Firrito24

Oct 23, 2004
183268av.jpg

Kangaroos' star Drew Petrie has admitted he put too much pressure on himself in 2004 and believes a more relaxed mind-set will help him regain his best form this year.

Petrie's performances were always going to be the subject of much scrutiny after he emerged in 2003 as the long-term replacement for the Roos' greatest ever player, Wayne Carey, at centre-half-forward.

But after being appointed a deputy vice-captain last year, following that stellar 2003 season, Petrie managed just 20 goals in 22 games and frustratingly missed many goalscoring opportunities as he finished the year with 18 behinds.

However the 22-year-old, who is heading into his fifth AFL season, is determined to enjoy his football this year.

"What I did last year, I was given a role as deputy vice-captain and I was coming into my fourth year and I just thought about that too much instead of thinking about playing football," he said.

"I was the one who put all the pressure on myself, no-one around me said we expect this and that from you, it was all from me.'

Petrie said the pressure of being touted as the Roos' new great forward hope had also affected him when kicking for goal last season.

"That's the thing last year when I was lining up for goals I was thinking about what will happen if I miss," he revealed on Monday as the Roos trained at Arden Street.

"Then in the first round I missed one from about five metres out."

"But this year I have a more relaxed mindset as opposed to worrying about things too much."

Petrie said he has heard "whispers" he might be played as a key defender this year but hopes coach Dean Laidley will continue to play him in attack.

"There is a whisper I am playing down back but I haven't heard anything from the coach," he said.

"I would like to play forward again; I think that suits me better."

Petrie had a couple of experiences at centre-half-back last year but admits he found the going tough when pitted against two of the AFL's best forwards.

"I had a couple of roles at centre-half-back on (Nick) Riewoldt and (Jonathan) Brown and they took a couple of grabs against me," he said.

While Petrie admits he is not going to put as much pressure on himself in 2005, he said it was the time for the team as a whole to deliver in what will be Laidley's third year as coach following the end of the long and successful reign under Denis Pagan.

"We have learned a lot the last two years under Dean and we have being close to the finals without making them," he said.

"We are now a lot more experienced and we have got to push up and make the eight after finishing tenth the past two years."

courtesy of afl.com

I mean he was only 21 and made deputy vice captain. That's pretty young.

I know some people might say "look at Carey, he was captain at that age" the two can't be compared. Carey was a natural leader, I don't know whether Drew is. I think the best thing for Drew would just be to let him play footy rather than having to worry about being a leader. Maybe at age 24 or 25, but he's still quite young now...

A bit more from HS:

Less thought, more footy for Petrie
25 January 2005 Herald Sun
Rebecca Williams

KANGAROOS tall Drew Petrie is the first to admit he has an overactive mind.

From his concerns about stepping into the club's leadership group last year to his anxiety about missing shots for goal, Petrie said he could be his own worst enemy.

But the 22-year-old key position player has adopted a new approach for the 2005 season: stop thinking about things too much.

Petrie hoped a more relaxed mind-set would help him cope better with growing on-field expectations in his fifth year with the Roos.

"What I did last year, being given a role as the deputy vice-captain coming into your fourth year, I thought about that too much instead of thinking about playing football," Petrie said yesterday.

"I was the one that put all the pressure on myself.

"No one around me ever said, `We expect this and this from you', it more so came from myself.

"This year, I'm just going to worry about playing footy."

With his eye on a permanent forward role, Petrie hoped his goalkicking would benefit most from a more relaxed attitude to his game.

The 197cm Petrie, who was tried in defence last year, kicked 20 goals in 2004, but knows he can improve his return.

"I'd like to play forward again, I think that's where it suits me better, as opposed to a defender," Petrie said.

"Last year when I was lining up for a lot of goals, I was thinking, `What happens if I miss the shot from here?' and I think I missed one from about 5m in the first round.

"But this year, I'm just going to have more of a relaxed mind-set as opposed to worrying about things too much."

Petrie will again be part of the Kangaroos leadership group this year, serving as one of two deputy vice-captains - along with Shannon Grant - under captain Adam Simpson and vice-captain Brent Harvey.

While he has found new ways to approach his own game, Petrie is confident the Roos could build on their experiences and break into the final eight this season.

"I reckon we've learned lots in the last three years, the last two years especially with Dean (Laidley), being close to making finals," he said. "We've learned a lot I hope and this year we'll be more experienced and we'll be able to go one step further and push into the eight.

