging eh, he may have taken over Makepeace in the 'inner supporters' most under-rated player award. The guy is awesome, and 21. I'll remember you bagged him, and make you look like a complete goose very soon thirty-three. Or then again you can just watch our first three games where he totally negated three of the best midfielders in the AFL and found the footy himself, McCleod, Crawford, Camporeale (1 kick to half time) hardly duds. Stop making throw away comments and give reason for your suggestions. Rawlings out? pfft!

Wells, Firrito, Rawlings
J Clayton, Watt, Harding

Petrie, Harris, Harvey

Actually I quiet like that team Greg. Swap Hale and Chad Jones around and that team is worth trying.
Your back half is very good actually.
Corey Jones as full forward is unusual but with Hale in the pocket could be effective.
Petrie in the ruck is a top move.
Watt into forward half is worth a go as well.
Good work Greg that team is definitely worth a try.

certianly commend you on your lateral thinking. i for one like the idea of both watt and Mckernan moving, but I don't know who would McKernan match up on? If he comes out even with Brown or lynch that would be a fantastic result for us I reckon. Hopefully he can get some form back as well.

Greg I still wanna know when this final at the MCG was when McKernan beat Ottens??

Just for my info of course

Greg I still wanna know when this final at the MCG was when McKernan beat Ottens??

i can't remember mckernan playing in that position on the night but i do remember that the only final the kangas have played against richmond in the 90s was in the 1995 season on a friday night

cheers

So what your saying greg is that Shannon Grant needs a spell at Port.
I Don't think so, he's been one of our best!

Originally posted by Curly
So what your saying greg is that Shannon Grant needs a spell at Port.
I Don't think so, he's been one of our best!

Sorry Mate just plain forgot about Shannon Grant, he would be in my best 22. I guess it may say something about his form he last couple of weeks although I missed the Bullies game altogether.

As Anvil said it's just aswell I'm not coach, but there again I don't claim to be one.

Well Smoker I don't actually get onto BF every night so I wasn't avoiding a reply,

I think hungerharris is correct it would have probably been 95 in which case he would have played on Richo, so I stand to be corrected (unless it was a home and away game).

It was a hasty remark of mine as you upset me with your pretty rude reply

However he important thing is that I do remember sitting in the forward pocket at the G with a Richmond supporter mate of mine and McKernan played as a permanent fullback whether it be on Richo or Ottens as we had bugger all height in the backline

Cory actually kept up with the leading forward and got his fist to the ball in most of the marking contests due to his exceptional reach. We actually won the game that night.

The funny thing was that I never saw him play that positon again even after playing so well there and being one of the best on ground.

Whether or not he would be any good down back at the moment is anyone's guess but he isn't doing much anywhere else at the moment.

The thing is we don't have a big pool of KP's and rucks to pick from so some blokes are going to play despite poor form whether we like it or not.

It's pretty easy to say bring in Urch and co ( which I reckon the likes of should all get a run at some stage) but they won't be ble to play CHB, CHF.

I wonder if you have any idea's about who should play where?

Re: Re: Radical New Look

Originally posted by Angus1
Actually I quiet like that team Greg. Swap Hale and Chad Jones around and that team is worth trying.
Your back half is very good actually.
Corey Jones as full forward is unusual but with Hale in the pocket could be effective.
Petrie in the ruck is a top move.
Watt into forward half is worth a go as well.
Good work Greg that team is definitely worth a try.

Thought you might like Petrie in the ruck, I actually agree with you that he plays more like a Ruckman come forward than a CHF. He just does't seem to be agile enough to recover and then get back into the contest.

The logic of putting Cory in the goal mouth i that I reckon he leads pretty well and is fairly strong overhead for his size, but I wouldn't be against playing him out of the pocket either.

The other couple of thoughts I had was Stevo to the back flank a bit like Schimma in the good old days.

Simmo to the other flank for his Arial skills and ability to lock the ball up, his delivery to the forward line isn't perfect so playing him a bit further back mightn't hurt.

Colby to the BP as I reckon he's a 28 year old locked in a 36 year old body and he should probably drop back behind the frontline.

Not sure where to play Brown though either FB or CHF.

Cheers

Originally posted by NeoBlaze
certianly commend you on your lateral thinking. i for one like the idea of both watt and Mckernan moving, but I don't know who would McKernan match up on? If he comes out even with Brown or lynch that would be a fantastic result for us I reckon. Hopefully he can get some form back as well.

Ta

I'm not really sure what to do Cory McKernan either but I reckon our backline couldn't get much worse and either could Corza.

It would be good to have a couple of up and comming big blokes knocking the door down for senior selection at Port but the KP stocks look pretty bare at the moment especially with both Perry and Shore playing Port two's, they may come on in time, but it looks like they won't make it overnight.

I think the main thing is to try a few things. It doesn't have to be permanent but if we can get a few players back into some form by trying them in a different position then perhaps we will get something positive out of the game. If we get off to a good start then who knows. We have upset Brisbane before when things were looking grim.
The whole Petrie into the ruck thing is purely to play him back into form. I think he is and will be a very good CHF.

Radical New Look