• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 1)

I know for a fact that in the CHFL that teams have turns each year at running a BBQ, canteen and Bar. This would be fairest way for all the clubs to have a even playing field. It maybe every 12 years but it would be more logical than what is happening now. :)

how about if the league takes responsibility for running the day, so they outlay the initial costs (food and drink), each club donates 3 volunteers for the day, surely 36 volunteers plus some of the league big wigs is enough to run the whole day. Then the proceeds are divided evenly between the clubs and the league to the cent, with the host club being subsidised for any extra running costs e.g. electricity, water... if a club can't find the volunteers they get zerox.

and for what it's worth i think lancefield is by far the most suitable venue for the big day

One different solution would be for say one of the big three - Lancefield, Romsey and Macedon -- to put up $15,000 to the RDFL.

By doing so, it gives them the right to host a final in week 1, week 2 and week 4 of the RDFL finals series.

The RDFL could set up a club support grant system so that less financial clubs could apply for funding from the league.

However, it would not be in cash. If Rockbank wanted to get new lights, or Melton Centrals wanted money to re-grass their field, the money would have to be spent on infrastructure.

$15,000 is a big investment and I don't think Lancefield would make much more from that by having the GF. There are a lot of variables on how many people will attend - weather, which teams are playing across all grades and codes, the likely closeness of the games etc.

Potentially, if it pissed down rain on that Sunday before the AFL grand final, the host club could run at a loss.

I don't think having club volunteers running an event at another venue works. Lancefield would still need to co-ordinate it as they know how everything operates.

cos cooking a barbie, admitting people at the gate and selling beers at the bar would be super perplexing away from your own home ground

The hardest job to run at another venue would be the canteen. To run a bar or bbq would perhaps have the additional cost of hiring a portable cool room. Any club could sell raffle tickets to a prize that could be sitting on the back of a ute. Generally there are 2 bars and bbq's, that could potentially involve 4 clubs!

Plenty slyone , you ?
I couldnt care less what players are paid, footy is a business now so whilst the players can get paid for doing something they love then good luck to them, im sure the clubs wouldnt pay them if they didnt think they were worth it.
The ones who spruik about it are generally the ones who think they should be getting more. Which in most cases isnt warranted.
I just find it hard to believe that lancefield would be paying one person that amount, when they have proven successfully over the years that they are more than capable of winning premierships with out forking out big ammounts of money

Any other player movements out of Lancefield,Romsey or Riddell?

I must admit one of things that I couldn't work out when the RDFL powers that be visited Broadford mid 2008 with the big "sales pitch" was the whole finals situation and the bull$hit of having to tender for the right when clubs already pay a fairly substantial affiliation each year.

In the HDFL and other leagues Ive been in, providing facilities and surfaces for football/netball were adequate the clubs rotated hosting finals. This generally meant every second year or so a club had the opportunity.

The league would receive all the gate takings right thru the finals series, host clubs benefit from catering/raffles on their allocated day. Come grand final day the league would run it all, with each club having 3-4 workers man a BBQ or beer tent for an hour or so on the day, the club hosting the GF would often run a raffle with proceeds going directly to that club.

At the completion of the season all club's receive an evenly distributed finals "dividend". This would mean that clubs make their money on the day they host, and clubs that for a variety of reasons may have missed their turn weren't disadvantaged and everyone got a slice of the pie.

I reckon there should be that opporuntity for all clubs to get in on the finals action.

At a guess, I reckon our club woulda paid close to $10,000 more in fee's etc. than we did in 2008 to compete in the HDFL, and whilst the move was apparently vital for our survival, I just feel for the outlay all our clubs are exposed to there has to be an easier way come finals time for all clubs to benefit.

12 senior clubs x approx. $17,000, then throw in ya junior club fees, plus the great sponsorship the RDFL has onboard and is there really a need to kick in more by having to tender to host a final??? If two club's apply, does the mob that bombs out get their money back??? I'm bearing in mind that the other comps Ive been in have never had a full time paid staffer (let alone two) - but at least at seasons end all clubs would have something coming back.

On the paid staffer thing - whats the latest with the replacement for Scott McCartney's gig? Don't recall ever seeing it advertised anywhere, or does this have to wait until after an AGM or something? Who decides on the end appointment? Is it the clubs who contribute the money that pay the wages or do other independant parties make the call???

I don't believe the position has been advertised, the GM position is appointed by the board.

any other player movements out of lancefield,romsey or riddell?
lancefield...... Ruffles, waters, choate, romsey......garrrrrryyyy ,green, yak, dawson, ......riddell.......macabe,elliot,allen, there all going to strathfield were the big money is you keep throwing it around???????????? We sacked you move on......