"We've been ninth, 10th, 11th for the last couple of years and it gets pretty annoying when we beat four of the top eight sides last year and we lost to a couple of the bottom sides as well.

"It's pretty frustrating when you know how good you can be and how bad you can be at the same time."

Drew is a heaps good bloke. Im from Ballarat and we lived in the same street umm about well it would be like 8 or 9 years ago now.
But yeah he is a heaps good person and I think he's a great half forward. He'll have a better season without all the nerves.
Pity the kids plays for North seeing he did have a red and black heart!

Tanty by Ty said:
Drew is a heaps good bloke. Im from Ballarat and we lived in the same street umm about well it would be like 8 or 9 years ago now.
But yeah he is a heaps good person and I think he's a great half forward. He'll have a better season without all the nerves.

We managed to grab him from the dark side. ;)

And even a bit more from The Age;

Petrie aims to relax and work better
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/01/24/1106415527631.html

Kangaroos forward Drew Petrie has adopted a more relaxed attitude this year in a bid to prevent the pressure he felt in 2004 after being elevated to the club's leadership group.

The 22-year-old, who was made a deputy vice-captain after a stellar 2003, said yesterday he hoped his new mindset would lead him back to his best form. He also wants to play more in the forward line, rather than finding himself in defence where he was tested last year.

"I presume and hope that I'll be playing up forward," said Petrie. "I've heard whispers that I'm playing down back as well but I haven't heard anything directly from the coach, so we'll just wait to hear from him.

"I'd like to play forward again. I think that's where it suits me better, as opposed to defender.

"I played a couple of roles at centre half-back on Nick Riewoldt and Jonathan Brown and they took a few grabs against me, so hopefully I'll stay forward."

Petrie said he paid the price for putting too much pressure on himself last year, finishing the season with only 20 goals in 22 matches, after missing many other opportunities. He kicked 18 behinds for the season.

"What I did last year, I was given a role as a deputy vice-captain (and) coming into your fourth year, I thought about that too much instead of thinking about playing football," he said.

"I suppose I was the one who put all the pressure on myself. No one around me said we expect this and this from you. Last year, when I was lining up for a lot of goals, I was thinking (about) what happens if I'm going to miss a shot from here.

"I think I missed one from about five metres in the first round, so this year (it's) just a more relaxed type of mindset as opposed to worrying about things too much," Petrie said.

He also said the Kangaroos were ready to step up and finally play finals football after several seasons of finishing just outside the eight.

"I think we will be more experienced and be able to go one step further and push into the final eight . . . we beat four of the top eight sides last year and lost to a couple of the bottom sides as well, so it's pretty frustrating when you see how good but how bad you can be at the same time," he said.

The Roos trained at Arden Street yesterday, but defender Leigh Colbert left before the session because he was not feeling well.

Tanty by Ty said:
Hmmm..... consider this Tanty Petrie isn't alone among his teammates who haven't followed thier dream to play for the club they prefered and you'll notice the last guy listed below who loved to terrorize both our teams.

Anthony Stevens >>>> Pies
Corey McKernan >>>>> Pies
Adam Simpson >>>>>> Bluebagger
Brent Harvey >>>>>> Cats
GLENN ARCHER >>>>> PIES !!
Lethal Leigh Matthews >>> North !! :eek:

I also watched a Draft doco last year preview of a few seasons ago when Des Hedland was due to be drafted and he had wall to wall posters of our belovered NORTH all over his bedroom wall...

Petrie can only have a better season... last year I said he has to 'LIGHT UP the SCOREBOARD' ...didn't happen... don't expect it to happen this season either and but sure he can be more effective than 2004.

As most of us would know, Drewy's uncle is Rotten Ronnie Andrews, which might explain his past leanings to the Bombers.

Word has it that when Drew's name was being bandied about in the media (or on various rumour files) as a possible trade, he was shattered. The bloke is pure blue and white now.

at the end of 2004, i was one of the people who was 'all for' drew moving to chb in 2005.
but if drew prefers to play up forward, then good on him.
he's more likley to play better footy in a position he wants to play in.

Darky said:
As most of us would know, Drewy's uncle is Rotten Ronnie Andrews, which might explain his past leanings to the Bombers.

Word has it that when Drew's name was being bandied about in the media (or on various rumour files) as a possible trade, he was shattered. The bloke is pure blue and white now.

300 games plus right Darky ?? ;) I'm sticking to what I said... not that you wanna hear me repeat it..

'Relaxed' Petrie looks ahead