Preview Rd 9: Brisbane Lions v Carlton

Brown, Lisle and Michael with Leuey resting?

Faaaaaar to many talls in the forward line, one will go back and I'm expecting Jordy.
Michael will play back up Ruck when Leuy rests up forward remember? 2 key forwards and a resting Ruck is not to tall IMO especially with Redden, Green, Bewick, and Zorko providing defensive pressure up forward.

Brown, Lisle and Michael with Leuey resting?

Faaaaaar to many talls in the forward line, one will go back and I'm expecting Jordy.
As Lionshine said Leuy and Michael will rest. This could backfire, but I think we will be too tall for Carlton.

Michael will play back up Ruck when Leuy rests up forward remember? 2 key forwards and a resting Ruck is not to tall IMO especially with Redden, Green, Bewick, and Zorko providing defensive pressure up forward.
Exactly what I had in mind.

going to have to play staker back i reckon, we are going to be thin either back or forward would have liked to see the bad boys patty k and ace in but it gives another boy a chance , good luck sam

Only the very best of teams can see-off the type of effort and pressure that Brisbane applied to Essendon on the weekend.

Carlton are not one of the very best teams in the AFL and if we can replicate the Essendon standard we will win this one.

Only the very best of teams can see-off the type of effort and pressure that Brisbane applied to Essendon on the weekend.

Carlton are not one of the very best teams in the AFL and if we can replicate the Essendon standard we will win this one.
It's not that simple is it? There's always the possibility they will apply similar pressure to us - and experience tells us that when teams do that from the start we can struggle to get into the game.

Carlton posters seem to think that Carlton have struggled this year when a lot of pressure has been applied and the opposition has played a hard, tough brand of footy against them. We have done this the past two weeks against West Coast and Essendon. Hopefully we can continue to do so this week.

Considering the blues are without carazzo, yarran and betts they are putting a very good team on the paddock.

If they play well I don't think we can match their skills....although our foot skills last week were better than they have been for some time.

Even though we beat them in the nab cup there were times in that match when they seemed like they wanted to turn it on and during those periods we were completely outclassed.

I don't often feel like this but I think we will get pumped....lets hope not.

LIONS!!

Really hope that lester doesnt spend to much time, playing as a PURE defender, he has shown over the last couple of weeks that his most valuable to the team on ball, he is big strong, makes good choices and can win his own ball.

Karny the SUB again........

No Carrazo for the blues is huge for the lions, Gibbs 1st game back so lets hope he is a bit rusty.
Karny is emergency not sub.

He has just returned from that injury layoff. Will have roughly a month to get some match practice up in the reserves before the mid-season rookie upgrade in Round 11. Will probably get an upgrade sometime this year and get a couple of senior games later in the year:thumbsu:

Ah yeah, I forgot about mid season rookie upgrade. Was thinking with Clarke's and Sam's elevation the two longer term injury spots had been taken.

Match ups I would like to see are:

Redden to Gibbs

Jack more than good enough to shut down the key to the drive off the HB line, will also make Gibbs accountable going the other way.

Yeo to Walker

Yeo would be an even match up to Walker's athleticism. With Carlton's mosquito fleet being grounded I see Walker as the biggest danger of being a multiple goal kicker. Yeoy has been in good form time for him to take down a big scalp.

I think that Lisle plays back, has the experience there we would be too tall and slow with Brown, Lisle & Horse. However, if Lisle rotates through the forward line Carlton's key defenders will be blowing pretty hard by the second half.

Would love to know the injury status of Maguire or why he wasn't selected. The BUPA reports and general injury updates these days are rubbish and really offer us fans nothing.

Date: Saturday May 28

Time: 7.40pm local time

Venue: Gabba

Tickets: Here

Weather: Fine, partly cloudy. 13-24

TV: Foxsports 3, 7mate into Qld

Preview by Duritz (WARNING: THIS IS A JOKE - DON'T GET UPSET!)

Hi everyone. When the Lions board produced a massive petition with hundreds of signatures requesting that I come out of preview writing retirement in order to write the Round 9 preview vs Carlton, at first I was reticent.

“I’ve told you guys,” I said in a group email, “that I’ve retired from this. It’s not that I am not touched by your kind words, because I am, but I have other things to do now. You all know about my work with underprivileged homeless fluffy kittens: that takes up a lot of my time.”

However, they worked at me, and eventually convinced me to do it. So, here I am, out of preview writing retirement to present you my preview of the Lions vs Carlton.

