RDFL Thread - 2013

Funny that!!!!!! He might still have a 40 dollar jumper???? Its actually weird to see the shoe on the other foot for a change. I bet theres a lot of clubs in the rdfl namingly lancefield and riddell that have put a lot of work in to get their players to a high standard only to lose them to gissy or scumbry.
Got any recent (Gisborne) examples mate ? Please don't use T.Waters - he came to us !

He has been to every gis game since coming back. Went to a riddell do and somehow ended up on stage being presented as a new recruit. Riddell lodeged the paper work on Monday - nothing was signed. He was always playing for gissy - if he gets his arm right.[/ He's working for the president and assistant coach of Riddell so you don't have to be Einstein to work out where he'll play if his arm comes up ok!! Bit if wishful thinking from wild bill I think!!

Got any recent (Gisborne) examples mate ? Please don't use T.Waters - he came to us !

I dont have a dog in this fight bretty. But u mentioned tommy waters, so ill ask who was his coach at lancefield? And who was the coach at gissy when he arrived?

Regardless I just miss the days when sll the surrounding towns played in the rdfl. If that eva happens againvim sure the big crowds will return too.

I dont have a dog in this fight bretty. But u mentioned tommy waters, so ill ask who was his coach at lancefield? And who was the coach at gissy when he arrived?

Regardless I just miss the days when sll the surrounding towns played in the rdfl. If that eva happens againvim sure the big crowds will return too.

We still get the BIG crowds to our games mate.........Its the Clubs that left that struggle to attract even a quorum to theirs. And the few that rock up to their home games NEVER turn up to their away fixtures !!! o_O

/ He's working for the president and assistant coach of Riddell so you don't have to be Einstein to work out where he'll play if his arm comes up ok!! Bit if wishful thinking from wild bill I think!!
If you think that Power cares if he decides to play at Gisborne you obviously don't know him. His break was bad and will be lucky to play seniors at Gisborne. Maybe ones footy at Riddell is a better option.

Pretty sure Kev Fitzgerald was his coach at Lanny and Luke Saunders was coach at Gissy when Tommy arrived. I agree with your comments in regard to the big 5 returning one day - i'm certain it would be a massive boost for footy in the region.

What's the crowd like their bears boy? Got your photo. Not much on one side of the ground.

Now Omni, how would you best describe the quality of football that was served up at Riddell today.

Really enjoyed the senior game at romsey today!!!! Leeroy spourle is doing a great job as coach of the rams. The class clown and crowd pleaser at sunbury is showing he definately has a plan and executing it very well thus far. With a few very very handy inclusions still to arrive I think they are a team on the move for next season.

on the romsey front sean austin showed me today that in his current form is the number 1 player in the comp, easily best on ground. Followed by newcomer and former sunbury kanga dermie smythe who was unstoppable and at his ferocious best. Good signs also were farmer and dawson getting thru the game and to tjink 11 players are still available to join tdays group if things all fall into place around september..

Final Score -
Riddell - 9. 15. 69. K.O'ed Broadford - 3. 8. 26.

Must admit I hopped in the car this arvo and had a couple of messages suggesting a bit of a dust up took place on the final siren at Riddell today. And here I was still coming to terms with the fact a few from Riddell told the Rupo boys that Kilmore were thugs ....

No doubt there's a media ban on things until all reports are all lodged, set penalties considered/accepted etc etc but if that game was taped today I'd love to have a look at the last couple of minutes and what transpired afterwards.

Surely you have to be happy with the last 7-8 days of efforts on here Mongrel, you've certainly got the thread rocking and rolling again :thumbsu:

On another topic, big congrats to Fitzy and the Woodend boys today. They certainly came to play, knew what the day meant and had us covered where it mattered most.

Must admit I hopped in the car this arvo and had a couple of messages suggesting a bit of a dust up took place on the final siren at Riddell today. And here I was still coming to terms with the fact a few from Riddell told the Rupo boys that Kilmore were thugs ....

No doubt there's a media ban on things until all reports are all lodged, set penalties considered/accepted etc etc but if that game was taped today I'd love to have a look at the last couple of minutes and what transpired afterwards.

Surely you have to be happy with the last 7-8 days of efforts on here Mongrel, you've certainly got the thread rocking and rolling again :thumbsu:

On another topic, big congrats to Fitzy and the Woodend boys today. They certainly came to play, knew what the day meant and had us covered where it mattered most.

very happy thanx doona. We all love the game and the league so lets chat about it!!!!!!

Allen, Sammet and Ruffell will miss the next 3. Climas did his hammy. Word out of Riddell is if you want to bang you won't win. Undefeated they can rest a few and see who can step up.

Ur right about the hawks today doona, they played well today, but one thing that stood out was that both sides are easily the youngest two outfits in the league, and its great to see two struggling sides give their all for a great contest.

Now Omni, how would you best describe the quality of football that was served up at Riddell today.

