RDFL Thread - 2013

Yes indeed there does appear to be a significant change of late. :cool:
I guess some of our umpires (the less experienced younger ones it seems) are doing ALL they can to get noticed !
With ONE glaring exception of course. But then again, that old attention seeking grandstander has been a law unto himself for way way too long !
Recently it looks a lot like some of our younger umpires are doing everything they can to stand out. Obviously in an attempt to garner some sort of advantage or extra favour in they eyes of O'Keefe & his coaching/selection panel towards getting a gig at the BIG day in September.

I read with much interest today in the RDFL footy record O'Keefe's blurb about HOW umpires are selected for our Grand Final. I must say it surprised the shit outa me !
Do you know WHAT is the number 1 criteria for a gig for an umpire to be selected for an RDFL Grand Final.
NO, not performance or fitness or even experience, its..............wait for it !!!
The number ONE criteria is -.............. & I'm quoting him here -

1. Training Attendance and Match day Availability. (at least we now know HOW the old fart still gets a gig!)
Now you may be thinking performance, fitness & experience has gotta come next.........But NO !
The second most important criteria (according to umpires guru O'Keefe) for Grand Final selection is -
2. Coaching Session Attendance.
Fascinating !.......Turning up to shit gives you a head start in getting a gig at our Grand Final ! :confused:

Yes he then goes on to nominate performance throughout the year & in Finals as his third & forth criteria respectively............Third & forth !!! o_O What are you thinking O'Keefe ???
I think I can pretty much speak for ALL the footy public out here O'Keefe when I say -
WE ALL WANT THE BEST PERFORMED UMPIRES DOING THE JOB !
That is the ONLY criteria we are interested in.
You just do your job & make it happen, ok ?
Don't you go ruling them out just because they've missed one of your training or coaching sessions or haven't kissed your arse in the appropriate manner.
Just get the best performed ones out on the park. Otherwise we could just end up with another fiasco Final like we had last year !.........& Nobody wants that !!!

Ok Omni, let me give you a few facts. The top 15 or so umpires this year would have over 90% attendance at training, games and coaching sessions so those 1st 2 criteria pretty much don't count. It more means that the 18's/ reserves umpires that never train won't get a final. So therefore it mainly comes down to performance and fitness. I think you will find the best will be doing the games. I'd be interested to see who you would rate is actually different to the final panels selected.

Also, you do have the wrong twin when it comes to the game tomorrow.

And to the other poster who suggested getting vfl umps, why would we bother if we can't get finals. No one would umpire. Why not get afl umps to umpire state league finals. Why not let state league players play for their local club without qualifying in finals if their team doesn't make it. Silly comment if you ask me.

Some very important and bad decisions made in the last quarter nearly cost Diggers.

I think that the individual decision making from players on both sides really cost their respective teams during various stages of the game.. it wasn't the most inspiring game to watch and skill errors were crucial.. that's the pressure of finals football for players, officials, coaches and supporters.. the skill level in the Reserves was as good as any match seen over the finals series this year and the result was fitting..
Lets look ahead to tomorrow's big games where it will be on the shoulders of the players to determine their team's fate and only that of the players.. perhaps there will be questioning made on the selection of the right or wrong players that line-up for their respective clubs.. either way.. all six games promise to be something exciting.. bring it on!

Ok Omni, let me give you a few facts. The top 15 or so umpires this year would have over 90% attendance at training, games and coaching sessions so those 1st 2 criteria pretty much don't count. It more means that the 18's/ reserves umpires that never train won't get a final. So therefore it mainly comes down to performance and fitness. I think you will find the best will be doing the games. I'd be interested to see who you would rate is actually different to the final panels selected.

And to the other poster who suggested getting vfl umps, why would we bother if we can't get finals. No one would umpire. Why not get afl umps to umpire state league finals. Why not let state league players play for their local club without qualifying in finals if their team doesn't make it. Silly comment if you ask me.

If you have the runs on the board with attendance and commitment.. coaches in any sport tend to look on that favourably when comparing two of similar ability together.. its completely logical.. there is some quality depth in the umpire fraternity and the association is rebuilding for a successful future.. there is plenty to get excited about ..

