• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 1)

Matt nicholls yous to do one of these type things at the start of the season - all the odds for premership and bowen medal and goalkicking? anyone want to have a go?

Premiers

Ridell 2/1
Sunbury, romsey 6/1
Lancefield 10/1
Kilmore, wallan 12/1
Diggers Rest, macedon, Woodend 15/1
Broadfod 30/1
Rockbank, Melton 50/1

Bowen medal
too hard
Moorcroft probably favoirte?

Goals

Aron James 1.10!

Any practice matches this weekend ?

Matt nicholls yous to do one of these type things at the start of the season - all the odds for premership and bowen medal and goalkicking? anyone want to have a go?

Premiers

Ridell 2/1
Sunbury, romsey 6/1
Lancefield 10/1
Kilmore, wallan 12/1
Diggers Rest, macedon, Woodend 15/1
Broadfod 30/1
Rockbank, Melton 50/1

Bowen medal
too hard
Moorcroft probably favoirte?

Goals

Aron James 1.10!

Any practice matches this weekend ?

Can i have 100 on romsey, lancefield and sunbury. :D

just looking at fixtures and senior fixture finishes a week later than under 18's .How does this work? and if the seniors is final 5 is under 18's as well with 1 less team? anyone know?

Wandered over to watch my two favourite footy clubs, Broadford and Yea contest their practice match today. In a real positive sign, 40 odd players turned up for the 6x20min match which after a tough week or two at the club was promising for all involved. The standard varied naturally over the 6 terms, but in the end it was Yea just 16.11 Broadford 15.12.

Plenty of good contributors with Barton, Wearne, Nash a couple of the standouts, small forward Nathan Simpson bobbed up with 3 goals, Mick Edwards two. There were 4-5 players missing off the top of my head that should run out at 2pm come round 1 so I reckon the Roos can be competitive under me good mate Billy Neilson.

If anyone is looking to kill a couple of hours tomorrow Broadford has it's annual Swap Meet at Harley Hammond Reserve. Weather is tipped to be fine, and with close to 250 sites it should be a good doo :thumbsu:

Kilmore v Keilor Park at Kilmore tomorow.
Good day to head to the Broadford Swap Meet, then head to JJ Clancy Reserve for 2:00pm! :thumbsu:

Sunbury kangaroos had a good win today in a very physical encounter against Modewarre. The game wasnt quite the calibre or standard of last weeks game against Pascoe Vale, however there were some very good signs for the kangas. With 12 players missing from last weeks game due to various reasons, the workman type effort from the boys was very encouraging for the coming season.

Watched the first bit of Kyneton v Macedon. Not a bad first half. Few new players to Macedons line up looked ok, although im not sure how Kyneton will fair this year, but good hit out for both sides. Also watched second half of riddell v Doutta's, which Riddell won by about 7 points. Good game, although a yellow and a red were given to 2 Doutta's players in the last quarter, in which the bloke given the red may have some extended time off due to having contact with the umpire. I will leave it at that but it wasnt great, and im sure more may come of it!

Thanks mate I took your advice and did the Broadford/Kilmore double :thumbsu:

How did Kilmore go today?

Went down to Keilor Park by under a kick. Off the top of me head Goudgey, Lewis, Garland, Duffy weren't out there, no doubt others too but it was ok to watch and Id say the Blues faithful saw some things to like.

Aaron James was held goal less by Johnny Green to half time but ended up with 5-6 once Kilmore realised to get it in there quicker than they did in the 1st half.

Booker looks set for a big year, vantheman too if he could hit a target on his left ;) For now I will still stand by my initial thoughts that Kilmore at best will sneak into 6th spot.

gidday doona 2 as with u i love me local footy but was surprised to see on kdfl thread about duggan fielding offers may i ask whats he done in terms of footy.good to see him stay but why have so many left broadford and even wallan for that matter to play equal or even lesser standards of footy?is it just because of money or lack of ability courage and discipline or all of these things?very dissapointing for wallan to lose players to kilmore especially.why not go to goulbourn v diamond v or essendon v just curious on your opinion cheers mate all the best

Headshot what was the score and what was the standard like? How do the redbacks look for 2010?
Romsey won by about 12 goals . Should have been more but wasted opportunities. The Redbacks controlled the game all day. The second half saw a very young Romsey midfield as the coach threw his side around and gave some of the younger fringe players an opportunity . Romsey was at about 3/4 strength.

gidday doona 2 as with u i love me local footy but was surprised to see on kdfl thread about duggan fielding offers may i ask whats he done in terms of footy.good to see him stay but why have so many left broadford and even wallan for that matter to play equal or even lesser standards of footy?is it just because of money or lack of ability courage and discipline or all of these things?very dissapointing for wallan to lose players to kilmore especially.why not go to goulbourn v diamond v or essendon v just curious on your opinion cheers mate all the best

I wouldn't blame the players, blame the clubs who each year throw exaggerated sums of money at players with not much on their resumes and then $hit can the young players when it doesn't work out. It happens in the coaching ranks too, it was mind blowing for me to think what some clubs in the bush are prepared to pay "non playing" coaches . . . . in hindsight perhaps I shoulda said yes after my time at Yea before word got out I was no good.

In Sean's case he was moving to QLD, then it wasn't his fault I spose that his phone started ringing after the gig fell thru. I know Broadford (and Yea) both have tried valiantly to get him employment which looks like happening - so Im just glad for Sean's sake he has decided to stay and support Billy. If not he woulda been in the car with me to Yea every Satdy ;)

Football has gone mad, 18-19yo kids want $200 these days (and are getting it), but they dont understand that with that comes an expectation that one can deliver 25-30 touches week in week out.

Broadford aint had a big turnover in personel the 3 years Id been there, just one of those things I guess, dont think there's a common denominator in it all. Wallan I cant comment on, but I hear the lads that have gone to Thornton got pretty good offers, and there's always a few that float between Kilmore/Wallan, perhaps one of their followers can chip in.

One fella played at Kilmore today who played against us early last year (for Kilmore) then Im sure for Wallan later in the year :confused:

just looking at fixtures and senior fixture finishes a week later than under 18's .How does this work? and if the seniors is final 5 is under 18's as well with 1 less team? anyone know?

If you look at the fixture properly, i would say somebody has over looked the fact the seniors have 2 byes and forgotten to add the same to the 18s. if you look at the last 6 rounds the 18s play the side the seniors play the week after. I would assume this starts from the bye. The 18s are scheduled to play on the 3rd of july with the senior interleague sceduled.

The 18s will be a final 5, Rolling meadows will be following the fixture of Melton Centrals

I saw the macedon game on saturday, A. Mcarthur will finish top 5 in the league best and fairest this year if he remains fit. I understand he has had some bad luck injury wise in the last couple of years, broken foot with Werribee VFL 2008 and then a badly broken finger last year. he only played the first half but macedon looked lost in the second half with him on the bench. a pretty good game though, macedon will be there abouts this year. also a little birdy tells me the big rig could be back in june. If waters is going to play and meldrum is back could be a VERY scary forward line for defenses.

Why has Big Al shaved his head like Slim or something :D

When are you picking the pen and paper up again and returning to Newspaper House as chief football writer Doona?