A little misleading with Centrals as they have no under 18's to boost our numbers up. We've been getting over 30 every night so all in all we're pretty pleased.

I must admit one of things that I couldn't work out when the RDFL powers that be visited Broadford mid 2008 with the big "sales pitch" was the whole finals situation and the bull$hit of having to tender for the right when clubs already pay a fairly substantial affiliation each year.

In the HDFL and other leagues Ive been in, providing facilities and surfaces for football/netball were adequate the clubs rotated hosting finals. This generally meant every second year or so a club had the opportunity.

The league would receive all the gate takings right thru the finals series, host clubs benefit from catering/raffles on their allocated day. Come grand final day the league would run it all, with each club having 3-4 workers man a BBQ or beer tent for an hour or so on the day, the club hosting the GF would often run a raffle with proceeds going directly to that club.

At the completion of the season all club's receive an evenly distributed finals "dividend". This would mean that clubs make their money on the day they host, and clubs that for a variety of reasons may have missed their turn weren't disadvantaged and everyone got a slice of the pie.

I reckon there should be that opporuntity for all clubs to get in on the finals action.

At a guess, I reckon our club woulda paid close to $10,000 more in fee's etc. than we did in 2008 to compete in the HDFL, and whilst the move was apparently vital for our survival, I just feel for the outlay all our clubs are exposed to there has to be an easier way come finals time for all clubs to benefit.

12 senior clubs x approx. $17,000, then throw in ya junior club fees, plus the great sponsorship the RDFL has onboard and is there really a need to kick in more by having to tender to host a final??? If two club's apply, does the mob that bombs out get their money back??? I'm bearing in mind that the other comps Ive been in have never had a full time paid staffer (let alone two) - but at least at seasons end all clubs would have something coming back.

You looking for a job Doona? The league could do a lot worse than appoint you, at least you have an understanding of issues at club level and would make some very logical changes that we would all like to see, including the finals fiasco!

Not many at Centrals and Rockbank last night, bout 25 at each club. Not much more at Diggers
Maybe you should start worrying more about your new club and not about eveyone else's luke. Centrals would be extremely happy seeings that the majority of the 30 plus training are new guys to the club with many regulars comitting again but are yet to return to training. Diggers are a bit the same as centrals with the under 18's training on there own on different nights to help some of the younger guys ease into it, so to have 30 plus this early in the pre season would be making these clubs quite happy.

i also think you will find that it was rockbanks 1st night and a third of players that are regular senior players were not there due to work committments, plus the ground is being re surfaced .....where does the info come from get serious all three teams will be more than competetive this year.....Diggers are always more than competetive, seems as though some people have fun slandering the less fortunate clubs

You looking for a job Doona? The league could do a lot worse than appoint you, at least you have an understanding of issues at club level and would make some very logical changes that we would all like to see, including the finals fiasco!

Haha NbF, wasn't asking for that reason at all. I tried to land a VCFL gig back in 2006 but lucked out. Im quite happy and secure in my little department at Nestle where I work with a couple of blokes with an interest in the RDFL (a BFNC committeman and a Lancefield legend) . . . so they should keep me up to date :thumbsu:

Any other player movements out of Lancefield,Romsey or Riddell?
any players interested in playing at the bundoora football club, please contact us asap. we are a club looking to take the next step and beat one of the best local teams in victoria in heidelberg. we were just short last year and want to beat them. we have the best rooms in the league, a great family club and also like a good time. come and join what us going to be a memorable 2010!

Massive Pickup for Riddell HOULIHAN from Sunbury Lions...:footy:

it can only make the league stronger bladey!! and no doubt your boys have picked up a few credible players to add to a rapidly improving league.
r.d.f.l will be a fantastic league this year and beyond:thumbsu:

it can only make the league stronger bladey!! and no doubt your boys have picked up a few credible players to add to a rapidly improving league.
r.d.f.l will be a fantastic league this year and beyond:thumbsu:
just makes you more inclined to pull on the boots there mongrel I bet! :p

Houlihan on song is almost unstopable. Will be interesting how his body copes these days but good to see him in the league.

Hungriest player in country footy. Hope no one else in the Riddell forward line expects him to use his skills to pass a ball when he is inside 50. Even from further out he loves to have a pot shot at the big sticks. There's a reason he is leaving the Lions. Will be a very handy player in the RDFL though.