Well they certainly DO seem to count for your Umpiring Supremo otherwise he wouldn't have 'em at number 1 & 2 now would he ???............I'm only going on the priority of his very words that's all !!! o_O

As for that twin. I hope to Christ you are right, because last week which ever one of them it was was bloody atrocious ! Arguing with players, way too many ridiculous free kicks & of course an inordinate amount of 50 meter penalties payed by him. Do you know what ? At one stage he followed a player out on the wing arguing with him the whole time, whilst the game went on with him oblivious to the fact !!!.......Just pathetic !
Whilst I'm on last week. In the seniors game there were two ugly incidents where two players were felled (one from each side) after receiving heavy knocks to the head. One player had his nose broken & took no further part in the game. The other player was knocked unconscious for several minutes & had to be carried from the field on a stretcher in that state bleeding from the mouth.
The astonishing thing about these two incidents was - That of the NINE umpires officiating in the game NONE of them saw ANYTHING !!!........Nothing at all !......... Nine of 'em, NOTHING........... Amazing ! :confused:
How they get more finals gigs after that baffles the shit outa me !!!!
I did notice though that one of the incidents was captured in the replay that was being shown on the RDFL web site earlier in the week......that was until Mongrel bought it to every ones attention, then suddenly the vision of the game was shifted to a less prominent area ! :cool:

I believe a prominent Romsey senior player copped weeks in round 16 after being reported via a video review of their game after a Sunbury player was knocked out after receiving contact to the head.

After viewing both of these incidents I cant for the life of me see any difference in the two !!!

Ahhh so it was officially moved ! Thanks for clearing that up pal. :cool:

Yep cling to whatever you can.. It's placed just behind this weeks footy show and yesterday's game, I will speak to Red Onion and ask them to get your official approval prior to the uploading of new videos, just in case you want to make a point a week later next time. But what conspiracy opportunity would that leave you with...

Your posts used to have a lovely tinge of controversy wound into promoting the games and providing info on the actual games and worth reading every line, now you just sound like a complete whine with nothing worthwhile to talk about anymore, shame really.

Its funny how people are talking about the last quarter in regards to the umpiring. What about the other 3 quarters ??? or arn't they in the picture.

