Rd 3 vs. Collingwood - Friday Night

For all those GRANT THOMAS disciples, i hope you watched tonight's game

A player i have been spruiking on these boards for 4 years now as possessing great skill, poise and strength delivered tonight

Stand up MR JIMMY GWILT

This guy was plucked from Noble Park (not the traditional place for draftees) with noted skills however has always been held back, especially by Thomas.

To Lyons credit he has perservered with Gwilt, Gilbert, Blake, Gardiner etc and to night it repaid his faith in BUCKETLOADS

Thomas failed to recognise this kid at all (only late in the season when he had guy's injured e.g. Adelaide final over there when half fit and was in our best 60 ).

I did,especially after watching his 3 BOG's in the 2's and having a 10 minute conversation after training one day on the wing at Moorabbin. He confided that he was frustrated, disillusional and ready to pack it in and go back to suburban footy. I told him a few stories of my time watching the greats at St Kilda and sitting on mums rug on the old railing seats on the HFF. I told him of the skillfull players of Tweedale, Maurice O'Keefe etc and others that gave it away all to easy to the booze, girls and &*^%.

Like me, don't give it away until someone tells you, your no good, because 9 times out of 10 its they who are no good.

AGH

GO GWILTY GO!

I love this team !

Phantastic win, stood tall as a team, never gave up with enourmous courage and commitment, kept Collingwood goalless and went for the kill when they were ready.

Riewoldt's injury is unfortunate and will hurt us of course, but I think we have made a point tonight that we can win without him and that St Kilda will not fall from premiership favourite to not making the finals without him.

Theres nothing better for a lions supporter to see the pies go down like that... magnificant.. Saints = legendary!!! best game of the season so far..

The sort of game that reminds not just Saints supporters, but supporters of playing actual football as opposed to, well, whatever thuggish idiocy the Collingwoods were trying to play tonight, why this is the best game in the world.

Heart, strength, passion, commitment. I know if I even came near Kingy's shoulder at high speed I'd still be in the hospital a week from now, but not Lenny. Wrap a big bloody bandage around my face and lemme at 'em.

You Saints make my heart sing.

The sort of game that reminds not just Saints supporters, but supporters of playing actual football as opposed to, well, whatever thuggish idiocy the Collingwoods were trying to play tonight, why this is the best game in the world.

Heart, strength, passion, commitment. I know if I even came near Kingy's shoulder at high speed I'd still be in the hospital a week from now, but not Lenny. Wrap a big bloody bandage around my face and lemme at 'em.

Carn mate was a bloody hard game of football. I think 'thuggish' is a little misguided.

Well done on a fantastic win, while many Pies fans are devastated I take a little away knowing we took it to your mob for 3 quarters and could have come closer with some straight kicking. St. Kilda are the benchmark right now so losing to you guys is not the end of the world this early in the season..

Super win, all credit I thought you might struggle in the last. Well done.:thumbsu:

Haha. I bet you have a lot of little athletics ribbons at home which say "participated".

It was tough game but no tougher than you'll get from the Hawks every time you play them. Open your eyes.

Preparing for a second loss in a row ?

The loyalty of Collingwood supporters...

Carn mate was a bloody hard game of football. I think 'thuggish' is a little misguided.

Well done on a fantastic win, while many Pies fans are devastated I take a little away knowing we took it to your mob for 3 quarters and could have come closer with some straight kicking. St. Kilda are the benchmark right now so losing to you guys is not the end of the world this early in the season..

I think it is fair to say that Harry O'Brien wasn't out there to play football tonight. He was willing to cop a suspension in his attempt to rattle the Saints - and in particular Clint Jones. He got away with it, but some of his actions bordered on thuggery. Also taking Riewoldt out behind play in the second Q was another example.

Clearly it was premeditated and clearly it did work to some extent.

But when the chips were down and the hard work was asked for, Collingwood simply dived repeatedly and whimped out big time.

The only one to do a fair bit more than expected was Ball. His performance probably only relates to his time at the Saints but his heart is already shrinking.

Haha. I bet you have a lot of little athletics ribbons at home which say "participated".

We did,and what we saw was:

THE SCORE
St Kilda: 10.9.69
Collingwood: 4.17.41

Next week will take care of itself - end of the day you need to get a win on the board to catch us now + a new CHF & FF - good luck!

I cannot believe with such a star studded highly paid forward line you can only deliver 4 goals in 4 quarters of football, I'm no mathematician but i reckon thats like 1 goal a quarter, or 1 goal every 25 minutes...to me that is just an utter disgrace.

I think it is fair to say that Harry O'Brien wasn't out there to play football tonight. He was willing to cop a suspension in his attempt to rattle the Saints - and in particular Clint Jones. He got away with it, but some of his actions bordered on thuggery. Also taking Riewoldt out behind play in the first Q was another example.

Clearly it was premeditated and clearly it did work to some extent.

But when the chips were down and the hard work was asked for, Collingwood simply dived repeatedly and whimped out big time.

The only one to do a fair bit more than expected was Ball. His performance probably only relates to his time at the Saints but his heart is already shrinking.

Good to see you being so gracious in victory Kildonan :rolleyes:
Goog luck for the rest of the season without Riewoldt.

Aren't you welcome on your own board? Why don't you go and add up all the soft free kicks Collingwoooood got tonight - that will keep you busy for ages. If you get through that, count all the times your captain flapped his arms for frees - fancy people having a go at Riewoldt when Maxwell and Didak are doing that crap.

Well done Saints tough game & gutsy win.

Like most I did expect us to get touched up as we have in the recent past by the Saints (and our poor effort against the Dees), but we served it up well & came close so am satisfied with the effort, our execution however was woeful & cost us badly, you just can't do that against a classy finishing side.

Nonetheless I feel we have closed the gap which at the end of last year seemed wide. Still looked a bit like boys versus men, but our young blokes will be better off for the experience. Looking forward to next time.

All the best to Riewolt (am glad he didn't tear up this time;)) but he just screwed my supercoach side up, how selfish of him. I don't think that will cost you many games, but your margins will be smaller! Your defence wins most of your games - i say play Tommy Walsh at FF for fun.

Goddard/Gardiner & Koschitzke up forward > Anthony & Cloke up forward
aaaand Riewoldt is about 6-8 weeks away, but nice try

Anthony didn't play tonight, so i am not sure what you are basing your statement on.
As i mentioned in my second last post in this thread we were disgraced tonight but the lack of humidity on this board surprises me somewhat , especially when you take your history into the account.

We did,and what we saw was:

THE SCORE
St Kilda: 10.9.69
Collingwood: 4.17.41

Next week will take care of itself - end of the day you need to get a win on the board to catch us now + a new CHF & FF - good luck!

I cannot believe with such a star studded highly paid forward line you can only deliver 4 goals in 4 quarters of football, I'm no mathematician but i reckon thats like 1 goal a quarter, or 1 goal every 25 minutes...to me that is just an utter disgrace.

Agreed the kicking was a disgrace & lost us the game. Bad kicking is bad football as you know all too well from last years GF. However the positives for us are we produced more scoring oppurtunities which wasn't the case in rd 7 last year, so we aren't as far away as most think.

The saints play the ugliest brand of footy I've seen from a top side. Yuk. And you suckers have to watch it every week. Give me the class and dash of the Cats, Dogs and Hawks any day. Winners are grinners but geez louise-Lyon ought to be fined for bringing our game into disrepute. One can almost enjoy being beaten by teams who play class footy.

Rd 3 vs. Collingwood - Friday Night