• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL Thread 2007

More mormans to sign up that cant play on sundays, also signed a couple of gun jewish kids but unfortunately can only play sunday as friday night to saturday is their day of sabath.:D

blues12 obviously your a comedian in your spare time, but cant say much at this stage thats special , but from a personal opinion this guy is an absoluete gun and always in the past when he has played against diggers has always been more then an handful

Where is he from Billy?

Understand the club is in a good position to retain all players.
The players are happy with the club moving forward without Searle as coach.

Key departures:
Aaron McNabb: Ovens and Murray League
Adam Holland : Ovens and King League
Drew Heath : Central Highlands League
Key Inclusions:
Stephen Ruane (Diggers Rest) money
Rob Shirley (Rockbank) money
James Duffy (Kilmore) money
Leigh Webster (Diggers Rest) family reasons
Lee Roberts (macedon) coming home

sorry to sound naive but surely the above is a little bit of lite humour could not see Roosza and webby leaving Diggers Rest while the club is on the up off the park as well as on the park

I heard that Romsey are likely to keep most, but lose Burlak and Strack.

Connellan is a big chance to return, while Morgan should stay as Dippa was one of the big people in getting him to return.

Will be interesting to see how the Redbacks are faring. I don't get a lot out of my Lancefield sources, which is probably suggesting a lot hasn't happened at Tigerland just yet. I'll keep you tuned in though

any news to come out of the meetings with the coach a little birdie told me that you were in the vancinity of these meetings taking place so youd be best to ask are all the guns at romsey signing on for another year

Had no idea I was near the meetings. I was having a punt in the pub yesterday afternoon. From what I hear everyone will keep on playing except Strack at this stage. But that could change.

Just on the phone to a contact who has told me that Romsey will be gaining the returning services of Connellan, Plant and Edwards from Lalbert, also losing Brydon Morgan to Diggers Rest.. Can you confirm Mr Nicholls?

sorry to sound naive but surely the above is a little bit of lite humour could not see Roosza and webby leaving Diggers Rest while the club is on the up off the park as well as on the park

Jeremy Newman using someone elses login. He would be the only person who would know the movement of Centrals players, so take them as true.....

Just on the phone to a contact who has told me that Romsey will be gaining the returning services of Connellan, Plant and Edwards from Lalbert, also losing Brydon Morgan to Diggers Rest.. Can you confirm Mr Nicholls?

Morgan is likely to leave Romsey as he wants more leadership at a club. With two coaches at the Redbacks it'll be hard for him to stand up and have a voice. As for being one of the top five players in the league, I don't think so. He is massively talented but very inconsistent.

Connellan is all but a certainty, but meetings with Plant and Edwards this week will confirm whether they come back to Romsey or not. I'd say more likely than not. Any rumours that Dan and Luke Carroll might leave are false.

Morgan is likely to leave Romsey as he wants more leadership at a club. With two coaches at the Redbacks it'll be hard for him to stand up and have a voice. As for being one of the top five players in the league, I don't think so. He is massively talented but very inconsistent.

Connellan is all but a certainty, but meetings with Plant and Edwards this week will confirm whether they come back to Romsey or not. I'd say more likely than not. Any rumours that Dan and Luke Carroll might leave are false.

I tend to agree that Brydon on his day is one of the elite players in the comp, he has the ability to single handedly turn a game on its head.. Not too many players in the comp capable of that.. But he is...

I disagree. I think there are heaps of players in this comp that can make a huge difference to a game on their day. There are a lot of rated players in this comp who are probably not recognised as game winners though.

For example, people forget quickly how good Chris Collins was in this league before he went to the Bendigo Bombers. If not for Collins, Lancefield would not have even made the grand final in 2004 in my opinion, let alone win the premiership.

Luke Carroll is another who rips oppositions apart on his day. As does John Rowe at Kilmore. While these three mentioned players are all rated as very good, they probably aren't seen as match winners like the Lee James' and Shaun Sims' are.

I disagree. I think there are heaps of players in this comp that can make a huge difference to a game on their day. There are a lot of rated players in this comp who are probably not recognised as game winners though.

For example, people forget quickly how good Chris Collins was in this league before he went to the Bendigo Bombers. If not for Collins, Lancefield would not have even made the grand final in 2004 in my opinion, let alone win the premiership.

Luke Carroll is another who rips oppositions apart on his day. As does John Rowe at Kilmore. While these three mentioned players are all rated as very good, they probably aren't seen as match winners like the Lee James' and Shaun Sims' are.

You are listing very good players, not players who can individually turn a game with thier own abilities... Only Collins and James that you have mentioned are capable of this.

Again, only my opinion, but to me you have Lee James, Brydon Morgan, Heath Wadden, Arnel Davis and Damien Niki, outside of these players it is hard to find someone that has this influence, im not saying that any of these guys are consistently doing this, just that on a day are capable of putting in that match turning/winning performance, not just play a great game, do things that pick thier sides up and drag them over the line...

You are listing very good players, not players who can individually turn a game with thier own abilities... Only Collins and James that you have mentioned are capable of this.