Well ive finally signed up to have a spiel on here and bugger me if the whole first page of posts are to do with umpires and the quality of the officiating come finals time. Well from a Romsey bloke heres my take on the topic. There were a lot of people, internally mainly, but some from other viewpoints and loyalties, that said we were robbed in last years GF. This irked me no end and still does. Facts are, and the people aligned with the league or umpiring division can come up with all the arguments under the sun to excuse this, but the umpiring is and has been in a steady decline in terms of quality, experience and results for roughly a decade, since the likes of Ray Hocking, Rob Schuller, and the little jockey bloke were running around in their white gear. A constant source of attention is the semmens bros. and after seeing them in action its fair to say that their an enigma. A flip of the coin or sometimes a minor point in the game can see momentum switch drastically, and they can get going when challenged like no ones buisness. But a point that slips by most is that every club, and almost every person you come across will tell their story of how semmo done his nana, semmo lost it, semmo went whistle crazy, worst display ever, ego maniac, been doin it for years, and so on. This would mean every club in the comp has been hard done by at some stage, and im not disputing that. However no team can be so blatantly unfairly treated, and harshly judged, without the opposition benefiting. Can be bad both ways, but percentages say someone will almost always benefit out of these percieved shockers by the orange ones. So for every time theyve "dudded" your club i reckon theres been another day and time where youve benefited from a tirade of authority to your opposition. This fact, coupled with the realisation that all of the officiating umpires efforts are resoundingly endorsed on every occasion, and all detrimental or negative feedback about there output met with the stock standard replys of how good they apparently were, every single game of every division played, on every weekend of the season, has convinced me that their is no accountability, no such thing as a bad days umpiring and therefore no prospects of improvement. So my advice is to try and completely negate the chances of an undeserved whack of desicions in any way possible, as easy as that is to say away from the intensity of gametime, and deal with it as it comes. The sooner we all stop scratching our heads as to how bad it is, the sooner the constant focus will return to the right areas, which are the clubs and players. Crowds have a lot to answer for in escalating the flow of desicions too and need to bite their lip. High pitched vocal abuse wont help your cause. Im a massive believer in not ever using an excuse to justify a result or an display and always have been. For every harsh one theoretically youve been looked after somewhere along the way too. You should train and play in a way that means the umpires shouldnt weigh in no matter how there performance impacts. And if you get a dodgey one, or ones late or at any stage, there is probably a facet of your game that impacted the result equally as much as the orangemen. That should be the focus. Fix that and be humble, disciplined in your silence, no matter how frustrating, and concentrate on what you can control. Never make an excuse no matter how hard youve been rorted and hope you get the other side of the coin next time round. We lost last years grand final in my oppinion through panic in the pressure cooker passages, especially red time in the last, lack of accountability and resposibility in the guts late, composure under duress, focus, structure, confidence, fitness and smarts. Sunbury won through desperation, will to win, composed clever footy and ability to round out the job. Not because of a few umpiring bloopers. Unfortunately i often hear of people though, and smart, clever honest football types too, that we were robbed by a rogue official. Even if thats what you whole heartedly believe, be gracious and humble enough to put your hand up and acknowledge the areas you could have been better at before copping out to the oldest excuse since dogs eating homework. The focus should really be on the remaining clubs and what fantastic lists all of them have put together to end up here. Its a credit to them and the league and should be noted. The quality of footballer is astounding and deep right through all clubs left but more so the quality of people. Great mix of young and old and just a pleasure to be involved with. The futures bright footy and netty wise, so time the suits start acknowledging that the vocal majority cant all be wrong, so often and so adamantly, and fix whatever it is thats hindering the quality of the whistles, instead of incessantly denying there downfalls and rapping up there every effort. Turning up to ump training isnt enough to excuse poor performance. Poor numbers neither. The denial is simply an effort to hide the fact that the people in charge are not doing there job properly and denial cancels out exposure of this fact. But for now, we just all have to grin and bear it, because the problem is so ingrained its going to take a lot of time and effort to reverse it. I understand that all umpires are human and prone to mistakes as are footballers, and that they are all most likely great people. Time though they are judged like the players are for performance but. Rant over

Good post, although I don't think that username is genuine.

The Mick Carroll I know from Romsey is a good fella, but I don't think he could put that many words together.

Not at riddell but listening to highlands and amazed at yeendys channeling of all things anthony hudson. Vast improvement over last year where he was more on drew morphetts wavelength. Congrats to our a graders, commiserations to our b grade netty girls. Your all stars. 58 points riddells way in the ones. Another year done for us. Heads up down our way tonight, just werent good enough this time. Well done to the bombers, from jay allen down you run a hell of a club, right across the board. Sitting and listening to the twos bench at rockbank last week, which was made up of polly, crots, Ants power and Waddsy, all premiership players and club stalwarts at Riddell, was a window into how to go about giving back to your jumper and mates. All the best to you' all. All sides left have a core of clubmen who have been down and hurting at some stage, but stuck together and come out all the better for it. But they only shell out for one cup at RDFL house and its gotta go somewhere, so good luck to everyone. PREMIERSHIPS AND FOOTY TRIPS!

Ease up rambo. I was offered your job before you settled in at the press. Dont think i could have performed to your lofty standards had i taken it but. Riddell me this, Rossy lions missing dozen, sensible or suicide? Will it be a vital rest or an un neccesary break in form? Genius or imbecile? And Who wins the three Riddell flags buddy? You still got your finger on the pulse i assume, like all good journos do! Whats your verdict?

Yep cling to whatever you can.. It's placed just behind this weeks footy show and yesterday's game, I will speak to Red Onion and ask them to get your official approval prior to the uploading of new videos, just in case you want to make a point a week later next time. But what conspiracy opportunity would that leave you with...

Your posts used to have a lovely tinge of controversy wound into promoting the games and providing info on the actual games and worth reading every line, now you just sound like a complete whine with nothing worthwhile to talk about anymore, shame really.

