Rate / Rank The Leagues - Yes its the unwinnable argument!

Re: top 10 leagues outside AFL in Victoria

Well said Whispers. A successful club isnt just one that wins on the field. It is also about what the club contributes to the community and how much involvement/ interest there is amongst community/local business in the fortunes of their local club. Many clubs have had successful times on field due to an influx of players related to spending sprees but have had minimal support or success off field. Often this results in clubs eventually going to the wall.

Anyway outside the AFL and not including the VFL my opinion on the strongest leagues would be,
VAFA
EFL
GVFL
Mornington Peninsula FL
Diamond Valley FL
Geelong FL
Ovens and Murray FL

Always difficult to make comparisons though due to different styles of football being played in each competition which are often influenced by ground and weather conditions and the overall type of players that are found in these leagues. Some of these higher profile players often struggle in so called lesser leagues due to their inability to be able to adjust to the different playing styles.

localfootyguru said:
Well said Whispers. A successful club isnt just one that wins on the field. It is also about what the club contributes to the community and how much involvement/ interest there is amongst community/local business in the fortunes of their local club. Many clubs have had successful times on field due to an influx of players related to spending sprees but have had minimal support or success off field. Often this results in clubs eventually going to the wall.

Anyway outside the AFL and not including the VFL my opinion on the strongest leagues would be,
VAFA
EFL
GVFL
Mornington Peninsula FL
Diamond Valley FL
Geelong FL
Ovens and Murray FL

Always difficult to make comparisons though due to different styles of football being played in each competition which are often influenced by ground and weather conditions and the overall type of players that are found in these leagues. Some of these higher profile players often struggle in so called lesser leagues due to their inability to be able to adjust to the different playing styles.

Aren't Old Melburnians in the VAFA?? If so read fish1's post earlier on, they were smashed by Yarrawonga (O&M)by 16 goals. Even with a few out.

tige19 said:
I know quite a few blokes who have played both O&M and GV and pretty much all have come back with the same feedback. 3+ years ago the O&M was stronger but of recent years the GV has really kicked ahead.

I would almost gurantee that if you asked Tossol which side was better, his Mansfield flag side or his Corowa flag side i know which 1 he would choose.

Myrtleford where asked to play Tassie as North have had an affiliation the O&M years back and are on good terms with them. Im sure that is Seymour or Euroa where to play Tassie the end result would be alot closer than 40 points. Both of those sides have 10 or so former VFL listed player and a couple of ex AFL footballers to go along with the rest who were at TAC level or something equivalent.

Dont kid your self buddy, yes the O&M is a strong strong league and easily in the top 3 or 4 but over the past few years we have seen it drop below GV standard. Those who have seen plenty of both would agree and its common knowledge through the footy world that the transition from O&M being number 1 in country VIC to now the GV taking over the mantle.

Like i said bring up some valid evidence suggesting the league is stronger, either that or keep embarassing your self.

cheers
Tossol did not coach mansfield to a flag, It was mensch

"Everybody knows that the GVFL is the best standard of football outside of the VFL, so it's just great to be involved in this role."

Steve Daniels, Shepparton News, 23rd March 2006
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not a bad opinion to get on this topic. Daniels was commenting on his appointment as coach of the GVFL rep side.

MrsKenGriffeySnr said:
I like this topic, except for it always descends into the same old rubbish. With the OMFL/GVFL argument, although the GVFL might have strengthened over the past few years, it is not that long ago that they were beaten by the Murray league. It is not one or two good seasons that make a team or league. And you have to look at the worst players that get games in the weaker sides, would they get a game in a stronger league?? And the argument about how many good players are in a side is stupid, because Mansfield might have Trent Hotton but who are their worst ten players, and would they get a game in VAFA A Grade? Probably not.
VAFA is stronger than any country league. With the rep game, that is just A grade reps plus a couple from lower divisions whereas it is the entirety of Vic Country. And again with the depth, there are blokes that are running around in A Grade 2nds that would be good players in any country league.
I would say:
VFL
VAFA A Grade
OMFL
GFL
Ballarat
GVFL
Hampden
After that my knowledge is pretty poor, especially of Gippsland/Latrobe
The worst players that get a game in the weaker sides? Of course they're not going to get a game in a stronger league. I'll flip that for you and say there'd be plenty of players in weak VAFA sides that wouldn't get a game in a few GVFL & O&M sides.

As for your contention that Mansfield's bottom ten players wouldn't get a game in a VAFA side, I'd say you're having a fair old guess at that. You wouldn't know until they went and played there.

