RDFL Thread 2008

With some huge reports today has "pickle bet" on the Bowen been suspended.

I hope the power's of the league have a look at the scores at JJ Clancy reserve today, 1 V 2 in the 18's 6th V 7th in the magoos and 4th V 6th in 1's for a total score of 21 - 64.

And the point your trying to make is ???....................... goal posts to close together, ? bent footy, ? crook goal umpires, ? Lots & lots of Rushed defensive points, ? sides that high up the ladder cant kick straight, ? or I like to be Cryptic so no one knows what the hell I am talking about ?
P.S. & how does what goes on at Kilmore relate to our League Admin' ?

And the point your trying to make is ???....................... goal posts to close together, ? bent footy, ? crook goal umpires, ? Lots & lots of Rushed defensive points, ? sides that high up the ladder cant kick straight, ? or I like to be Cryptic so no one knows what the hell I am talking about ?
P.S. & how does what goes on at Kilmore relate to our League Admin' ?

Hope that 08 final series is to be played on the best grounds (don't have to be Houdini to kick goals) as one great man says the crowd just loves a good old fashion shoot out, not a game played in deep defending pockets on a side of a hill.

Well done George & the Centrals boys, sounds like you had a ripper against all the odds......... kept yourselves in the race for a finals birth.

Can you keep up the " Melton Momentum " champ ?

Its a 'one week at a time' mentality omni but we have romsey next at home so it will be interesting. Should be a bumper! If the boys want to play finals then they need to win the games at home, no matter who the opposition are!

great game this one but centrals very lucky to get away with this one after diggers had 14 scoring shots in the last and moving in for the kill when siren went to end the match.umps today pretty consistent and done a good job

yeah i agree but diggers kicking with the aid of a five goal wind in the last. i think centrals kicked 2 or 3 into the wind. umps were great yesterday, going by what has been said about the other games, i think this is the only luck that was found in this game!!

Hope that 08 final series is to be played on the best grounds (don't have to be Houdini to kick goals) as one great man says the crowd just loves a good old fashion shoot out, not a game played in deep defending pockets on a side of a hill.

Oh ok glad we cleared that up, maybe you could have just said that right from the start !
And can we glean from this that Macedon are already starting to think Finals pal ?

From what I've seen, Kilmore's ground is in good condition. With the new rooms and a great view and many spots to park, I don't see why finals wouldn't be played there. Haven't seen too many grounds in better nick this year

Romsey,Riddell was a cracker of a game up until about the 15 min mark second Quarter enter simmo 3 goals to Riddell in 1 minute gave Riddell 3 goal lead at half time .This umpire destroys a game that quick i thought spectators were going to jump the fence,the guy obviously has issues and should give it away.His younger counterpart today had to take a goal back of Riddell after Simmo had his meltdown,I wouldnt be surprised if the young bloke gave it away after having to cop abuse because of Simmos incompetence.Take nothing away from Riddell,but before Simmo had a meltdown neither side could get the break. I think sides need to video the match if they have this fool umpiring send it in to the footy show ,fare chance you could win the major prize. After watching Macedon last week and Riddell today,i think the cats and Riddell may play off on the big day, both move the ball very quick with good forwards,interesting to Lee James yellow carded second quarter,frustration Warren Kairns scored the points in that battle

Agree with you one eyed blue was a good contest until the blues in the 2nd quarter. Sam young kicked a couple and gave Riddell breathing space just before half time. Connellan very impressive early ran forward and took some catches.. Dawson also good early winning a bit of his own footy. Young umpire should be comended for taking control in that circumstance and not letting the other ump make the wrong decision.

sounds like the two umps that shafted us last week were at it again. simmo must of been bullied at shcool or somethin coz his not quite rite.

