RDFL Thread - 2013

Having seen Rupertswood against the big four now diggers rest by far the most impressive followed by riddell then kangaroos and romsey. Romsey had a heap out the day we played them and we played out of our skins. Diggers appeared to have a great mix of experience and youth which will hold them in good stead when push comes to shove during finals.

I must say, having not been able to get over today to witness the Bombers take on Wallan at home (which I thought could be a bit of a danger game) I am very pleased with the result. 11 different goal kickers. Although by the looks of it we musta put the cue in the rack in the last quarter, letting the Magpies double their score & break even with us for the term. A win is a win & I'll take a 93 point one every day of the week ! Especially with the players we had on the sidelines today.
Check this list of talent out sitting on the side lines for the Bombers - Anstey, Bedggood, Casson, Climas, Cox, Hurst, Sahlberg, Sammut, Sewell, Silvester, Tobin, P. & G. Robertson, Ruffell.................& our NEW Gisborne recruit Petran.
Not too bad a group (I know its NOT quite a good as the Redbacks !) waiting to top up Riddell's stocks ! :thumbsu:

They need a BIG win I reckon to be taken seriously. Next couple of games could be a bit of a test for 'em. Melton & Rockbank, both AWAY ! I rated Lancefield a bit. So to put them away even though it was at home is a pretty good win.. No pun intended !!!
If they get over the next couple, then round 15 offers them the chance of THAT really big win. Romsey at Romsey !
That could be their watershed moment this season and catapult them into finals with a degree of momentum.
Do I detect a soft spot in the heart of the Mongrel for the men of the mount ??? :rolleyes:

Massive first test FAIL for the Cats ! This game against Melton was always gunna be a tough one, but to ONLY kick 1 solitary point in the last quarter when the game was there to be won must be a huge disappointment for Meldrum & his team. Next weeks fixture against Rockbank down there takes on epic proportions now for Macedon. The Rams are well & truly up & about now & to lose that one down there & that could really put their season at risk.......Even WITH the very soft draw they have in the run home !

I feel an OMNI"s Final Ladder positions.............mark V coming on !!! :)

OMNI'S Final Ladder Prediction.........................mark V.

Diggers Rest.............................60.
Riddell.....................................60.
Sunbury...................................52.
Romsey....................................48.
Macedon...................................36.
Melton......................................32.

Rockbank..................................32.
Rupertswood.............................28.
Lancefield.................................24.
Broadford..................................20.
Wallan......................................20.
Woodend...................................4.
Kilmore.......................................

Biggest Improver - Rockbank.
Biggest Slider - Woodend.

Grand Finalists - Diggers Rest v Riddell.
Premiers - Draw.

Lee James Medal - Brent Tuckey. (Digg)
Rising Star - Steve Fogarty. (Digg)
Bowen Medalist - Brent Tuckey. (Digg)

15 goals and he couldn't make it into Diggers best players list !!! :eek:

thats unbelievable they must have expect a bit more from him. if riddell had all them playes missing then surely theyre the side to beat, that first half was amazing yesterday.
another 3 quarter effort at Kilmore by the look, whos the guy who kicked five goals? Looking through the fixture this morning Meltons win against macedon yesterday changes things quite a bit.

OMNI'S Final Ladder Prediction.........................mark V.

Diggers Rest.............................60.
Riddell.....................................60.
Sunbury...................................52.
Romsey....................................48.
Macedon...................................36.
Melton......................................32.

Rockbank..................................32.
Rupertswood.............................28.
Lancefield.................................24.
Broadford..................................20.
Wallan......................................20.
Woodend...................................4.
Kilmore.......................................

Biggest Improver - Rockbank.
Biggest Slider - Woodend.

Grand Finalists - Diggers Rest v Riddell.
Premiers - Draw.

Lee James Medal - Brent Tuckey. (Digg)
Rising Star - Steve Fogarty. (Digg)
Bowen Medalist - Brent Tuckey. (Digg)

I agree with your medalists Omni, that's how I called it a few weeks ago !

Having seen Rupertswood against the big four now diggers rest by far the most impressive followed by riddell then kangaroos and romsey. Romsey had a heap out the day we played them and we played out of our skins. Diggers appeared to have a great mix of experience and youth which will hold them in good stead when push comes to shove during finals.

Sunbury had 9 out in round 1 when they played Rupo !

It sounds like everybody has had players out, and they are sure to let everybody know about it when they lose or only win by 10 goals. REALLY!!!:eek: A team can only use players available. Some players mentioned in the past have been players, constantly playing 2s, players that have signed and not played a game and players with long term injuries.
Look at it this way a player constantly in the 2s is in the coaches eyes not good enough or they don't want to play seniors. (we are now in round 11 now fitness is not an excuse)
Players not to play a game could either be injured or not really keen
Long term injuries, well all clubs have them, will they be right for finals?
Arrogance at its best :D

Agree all teams have players out at different stages. We need to work harder and ensure we have less reliance on our bigger names. We need a more even spread across the board and until this happens we will be mid table at best. Should be a cracking finals series, even so far out.

thats unbelievable they must have expect a bit more from him. if riddell had all them playes missing then surely theyre the side to beat, that first half was amazing yesterday.
another 3 quarter effort at Kilmore by the look, whos the guy who kicked five goals? Looking through the fixture this morning Meltons win against macedon yesterday changes things quite a bit.