They might not all fit into one side but they will have the ability to get a game. After that it all depends on how they fit in, positions they can play or are required to play and their desire to play. There are a host of variables but to suggest they probably wouldn't get a game is ridiculous.

Blokes running around in A Grade 2's that'd be good players in any country league?:rolleyes:

You're talking about the VAFA A Grade like it's the VFL.

Is it fair to say VAFA and Country football is completely different standards. That the VAFA has better skills then country leagues but country leagues are tougher brand of football??

So in saying that, a country player would have more success in the VAFA then a VAFA player would in the country leagues??

Whispers said:
Is it fair to say VAFA and Country football is completely different standards. That the VAFA has better skills then country leagues but country leagues are tougher brand of football??

So in saying that, a country player would have more success in the VAFA then a VAFA player would in the country leagues??
You cannot talk about VAFA v Country football in such broad terms.

Are you going to compare GV or O&M with VAFA D Grade or VAFA A Grade with Benalla & District FL?

Same with saying the VAFA has better skills than country leagues. I suppose you're saying better skilled overall but there'll be plenty of players playing country footy who are a lot better skilled than VAFA players.

BTW, if the country leagues are so much less skilled, why do they produce such a disproportionate amount of AFL draftees?

I think you'll find that most suburban/VCFL clubs will beat amateur clubs in practice matches. Most of the players in the amateur clubs don't care, as it's only a practice game, however the suburban/VCFL club players are looking to get more $$$ and are still in contract negotiations so a good performance has more bearing on their immediate future.

For mine the comparison should be made as follows:

Suburban/VCFL leagues may have a better hypothetical rep side and "gun" players, but the VAFA has heaps more depth in each team if you compared bottom 5 players.

Slay Master G said:
I think you'll find that most suburban/VCFL clubs will beat amateur clubs in practice matches. Most of the players in the amateur clubs don't care, as it's only a practice game, however the suburban/VCFL club players are looking to get more $$$ and are still in contract negotiations so a good performance has more bearing on their immediate future.

For mine the comparison should be made as follows:

Suburban/VCFL leagues may have a better hypothetical rep side and "gun" players, but the VAFA has heaps more depth in each team if you compared bottom 5 players.

Slay Master (nice name by the way), I think with your above comments you've made an assumption that EVERY suburban/VCFL player that plays is playing solely for monetary gain, and I think you'll find that that is def not the case. I understand that you prob have the perception that every player at a Vermont, Heidelberg, Seymour, East Burwood etc gets match payments each week, but I think that you'll find that although that monetary incentive is there, prob 80-90% of these players are purely playing there for the enjoyment, or to play with mates, or to improve their footy. Also, during practice matches, I don't think many players would have their contracts altered whether they played good or bad, and if I was coaching a side, I would be very worried if they "didn't care" about the result...surely every player who crosses the white line has every intention of playing to the best of their ability and trying to out-gun their opponent...

In closing, have you seen many high standard suburban/VCFL games? If so, who, and when? To suggest that the VAFA teams has more depth, is in my opinion, absolute nonsense. I watched 3 games of A grade amatuer footy last year, and it's clean, fast footy, but even top players for Trinity, Marcellin, etc (even though I appreciate that neither of these sides were top teams), would struggle to make a lot of impact at GV, O&M and DV level. Their bottomw 10 players would be fringe players at best..

Slay Master G said:
Absolute rubbish.

99% of players involved in practice matches for VCFL clubs will have already negotiated their contracts and the more professional clubs will have almost finalised their lists (at least for the players who will be paid). Even if one player in the match is trying to impress for that reason, it's not going to alter a result.

So when the ball is there to be won, the amateurs don't care as it's only a practice game. OK. There will be less intensity but players still like to win. But with all this depth you're telling us about, surely players fighting for spots will make them keen to do well. Is it possible you see a contradiction?

Oh, and so whilst amateurs clubs technically don't pay, to use your point, wouldn't some players be trying to impress their new club with a view to be set up with a good job?

TuskenRaider said:
Absolute rubbish.

99% of players involved in practice matches for VCFL clubs will have already negotiated their contracts and the more professional clubs will have almost finalised their lists (at least for the players who will be paid). Even if one player in the match is trying to impress for that reason, it's not going to alter a result.

So when the ball is there to be won, the amateurs don't care as it's only a practice game. OK. There will be less intensity but players still like to win. But with all this depth you're telling us about, surely players fighting for spots will make them keen to do well. Is it possible you see a contradiction?

Oh, and so whilst amateurs clubs technically don't pay, to use your point, wouldn't some players be trying to impress their new club with a view to be set up with a good job?

i think this is fascinating reading - keep up the good work!!

