RDFL Thread

rioli brownlow said:
must admit there that i haven't seen to many woodend games to comment on him,

sims,heritage,(diggers)
maclellan for romsey will be one of the good ones(they still may struggle to cover the losses of morgan,edwardsand connellan though)
some of the kangaroos younger bridage will improve throughout the year
while riddells experienced players will get them through to another finals campagian.

Adam Johnstone is a very good footballer.. Will be a good player this year too... Heritage is clearly Diggers best footballer, all class..
Watch for Matty Robertson from Kilmore as a standout this year, along with the usual suspects in Jamesy and Bulldog at Romsey.. Be interesting to see how Al Meldrum goes with Connellan gone.

Heard some pretty good things about this Maclellan thats playing at Romsey.Will be good to see how he goes.I think Connellan will be almost a bigger loss for Romsey than Morgan just because of the role that he plays.

Also looking forward to seeing some of the new Woodend players.Some of the names seem familiar from cricket so will be good to have a look.

For Diggers I think Cole Laurie will be the one to watch.Didn't have a pre season last year and spent half the year on and off the ground with injury.Got a pre season behind him and is ready to show his stuff.Is one of the most damaging players going around when in full flight as I am sure Slugga will agree with from his Sunbury days.Will miss Reilly who finished top 5 in there b&f.

Talking to a few of the Sunbury boys they seem pretty confident as well.Who have the kangaroos got first up?

for some one to mention a gvfl player playing in this league & winning the b & F is a big statement considering you have not seen him play, i believe he did play in the 18s rep side and a couple of senior games, he will be a huge pick up for the roos, but not the only good pick up, there could be some shocks this year.
the roos start the season with lancefeild, centrals then diggers so lets wait 3 or 4 weeks to really see what quality they have picked up

blues12 said:
the roos start the season with lancefeild, centrals then diggers so lets wait 3 or 4 weeks to really see what quality they have picked up
Massive first game for the roos then.Lancefield will be seen as a team that the roos will be vying with for a top 6 spot so the roos really need a good showing.Centrals will also be a good indication of where there at.Diggers will be a big ask but the local derby always has a bit of added vigour.

blues12 said:
for some one to mention a gvfl player playing in this league & winning the b & F is a big statement considering you have not seen him play, i believe he did play in the 18s rep side and a couple of senior games, he will be a huge pick up for the roos, but not the only good pick up, there could be some shocks this year.

What makes it such a big statement??? If he believes that someone could win the B&F then he is entitled to think so.. I have seen people tip McClellan to win the B&F.. Many who havent seen him play, just going on what they hear...What is the difference????

boys take it easy, seems as though you are getting a little heated.

one thing i can tell you, as some who used to be invloved as little while ago with the roos is that a quarter of their side is now ex rupo players, with another one joining the roos for season 2006 after not being able to play senior footy at rupo ??

watson, king, phillips, mcgrath, johnson,salm, these blokes have to make the kangaroos stronger, johnson, will hold his own for the blue and white this year.

good luck bobby johnson.

sideshowbob said:
boys take it easy, seems as though you are getting a little heated.

one thing i can tell you, as some who used to be invloved as little while ago with the roos is that a quarter of their side is now ex rupo players, with another one joining the roos for season 2006 after not being able to play senior footy at rupo ??

watson, king, phillips, mcgrath, johnson,salm, these blokes have to make the kangaroos stronger, johnson, will hold his own for the blue and white this year.

good luck bobby johnson.

Not getting heated, just making a point... Agree, there is a few boys from Rupo down at the Roos now, although Salm hasn't been at Rupo for a long long time and Kingy was only there for a year, not really a Rupo boy either....

Grubby said:
Why does the RDFL use Burleys? THEY ARE CRAP. :thumbsdown:

That is the best point I have heard on Big footy and I have replied to 180 odd of them:thumbsu: I have always wondered why? The VCFL now sells Sherrins in bulk for $70, why not pay that little bit more for quality.

Toadfooty said:
That is the best point I have heard on Big footy and I have replied to 180 odd of them:thumbsu: I have always wondered why? The VCFL now sells Sherrins in bulk for $70, why not pay that little bit more for quality.

the league is sponsored by burley and that is clearly why, unfortunately.

Thats_Special said:
Not getting heated, just making a point... Agree, there is a few boys from Rupo down at the Roos now, although Salm hasn't been at Rupo for a long long time and Kingy was only there for a year, not really a Rupo boy either....

dont forget phillips played all his juniors at roos (rovers) as did some boys still at rupo, whitehead, powel and a couple of others.
remember there are people everywhere that are from close clubs. they haven't left to play against their mates but to generally to play football in a league with less travel.

