Rivalry Rankings

Apr 17, 2006
???
Miami Dolphins(NFL)
had a quick search and couldnt find one, so, how would you rank each club in terms of rivalry. This includes how you feel going into a match, the electricity in the air at games and how the players react on field

mine would be:

1. Essendon
2. Geelong
3. Melbourne
4. St Kilda
5. Richmond
6. Carlton
7. Collingwood
8. North
9. Port (poor history vs them, but the atmosphere is awesome, players always firey)
10. WCE
11. Dogs
12. Brisbane
13. Sydney
14. Tie other four.

I would have North higher - we have had a long series of battles dating back to the 70's. Still continue to be an awkward team for us. Essendon definitely, but more recently we have dominated them so it is hard to muster the level of hatred we had a few years ago. Same with Carlton - though there is still feeling there. The other one is Richmond and more recently Geelong obviously. Teams like Melbourne, St.Kilda and Footscray don't really have any extra feeling. The other one personally is Collingwood due to intra-family rivalries. My order would be:
1. Essendon
2. Geelong
3. North/Richmond/Carlton
4. Collingwood
5. Interstate teams
6. Other Vic teams

true tonyhall... although I just dont feel anything between the hawks and north, and feel a lot more against the saints (possibly due to living in the moorabbin area)

i always rate the dogs vs hawks, we're the unemployed criminals vs the chardonnay sipping w***ers

east meets west

My top rivalries:

1. North
2. Geelong
3. Essenscum
4. Smellbourne
5. Richmond
6. Carlton

Don't care about the rest

Essenscum has fallen lately. It seems like its been ages since both clubs were good or bad at the same time. One club is always doing alright and it makes its so uneven... haven't lost in a while so its hard to have passion to hate them.

A combination of who I personally think are our rivals, who the players think, who the club thinks and who neutrals think, I would say in the following order:

1. North Melbourne (Past results, Lewis/Pratt & Crawford/Harris & Sinclair Picoane, Nathan Thompson/John Hay/Jade Rawlings and much more)

2. Geelong (This year the rivalry overtook Essendon because we've had some great battles over the past 3 years and we have history with them.)

3. Essendon (When they eventually come good again, they'll be gunning for us after we inflict their 15th loss in a row against us)

4. Richmond (Terry Wallace, 2004, Tambling & Franklin, them playing well against us both times this year, Eastern Suburbs Derby)

5. Adelaide (Jarman, Robran, the 90s, the elimination final, the drought at AAMI etc.)

6. Carlton (Judd vs Hodge, Fev vs Buddy, us always belting the shit out of them when they think they're good)

7. Port (2001 SF, Mark Williams choke, Byron Pickett/Brett Ebert's last minute goals, Clarkson/Dew/Guerra/Pelchen...half the bloody paid staff)

8. Collingwood (Everyone has Collingwood in their top 5 for some reason. We have no real special rivalry against them but they're c***s.)

9. Sydney (Defensive vs Attacking, bad record against them, Everitt/O'Keefe sagas etc.)

10. Melbourne (Some good games over the last few years until they went poo, plus the merger, east melbourne rivalry etc)

and

11. Saints

12. Bulldogs

13. West Coast

14. Brisbane

15. Freo

North, Essendon, Geelong then the rest in no order

Richmond (10 flags each, Eastern Suburbs, similar colours) Bulldogs (East V West) and Melbourne (Merger) have potential

Amazingly we've never played Richmond in the finals despite both clubs golden eras coinciding with each other

How I view "history" between the clubs or what the future holds..

West Coast - late 80's/early 90's, these games were brutal and those Subiaco wins were oh so sweet. Still want us to beat them more than any other side. Maybe because Woosher is still involved.:eek:

Melbourne - late 80's finals series, merger and their ability to lift against us makes this rivalry bigger than most think. Forget recent form.

North - as much as you'd like to deny it, it's been there since the 70's.

Adelaide - Hated them since day 1 when they smacked us and told the footy world they owned the AFL - been a struggle for us since then to get their measure, they poached Jars and won two flags thanks to him - fortunately we look like owning them for a few years yet....thank christ.

Port Adelaide - rag dolled us for many a season until we borrowed their secrets and started turning the tables. They are still hurting over the '01 semi. :thumbsu:

Geelong - Some call it ownage, I call it respect. These games are far from the norm - but geez I love it when we play them.:D

Carlton - Those 80's slugfests were some of the best. Expect them to be the next challenger.

Essendon - Both clubs have been able to inflict serious mental and physical damage to eachother throughought the 80's, 90's and 00's - '04 being the latest table turner.:thumbsu:

Collingwood - good for crowd atmosphere but we've only played them in a handful of b&w finals - I've never seen them as a true rival. Watching us get spanked at Vic park maintained my dislike for them however.;)

Richmond - never played them in a final - either they're sh!t or they're deplorable. Even when they were good we'd beat them. Only ever see them as a danger game these days.

St. Kilda - hopefully the rivalry will start now because there's been sweet fa for so many years.

Bulldogs - some ripper tussles throughout the 80's, esp at Whitten oval, between club and player (Dipper vs Hawkins, Foster vs Brereton) which will hopefully reignite again.

Sydney - we may have won the last one but they've toyed with us previous to this as we did to them for almost two decades...vacant.

Brissie - see Sydney.

Fremantle - pass.

