• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL 2014 Thread

Or
Top five is a proven system and the side that wins the major semi-final goes on to win the grand final most of the time. I don't think having those weeks off hurts you in finals in a tough competition. If you're going to have a top-six, at least make those top-two sides play off for a grand final spot in the second week, as Doona suggested.

The current RDFL system is flawed and nothing more than a revenue raiser. How is Riddell, which beat sixth-placed Rockbank, now in the same position as Romsey, which finished first and defeated second-placed Rupertswood? It's a joke. Splitting attendances on Saturday also meant that clubs which put in the work to host the finals were not rewarded.

At the very least, if you are going to play three finals in week one, be smart about it. My suggestion would be:
Saturday arvo: EF1 at Boardman Oval
Saturday night: QF at Clarke Oval under lights
Sunday: EF2 at Wallan/Kilmore etc.

have to agree
Might as well have a top 8 adleast top 4 sides get rewarded
At this time rupo would be saying might as well had a crack at rock bank then get two cracks at the grand final like Riddell
now they are in a elimination final against solid opposition diggers

Will be very interesting to see if the Riddell boys let Romsey beat up on them again like they did in round 13 ???......But then with 12 changes to the side it wont be a reserves side the Redbacks will be coming up against this time !!!

Were the reserves and U18s games video taped on the weekend? If so can we get a copy from anywhere? I saw the seniors on the Red Onion website.

No, not by the league anyway. The only filming of games outside of the seniors takes place on Grand Final day.

Will be very interesting to see if the Riddell boys let Romsey beat up on them again like they did in round 13 ???......But then with 12 changes to the side it wont be a reserves side the Redbacks will be coming up against this time !!!
Sounds like the tanking plan has worked for Riddell, 3rd is the new 1st.

Is everyone watching different games then me ? If anyone thinks romsey will get beaten they have know idea about footy. Riddell got beat easy by rupo, smashed by romsey .

Or

have to agree
Might as well have a top 8 adleast top 4 sides get rewarded
At this time rupo would be saying might as well had a crack at rock bank then get two cracks at the grand final like Riddell
now they are in a elimination final against solid opposition diggers
You still have to win those games.. the three Senior finals were all closely fought up to the last terms at least.. we only had two real blow outs all weekend, both in the under 18s...

Riddell keeps back-to-back hopes alive - http://bit.ly/1zrbbka

Romsey's got one hand on it already, but are the Bombers a chance to get hold of the cup again?

Not this year, they're not. Unfortunately for Riddell, I feel they have dropped at the wrong end of the year....time will tell tho!

See the Broadford 2014 financial members and the life members will vote next Tuesday as to whether they will 'try' to move leagues next year.

Question.....What happens if they vote 'yes' to leave the RDFL, and the other RDFL clubs vote 'yes', then the KDFL league vote 'no'? Do they play an 18 round round-robbin between themselves next year?? Hope those that are pushing this are at Broadford for many years to come and aren't just 'fly-by-nighters' who push for the move, then bail in no time leaving the club in turmoil.

Doona, you've been involved with the club for many years, and it's like a player who changes clubs when the going gets tough...not a good look!! How do you feel about the upcoming vote?

Not this year, they're not. Unfortunately for Riddell, I feel they have dropped at the wrong end of the year....time will tell tho!

See the Broadford 2014 financial members and the life members will vote next Tuesday as to whether they will 'try' to move leagues next year.

Question.....What happens if they vote 'yes' to leave the RDFL, and the other RDFL clubs vote 'yes', then the KDFL league vote 'no'? Do they play an 18 round round-robbin between themselves next year?? Hope those that are pushing this are at Broadford for many years to come and aren't just 'fly-by-nighters' who push for the move, then bail in no time leaving the club in turmoil.

Doona, you've been involved with the club for many years, and it's like a player who changes clubs when the going gets tough...not a good look!! How do you feel about the upcoming vote?

Before I comment, let me get one ting clear. This topic is well and truly deserved of discussion on here and any attempt by Keston to suggest otherwise justifies my thoughts that some area's of this has been sanitised and/or influenced to get a certain outcome.

I have emailed the executive up home today (maybe I will post it tomorrow), not for my own benefit but to try and get some clarity for people who are pretty dear to me. I don't care what people think of me up home anymore as hand on heart I know I can hold my head high (unlike others) but the people who are yet to be told anything deserve better in light of the magnitude of what potentially could happen in the coming weeks.

Yes there is a vote next week, but as to what exactly it is the vote is based on in 7 days is yet to be made public. The guys on the sub committee are cracking fella's, but as I've said to one tonight, now the local community need to know more about the findings of any investigation and what recommendations may come as a result.

The whole financial member/life member can only vote thing goes without saying, but what about those who have given 25-30 year plus who still take an interest, are they not worthy of at least knowing what's happening, even though they cant vote.

The last one was a boat race based on one side (an influenced side) of an argument, all I want for the people who deserve it (not for my benefit) is that this time round everything is on the table. What make is harder for me is that I'm told that finally the Broadford juniors are open to discussion about joining the RDFL (they simply have to IMO) and after never being aligned, should the senior club move then they'll still be completely separate entities.

