Robert Harvey

stkildathunda

DEMPSTERED
10k Posts St Kilda Saints - Tom Ledger 2012 Player Sponsor St Kilda Saints - Nicholas Heyne 2011 Player Sponsor St Kilda Saints - Nicholas Heyne 2010 Player Sponsor
Sep 7, 2008
Inside The Circle Of Zen
Man Utd
Think people better start preparing for the worst news, that Harvs will walk out on the club. :mad::mad::mad:

Just from listening to Watters today after he spoke to him he didnt sound to convincing that he will stay, said it was in his court. My gut feel is that he is gone.

I know its the Herald Scum but everything is pointing same direction as Ross Lyon saga :mad::mad:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...-out-of-st-kilda/story-e6frf9jf-1226170078528

ST KILDA legend Robert Harvey met new coach Scott Watters but it appears increasingly likely he will leave the club.

Collingwood has sounded out Harvey, an assistant under Ross Lyon last season, and a decision is expected within days.
Although Harvey remains under contract and has been branded a wanted man by Watters, the former champion midfielder was felt let down by the Saints' search for a new coach.
After being named caretaker in Lyon's absence, he did not make the short-list for the job and missed the opportunity to give a final presentation.

Watters told Triple M the future of Harvey was undecided, but said he would support him either way.
"In being completely transparent, I met with Robert today and we would love him to be involved ... but he's got some other things he wants to weigh up," Watters said.
"Really, it's in his court. I want what's best for him and he's got to make that call.
"He's got strong ambitions to become the best coach he wants to be and that might be going somewhere else."

It could be for the best really. I know Lenny was out but our midfield bar Dal looked very sub par this year. Maybe this is an opportunity to get an experienced midfield coach that can help develop our youngsters.

:thumbsu::thumbsu: agreed, i dont actually rate him as a midfield coach so im not overly fussed. (not that we as supporters really know if they are good assistants or not)

Lenny Hayes, playing assistant midfield coach :D:D

If he does I will be bitterly disappointed in Harvey - given all his talk about being here and trying to win a flag for the Saints. If he walks he will be nothing but - I've know people to spit the dummy when they didn't get the job they thought they had sown up - either through knowing someone or having their bum in the seat at the time - and lo and behold they don't get the job. It goes to someone better qualified for the position. No respect.

Don't let me down Robert, I hope you're bigger than that. :(

I can't help but think it might have been a mistake by the club to appoint him caretaker coach after our season already finished. I mean was it really necessary?

If he leaves I'll be disappointed in him and Watters made it very clear that he really wanted him to stay.

I will say one thing, I'm not one for superstition but after the year he left we became as successful as a club could be without winning a grand final, the year he came back we fell off dramatically and I think he played the longest career without winning a flag. Just some bitter thoughts

I also think if he leaves, I'm sure Watters already has people in mind to replace him and it may not be a loss, maybe an opportunity.

Just looked at the story on the herald sun about Harvey possibly leaving (bar the story about Scotty being announced as new Saints coach)has there been a positive story about us this year.
Look if he wants to go good luck to him. if being apart of eddies army of assistants to make sure buckley doesn't fail, then thanks for the memories, but he is not the only backroom assistant we've lost(mission, berbakov, king).even though he may go through missing out on senior position we have had big turnover of staff during rl's reign. I don't want to sound like I'm turning against him(the blokes a deadset legend)but he needs experience and if it's not with us then it's against us.

I'd be disappointed if he left (regardless of how I rate him in the coaching credentials list) merely because it's the romantic option that he remains and guides the club in some capacity to a flag as a favourite son of the club. Will not begrudge him at all if he decides to leave however as Watters hit the nail in that he has to do what's best for himself and his family and frankly when a club like Collingwood throw up an offer you sit up and you pay attention to it because that is a golden door in terms of AFL clubs, especially for a Vic boy at heart.

I don't think he wowed in the midfield coaching role this year, it only improved after Ross 'bought in' after weeks of struggling.

Fair go though, he shouldn't of been asked back after only a years assistant coaching experience, and probably only came to the club to help them out of a pickle...

That pickle being Ross could only attract 2 recently retired players, 1 friend, and a Port guy into his coaching box.