If Rockbank keeps this list together and adds more to it for 2014 then they're well on right track, I have to echo everyone's thoughts in saying how good a job Leigh and co. are doing :thumbsu:

Yeh finals race got a bit tricker yesty, well done to Wheels and co. they keep finding a way. Had Broadford pinched Fridays game (they shoulda) and Melton loses yesty then the upcoming B'ford/Melton game woulda had a lot of importance, but now with a 3-game gap Broadford would have to win minimum 5 from 6 and hope like buggery for a few upsets.

The "guy" as you put it, who kicked 5 is a local kid called Zane Collier. Played a couple last year when still in our under 16's, plays ACK and trains/plays for us when time permits. Cracking young bloke, great attitude and approach to it all which potentially could provide him with a footballing future.

His parents have been so supportive too in acknowledging that a few runs both last year, and this year against the grown men can actually increase his development which I believe it has. I know the Diggers boys were impressed with him earlier, and I'm sure Itsmyshow is now fully aware of the kid Ive been telling him about who we all hope can have a real crack at it over the summer down with the Cannons.

I know I think it's time for a "two tiered" thread to align with the competition, top 4 and then the rest.

Oh and yeh I had 24 out from my 2012 squad yesty :D

Rubbish!!!!

Dezzy played last year

I told you so Sly !!! :p
And i will tell you something my friend!
Broadford were great Friday night, head over the ball stuff, real old fashion footy!They were brave, courageous! & never gave up, they played within the rules and not one snipe in the game, so what in the hell have you been on about? Baz, Skip & Gav stayed back at Romsey Park until 01;30hrs. Baz did a Q&A for 20 minutes before the game to a packed dinner in the Dinning Room & then returned after the game for a Q&A session which lasted 1hr,he then signed autographs & posed for photos with every person who asked him, never knocked back one! The RFNC have now wittnessed the sought of man Barry is, the real Barry Hall, no other footballer has been a better ambassador for the RDFL ever & he should be recognized for his contribution to the league. The best home & away game i have ever been associated with, so to Barry & the Broadford FNC we thank you. Omni things can change from week to week, just like when we played Rupo! so omni STFU or i will get my mate Camel to pay you a visit!!

Well said slyone, Baz is a cracking fella who has done amazing things for Broadford (and the RDFL) through exposure in a short time. Now its up to the club to use this year as a springboard to a more competitive future which I'm sure they're already planning for.

I just say it as it is mate, just like a couple of years ago when we had no lights, through your good self & your contacts at Broadford allowed us to train on their ground & opened up the rooms, if ever Romsey can ever repay the favour it will be done, a lot of respect there!

After sitting back for a few days and reflecting on Friday nights game it was a wonderful atmosphere and a well run night by romsey and Broadford
Speaking to a few of the romsey boys on Saturday they said it was the hardest game of Footy they had endured ever
What a credit to both sides
Romsey were fantastic in running the game out with no bench ands Broadford came to play against a really good side
I'm just rapt for our club to have been invited to play on a big stage like Friday night and show the other clubs in the league that we are trying to change the culture in our club and everyone who knows a bit about Footy will tell u it takes time.
I think we went along way in changing people's perception of Broadford.
I know the romsey football club made their thoughts known to both myself and other Broadford people after the game
It was just a shame on the night that the umpires I thought who had a great 3 qts and let the game flow decided in the last that they were going to take centre stage and start to pay silly free kicks that were not there causing players to get confused due to inconsistency
And all report Baz for a push in the chest
I hope the league sees fit to throw his report out as it should after talking to the alleged victim
Great night overall and a good cash earner for romsey and a great advertisement for the league

As a neutral supporter I thought the umpiring was pretty good all night including the last quarter when the heat was on Cam Dawson was the difference in the last qtr Broadford just couldn't close off his space and nice of the player from Romsey saying it was just a push but there was definitely more to it than that from where I was standing

I hope the league sees fit to throw his report out as it should after talking to the alleged victim

The "League" doesn't play a role in throwing out or hearing of reports. That is the role of the tribunal. :thumbsu:

I agree the umpiring was very good. Broadford threw it away in the second half. They were second to the ball and all too often gave away many undisciplined free kicks, getting their own free kicks reversed & culminating in the report and send off of an obviously frustrated Barry Hall. Even the radio blokes made mention of Broadfords lack of discipline. Hall definitely has a case to answer from where I was standing right behind the goals. I will be very surprised if he gets off. I also thought Cam Dawson was the difference and the final margin would have been greater if the bloke didn't choke at every set shot he took. All in all the standard was pretty ordinary from both sides. Lots and lots of skill errors. Playing any night game at that tine will result in dew/ wet weather type football, so of course skills will be down a bit, but that has to be expected. All in all though from what I'm told it seemed like a well organised night and hopefully clubs/the league look at future fixtures. Not sure Hendo's black eye will look great at the tribunal though. Was hall offered a set penalty?? Or straight to the tribunal! Not sure striking to the chest region will hold up on this one.

Playing any night game at that tine will result in dew/ wet weather type football, so of course skills will be down a bit, but that has to be expected. All in all though from what I'm told it seemed like a well organised night and hopefully clubs/the league look at future fixtures. Not sure Hendo's black eye will look great at the tribunal though. Was hall offered a set penalty?? Or straight to the tribunal! Not sure striking to the chest region will hold up on this one.