Be careful before you make ridiculous comments. The young umpire in this game is umpiring at the VFL and had a week off so he came back to his roots to help out, so no he didn't umpire your game last week. The young umpire that 'shafted' you last week umpired with me yesterday and did a great job. We try and bleed new blood into senior football and all you can do is give them a hard time. I doubt every young footballer when starting to play senior football plays his best game every week.

Why don't we play all the games at Macedon so when it rains the opposition bench can stand knee deep in water and the netball is inside a shoebox where nobody can watch. I'm sure that will make you happy - or the alternative is to teach your guys to play down the middle and not take it out wide.

Just looked up the total scores at Kilmore & Macedon up till round 9 - total scores at Kilmore 329.280 and at Macedon 216.212 so I guess that must rule Macedon out of hosting finals because the chances of missing goals there is even greater.;)

Why don't we play all the games at Macedon so when it rains the opposition bench can stand knee deep in water and the netball is inside a shoebox where nobody can watch. I'm sure that will make you happy - or the alternative is to teach your guys to play down the middle and not take it out wide.

I agree its a shoe box but you can stand up stairs and watch the game as a spectator. But and Ill say it again BUT its pretty appalling when the visiting netball coach was directed by the macedon supplied umpire to stand in the toilet corridor along with her bench.... go figure... how can one coach from the corridor (thru a brick wall i think the umpire suspected) Mind you the macedon coach and bench could still stand on the sidelines.

Interesting thread. Every facility has its strength and weaknesses. Our girls actually like to play at Macedon because whilst they have limited access (and yes there is viewing up stairs) there is actually toilets and changerooms, no impact from wind and rain, and a surface that doesn't require medical treatment every time a girl falls over. I notice the Macedon girls sit in a storeroom in the corner but I suppose home team does have some advantage! Ever asked Woodend or Riddell if you could use their elevated coaches boxes wilst you are the visiting team?

Knee deep if you are 2 foot nothing. Shoebox agreed the netball court is a disaster. I did say grounds IMO the finals should be on the best grounds if a Lancefield or Romsey or Macedon or Riddell ground can take 2 finals this should happen instead of handing out early finals too lesser grounds (other clubs can host them at these grounds). Macedon will miss out on finals this year unless the new outdoor netball court will be finished in time for finals.

I agree its a shoe box but you can stand up stairs and watch the game as a spectator. But and Ill say it again BUT its pretty appalling when the visiting netball coach was directed by the macedon supplied umpire to stand in the toilet corridor along with her bench.... go figure... how can one coach from the corridor (thru a brick wall i think the umpire suspected) Mind you the macedon coach and bench could still stand on the sidelines.

Furhter to my other comment, I don't know what you guys think, but I reckon to the two best finals games/days I have seen where the last two Prelim finals at Macedon. The one two years ago between Diggers and Wooodend was the best finals game for a long time. The facility there is as good as any and a view to die for - well at least it keeps the missus happy when you drag her to the footy!

If Sunburys ground does not get too chopped up before the end of the year, it too would have a surface to match those mentioned, only problem is that there is no netball court,

Knee deep if you are 2 foot nothing. Shoebox agreed the netball court is a disaster. I did say grounds IMO the finals should be on the best grounds if a Lancefield or Romsey or Macedon or Riddell ground can take 2 finals this should happen instead of handing out early finals too lesser grounds (other clubs can host them at these grounds). Macedon will miss out on finals this year unless the new outdoor netball court will be finished in time for finals.

So you are part of the ground selection team at the RDFL? How come you didn't tell us who was going to get the East/West game?

Furhter to my other comment, I don't know what you guys think, but I reckon to the two best finals games/days I have seen where the last two Prelim finals at Macedon. The one two years ago between Diggers and Wooodend was the best finals game for a long time. The facility there is as good as any and a view to die for - well at least it keeps the missus happy when you drag her to the footy!

Agreed,:thumbsu: that was a very good game of footy, with the social rooms open how could you look past it as one of our premier venues, they have played netball there for the past few years in finals, surely a final would have to be played there, regardless of whether or not the outdoor netball court is complete

What was confirmed to me after watching Kilmore v Macedon on Saturday and hearing reports of the other matches, this is what I've learned this season.

