RDFL Thread 2007

Any other players that are not in pickles market than can give the Bowen a shake. Jose from the burras must be a chance although people think this already!

bonnici to hit the ground running rounds 1-5 belville to stay within arms length and then pass to win comfortably (by that result will be clear say R16) ... speaking of jose watch for a big move rounds 11-17 maybe a little too late though. Not knowing how the umpires vote id imagine more often then not one of the winners teams players gets the 3 votes

I'm on Belville for the Bowen and I told him on Saturday after the game. If you go back through some of my posts I have referred to him as "Bowen, oops, I mean Belville"!!:D

I thought Connellan did really well in the ruck but when we rested him we were thoroughly beaten. Burnette is too big around the ground, he doesn't take many marks around the ground ground but has a devistating impact on the stoppages.

As far as key position player are concerned, (I know this comes down to ifs, buts and maybes) but had the cards fallen our way and we were able to keep Luke Edwards fit and firing, Robert Plant sitting at Centre Half Back switching into the ruck and I rekon those two would have just about done it for us. Luke Edwards is probably the second best footballer I've seen at a level below AFL. His ability to bend around tackles and out mark ruckmen is uncanny. Robert Plant is the size of a barn and puts the fear of Jesus into anyone he plays on. You can't buy presence. You just know when he's on the field. There's just something in the air that says, "The big mans here, get out of his way or you'll get hurt".

I absolutely take nothing away from Riddell on the week-end, they were clearly the better side. Having said that, I think they had a "Hot" day, where everything they did worked. Romsey on the other hand had a "Cold" day where they were denied the opportunity to make anything work. Should these two sides meet again, I would tip a much closer margin.

I was with you Harry until you mentioned Luke Edwards as the second best player you've seen outside the AFL. I'm waiting in anticipation on who your best is. Time to watch a bit more local footy mate!

back in his day in about 2000, when he won the bowen at age 21...he was an absolute freak, not many better mate

dipper has played at romsey for about 20 years, he rates luke in his top 2 of players ( and that would be a fair list)

he was kickin bags of goals from the guts when he won the bowen at 21...was a gun

Halffullonfence
We've all heard about the best players for the seniors can you give us a run down on the possibilities of the thirds as to who you think will win the B&F of the comp. Is there anyone who can possibily do the same in the twos as well ?? Just a talking point as we get closer to the medal night an open discussion on something different.

In the 18's Woodend are very even across the ground, I would expect Shane Bowen and James Hepburn to be their standouts but I dont think they will win it.

Romsey have a couple of players who really stand out, Danny Harrison and Ben Sullivan the obvious 2. But they have another 2 that could poll well through the season.

Diggers have several players that could stand out too, Tom Gleeson would be their highest ranked IMO

Macedon have Gus Story and Shannon Formosa

Riddell have Ben Sonogan, Luke Fleming and Ricky Elliot, expect Ricky to be their best.

Winner will come from one of these.

Fair point you make, but going on sheer ability and it is only coincidence that these guys actually played for Romsey, Harry's Best List as follows:

1. Matty Cox - Romsey
2. Luke Edwards - Romsey
3. Shane Davis - Romsey / Gisborne
4. Andy Stewart - Kilmore
5. Mark Strack - Romsey
6. Jamie Cuffe - Romsey / Gisborne / Sunbury Kangaroos
7. Fitzpatrick - Wallan
8. Lee James - Riddell / Sunbury Lions
9. Dean Helmers - Macedon / Sunbury Kangaroos
10. Hawkins - Macedon

That's without mentioning Werner or Fox. I think there wouldn't be many that could argue with that top 10. I may have missed a few, but this is my opinion. Matty Cox and Luke Edwards had the gift. The gift to be able to do things most people can't. Don't worry about ability and skill, plenty of others out there may have all the skill in the world but don't use it very well. Matty Cox regularly kicked bags of goals from the middle, including reverse barrels on left from the boundary line, freakish stuff!! Luke Edwards would regularly take screamers on ruckman's shoulders. These guys had skill, heart and courage and the most important two things, poise and balance. The last two things you rarely see in the best footballers at our level, so I stand by what I said, Luke Edwards was trhe second best footballer I've seen outside of AFL.

I'm on Belville for the Bowen and I told him on Saturday after the game. If you go back through some of my posts I have referred to him as "Bowen, oops, I mean Belville"!!:D

I thought Connellan did really well in the ruck but when we rested him we were thoroughly beaten. Burnette is too big around the ground, he doesn't take many marks around the ground ground but has a devistating impact on the stoppages.

As far as key position player are concerned, (I know this comes down to ifs, buts and maybes) but had the cards fallen our way and we were able to keep Luke Edwards fit and firing, Robert Plant sitting at Centre Half Back switching into the ruck and I rekon those two would have just about done it for us. Luke Edwards is probably the second best footballer I've seen at a level below AFL. His ability to bend around tackles and out mark ruckmen is uncanny. Robert Plant is the size of a barn and puts the fear of Jesus into anyone he plays on. You can't buy presence. You just know when he's on the field. There's just something in the air that says, "The big mans here, get out of his way or you'll get hurt".