T.Perry said:
Slay Master (nice name by the way), I think with your above comments you've made an assumption that EVERY suburban/VCFL player that plays is playing solely for monetary gain, and I think you'll find that that is def not the case. I understand that you prob have the perception that every player at a Vermont, Heidelberg, Seymour, East Burwood etc gets match payments each week, but I think that you'll find that although that monetary incentive is there, prob 80-90% of these players are purely playing there for the enjoyment, or to play with mates, or to improve their footy. Also, during practice matches, I don't think many players would have their contracts altered whether they played good or bad, and if I was coaching a side, I would be very worried if they "didn't care" about the result...surely every player who crosses the white line has every intention of playing to the best of their ability and trying to out-gun their opponent...

In closing, have you seen many high standard suburban/VCFL games? If so, who, and when? To suggest that the VAFA teams has more depth, is in my opinion, absolute nonsense. I watched 3 games of A grade amatuer footy last year, and it's clean, fast footy, but even top players for Trinity, Marcellin, etc (even though I appreciate that neither of these sides were top teams), would struggle to make a lot of impact at GV, O&M and DV level. Their bottomw 10 players would be fringe players at best..

I have seen a fair bit of EDFL footy, having friends play in that league, mailnly finals. Different brand of footy to VAFA altogether, difficult to compare. I know guys that have come from the burbs to amateurs and battled and vice versa, there are also those that suceed in changing leagues.

I would say that VAFA is more like AFL brand of footy, fast and running, spotting up free players where as suburban games are more kick to packs, 70's/80's VFL brand, both have their pluses and minuses.

As I said, difficult to compare.

To settle the argument, I think the following leagues are the best outside the VFL, and in no particular order:

VAFA - A grade
EFL
EDFL
GVFL
OMFL
GFL

Other leagues are not as even and don't have the depth.

If you play seniors at a club in these leagues, then you are a reasonable footballer playing a reasonable standard.

I think we should get over which one is thye best cos really, we will never know, it's like, do you get wetter running in the rain for 20 mins, or walking in the rain for 20 mins?

The VAFA A grade is no doubt a strong competition, but you clowns making comment on other leagues are those with private school mentality who have neither seen nor played any other football bar for your school then old boys ammo club..
Ammos is more skilful?? is this another way of saying no one in ammos mans up or chases their opponent? Easy to look skilful when not playing on anyone..
Ammos players don’t need to try in practice matches??? Are you for real?? As TuskenRaider said, with this huge amount of depth (40plus players all up for senior footy according to the amount of talent in your bottom ten players) and everyone playing for the love of the jumper, surely they would be giving 100% each time they took the field be it a practice match or during the season.

Next thing you’ll be saying that no VAFA clubs actually pay players under the table…

Tell me this, how many of you “golden A grade VAFA” experts have been and seen any games in the leagues you are paying out on? If you are going to comment on another league you should have at least played in it or seen plenty of games…

Slay Master G said:
I have seen a fair bit of EDFL footy, having friends play in that league, mailnly finals. Different brand of footy to VAFA altogether, difficult to compare. I know guys that have come from the burbs to amateurs and battled and vice versa, there are also those that suceed in changing leagues.

I would say that VAFA is more like AFL brand of footy, fast and running, spotting up free players where as suburban games are more kick to packs, 70's/80's VFL brand, both have their pluses and minuses.

As I said, difficult to compare.

To settle the argument, I think the following leagues are the best outside the VFL, and in no particular order:

VAFA - A grade
EFL
EDFL
GVFL
OMFL
GFL

Other leagues are not as even and don't have the depth.

If you play seniors at a club in these leagues, then you are a reasonable footballer playing a reasonable standard.

I think we should get over which one is thye best cos really, we will never know, it's like, do you get wetter running in the rain for 20 mins, or walking in the rain for 20 mins?

Sounds like your a little EDFL bias by putting them in that list mate. EDFL is ok but drop them out and add DVFL and you'd be closer to the truth.

joshooaa said:
Sounds like your a little EDFL bias by putting them in that list mate. EDFL is ok but drop them out and add DVFL and you'd be closer to the truth.
are you kidding the edfl is twice the league of the thuggish league knopwn as the dvfl

future29 said:
are you kidding the edfl is twice the league of the thuggish league knopwn as the dvfl
edfl footy is where tackling is illegal, swearing is non existant and family picnics are rife. if you want to extend your football career then play edfl footy because you come off the ground without a scratch. in that putrid standard you can play untill your mid fourties. This year you will have 1 side that can match the top 4 in the dvfl, the first time ever. If there were 4 or 5 more strathmores than maybe you would make the top 10.

kingfooty said:
edfl footy is where tackling is illegal, swearing is non existant and family picnics are rife. if you want to extend your football career then play edfl footy because you come off the ground without a scratch. in that putrid standard you can play untill your mid fourties. This year you will have 1 side that can match the top 4 in the dvfl, the first time ever. If there were 4 or 5 more strathmores than maybe you would make the top 10.
Kingfooty, go back into hibernation! You are living in a time warp! Maybe when you wake up you will see the light. If you champion a league that is known for behind the play hits, and you perceive that as tough, you are a sorry case. Must be a reflection of your own approach to life.