Earlier this year, the Lions met the Blues in the final of the NAB Cup. In a match in which Carlton went in heavy favourites, the much younger and more inexperienced Lions managed to upstage the Blues, winning 0.16.13.109 to 2.7.9.69, by 40 points, in a dominant display. It is worth reliving some moments from that match:

578012-daniel-merrett.jpg

577100-lions.jpg

559512-lions.jpg

559509-lions.jpg

557312-rich.jpg

541343-carlton-v-brisbane.jpg

536764-carlton-v-brisbane.jpg

607860-lions.jpg

I bring this up, because this performance is highly relevant to this weekend’s game, it being the most recent time these two teams met, and it being in a final, where both teams were desperate to win.

What was a hallmark of that game was the ferocious tackling and unrelenting pressure of the Brisbane Lions, not allowing the outside, wide receiving running players of the Blues to be a factor. The Blues have built a gameplan around Chris Judd winning the ball under a pack, and feeding it out to the waiting wide receivers like Yarran, Garlett and Betts, while back flankers like Gibbs attempt to intercept mark any opposition attacks. This gameplan was dismantled thoroughly by the pressure of the young Lions, tackling ferociously and keeping possession in a dominant display of AFL football.

Since then, this talented Lions group have experienced a lull which threatened to derail their H&A season. By co-captain Jonathan Brown’s own admission, the team celebrated too long over the NAB Cup win, and subsequently trained poorly . This lead to a demoralising loss to the Bulldogs in round 1, and other poor performances since.

Meanwhile, the Blues – after a slow start to the year also – have righted the ship in recent times, reviving their receiver gameplan and notching 4 wins from 8 games. Many Blues fans would feel that the NAB Final was an aberration, a hiccup, a small pothole in the otherwise smooth road under ageing coach Mick Malthouse, and that the Lions should provide not too many headaches this time around.

However, the Lions have gotten things back on track in the last two weeks. Graphically, this has been the Lions performances this year, to the end of round 8:

LIONS2013_zps33fd559f.png

Clearly, this is an improving side, as the line of best fit demonstrates in that graph. This is also a young side, much younger than Carlton, and much younger than the seasoned Essendon side who they physically dominated in Round 8.

Meanwhile, Carlton have a trend of their own:

CARLFORM_zps9a84ac26.png

The trend is obvious, and clear. This Carlton side has not improved in recent times, in fact has gone backwards, gradually, over that time. I thought long about this, wondering how this side could’ve gone backwards in that time. What could’ve caused this? They had a dearth of high draft picks, in Gibbs, Kreuzer, Murphy, etc, this should’ve ensured this team were – by now – a premiership threat. What had caused the slide?

Then, I had a thought:

JUDD_zpsf1990243.png

Suddenly, things began to clarify for me. Judd has been the key to their side for so long, the sides fortunes are linked to his. But what about other players? What about the high draft picks? Gibbs, Kreuzer, Murphy?

GIBBS_zps585dd00e.png

KREUZER2_zps1834dc4c.png

MURPHY_zpsc128c907.png

And suddenly, it all became clear to me. This side has been carried by Chris Judd. They built a gameplan around him, as mentioned earlier, and as he now wanes in the twilight of his career, so does the fortunes of the players he carries on his heavily taped shoulders.

No doubt, Mick Malthouse is aware of this, and by now possibly regretting deciding to take the job at Carlton, for as Chris Judd’s decorated career winds down, as his light grows ever more dull, so too do the hopes for finals and premierships of the Carlton fans.

The opposite is true for the Lions fans. The fearless Michael Voss took the hard road 2 ½ years ago, rebuilding this club on and off field. Now, in 2013, the results are beginning to appear, like flashes of lightning on a previously dark sky. The NAB Cup win, the win over Essendon, the improvement of this side, the hardness and toughness of these kids, the willingness to play hard and throw everything at the opposition. This is a side who have only further improvement, and are hungry for it.

In this way, this match is a match of stark contrasts. Where in the Lions camp there is light on the horizon, as the sun is rising, in the Blues camp the sun is setting, and the dark is coming. This will be very evident this Saturday night at the Gabba, as the hungry, talented young Lions comfortably account for the waning Blues, to the tune of 24 points.
Great preview Big D in what again promises to be an enthralling Fev Cup
Good luck to all players especially Hendo!

Date: Saturday May 28

Time: 7.40pm local time

Venue: Gabba

Tickets: Here

Weather: Fine, partly cloudy. 13-24

TV: Foxsports 3, 7mate into Qld

Preview by Duritz (WARNING: THIS IS A JOKE - DON'T GET UPSET!)

Hi everyone. When the Lions board produced a massive petition with hundreds of signatures requesting that I come out of preview writing retirement in order to write the Round 9 preview vs Carlton, at first I was reticent.