Just read on the RDFL official site, Robbie Wittmer has put in a clearance to go back home to Kilmore, great news for me old mate Terry Ahearn let's hope a few more ex Blue boys get back also.

doona if this is true this is truly great news, great great news but i was under the impression that he is leaving to go overseas

Doona2 said:
Just read on the RDFL official site, Robbie Wittmer has put in a clearance to go back home to Kilmore, great news for me old mate Terry Ahearn let's hope a few more ex Blue boys get back also.

robbie is definetely going OS, he has committed to kilmore if he leaves later or comes back earlier remember clearances close in june if he is not back by then he cant play til next year, they are just getting in, just incase, i have heard he leaves next week and not likely to return before 12 months but who really knows but him.

Toadfooty said:
That is the best point I have heard on Big footy and I have replied to 180 odd of them...

Yet, amazingly, not one of them has been informative or worthwhile in any way. Woodend defeated Maldon by about five goals today. Does anyone have exact scores and best players?

spoke4923 said:
Yet, amazingly, not one of them has been informative or worthwhile in any way. Woodend defeated Maldon by about five goals today. Does anyone have exact scores and best players?

did woodend go in full strength, what about maldon were was it played.

blues12 said:
did woodend go in full strength, what about maldon were was it played.

Not sure about Maldon bluey, I think Woodend had the majority of their senior squad in though. The game was played at Maldon and from what i can gather, Maldon kicked a few goals late to add a bit of respectibility to the s'board. Woodend apparently had the game wrapped up by half time.

spoke4923 said:

Mate all you do is bag clubs and coaches and players. Read back through mine and i'm sure they show alot more truth then yours!
Your a dead set W:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:KER

Toadfooty said:
Mate all you do is bag clubs and coaches and players. Read back through mine and i'm sure they show alot more truth then yours!

Your a dead set W:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:KER

Now, now frog, no need to get upset. This is a forum and i was just expressing my opinion. As for me just bagging clubs, coaches and players, could you refresh my memory? I think my main gripe in regards to clubs etc has been Neville Massina and I don't think I'm alone in my views. However, I would like to thank you for taking the time out to respond to my post and wish you all the best.

spoke4923 said:
Now, now frog, no need to get upset. This is a forum and i was just expressing my opinion. As for me just bagging clubs, coaches and players, could you refresh my memory? I think my main gripe in regards to clubs etc has been Neville Massina and I don't think I'm alone in my views. However, I would like to thank you for taking the time out to respond to my post and wish you all the best.

Question- How do you know Neville and what has he done to you? How do you know what he does and doesn't do as a coach?

Toadfooty said:
Question- How do you know Neville and what has he done to you? How do you know what he does and doesn't do as a coach?

I played under Neville and have alot of mates who have played or are playing under neville currently. I think you only have to look at the state he left MAryborough in to get an indication of his methods of coaching. Further more, there are approximately twenty players applying or have applied for a clearance away from Kyneton and only four applying to go to Kyneton (at least two being offered money), it gives a strong indication that something isn't right at Tigerland and I think the buck largely stops with the coach. If you want to further this discussion, I think it's probably best to continue it in the BFL thread.

Watched Kilmore play ACK on Sunday and whilst the Blues fitness was telling at times, I think there are some positive signs.

John Rowe and Rhyan Straney had a heap of the pill but strangely their foot disposal at times was wayward, Damian Barton rucked well, Terry Ahearn looked to strong and dangerous for his opponent on the lead, Matt Robertson got better as the game went on - whilst for me the best was yougn Travis Hede who got plenty of the ball and was the only Blue who could say he used it well all day. Wind was difficult for both teams but too many turnovers and heavy legs at the end of terms were costly I reckon. With apparently 3-4 senior players missing things look on the up at Clancy Reserve.

On another topic would the former local who returned to Kilmore last season Ben Chisolm be the same guy with a show at the Melbourne International Coomedy Festival in the next month?

yes its the same ben chisolm hes a pretty funny guy with very good impersonations of comedians Dave Hughes and Chris Rock it would be worth going to see. kilmore start the season against diggers rest this weekend at diggers will be a very tough game hopefully after a good hit out against ACK, kilmore will continue on the upward and give diggers a good game and hopefully come out on top!