RDFL Thread 2007

not wrong there doona - took it to the loo whilst at work and got thru it all, and that was just for a quick piss!!!

Im guessing this week's will be a ripper with the latest whispers suggesting Wallan may even go into recess for 2007 like Reservoir has if the support the club is desperate for doesn't appear at Tuesday night's meeting

I strongly recommend that we get some more of the regular RDFL posters to join up to Mobb's comp.. We need 7 more to have a team.. So go to the thread and tell Mobb your in RDFL style....:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

No indisvidual league has a team of its own yet ... DVFL is leading the way ... but we have about 50 players so far across the whole comp :)

21 or under and you are talking Chris Collins, Garth Ploog, Jackson Baddelley, Matt Welsh, Damien Janner etc..

Ill say 20.. (Not included in current list)

1 - Matt Stacey (Woodend/Hesket)
2 - Jay Wilton (If he returns) (Macedon)
3 - Travis Hede (Kilmore)
4 - Paul Newton (Sunbury Kangaroos)
5 - Mick Kilty (Diggers Rest)
6 - James Wright (Macedon FC)
7 - Luke Smith (Sunbury Kangaroos)
8 - Alastair Collins (Macedon FC)
9 - Jason Welfare (Rockbank)
10 - Cam Dawson (Romsey)

i think you will find neither jackson baddeley or matt welsh are 21 yet. they are both still 20 turning 21 mid year like luke smith.

King lake were fairly ordinary really in 3 qrts we beat them 108 - 25... some very good signs for kilmore but obvioulsy this weekends match against Riddell is the real thing! looking foward to a good game.

Should never have played Kinglake waste of your time :thumbsdown: Shoulda played a game against Broady woulda been a top day between the Mitchell Shire neighbours :thumbsu: Maybe next year.

Any more Wallan players in your sights Van should they sadly have to pull the pin Tuesday night?

I strongly recommend that we get some more of the regular RDFL posters to join up to Mobb's comp.. We need 7 more to have a team.. So go to the thread and tell Mobb your in RDFL style....:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

your presence was noticed in the little country town of bungaree on saturday id be very interested to see how you thought the diggers boys went (4 goal wion
) IMS. I Thought there was some very good signs and with up to 4-6 players to come back next week , competition for spots is defiantly there which is a good thing

hey guys just read 20-1 of the top 50 rdfl players, what page can i go to to read the 50-20 players, list was good quite accurate, but i think a good idea would be a list after a few rounds like i t has been said b4.

any news on late pre-game round 1 clearences from all clubs????

So now the pre season is done. The big questions will now be asked of all sides this week in round 1. What have people seen? Who will the big improvers (and losers) in 07? Riddell v Kilmore and Sunbury Kanga's V Diggers would be the big games of the round, while Kilmore and Centrals will be battling it out for the 'on the march' tag early on. Woodend have recruited strongly while Macedon, from all reports, are going to struggle, so could be one sided there and Lancefield v Rockbank is the battle of the cellar dwellars from 06, and will both be out to regain some respect from their rivals.

Good luck to all for the season, here's hoping it's good clean, competetive football in what is shaping as a big season in the Riddell league.

From a Lancefield point of view, our 1's are disappointed with their performance against Newlyn, however the 2's and 18's will be heading into the season on a winning note.

Lancefield's senior XVIII were missing Simon Choate, Mark Caton, Phil Conway and Tom Leehane. All ones players. They will improve this season. Might pip a few of the finals contenders but will finish about seventh.

pickles i hope for lancefields sake the mark caton you refer to is not the 20 year old mark caton who springs to mind. If missing him is lancefields excuse then the tiges could have a long season ahead of them.

Top 50 in its entirety...