I absolutely take nothing away from Riddell on the week-end, they were clearly the better side. Having said that, I think they had a "Hot" day, where everything they did worked. Romsey on the other hand had a "Cold" day where they were denied the opportunity to make anything work. Should these two sides meet again, I would tip a much closer margin.

A HOT day Harry??? As an RDFL follower I went to the game to watch and Riddell kicked 5.9 in the first quarter! Had they been HOT and kicked straight it should have been 50 points at quarter time! Ive seen 2 or 3 of their games this year and they have played better (Sunbury game). If they played again i wouldnt expect Romsey to get within 50 points. Didnt Riddell beat Romsey by 6 or 7 goals earlier in the year with 5 or 6 out?

As Omni said, if you guys can recruit a few then you will be a lot closer, but not from what i saw saturday.

Halffullonfence
We've all heard about the best players for the seniors can you give us a run down on the possibilities of the thirds as to who you think will win the B&F of the comp. Is there anyone who can possibily do the same in the twos as well ?? Just a talking point as we get closer to the medal night an open discussion on something different.

IMO the umpires will vote for in the 18's

S Bowen (W/H)
R Hannan (D/R)
D Harrison (Rom)
L Fleming(Rid)
M Johnstone (Mac)
B Ritchie (S/K)
R Cini (Lan)
M Offer (Roc)

Fair point you make, but going on sheer ability and it is only coincidence that these guys actually played for Romsey, Harry's Best List as follows:

1. Matty Cox - Romsey
2. Luke Edwards - Romsey
3. Shane Davis - Romsey / Gisborne
4. Andy Stewart - Kilmore
5. Mark Strack - Romsey
6. Jamie Cuffe - Romsey / Gisborne / Sunbury Kangaroos
7. Fitzpatrick - Wallan
8. Lee James - Riddell / Sunbury Lions
9. Dean Helmers - Macedon / Sunbury Kangaroos
10. Hawkins - Macedon

That's without mentioning Werner or Fox. I think there wouldn't be many that could argue with that top 10. I may have missed a few, but this is my opinion. Matty Cox and Luke Edwards had the gift. The gift to be able to do things most people can't. Don't worry about ability and skill, plenty of others out there may have all the skill in the world but don't use it very well. Matty Cox regularly kicked bags of goals from the middle, including reverse barrels on left from the boundary line, freakish stuff!! Luke Edwards would regularly take screamers on ruckman's shoulders. These guys had skill, heart and courage and the most important two things, poise and balance. The last two things you rarely see in the best footballers at our level, so I stand by what I said, Luke Edwards was trhe second best footballer I've seen outside of AFL.

Harry, can I ask how long you've been watching senior RDFL footy or from what year did you start this list from?

S Bowen (W/H)
R Hannan (D/R)
D Harrison (Rom)
L Fleming(Rid)
M Johnstone (Mac)
B Ritchie (S/K)
R Cini (Lan)
M Offer (Roc)

hey i know that we speak alot about the fancies of the bowen, and so we should, its the highest individual award possible for the leauge, but what about the other 2 divs, 18's and the seconds?
who is your clubs chances for the other "minor" medals?

Harry, can I ask how long you've been watching senior RDFL footy or from what year did you start this list from?

This is a list of the best I'VE seen, in my opinion. I've been playing RDFL senior footy for near on ten years, played a my share of games in the 2's and have watched a lot of footy, albeit majority Romsey games. I haven't included recent guns or players dating back ten years plus. Why do you ask stubby holder?

Stubby holder if you have a better list, put it up for debate. thats his opinion so he's entitled to it. :thumbsu:

S Bowen (W/H)
R Hannan (D/R)
D Harrison (Rom)
L Fleming(Rid)
M Johnstone (Mac)
B Ritchie (S/K)
R Cini (Lan)
M Offer (Roc)

Thank you Hallffull and IMS for the thirds anyone have a crack at the twos- Maybe a Brinkhaus(Romsey), Carroll with his blond locks( Kilmore) or Mr Bourne/Sheehan(Diggers) they know how to sweet talk the umpires- Hang on there all over 35 years old surely we must have some young guns in the twos.

Brett Janetski from us might poll well! legget would poll ok, he has played a handful of 2's and got in the best on most occasions!

Trav would have played at least 10 if not 12 games. Would have thought he was in the best for Woodend at least 8 times..

He'd be the favourite for Woodend as he has been very stiff not to play more ones.

Has anyones team of the year changed in the past two months. Think we all should have one ;last go at it. Does evryteam need to have someone? Should make for great discussion

Just wondering how far back I'd have to go to think about which players you could've added that you have seen. You said you might have missed some. That's why I didn't mention any names or dismiss any. I simply didn't know how long you have been watching senior footy. I thought I could've thrown some more names up in the right era that you might've forgotten. No point me naming names you hadn't watched.
Cheers