“I’ve told you guys,” I said in a group email, “that I’ve retired from this. It’s not that I am not touched by your kind words, because I am, but I have other things to do now. You all know about my work with underprivileged homeless fluffy kittens: that takes up a lot of my time.”

However, they worked at me, and eventually convinced me to do it. So, here I am, out of preview writing retirement to present you my preview of the Lions vs Carlton.

Earlier this year, the Lions met the Blues in the final of the NAB Cup. In a match in which Carlton went in heavy favourites, the much younger and more inexperienced Lions managed to upstage the Blues, winning 0.16.13.109 to 2.7.9.69, by 40 points, in a dominant display. It is worth reliving some moments from that match:

578012-daniel-merrett.jpg

577100-lions.jpg

559512-lions.jpg

559509-lions.jpg

557312-rich.jpg

541343-carlton-v-brisbane.jpg

536764-carlton-v-brisbane.jpg

607860-lions.jpg

I bring this up, because this performance is highly relevant to this weekend’s game, it being the most recent time these two teams met, and it being in a final, where both teams were desperate to win.

What was a hallmark of that game was the ferocious tackling and unrelenting pressure of the Brisbane Lions, not allowing the outside, wide receiving running players of the Blues to be a factor. The Blues have built a gameplan around Chris Judd winning the ball under a pack, and feeding it out to the waiting wide receivers like Yarran, Garlett and Betts, while back flankers like Gibbs attempt to intercept mark any opposition attacks. This gameplan was dismantled thoroughly by the pressure of the young Lions, tackling ferociously and keeping possession in a dominant display of AFL football.

Since then, this talented Lions group have experienced a lull which threatened to derail their H&A season. By co-captain Jonathan Brown’s own admission, the team celebrated too long over the NAB Cup win, and subsequently trained poorly . This lead to a demoralising loss to the Bulldogs in round 1, and other poor performances since.

Meanwhile, the Blues – after a slow start to the year also – have righted the ship in recent times, reviving their receiver gameplan and notching 4 wins from 8 games. Many Blues fans would feel that the NAB Final was an aberration, a hiccup, a small pothole in the otherwise smooth road under ageing coach Mick Malthouse, and that the Lions should provide not too many headaches this time around.

However, the Lions have gotten things back on track in the last two weeks. Graphically, this has been the Lions performances this year, to the end of round 8:

LIONS2013_zps33fd559f.png

Clearly, this is an improving side, as the line of best fit demonstrates in that graph. This is also a young side, much younger than Carlton, and much younger than the seasoned Essendon side who they physically dominated in Round 8.

Meanwhile, Carlton have a trend of their own:

CARLFORM_zps9a84ac26.png

The trend is obvious, and clear. This Carlton side has not improved in recent times, in fact has gone backwards, gradually, over that time. I thought long about this, wondering how this side could’ve gone backwards in that time. What could’ve caused this? They had a dearth of high draft picks, in Gibbs, Kreuzer, Murphy, etc, this should’ve ensured this team were – by now – a premiership threat. What had caused the slide?

Then, I had a thought:

JUDD_zpsf1990243.png

Suddenly, things began to clarify for me. Judd has been the key to their side for so long, the sides fortunes are linked to his. But what about other players? What about the high draft picks? Gibbs, Kreuzer, Murphy?

GIBBS_zps585dd00e.png

KREUZER2_zps1834dc4c.png

MURPHY_zpsc128c907.png

And suddenly, it all became clear to me. This side has been carried by Chris Judd. They built a gameplan around him, as mentioned earlier, and as he now wanes in the twilight of his career, so does the fortunes of the players he carries on his heavily taped shoulders.

No doubt, Mick Malthouse is aware of this, and by now possibly regretting deciding to take the job at Carlton, for as Chris Judd’s decorated career winds down, as his light grows ever more dull, so too do the hopes for finals and premierships of the Carlton fans.

The opposite is true for the Lions fans. The fearless Michael Voss took the hard road 2 ½ years ago, rebuilding this club on and off field. Now, in 2013, the results are beginning to appear, like flashes of lightning on a previously dark sky. The NAB Cup win, the win over Essendon, the improvement of this side, the hardness and toughness of these kids, the willingness to play hard and throw everything at the opposition. This is a side who have only further improvement, and are hungry for it.

In this way, this match is a match of stark contrasts. Where in the Lions camp there is light on the horizon, as the sun is rising, in the Blues camp the sun is setting, and the dark is coming. This will be very evident this Saturday night at the Gabba, as the hungry, talented young Lions comfortably account for the waning Blues, to the tune of 24 points.

I take it you don't have a day job?