Depends on when you were born for me it will always be Essendon Born in 71 so watched some amazing Grand Finals & Dermie running through the huddle & kissing Billy Duckworth the good old hard days when the biffo was a common sight!

Handbaggers

North

Pies

Carltank

Dogs

Dees

Adelaide after Jarman went their & always hated all interstate sides!:thumbsdown:

I think our rivalries change a little each season.

Atm..

1. Geelong - The 2008 grand final and twice scheduled to verse each will create further rivarly and feeling between supporters and clubs in 2009.

2. North Melbourne

These two clashes seem to embody the most aggression and rivalry.

Next season:

Richmond - I think we're one season away from becoming rival clubs. The crowds and supporters dislike each other - Hawk1523 can vouch for that.. lol. Hawk's fans want to be a 'big 4' team, Tiger's fans still think they are a 'big 4' team. And que..

If I can use rivalry rankings based on teams I like us to beat, it would go something like

...daylight
...more daylight
...even more daylight

North
Essendon (after the line in the sand game, though I still like a lot of what their club has done)

Syd/St Kilda for the brand of footy they play

Pretty much just want to beat the rest - as they are the enemy of Hawthorn.

I guess it depends on when you started to follow footy and who your mates and familly members supported that shaped the look of this list.
Here's my personal list of rivalries.

1/ Geelong - for the big games and that every "Ranga" with a big mouth I know seems to support them WTF !

2/ Essendon - bloody battles, we copped some never to be forgotten pain at their hands.

3/ Collingwood - good V's evil - need I say more

4/ North Melbourne - Played them in more finals than any other team and we know that mob from the gas works has always hated us.

5/ Richmond - neighbouring suburbs and the loudest hecklers in town - love to shut em up - cringe when they beat us.

6/ Fitzroy/ Brisbane Lions - One the earliest games I remember going to, we got pumped by the Roy's at the Junction - I still feel that pain every time the Lions win

7/ Carlton - Team of Champions Vs Champion team - Always enjoyed the contests but Carltank fans are bad winners and even worse winging loosers - please STFU

8/ Footscray - East Vs West and because of family rivalries one of the teams I saw more often as a kid.

9/ StKilda - The battle of the South/East and more family rivalries - hated them with a vengence in the Cowboy/Ditterich era, feelings have mellowed over the years- prob feel a little sorry for their inability to make it over the years.

10/ Melbourne - Dont feel the rivalry here - when ever it has come to the crunch at big occasions we have prevailed, 87, 88, merger ect.

11/ The Rest - Sure I hate em just as much as the top 10 but I dont feel a real history of rivalries with the other teams.

My number 1 rivalry, and the team I love beating the most is the Tigers.

When both teams were rebuilding we were judged on an even kiel. From their appointment of Wallace, and we hired an unknown Clarkson, too their draft of Lids/Bling over Franko/Roughie, too the next 2 seasons after that draft we were beaten and battered in the media in comparison to the tigers. They were the team that supposedly made all the right moves, and we were questioned over our actions. Fast forward to 08 we win a premiership and some how Wallace keeps his job? But I thought the tigers were so advanced then us? I have no idea how 9thmond escape the criticism.

When we smash these guys, and we prove how 2nd rate Bling is, I love it. I hate the tigers more then any club in the afl.

My Order would be:

Main Rivals
1. North Melbourne
2. Geelong
3. Essendon
4. Melbourne
5. Carlton
6. West Coast

Smallish rivalry
7. Richmond
8. St Kilda
9. Adelaide
10. Port Adelaide

Meh
11. Collingwood (big crowds mean nothing - they draw well against everyone)
12. Western Bulldogs
13. Sydney
14. Brisbane Lions
15. Fremantle

1. Essendon - A decade of hatred and punch ups has cemented a rivalry for life whether they want to acknowledge it or not!

2. Collingwood - You just have to hate the scumbags. Drew 92k to Waverley Park in 1981!

3. Carlton - Once again, its hard not to hate their arrogance. Also the John Platten tug of war contributed.

4. Richmond - Our traditional nearest neighbours are Richmond FC who think they are so much better than us!

5. North Melbourne - Not sure why i hate them when i should pity them??

6. Geelong - Used to make the road trip down to the Cattery every year and we ALWAYS beat them even when we were crap!

Everyone else is pretty much a non event for me as far as rivalry's are concerned!

Can someone explain to me how Collingwood is rated a higher rival than Melbourne other than because they draw larger crowds.

For Melbourne there has been:
The 88 Grand Final
Close finals - 1990 (when they knocked us out) & who could forget the famous 1987 prelim in which Stynes ran over the mark.
The merger match in 1996 where the hawks won by a point in front of 65,000 people.
Sea-sawing matches between the two in the late 90s and early 00s.
Melbourne being a team who even when we were crap this decade, we have caused them some problems. (2002/2004/2005)

Collingwood there has been:
No Finals
Just the 92k match at waverley and general hatred.

FWIW Hawthorn and Melbourne have drawn over 40k regularly for the past 5 or 6 games so there is some sort of interest.

I'd say essendon and north are on a different level than the rest, with geelong (on and off but definately on in recent years) carlton (will reignite again in a big way when they get a bit better) and richmond (always seem to play much better against us, plus they're just so easy to hate) all in category 2.

Melbourne I don't feel as much beacuse they have been such rubbish recently, and I think people underestimate the rivalry we have with Brisbane. We always seem to have heated matches with them.

Rivalry Rankings