Again, only my opinion, but to me you have Lee James, Brydon Morgan, Heath Wadden, Arnel Davis and Damien Niki, outside of these players it is hard to find someone that has this influence, im not saying that any of these guys are consistently doing this, just that on a day are capable of putting in that match turning/winning performance, not just play a great game, do things that pick thier sides up and drag them over the line...

You may be right, I still think Carroll, Rowe and Sims do it a couple of times each season. Morgan lives off a reputation created by people at Romsey in my opinion. He is a very good player on his day, but maybe has three or four in a season. When he has one it looks like he is the match winner. More often than not, he turns it on when the side is having a brilliant day.

I think it is a bit unfair to suggest that Morgan plays on reputation. He has played some belters in recent years. He was the Redbacks only avenue to goal in the semi against the Kangas.

Where I reckon he does struggle is that he doesn't win enough of his own footy. Therefore when the Redbacks struggle he doesn't have as much as an impact. Further I don't think he is someone who is instructed on how to play. With the tools he has and a willingness to be coached he is just about the most talented player in the League.

Same goes for Luke Carroll, just doesn't get enough of the ball or is used as an offensive weapon. Tall as any key position player in this League but doesn't take any marks. Should be dominating.

James and Sims have been the ones to consistently impose their will on the game. WOuldn't leave out Kilmore's Robertson and I reckon someone like Woodend's Matt Stacey will be doing it over the next couple of years.

Morgan to diggers, haven't they got enough players that stand outside packs waiting for the ball. One thing they lacked in the Grand Final were players with abit of c_nt about them to get in and intimidate. Riddell had plenty of players with it.

I think it is a bit unfair to suggest that Morgan plays on reputation. He has played some belters in recent years. He was the Redbacks only avenue to goal in the semi against the Kangas.

Where I reckon he does struggle is that he doesn't win enough of his own footy. Therefore when the Redbacks struggle he doesn't have as much as an impact. Further I don't think he is someone who is instructed on how to play. With the tools he has and a willingness to be coached he is just about the most talented player in the League.

Same goes for Luke Carroll, just doesn't get enough of the ball or is used as an offensive weapon. Tall as any key position player in this League but doesn't take any marks. Should be dominating.

James and Sims have been the ones to consistently impose their will on the game. WOuldn't leave out Kilmore's Robertson and I reckon someone like Woodend's Matt Stacey will be doing it over the next couple of years.

Agree.. Apart from the Sims call.. Just think Sims is flat out consistent, always collects plenty of the ball and plays a key role in the Diggers structure, but doesn't do the "game turning" things the way Arnel did at the Burra.. As for Matt, think he will be a solid consistent performer at the Hawks, a star in the league in his own right, but dont know about a "game turner". Think that Darko was a game turner (Watch first final), and think that Dowling is the other at the Hawks with that capability.

rumour round the traps is the Kangas NO. 1 ruckman Cam Watson is going to rupo, might leave a bit of a gap in their ruck department. the kid has done some good thing in his first two years of senior footy

You may be right, I still think Carroll, Rowe and Sims do it a couple of times each season. Morgan lives off a reputation created by people at Romsey in my opinion. He is a very good player on his day, but maybe has three or four in a season. When he has one it looks like he is the match winner. More often than not, he turns it on when the side is having a brilliant day.

If Morgan has three or four match turning days a season why is Carroll and co in front if they do it only a couple times a year ?????

Matt dont rate players to your capabilities.

Also if you want to talk cricket do it on that thread.

Can confirm that two very drunk individuals gained access to my computer in the wee hours of the morning and wrote some absolute shizenhausen on this forum.
Take no notice of it. But the Ruane rumor could be true but not to centrals. Possibly Tatura in the Goulburn Valley League. He needs to get paid to play now as his girlfriend is pregnant.

If Morgan has three or four match turning days a season why is Carroll and co in front if they do it only a couple times a year ?????

Matt dont rate players to your capabilities.

Also if you want to talk cricket do it on that thread.

Simple. Because when Morgan doesn't have his best day its normally not that good. When Carroll and co don't have their best days, they are still very very good.

Also, if you think that my inability to play football at a good level prevents me from knowing anything about football, why don't you ask some of the most respected sports journalists in the world and ask what level they played at. I'm sure Lancefield reserves qualifies me above some. :p

As for cricket, we spoke about it twice Halffullonfence. There wasn't a lot of footy being talked about that week.

Simple. Because when Morgan doesn't have his best day its normally not that good. When Carroll and co don't have their best days, they are still very very good.

Also, if you think that my inability to play football at a good level prevents me from knowing anything about football, why don't you ask some of the most respected sports journalists in the world and ask what level they played at. I'm sure Lancefield reserves qualifies me above some. :p

As for cricket, we spoke about it twice Halffullonfence. There wasn't a lot of footy being talked about that week.

Im going to say this one last time.... I am talking "Game Turners" not consistent well performed players... Someone who is able to single handedly turn a game with his actions... Luke Carroll does not fit into this category..... See above...