50 - S.Smithwick (Lancefield)
49 - N.Ash (Riddell)
48 - J.Shewan (Lancefield)
47 - L.Sporle (Sunbury Kangaroos)
46 - J.Tully (Lancefield)
45 - R.Dowling (Woodend/Hesket)
44 - A.Christianson (Macedon)
43 - C.Payne (Diggers Rest)
42 - J.Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
41 - D.Janner (Diggers Rest)
40 - N.Curico(Woodend/Hesket)
39 - W.Else (Woodend/Hesket)
38 - M.Nolan (Diggers Rest)
37 - J.King (Sunbury Kangaroos)
36 - M.McClellan (Romsey)
35 - A.Johnstone (Woodend/Hesket)
34 - S.Burlak (Romsey)
33 - S.Bowen (Woodend/Hesket)
32 - B.Green (Diggers Rest)
31 - K.Bullen (Melton Centrals)
30 - L.Edwards (Romsey)
29 - M.Peatling (Riddell)
28 - R.Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos)
27 - S.Clarke (Lancefield)
26 - H.Wadden (Riddell)
25 - B.Wheelahan (Melton Centrals)
24 - B.Morgan (Romsey)
23 - D.Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos)
22 - S.Choate (Lancefield)
21 - D.Cuinik (Woodend/Hesket)
20 - L.Coles (Riddell)
19 - L.Walker (Rockbank)
18 - J.Heritage (Diggers Rest)
17 - G.Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
16 - M.Allen (Riddell)
15 - J.Bellville (Riddell)
14 - L.McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
13 - S.Ruane (Diggers Rest)
12 - S.James (Sunbury Kangaroos)
11 - J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
10 - J.Allen (Riddell)
9 - L.Kemp (Kilmore)
8 - C.Collins (Lancefield)
7 - R.Connellan (Romsey)
6 - C.Laurie (Diggers Rest)
5 - K.Ng (Woodend/Hesket)
4 - M.McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
3 - S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
2 - D.Sipthorpe (Woodend/Hesket)
1 - M.Robertson (Kilmore)

i think you will find neither jackson baddeley or matt welsh are 21 yet. they are both still 20 turning 21 mid year like luke smith.
Luke Smith is a year younger when it came to qualification for Under 18.. I decided that he was on the border of the group im talking about.. Nice try again to shoot me down dweeb.. But you gotta do alot better than that...

pickles i hope for lancefields sake the mark caton you refer to is not the 20 year old mark caton who springs to mind. If missing him is lancefields excuse then the tiges could have a long season ahead of them.

Mark Caton would be about 23 and although he is Lancefield's back-up ruck he gives the Tigers a tall forward or defensive option which they dearly missed on Saturday. Phil Conway should be given a medal for the work he has done over the past five years at Lancefield.

There's no need to stick up for the tiges Pickles. I am a tigers faithful and I concede the fact that we are f#cked for season 07. By putting a little boy in charge of the senior side, we are heading backwards. I say bring back the Brew. Appoint Brewy as coach and all problems will be solved.

Top 50 in its entirety...

50 - S.Smithwick (Lancefield)
49 - N.Ash (Riddell)
48 - J.Shewan (Lancefield)
47 - L.Sporle (Sunbury Kangaroos)
46 - J.Tully (Lancefield)
45 - R.Dowling (Woodend/Hesket)
44 - A.Christianson (Macedon)
43 - C.Payne (Diggers Rest)
42 - J.Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
41 - D.Janner (Diggers Rest)
40 - N.Curico(Woodend/Hesket)
39 - W.Else (Woodend/Hesket)
38 - M.Nolan (Diggers Rest)
37 - J.King (Sunbury Kangaroos)
36 - M.McClellan (Romsey)
35 - A.Johnstone (Woodend/Hesket)
34 - S.Burlak (Romsey)
33 - S.Bowen (Woodend/Hesket)
32 - B.Green (Diggers Rest)
31 - K.Bullen (Melton Centrals)
30 - L.Edwards (Romsey)
29 - M.Peatling (Riddell)
28 - R.Johnson (Sunbury Kangaroos)
27 - S.Clarke (Lancefield)
26 - H.Wadden (Riddell)
25 - B.Wheelahan (Melton Centrals)
24 - B.Morgan (Romsey)
23 - D.Helmers (Sunbury Kangaroos)
22 - S.Choate (Lancefield)
21 - D.Cuinik (Woodend/Hesket)
20 - L.Coles (Riddell)
19 - L.Walker (Rockbank)
18 - J.Heritage (Diggers Rest)
17 - G.Ploog (Sunbury Kangaroos)
16 - M.Allen (Riddell)
15 - J.Bellville (Riddell)
14 - L.McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
13 - S.Ruane (Diggers Rest)
12 - S.James (Sunbury Kangaroos)
11 - J.Jose (Diggers Rest)
10 - J.Allen (Riddell)
9 - L.Kemp (Kilmore)
8 - C.Collins (Lancefield)
7 - R.Connellan (Romsey)
6 - C.Laurie (Diggers Rest)
5 - K.Ng (Woodend/Hesket)
4 - M.McInerney (Sunbury Kangaroos)
3 - S.Sims (Diggers Rest)
2 - D.Sipthorpe (Woodend/Hesket)
1 - M.Robertson (Kilmore)
Interesting to see how the top 50 holds up throughout the season. On weight of numbers the Burras and the Kangaroos will be right up the with 9 players each in the top 50. Highly rated as well will be the Hawks (8) and the Bombers (7). This theory then rounds out the top 5 with the Tigers (6). Outside the five are the Redbacks (5), Centrals and Kilmore (2) and Macedon and Rockbank fighting for the spoon one 1 each.