And yours used to have a little more respect & substance to them with out getting bitter & personal ! :eek:
I thought your very personal attack on Pickles recently was a perfect example of this !
Way outa line ! :(
I guess things can change massively when you have a very serious vested interest at play now cant they ??? :eek:
I must say I'd never thought I'd see the day ! :cool:

And please stop using the conspiracy line ALL the time........Its getting a little tired & old !!! o_O

And yours used to have a little more respect & substance to them with out getting bitter & personal ! :eek:
I thought your very personal attack on Pickles recently was a perfect example of this !
Way outa line ! :(
I guess things can change massively when you have a very serious vested interest at play now cant they ??? :eek:
I must say I'd never thought I'd see the day ! :cool:

And please stop using the conspiracy line ALL the time........Its getting a little tired & old !!! o_O

It's in response to, (and I will use your style here) YOUR posts that constantly allude to exactly that..

You can claim I have a "vested" interest all you like, but I am hearing the same thing every time from you, and I am not the only one seeing it...

It's in response to, (and I will use your style here) YOUR posts that constantly allude to exactly that..

You can claim I have a "vested" interest all you like, but I am hearing the same thing every time from you, and I am not the only one seeing it...

NO,....A respectful person would have given my OBSERVATION the benefit of the doubt & said it was nothing more than a coincidence that the vision of the game was moved. And not always jumping immediately to the defensive & negative conclusion by playing the "Conspiracy Theory" card ALL the time !!! :confused:
&...
YOU DO have a bloody vested interest.....Of course YOU do !!! And whats more EVERYONE I speak too on the subject makes mention of it pal. Christ it was mentioned to me a couple of times today !!! But what I say to them of course pal, because I'm a positive & generous soul, is that it does not affect your decision making & that you have the best interest of the league at heart. I have NO doubt of that ! :thumbsu: ...............No matter how disrespectful & omnipotent you may become !!! :rolleyes:

bombers to win with a bit in hand - had the roos measure this year, and should again this weekend.

diggers rest terrific effort to make the big dance and wish them all the best. Good club !!:thumbsu:

Amidst the general run of the mill of negative feedback on the effort of the umpires throughout the course of the year.. am I alone in believing that the standard has been pretty good this year?
My heart feels for the association that has lost lots of experience from quality umpires over the last few years and it is clear to see that there is a massive development process that is occurring, especially this season, in order to give better experience and develop the middle to upper tier umpires coming through the system.
Just a few years ago.. Billy Mitchell and Troy Cusack.. amoung others.. were umpiring Senior football on the boundary.. over the last two years they have grown to develop as emerging Senior umpires .. there have been other guys that have emerged from the Reserves and Under 18.5s level to have really stepped it up at Senior level and with a year under their belt, will be better for the experience this year.
I've had the pleasure of umpiring with many great umpires at Under 18.5 level this year.. and unfortunately to name names.. but running with Paul Phillips in the final round of the home and away season was a great experience.. he was able to provide great advice on how to handle big games.. have a stronger stance and maintain a good level of confidence that I as an umpire have lacked this year.. guys with Senior experience like he has is invaluable. It hasn't been an easy period for umpiring and there isn't the depth available this year as there has been in the past.. some on the list perhaps aren't quite up to that level and confidence just yet to umpire finals football but given their development this year and the increase in coaching and training available (hence the importance of attendance at training because as anyone who has been to a training session knows, there is weekly coaching sessions and match-day scenarios that are practiced) .. the next group of umpires will be better next year.
It isn't an easy gig this year covering radio matches across all teams. You don't really get to support one team over another.. in fact, its difficult to watch a game through a supporters eyes .. I'm originally a Woodend lad.. I've watched the Hawks a small handful this year.. and they are the club I associate with.. but I'm involved in all clubs.. and especially the umpires.. which, in reality is by far the best club in the competition .. but that's something I've said before and will always tell people.
As a dead-set neutral supporter.. out of the six deeply assessed games that we covered over the weekend.. there was probably three or four free decisions that I raised the eye brow at.. yet, from a decision making perspective and skill level.. the performance from both Reserves teams at MacPherson Park was the best, closely followed by the Sunbury Kangaroos Under 18.5s and then the Riddell Seniors.. I believed that the umpiring was top notch.. and I think that come this time of year.. the focus should be put back on the teams.. the pressure is really on.. there is some big matches.. the psychological mindset of playing off in a Grand final.. playing for a premiership.. the focus should be put on the players and their ability to make as less skill errors as possible and cope under the intense pressure of finals football.. umpires officiate to get a Grand final.. but that is just a side show to the number one feature.. a football club winning a premiership.
Over the course of the season.. there has been one stand-out team this year that has played well under immense pressure.. adapted their mentality well and played the game well, making few errors.. and that's Rupertswood in the Under 18.5s.. if you had to pick one team early in the year that was a lock for the Grand final.. even from the opening game.. they were it.. they dominated the Sunbury Kangaroos in round one.. I had the pleasure of being in the middle for that game and there were talks that they were going to take the flag this year.. fast track to now.. they're one step closer and they will take some beating .. they have made the fewest errors across all teams in this league.. I believe that they are the team that will stand up when the pressure is on.. We've got six big games to go.. we've got some top notch officials in the middle, on the boundary and behind the goals.. lets launch to a big finale..!
I also don't expect anyone to agree with me on what I've said.. I've watched football from a different perspective all year and expect others to have a better understanding of the overall bigger picture.. I know that everyone will agree that we've got some great talent coming through all 14 clubs (umpires included)