Would be disappointed if Harvey left but it may be for the best if he is going to be bitter or disgruntled about missing out on the senior coaching job. Can't see his working relationship with Watters being all that good if he resents him for getting the job ahead of him, might be better to just start with a completely clean slate with Watters able to appoint the assistants that he wants to work with

I know Watters has said he wants Harvey to stay on as an assistant but he probably feels he has to say that because Harvey's a club legend, deep down he might find it awkward to work with someone he was competing with for the senior coaching job and prefer to bring in his own assistants.

I can't help but think it might have been a mistake by the club to appoint him caretaker coach after our season already finished. I mean was it really necessary?

Whilst "naming" him as caretaker coach was probably a bit over the top, someone was needed to oversee the players offseason programmes and organise measurements etc.

Can't see his working relationship with Watters being all that good if he resents him for getting the job ahead of him, might be better to just start with a completely clean slate with Watters able to appoint the assistants that he wants to work with
quote]

Good point Plugg. Paul Williams at the Dogs couldn't stay on after coaching after Eade went and then getting overlooked. I can understand that side of it for Harves but the other part says surely he realised he just didn't have the same qualities as the other candidates?

its refreshing to see the saints fans on this board not letting their hearts get the better of their heads as far as Robert Harvey is involved.

From my perspective (allbeit an outsiders one) I do not think that Robert would be a particularly good leader of people. Yes, he is inspirational, however there is a difference, and when you are coaching a team you need to be an enormously good communicator otherwise you're dead in the water.

I agree that Robert needs to do what is best for his long-term future, however does anyone actually believe that he could coach at a senior level anywhere?

Personally, I loved the man more then any other sportsman, however off-field exploits are completely different to on-field ones. I, like most fans bleed red white and black, and would do anything for the club. They've disappointed me in a lot of ways, however like the proverbial dog with a newspaper in his mouth, we keep coming back for more...

The club is bigger then the individual.

Scott Watters was an amazing coaching selection, and I cannot say how pleased I am the club decided to stick fat and proceed with its selection process despite media flogs (aka Huchy, Jon Ralph, etc) writing up garbage to sell a couple of extra units.

Let Robert leave if he chooses. More then anyone, he deserves a flag. If he feels he will get it elsewhere, or his career progression will be better suited elsewhere, then we have to let him go. Infact, if anyone isnt 100% engaged, switched on and fighting for the cause, then they need to leave.

Also took alot of solice in the stupid grin on Riewoldts face when Watters was introduced.. I reckon we'll see a completely different captain in 2012.

For anyone on this forum who either isn't signed up as a member, or knows a St Kilda FC fan who isn't a member, I implore you to get on board, because I truly believe this club is going places.......

I cannot understand the disrespect shown on here just becasue he wants to look after his own future. Harvey gave his all as a player. He knocked back massive coin to stay with us and gave us 110% everytime he stepped onto the field.

Bottom line is that he owes the club nothing and owes supporters nothing.

To call him a sook is a disgrace.

The club is greater than the individual, no matter how great the individual.

Rob obviously wants to be a coach and if his needs are better served elsewhere, then that's for him to decide.

Sure I'd like him at the club, but why have him through some sense of misplaced loyalty?

Whatever he does, I'll respect his decision. You can't ask for a more decent person.

Do wehat you believe is best for you and your family Rob... you have my blessing either way.

I cannot understand the disrespect shown on here just becasue he wants to look after his own future. Harvey gave his all as a player. He knocked back massive coin to stay with us and gave us 110% everytime he stepped onto the field.

Rob obviously wants to be a coach and if his needs are better served elsewhere, then that's for him to decide.

Sure I'd like him at the club, but why have him through some sense of misplaced loyalty?

Whatever he does, I'll respect his decision. You can't ask for a more decent person.

Do wehat you believe is best for you and your family Rob... you have my blessing either way.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Fantastic post, people forget how much of a Saints man he is too quickly. If he wants to go then good luck to him.

:DRobert Harvey will be the next coach at St Kilda. :D

St Kilda and Robert Harvey will be better off if Harvs goes to Collingwood to gain more experience. I'd rather him leave now for 3-5 years and come back with more experience from other clubs. This will make him a better coach with greater exposure. He is no doubt a legend of the club / game.
I rate him dearly and think he will be a great coach. Just because he is a quiet person does not mean he wouldn't be a good coach. :eek:

He obviously has the desire to coach - and that is great to see.

Mark my words, first said on Big Footy on the 19th of October 2011.