Pretty bloody ordinary !!!
But that is how some sides that come up against the undefeated Bombers play. I have unfortunately all too often gotten used to seeing 36 players camped in the Riddell half of the ground trying to protect their ladder %.
To Rupo's credit, two weeks ago they did NOT do this & ultimately copped a pretty big whack on the scoreboard !
Maybe it will help these sides gain higher places on the Ladder come seasons end ?........Maybe it wont !!!
You & your son shoulda asked for your money back........Presuming you payed ???
Making the trip up to the QEO tomorrow pal ?

Well omni, from the looks of the game yesterday Broadford went over to riddell with a game plan , riddell are a very good team . Broadford did push numbers back at times and play slingshot Footy and I thought they did it very well.. This game plan that Broadford bought nearly paid very big dividends as I thought Broadford could have grabbed the 4 points..riddell got frustrated and kept bombing the ball in and the Roos picked it off . So much so did riddell get frustrated that a couple of players did pretty ordinary acts at the end of the game and that's why you should ask for your money back bearboy
I thought Broadford played honest clean Footy on the day and they should be commended on their performance and discipline...

Well omni, from the looks of the game yesterday Broadford went over to riddell with a game plan , riddell are a very good team . Broadford did push numbers back at times and play slingshot Footy and I thought they did it very well.. This game plan that Broadford bought nearly paid very big dividends as I thought Broadford could have grabbed the 4 points..riddell got frustrated and kept bombing the ball in and the Roos picked it off . So much so did riddell get frustrated that did pretty ordinary acts at the end of the game and that's why you should ask for your money back bearboy
I thought Broadford played honest clean Footy on the day and they should be commended on their performance and discipline...

I reckon that is the first and last time anyone will ever commend Broadford on being disciplined. Easily the least disciplined side in the competition and would have played a big role in any incidents yesterday. Notice a Broadford person mentioned it any Riddell people care to comment on the discipline

Well omni, from the looks of the game yesterday Broadford went over to riddell with a game plan , riddell are a very good team . Broadford did push numbers back at times and play slingshot Footy and I thought they did it very well.. This game plan that Broadford bought nearly paid very big dividends as I thought Broadford could have grabbed the 4 points..riddell got frustrated and kept bombing the ball in and the Roos picked it off . So much so did riddell get frustrated thatboth did pretty ordinary acts at the end of the game and that's why you should ask for your money back bearboy

Slingshot Footy eh ? Well that worked a treat in the first half now didn't it ??? Half Time Scoreline - Riddell - 5. 10. 40. to Broadford - 0. 3. 3. !!!.......Worst half of "Footy" I think I have EVER had to endure !!! :(
After half time Broadford came out in the third quarter & played traditional footy & did NOT "Flood". Consequently this took the Bombers by surprise & Broadford kicked 3 quick goals ! Riddell then adjusted to the change & banged home 4 goals to win the half & as such, seal the game. This appeared to frustrate an undisciplined Broadford outfit that had no more tricks to play ! Once the Broadford players realised the contest was effectively over, they started arguing amongst themselves & a few of their more intellectually challenged "players" started sniping & taking "cheap shots" at the Riddell boys.
As always with these things, it is usually the retaliator that gets pinged by the Umpire. And yesterday was unfortunately NO different ! I will say at this point, I thought the Umpires did a very good job Yesty & in no way contributed to the ugly incidents which occurred post match.
The thing I learned at a very early age is that Riddell is a very very accommodating Club - You want to come here to play Footy, they will give you a good contest. You want to come here for a friendly chat & drink after the game, they will welcome you with open arms.........& if you wanna come over here to "Bang On", then strap yourself in pal !!!
Honest Clean Footy & The Broadford Football Club go together about as much as Julia Gillard & the Truth !!! :confused:
Perhaps one of the RDFL's newer inclusions, the Broadford Football Club who have fast gathered a "Reputation" for ALL the wrong reasons in our Competition learnt a salient lesson Yesterday ???........I sure hope so for their sake !!! :cool:

Oh, & our players will of course cop it on the chin, like men, any penalties that are metered against them. At Riddell we don't squeal or whinge we fully understand that the provocation to retaliate, no matter how much it is justified, is no defence in these type of unfortunate incidents ! :)

I hope the 3 Broadford lads make a speedy recovery, & come to see the error of their ways ! :)

Was there much in it (the first one), who got Sahlberg?

I'm surprised to hear the accusations against the two young Broadford lads who I've always regarded two of the nicest guys at the club. I certainly echo OMNI's thoughts in wishing all injured in the incident a speedy recovery.

When do the games generally get whacked up on the league site?

And as far as Broadford after half time playing traditional Footy
Mate u are wrong they played to the same system all day.. So that just proves to me that u know very little about Footy in general.. Riddell were very lucky that Broadford didn't take there chances in the first and last quarters otherwise Riddell would have been the laughing stock for showing an opposition side very little respect

The last 3 times I have seen Broadford play they have been in some sort of incident. I didn't see yesterdays incident so cant comment on that but from what I have seen clearly they have a few discipline issues

Just a few ???
I have seen them twice now, & BOTH times they have caused ugly incidents........They are an undisciplined Rabble !