• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFNL 2025 Season discussion

Understand that mate but just reading his recruits do they need to maybe go down the development path rather than top up with mature aged recruits?

You do realise a lot of the clubs younger players have been picked up by EDFL Premier clubs, right? Isn't that about development too? I'd have loved to have seen them stay, but what can you do with the lure of a higher standard of footy and most likely a lot more money?

I'm guessing we'll still see plenty of younger players getting a game as we have in the past.

Interesting to see how the majority of clubs have all approached recruiting for 2025 in completly different ways.

Wallan - targeting 35+ year old recruits who have all been very good players in there day. You would think one or two would be enough, but looking like they will end up with 5 or 6 and have lost a lot of good kids. Can see them dropping off a fair bit.

Woodend - We will get a good gauge next year on how the Strathmore’s reserves team would stack up in the RDFL. Could run out round 1 with 8 or nine previous Strathmore players - I’m definitely not against this approach as you would think there would be some very good RDFL players running around in EDFL premier reserves. Will be big improvers.

Lancefield - have chosen 3 or 4 that have put themselves on the market, and gone with the Bunnings approach, we will beat your best offer by 10%. Let’s hope they can play, because they will certainly be going home with a heavy wallet each game. Credit to them for having a crack. We all know in todays world you have to pay overs for a few players to be competitive Could see them winning 3-4 games.

Gisborne Giants - will just take what they can get at the moment. Year 1 will all be about development and see what they need for 2026. Will struggle next year.

Kyneton - looks like they have put a large emphasis on getting some of there good locals back who were playing major league footy as well as looking at the 21-24 year old age group from WRFL Div 1. Hearing there best 2-3 recruits still to be announced. After what many would say was a disappointing year 1 you would think anything other than top 3 with who have brought in would be a failure.

Macedon - very quiet on the recruiting front, but have blown up about a junior local going to a rival club - talk about the pot calling the kettle black. Can’t seem them winning a final next year.

Diggers Rest - very quiet as well, but from what I’m hearing have 3-4 big names about to be announced soon. Think they will bounce back an be playing come the pointy end of September

Romsey - looking at developing locals and won’t be spending big money for the sake of it. Having Jedwab full time, is like picking up 2 or 3 recruits alone. Can’t see them making finals

Melton South - keeping there powder dry for now. Can’t seem them coming across and not wanting to make a statement, don’t think they will go down Kyneton path and play a year with Locals to get a gauge on what they need for following year. Who knows could land 8 recruits between now and Christmas and suddenly be a premiership threat.

Melton Central - have picked up a couple, still think they need a couple more, and from what I’m hearing have a couple A graders from interstate they are very close on. Would just hope they are competitive and continue to improve on this year.

Riddell - would need to lose 4 or 5 and not pick up anyone to not be premiership favourites.

Current Ladder Prediction as on November

Riddell
Diggers Rest
Kyneton
Wallen
Melton South
Woodend
Romsey
Macedon
Lancefield
Gisborne Giants
Melton Centrals

Interesting to see how the majority of clubs have all approached recruiting for 2025 in completly different ways.

Wallan - targeting 35+ year old recruits who have all been very good players in there day. You would think one or two would be enough, but looking like they will end up with 5 or 6 and have lost a lot of good kids. Can see them dropping off a fair bit.

Woodend - We will get a good gauge next year on how the Strathmore’s reserves team would stack up in the RDFL. Could run out round 1 with 8 or nine previous Strathmore players - I’m definitely not against this approach as you would think there would be some very good RDFL players running around in EDFL premier reserves. Will be big improvers.

Lancefield - have chosen 3 or 4 that have put themselves on the market, and gone with the Bunnings approach, we will beat your best offer by 10%. Let’s hope they can play, because they will certainly be going home with a heavy wallet each game. Credit to them for having a crack. We all know in todays world you have to pay overs for a few players to be competitive Could see them winning 3-4 games.

Gisborne Giants - will just take what they can get at the moment. Year 1 will all be about development and see what they need for 2026. Will struggle next year.

Kyneton - looks like they have put a large emphasis on getting some of there good locals back who were playing major league footy as well as looking at the 21-24 year old age group from WRFL Div 1. Hearing there best 2-3 recruits still to be announced. After what many would say was a disappointing year 1 you would think anything other than top 3 with who have brought in would be a failure.

Macedon - very quiet on the recruiting front, but have blown up about a junior local going to a rival club - talk about the pot calling the kettle black. Can’t seem them winning a final next year.

Diggers Rest - very quiet as well, but from what I’m hearing have 3-4 big names about to be announced soon. Think they will bounce back an be playing come the pointy end of September

Romsey - looking at developing locals and won’t be spending big money for the sake of it. Having Jedwab full time, is like picking up 2 or 3 recruits alone. Can’t see them making finals

Melton South - keeping there powder dry for now. Can’t seem them coming across and not wanting to make a statement, don’t think they will go down Kyneton path and play a year with Locals to get a gauge on what they need for following year. Who knows could land 8 recruits between now and Christmas and suddenly be a premiership threat.

Melton Central - have picked up a couple, still think they need a couple more, and from what I’m hearing have a couple A graders from interstate they are very close on. Would just hope they are competitive and continue to improve on this year.

Riddell - would need to lose 4 or 5 and not pick up anyone to not be premiership favourites.

Riddell
Diggers Rest
Kyneton
Wallen
Melton South
Woodend
Romsey
Macedon
Lancefield
Gisborne Giants
Melton Centrals
Pretty good ladder that. I agree but I think Kyneton will really challenge Riddell this year if they have a good run with injuries.

Riddell
Diggers Rest
Kyneton
Wallen
Melton South
Woodend
Romsey
Macedon
Lancefield
Gisborne Giants
Melton Centrals
Agreed... I would probably have Romsey and Macedon above Woodend though.

Pretty transparent Thunder, you only visit this page to pot Wallan. Great poster on NFNL page, so pretty obvious what your angle is on here. Give it a rest
Gremlin77 no angle at all. Commenting on a good young kid who can play and going to a better standard
Pretty sure I wished the Magpies well in 2025 in one of my last posts and again wish them well for season 2025 👍

RDFNL 2025 Season discussion