ROBERT HARVEY WILL BE THE NEXT COACH OF THE ST KILDA FOOTBALL CLUB:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Head Coach - Scott Watters
Snr. Assistant - Dean Laidley
Midfield/Jnr Development - Alan Richardson
Backline - Maxy Hudgton
Forwardline - ??? Anyone but the bloke that was in charge this year. God I miss Terry Daniher....
Ruck - Steven King

Anyone know what's going on with Blake Caracella? He has had enormous success and has some good coaching development behind him. Has he signed anywhere yet?

Head Coach - Scott Watters
Snr. Assistant - Dean Laidley
Midfield/Jnr Development - Alan Richardson
Backline - Maxy Hudgton
Forwardline - ??? Anyone but the bloke that was in charge this year. God I miss Terry Daniher....
Ruck - Steven King

Anyone know what's going on with Blake Caracella? He has had enormous success and has some good coaching development behind him. Has he signed anywhere yet?

maxy is only part time,
Laidley is being offered another job,
alan richardson, wouldn't come over since he got knocked back by the saints job.

and king is being offered a job at the bulldogs.

Contracts at St Kilda seem to hold as much water as a sieve.

Disappointing to see him leave, don't know his motivations so im not going to judge it. I guess it's not the greatest thing to be working under a guy that beat you out for the job you were gunning for, especially when there's other opportunities around.

:thumbsu::thumbsu: agreed, i dont actually rate him as a midfield coach so im not overly fussed. (not that we as supporters really know if they are good assistants or not)

Lenny Hayes, playing assistant midfield coach :D:D

:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Totally agree. Harvey fantastic player and clubman, but I can never see him cutting it as a head coach. Too quiet, bad hair and how does a young player relate to him? Just hearing about his training regime would scare the shit outta me and I would doubt that I could cut the mustard.
Plus look at his Karma so many games, no flags, thats all that matters.

I had a dream of Jezza last night, does anyone know if he was the last playing coach in the VFL/AFL? Would be great to have Lenny fill the role at an assistant level at least.

Great to hear people saying how well he is going in the AFL coaching caper.

Best thing is that I think we can wipe away all the fairytale stuff posted earlier this week wanting him to coach at Sandy.

Harvey's not dumb, he needs to stay in the system whether thats at St Kilda or Collingwood, with my preference (again for his benefit) at the later.

Someone else may take over Sandy, with my preference being Hudgton as he gets on well with Watters and he will not be coaching an AFL side in the distant future.

Come home Max, Ross is gone!

Call me romantic, call me stupidly loyal, call me an idiot if you like but I personally think that people are making calls on how good a coach Robert Harvey will be based on his quiet nature. He is much more than that. He is a man driven to excel. He will be a senior coach somewhere and probably quite soon. We don't want to be on the wrong side of his coaching.

The only reason I didn't give my whole support to his application for the senior coach role is his inexperience.

Just give him 5 more years in the business and he will be a ripper AFL coach.

Anybody who thinks otherwise probably hasn't experienced the passion and drive of the man.

I feel ill when I hear Saints supporters criticising him or prejudging him. Bow your heads in shame.

[Shakes my head in disbelief].

I have deleted the most disrespectful posts in this thread as I believe Harvey is stilled owed a great debt of respect, and I sincerely hope that the great man stays and gives us the benefit of his wisdom and drive until we finally have an opportunity to promote him to be the man in charge.

Watters has my loyalty as he is our coach, but when it is time I want the champion Saint to lead us to glory throught the entire era of his stewardship

Call me romantic, call me stupidly loyal, call me an idiot if you like but I personally think that people are making calls on how good a coach Robert Harvey will be based on his quiet nature. He is much more than that. He is a man driven to excel. He will be a senior coach somewhere and probably quite soon. We don't want to be on the wrong side of his coaching.

The only reason I didn't give my whole support to his application for the senior coach role is his inexperience.

Just give him 5 more years in the business and he will be a ripper AFL coach.

Anybody who thinks otherwise probably hasn't experienced the passion and drive of the man.

I feel ill when I hear Saints supporters criticising him or prejudging him. Bow your heads in shame.

[Shakes my head in disbelief].

I have deleted the most disrespectful posts in this thread as I believe Harvey is stilled owed a great debt of respect, and I sincerely hope that the great man stays and gives us the benefit of his wisdom and drive until we finally have an opportunity to promote him to be the man in charge.

:thumbsu:Totally Agree except I reckon he will be in the next batch of coaches - 2-3 years.

Robert Harvey