Toughness and courage is putting your body on the line by attacking the ball, regardless of the consequences. It is not biffing someone behind play, as you seem to condone. Majority of players, go out to play football, not fight. If your measure of the standard, is the league that fights most, then you win!
If you detest the EDFL or any other league, you don't have to go and watch them, which you probably don't anyway.

ilovetogetblind said:
"Everybody knows that the GVFL is the best standard of football outside of the VFL, so it's just great to be involved in this role."

Steve Daniels, Shepparton News, 23rd March 2006
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not a bad opinion to get on this topic. Daniels was commenting on his appointment as coach of the GVFL rep side.

Of course he is going to say that. He's not going to turn around say that they are SH%T is he???

Just a question to the GV boys. 4 O&M sides played 4 GV sides today. Can anyone let me in on the final results??? :confused:

have no idea about other leagues, but for what it is worth, east burwood beat de la and east ringwood beat old haileybury. east burwood have now beaten seymour. vermont beat mt eliza. east ringwood beat strathmore. practice matches yes indeed, however you cant tell me the eastern football league aint pretty strong.

buffolo bill said:
have no idea about other leagues, but for what it is worth, east burwood beat de la and east ringwood beat old haileybury. east burwood have now beaten seymour. vermont beat mt eliza. east ringwood beat strathmore. practice matches yes indeed, however you cant tell me the eastern football league aint pretty strong.

Doncaster 2nd Div EFL defeated Mooroopna in a tight contest for what its worth.
Once again Practice Matches but interesting none the less.

1. GVFL
2. GFL (Geelong)
3. Eastern
4. Wimmera (Timmy Watson, Adam Goodes, and others
5. Diamond Valley
6. O & M
7. O & K
8. Kyabram DFL
9. Gipps / Latrobe
10. Central Murray

What about top 10 country Victorian leagues. I think the suburban leagues also have a huge population of people to draw from so what about top 10 country Victorian leagues. I think the way the VCFL Interleague carnival is set up now is an absolute discgrace and they have achieved nothing by taking it to this round robin format.

My top 10:
1. GVFL
2. OMFL
3. GFL (only 50 mins from melb)
4. Ballarat FL (only 50 mins from melb)
5. MPFL
6. WGLFL
7. Bendigo FL
8. CMFL
9. Hampden FL
10. Bellarine FL

This one is for the GVFL guys:

From the O&M website. Have read what the Euroa coach says.

YARRAWONGA applied the finishing touches to its build-up to the round one blockbuster against premiership favourites Myrtleford with a crushing 67-point win against Goulburn Valley league powerhouse Euroa on Saturday.
The Pigeons head into the season opener against the Saints at the J.C. Lowe Oval on Saturday buoyed by their performance against Euroa which was beaten in the GV grand final last year by Seymour.
Yarrawonga was without key forward Simon Rudd and regular senior players Tyler Bonat and John Lucas who will all return against the Saints, who have been equally impressive during the pre-season.
A strong wing blowing across the ground marred the match as a spectacle, but the Pigeons were in control at quarter time when they led by 22 points.
Tim Hargreaves and Craig Ednie kicked three goals apiece for Yarrawonga, but the unsung heroes of the victory were defenders Matt Wollington, Phil Bourke, Dallas Gallagher and Craig Whinray.
"Today was another good effort considering they were runners-up last year," Pigeons match committee member Martin Cross said.
"We applied pressure and the players are learning more every week.
"The players are doing the right thing in being asked to play a certain type of game.
"We will be ready to go next week."
Star Euroa recruit Rory Hilton had minimal impact on the match and Shane Clayton didn't play.
"It's embarrassing to perform like that," Euroa coach David Gleeson said.
"As one of the better teams in a better league, to come here and show that is embarrassing.
"I can offer no excuses.
"The 22 blokes out there have all played senior football before.
"It means we have got a lot of work to do."

Rate / Rank The Leagues - Yes its the unwinnable argument!