bombers to win with a bit in hand - had the roos measure this year, and should again this weekend.

diggers rest terrific effort to make the big dance and wish them all the best. Good club !!:thumbsu:

I tend to agree that the grand finalists seems close to a formality but stranger things have happened. Riddell has just looked a bit too tough in the clinches for Sunbury this season in previous encounters.

Should be a good game though.

Unbiased eh ? He is an umpire and a staunch Woodend supporter.
Why keep changing your name? He is now a commentator who hardly calls Woodend games. He is one of the few people at the ground with no loyalty to either club. He admits they make errors but does not jump up and down about it like some people on here. I would much hear his view than the ones that coach, play for, support or even have family members playing for. That is when bias comes in. The umpire bashing on here is pathetic.

Thanks mate.. I appreciate your great support and enthusiasm.. it has made my day.. everyone has an opinion and this is a great forum to express it.. what are your thoughts on the upcoming matches this weekend? Who do you think may take the Bowen? :)

Are you serious, unbiased eh ? He is an umpire and a staunch Woodend supporter.

I have mates across all clubs to be perfectly honest.. I'm one of those cases where I live in a town but don't support the club of that town (Kyneton) .. but you're correct though.. my opinion is pretty biased.. I have a lot of friends across all clubs.. and I'm not one to talk negatively on too many issues around the game on a public forum.. anyway, my allegiances could easily favour Rupertswood this year.. they have, in my opinion, the best performed and well balanced team across all three grades.. The Under 18.5s.. Rob Morrice has done a wonderful job with that committee leading that club .. and the best game this year, actually.. the best game I have seen in many years is definitely the Rupertswood v Romsey clash..
Johnny.. I'd imagine you've seen a bit of football this year.. I'd love to hear your thoughts on the best performed team and why.. and the best game that you've seen this year.. we're heading up to the business end of the season and its nice to look back on some of the big highlights of the year.. I'm interested in your thoughts mate :)
For me.. Romsey and Rupertswood is the clear stand-out game..
For memory, the margin never exceeded two goals.. Rupertswood were in front for most of the day.. Brad Mitchell and Mitch Brewer were sidelined from the first half.. Leigh Brennan and Matt Davidson were going head to head.. Rupertswood didn't have a bench at three quarter time.. Nash Egan dominated Davidson.. the moment Nash rotated into the midfield, Davo kicked a goal and won the Redbacks the game.. the tackling was remarkable.. the goals continued to flow.. many of the Romsey faithful highlighted that Rupertswood were a team to be feared.. and lets face it, they showed that level of intensity against Sunbury in week one of the finals and nearly won.. this is why that clash is my favourite this year.. it had the atmosphere of a final and it was exciting to witness it.. however, Sydney beat Essendon that night, taking the shine off the Sharks and Redbacks clash..