Reece Conca

Totally off Topic Here but i would like to congratulate
tigs2010 for being in the top 20 for BF posters to recieve the most likes for his posts

Congratulations mate
I what? Spit enough shit and you flogs get all excited. :p

Thanks man.

I should also thank RichoLedio Groupie_ Turka _DBF_ seems nearly every one of those likes is from them. :p

The biggest thing I hate in footy... We should have selected so and so instead of whatshisface .
Absolute bullshit hindsight rubbish mostly.
I particularly like the ones that go about pick 20 and we didn't select them with our first pick along with every other team.
Happens.
Always will

The biggest thing I hate in footy... We should have selected so and so instead of whatshisface .
Absolute bullshit hindsight rubbish mostly.
I particularly like the ones that go about pick 20 and we didn't select them with our first pick along with every other team.
Happens.
Always will
This is why the only one I don't like is Parker. Was touted as top 10 and slid and slid and slid and we went for a guy that no one rated that highly. Conca v Heppell. Yeh Heppell is better but Conca is a very good player in his own right. It only hurts when you end up with a dud.

23 possies, 8 clearances, 8 tackles wasnt exactly a poor effort first game back after a hammy

Agree. Wasn't the best but certainly wasn't terrible.

Plenty of others could've been singled out over him IMO. Couple of Dimma's pets for starters in Petterd and S Edwards.

I know I'm in the minority, but I just don't get Petterd. I know he can do I nice spoil or tackle here and there but IMO he is a clogger and just isn't a weapon of any sort. Grigg is gaining also.

His comments are more to do with what the players are capable of , petterd got 20 touches and a goal, what would you reasonable expect him to do, Ellis hardly touched it, agree conca wasn't the worst with 23 possies, did fade out though which I put down to underdone with delayed pre season

Conca was ok V GC >23 possessions, 8 tackles & 8 clearance< good effort coming back from major injury.
Unfair for Dimma to single Conca out - poor actually

Conca is not our concern - our forward structure, player ability & conversion and delivery into the F50 are the concerns

As for Polec - that game he played last week was out of his arse. Bris vegas must be spewing he didnt perform like that in the years he was with them.

Conca is a good player. The mistake we made was taking Batch over Parker. Parker won a B&F as an underager over Scully who was a no.1 draft pick. Parker was always going to be a good player.

Agree nothing wrong with the Conca over Heppell pick, however Batch over Parker when Parker was touted top 5 early on int he year and our midfield was crying out for depth is an absolute crime.

Conca has alot in common with Jackson early in his career .
Going to frustrate a lot of people before it all clicks .

Disagree with this.

Conca has shown is a top 10 talent straight off the bat and is miles ahead of Daniel Jackson who was a 4th round speculative pick. Conca will be twice the player of Daniel Jackson.

Disagree with this.

Conca has shown is a top 10 talent straight off the bat and is miles ahead of Daniel Jackson who was a 4th round speculative pick. Conca will be twice the player of Daniel Jackson.

I agree amcre , Maybe Dimma does too but wants him to get there sooner rather than later... Or maybe he knows both Ellis & Conca enough to put a torch on them thinking this will bring the best out in them. Some guys don't respond well to that kind of attention, for some it's a quiet word on the sidelines. Guess we'll see soon enough.

Polec went home from Brisbane. What's to say he wouldn't have done the same to us?

We drafted "meat & potatoes" players for 3 years in Conca, Ellis and Vlastuin. I think it was a good move. This year we have branched out a little more and picked up Lennon who may not play all year.

Agree - while I think we could use a touch more 'x factor' in the side, I think as a developing side, we definitely needed more reliable, solid 'grunt' players like Conca, Ellis and Vlastuin.

With the benefit of hindsight, I'm still happy we took Conca - he has had his share of injuries too remember. Once he is finally fit, he could be a ripping player (certainly the signs are there already) :thumbsu:

Disagree with this.

Don't underestimate good old G and D !

Jacko has bucket loads of it. If Conca has it, he will be a ripper. If he hasn't, he'll be just another player. Jury is out.

Don't underestimate good old G and D !

Jacko has bucket loads of it. If Conca has it, he will be a ripper. If he hasn't, he'll be just another player. Jury is out.

I'm in the affirmative camp for Conca having G & D..... Or I believe he's in the BIG kahouna club....a couple of uninterrupted Pre-seasons (injury wise & gym time will go a long way)...

Conca will come good. Has showed some good signs.
Don't know what people are expecting from him in his first game back. Limited pre season and coming back from a pretty serious injury.

This bloke has been very dissapointing so far, I know he's coming an injury but he skill are poor he has no awareness and has average pace.
People on this board comparing him to heppell are kidding themselves they are planets apart, god we could use heppell in our side the kid is awesome.
I hope I'm wrong about conca buy he really needs to lift.

The Heppell v Conca comparison is pointless for two reasons:

-Conca has been injured nearly every pre-season
-Heppell's improvement has been enhanced by performance enhancing drugs (he's admitted to taking them)

If Conca was on the gear and injury free he'd be a much better player.

The Heppell v Conca comparison is pointless for two reasons:

-Conca has been injured nearly every pre-season
-Heppell's improvement has been enhanced by performance enhancing drugs (he's admitted to taking them)

If Conca was on the gear and injury free he'd be a much better player.
There's no way he would be as good as heppell

I just think we should be giving Conca the opportunity to be a gun midfielder and not have him playing run with roles...

Exactly, they should just tell him to go out and take the game on. The same with Ellis, neither should be tagging. Their best games have been when they have been allowed to just focus on their game. Like Ellis's 39 disposals at 80 disposal efficiency and 1 goal game against Melbourne and like Conca's 25 disposals, 1 goal 3 behinds, 4 clearances at 70% disposal efficiency against St Kilda.

Reece Conca