- Take away Riddell and Rockbank and the competition is the most even it has EVER been. On their day, any of the nine remaining sides can beat one another. Riddell perhaps can be beaten (note: side's might have to go the knuckle :p).

- We have perhaps the best crop of young guns (16-20). I'm mentioning James Wright, Paul Conversano, Alistair Collins, The Big Rig (no name needed), Jae Wilton, Nathan Carroll, Paul Newton, Brenton Sutherland, Peter Robertson, James Climas, Ben Sonogan, James Petran, Cam Dawson, Jamie Michael, Ben Richmond, Myles Dorman, Alex Laidlaw, Ben Pronk, Dylan Walker, Andrew Hibbert, Trent Kelly, Chris Smith, Stuart Clarke, Dylan Hannon, John Ryan, Ben Shippard, James Hepburn etc. all playing key roles at senior level at some stage or another.

- Making big statements before a season does not change a club's culture. Kilmore the big disappointments of 2008. Needed to secure Wittmer and Kaakour. Should have done what Lancefield, Macedon, Melton Centrals have done and just quietly go about their business.

- The Cats can make the grand final, and can beat Woodend-Hesket this Saturday. Match of the year thus far.

- Woodend-Hesket can go back-to-back if they have all thier players firing at the right time again.

- The All-Star match concept is good in theory, but the players have yet to really warm to it, neither have the fans. That might all change in a week or so when the game is upon us, but the league perhaps should have locked in a venue at the start of the season and done a little more promotion. Lack of communication between the coaches/league/clubs/players has been the biggest issue I've heard to date. All is not lost yet, lets hope we get a big crowd at Riddell and the players put on a spectacle.

- Crowds are on the up, especially at clubs like Wallan, Lancefield, Macedon, Melton Central where success has been dry in recent seasons.

- The RDFL is starting to grow its reputation as a strong league both on and off the field. I think our better sides would be very competitive in neighbouring leagues, who appear to be dropping back while we advance.

- Depth in a playing list is still the key to success.

- The fans are hoping that sixth beats third in the first week of the finals to show up the flawed top-six system.

- Having an aura helps you win football games :D

Be careful before you make ridiculous comments. The young umpire in this game is umpiring at the VFL and had a week off so he came back to his roots to help out, so no he didn't umpire your game last week. The young umpire that 'shafted' you last week umpired with me yesterday and did a great job. We try and bleed new blood into senior football and all you can do is give them a hard time. I doubt every young footballer when starting to play senior football plays his best game every week.

Yes, you are right people should get there facts right before shafting umpires, and i agree that the young fellow that umpired with simmo that day got sucked in by simmo. sounds like the one that umpired with simmo on saturday stood up to him and should be praised for it.
The league should pay extra for umpires and get a squad of 5 or so very good umpires to umpire with the young bloke so they are being taught correctly.

On their day, any of the nine remaining sides can beat one another. Riddell perhaps can be beaten (note: side's might have to go the knuckle :p).

Despite this apparently being said in jest (in two different posts from Matt mind you), from the games I have seen it does unfortunately look to be true. If sides do resort to this kind of stuff though to put a side off its game, its a sad situation for the league and the clubs involved.

What happened to trying to win on your own merits and not having to hit blokes or play for free kicks or blame everything on umpire decisions? :confused:

Despite this apparently being said in jest (in two different posts from Matt mind you), from the games I have seen it does unfortunately look to be true. If sides do resort to this kind of stuff though to put a side off its game, its a sad situation for the league and the clubs involved.

What happened to trying to win on your own merits and not having to hit blokes or play for free kicks or blame everything on umpire decisions? :confused:

Not encouraging blokes to go dirty, but it worked for Romsey on the weekend apparently (I wasn't there). Was told it stopped them from getting flogged.