Obviously, being a 22 per side sport, not much can be read into this, but it will be interesting to see how it stacks up against actual results.

There's no need to stick up for the tiges Pickles. I am a tigers faithful and I concede the fact that we are f#cked for season 07. By putting a little boy in charge of the senior side, we are heading backwards. I say bring back the Brew. Appoint Brewy as coach and all problems will be solved.

Cant wait to show me mate Brewy this at work in the morning . . . . he loves Big Footy!!!

Luke Smith is a year younger when it came to qualification for Under 18.. I decided that he was on the border of the group im talking about.. Nice try again to shoot me down dweeb.. But you gotta do alot better than that...

IMS give us your predictions for the first round

Gee TIGES you havent even given the kid a go yet and your writing him off, a few of us had wondered how he would get the respect of the older boys, theres no doubting he is a good player(gf speaks for itself) but he did go into the season with no expectation on his shoulders, he could play the way he wanted, if he got a heap of kicks he was a freak, it will really test his character now that he will checked a more closly as people know who he is an what he can do.

i have herd he is doing ok with the group down at tigerland, but have heard it will take time, whats your view on the respect level???
has he got it n will he keep it?????

Gee TIGES you havent even given the kid a go yet and your writing him off, a few of us had wondered how he would get the respect of the older boys, theres no doubting he is a good player(gf speaks for itself) but he did go into the season with no expectation on his shoulders, he could play the way he wanted, if he got a heap of kicks he was a freak, it will really test his character now that he will checked a more closly as people know who he is an what he can do.

i have herd he is doing ok with the group down at tigerland, but have heard it will take time, whats your view on the respect level???

I'll make this statement about the Lancefield Football Club.

It is well known that I have played at the Tigers since 2003, started as a 16-year-old and played three years in the thirds, where we enjoyed little success. I played last year in the magoos and will probably play there in the magoos all this season too.

Apart from me playing, I don't have much to do with the Lancefield Footy Club. However, I will say this. Lancefield is one of the best clubs around. Their decision to appoint Chris Collins as senior coach was courageous and not a last resort, as some people may think. They backed the kid in because he is a natural leader. I played junior football with Chris from when I was eight years old. Ever since I have known him he has demanded respect from his elders, his peers and coaches by the way he goes about business.

Lancefield may struggle on the field in 2007, I personally don't think the seniors will make the finals. However, I can guarantee that the Tigers will be a better club at the end of the season for having Chris as the senior coach. Appointing the young man - and he is a man - as the head coach of over 70 players is an investment. The RDFL might not see the benefits this year, or even the next, but Lancefield will return to the top of the ladder in the next five years.

That's my opinion, although I am slightly biased. But for a club that hasn't paid players in the last five seasons (perhaps one or two were looked after but I doubt any more), they have done a terrific job and made the right decision to appoint Collins.

IMS give us your predictions for the first round

Will be done later in the week with my write up of each game.. I will do my pre season ladder prediction now though.

Diggers Rest
Woodend/Hesket
Sunbury Kangaroos
Riddell
Kilmore

Romsey
Lancefield
Melton Centrals
Rockbank
Macedon

GF - Diggers Rest Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
Winner - Sunbury Kangaroos
Bowen - Matt Robertson
Most talked about player - Matt Robertson/Daniel Sipthorpe
Coach of the year - Jarrod Dixon
Big improvers - Kilmore
Big Sliders - Macedon

Im one that actually thinks that Chris will do a good job of coaching the Tigers, like Matt said, he is a natural leader and as long as he surrounds himself with quality people to assist him he will be a good coach for the Tigers. Even if I did spank his bowling this year...