Should they vote Yes to explore options and the KDFL say no to accepting them then I'm pretty sure the RDFL will be accommodating to their retention, it would be more the clubs I'd imagine that might get lippy about it all.

As for what I think, that is really irrelevant as I'm now employed elsewhere in a footy sense. I just hope that whatever happens, club longevity is paramount as the selfish side in me would love to just have the Broadford FNC as an option for my boys once their 18 and capable of making their own decisions.

As someone who is involved with Avenel in the KDFNL and someone who follows Broadford as l have had many friends play there over the years l thought l would use 'whereis' and see what times they have to get from Broadford to Kdfl towns
Tally 1hr 19min
Lancy 1hr 17min
Undera 1hr 17min
Ardy 1hr 11min
Gum 1hr 13min
Stanhope 1hr 14min
Rushy 1hr
Gig 1hr 20min
Av 28min
Nag 34min

Im sure there is shorter ways but good luck selling that to someone out of Melbourne like we try to do every year unless you have good$, and most of those sides are only 45 mins from Avenel and you should hear them carry on about coming and playing us.
Looking above I reckon you can guess the two sides that would say yes

As someone who is involved with Avenel in the KDFNL and someone who follows Broadford as l have had many friends play there over the years l thought l would use 'whereis' and see what times they have to get from Broadford to Kdfl towns
Tally 1hr 19min
Lancy 1hr 17min
Undera 1hr 17min
Ardy 1hr 11min
Gum 1hr 13min
Stanhope 1hr 14min
Rushy 1hr
Gig 1hr 20min
Av 28min
Nag 34min

Im sure there is shorter ways but good luck selling that to someone out of Melbourne like we try to do every year unless you have good$, and most of those sides are only 45 mins from Avenel and you should hear them carry on about coming and playing us.
Looking above I reckon you can guess the two sides that would say yes
Get the feel the club might look more at local players..

Sounds like the tanking plan has worked for Riddell, 3rd is the new 1st.

Firstly well done Romsey, great win on the weekend.

I did note that as we were walking from the huddle at 3/4 time against Diggers in the last round the decision makers jokingly said " What do we do now?" when someone relayed the Riddell v Kangas score.

It was never on the cards but the fact it was mentioned throws a shadow on the integrity of the system. Our dilemma, do we throw the game, finish third and get to play a team we have beaten twice this year by close on 100 points to get to the second semi or do we keep going, finish the job against Diggers and play the undefeated side of the competition to get to exactly the same place? Maybe we got two valuable football lessons on the weekend?

We are looking forward to dusting ourselves off on the weekend and take up another great challenge this week against Diggers.

There is no doubt that the presidents need to get together and sort this out prior to next season.

Pretty simple if you ask me ..... forgot about 3 finals gates on week one as surely with the combined league fee's across junior and senior clubs I doubt one less gate is gunna break things. Then give 1v2 a week off with a 2nd semi their reward for a top 2 finish and let the next 4 play cut throat finals right thru.

Best 6 team finals set-up I've always thought

Pretty simple if you ask me ..... forgot about 3 finals gates on week one as surely with the combined league fee's across junior and senior clubs I doubt one less gate is gunna break things. Then give 1v2 a week off with a 2nd semi their reward for a top 2 finish and let the next 4 play cut throat finals right thru.

Best 6 team finals set-up I've always thought
One less gate could actually increase $$ as you wouldn't split attendances and you'd get a massive crowd for the 1 v 2 clash on the Saturday in the second week of the finals. It's been written here for several years since the top-six was introduced and the RDFL apologists will continue to deny it, but third place is always going to be the best spot to finish in the current set-up. Romsey disadvantaged by finishing on top, because they had to have a hard slog against Rupo and play Riddell coming off a relatively soft win.

Matt will you be attending the grand final as we have not seen you at romsey for a long time not since your cricket days

I think it might be $$$ that is the issue, a club so isolated with no business around it for sponsorship and a town that has to chase players from other clubs has to offer the $$$ do be a decent club. Shame. Makes you think how macedon and other small towns with the same issue has been strong in the past

third place is always going to be the best spot to finish in the current set-up.
Try telling that to the Sunbury Kangaroos last year and Riddell this year.. neither side will say that they felt that had an easy game against Rupertswood and Rockbank respectively.. having watched both games closely, the battle between 3rd and 6th was as close as any other final at Senior level.. the Rams lost their way due to some accurate Riddell kicking in the third term, other than that, it was a close game.. Adam Walsh single handedly got the third place Kangaroos over the line in a titanic battle with Rupertswood last year.. no-one should ever underestimate the value of sixth place.. the first team that does, will get rolled and have all the nay-sayers back tracking..

I think it might be $$$ that is the issue, a club so isolated with no business around it for sponsorship and a town that has to chase players from other clubs has to offer the $$$ do be a decent club. Shame. Makes you think how macedon and other small towns with the same issue has been strong in the past
Hard working committee that share the same ideas for success along with good financial backing from the right people and businesses..

RDFL 2014 Thread