The Other Dean
Slack Motherf*cker
First off, sorry it has taken me so f'ing long to write this. I have no excuse. I am a lazy person.
If it's any consolation (and when you consider my posting, it should be), I put a self-imposed New Years ban on myself from posting on Bigfooty until I finished it.
Secondly, before I launch in on this, a few disclaimers...
Disclaimer #1 - The following is all drawn from my hopelessly-flawed memory. I haven't looked up any old threads or any articles from the time. Because that would involve actual, like, effort. So there may be numerous factual errors, for which I apologise in advance.
Disclaimer #2 - This is a reflection on putting the Roosistence gig together, and as such I haven't included any background on the events of 2007. If they are unfamiliar to you, I suggest you do some catching up. And a couple of paragraphs from me sure as hell won't cure what ails ya.
Disclaimer #3 - I can't write for shit. So apologies in advance for that, also.
Now on with the show...
ROOQUIEM FOR A TEAM
Small mercies. If Paul Kelly had played Roosistence I may have been severely tempted to start this story by wheeling out the old “from little things...” line. And no-one needs that. But alas, a desperately unlucky scheduling conflict rained on that parade. Tim did indeed contact Paul...err, Mr. Kelly....and sound him out when we were putting the bill together, and he was very keen to be a part of the benefit, but when his management realised that it meant he’d be playing two nights in a row at the Prince, they pulled the pin on the non-paying, more recently arranged date. i.e. Roosistence.
Not sure the “big things” shoe fits anyway. More "medium-sized", although it's partly accurate - you certainly don’t get much “littler” than my brain. But for better or worse, that’s where the Roosistence gig began. Beginnings just don’t get much humbler. And it certainly wasn’t an idea that I mulled over at any great length. Well, not in the cerebral fashion anyway. And if it even bears mentioning, no thought was given to logistics, costing, or plausibility. None of that boring stuff.
From memory, I had only discussed the idea with one other person prior to approaching Tim – that being (the poster formerly known as) The Zebra. Fortunately, he was exceptionally enthusiastic about it, and for that he is owed a major debt of gratitude. If he’d poo-pooed the whole thing by pointing out some kind of bus-sized hole in my plans, then it’s entirely fair to say that I would have probably ditched the idea right there and then. But he was all over it, which gave me the confidence to go ahead and contact Tim. So all I can say is thanks Zebs. (Hopefully kelman will pass this on to him.) And I’d also like to add that market research groups of one are incredibly underrated.
So I PM’ed Tim. In those dark days he was a fairly regular frequenter of the forum, desperate for info on the lay of the land just like the rest of us. He didn’t post much, but I’d often notice his username online. And a few nights later when I saw that he was around, I sent him a message. I’d never spoken to him previously, so I was not only surprised to get an almost instantaneous reply, but one that said something along the lines of “let’s do it!” Even more surprising was the fact that this reply sounded scarily inclusive. Last time I checked “let’s” was the abbreviation of “let us”. “Us” as in “we”. Naturally, I was expecting him to be the one to run with this. Well, actually, I was expecting him to give me a quick “yeah, nah”, but if by some slim chance the idea actually had some merit, I expected I’d be handing that sucker over to him like a molten baton in a twisted Japanese game show relay. Clarification was required, and subsequently sought. As it happens, his use of the inclusive pronoun was entirely intentional. Goddamn. What had I just got myself into?
I think it was roughly around this time that I entered a state of ‘sustained freakout’ that lasted for the next 6 or 7 weeks. I’m not the type to gaze at a gift horse’s pie-hole, so I never asked Tim why he wanted me to be a partner in this endeavour. I can only assume it was to give the whole shebang a bit of a grassroots feel, but that would only be a guess. Likewise, I never asked him why he was so swift and unequivocal in his affirmative reply. To me, it almost seemed like he had contemplated the thought himself, at least in some capacity, and he was just waiting for something or someone to come along and ignite the spark. Who knows, but let’s just say that I reckon my timing may have been pretty sweet. By that stage of the year – some time around early October – the drums of relocation had become deafening. It was definitely the hour to start kicking against the pricks.
And just like that, the Roosistence gig was born. And to his immense credit, from that moment on Tim treated me as an equal in all decisions that were made regarding the show. He had little need to do so, particularly given his immense experience in putting together gigs.....compared with mine, which basically amounted to once arranging a few dates at the Arthouse for a mate’s punk band. But I have to say, with the exception of a couple of executive line-up decisions that were made in the interests of ‘seizing the moment’ so to speak, Tim duly consulted me, and sought my approval, every step of the way. For that, he has nothing but my eternal respect.
The evening following our PM discussion, I went over to Tim’s place to try to nail down some of the details. He greeted me warmly, almost like an old friend, and I was immediately put at ease. Like anyone, Tim has his eccentricities, but he is an extremely down-to-earth person at heart. I also recall that he had The Liquor Giants cranking on the stereo, which I took to be a very good omen. Totally love that band. So after we were done discussing the brilliance of Ward Dotson and his cohorts, and Tim had fielded some obligatory fan-boy questions from yours truly, we got down to business over a cold ale or two. What followed over the next few hours was basically Tim flicking through the phone book on his mobile phone, while I threw out random suggestions of bands and musos that I thought were a good fit for the gig. Hopefully ones starting with a letter of the alphabet that Tim hadn’t got up to in his phone yet. Just so I could appear vaguely useful.
For the most part, the names I mentioned were positively received. Only once did I mention a name that didn’t go down too well. For obvious reasons I won’t go into the details of this rather awkward moment, but it appears there was some history there. I had to spend the next 5 minutes doing some fast talking to redeem myself, but from memory that was the only real speedhump in the evening’s proceedings. In fact, it went like a breeze.
We quickly managed to bed down a basic timeline and then, miraculously, snare a venue. An iconic, kick-ass venue, to be exact. In a coup of pretty epic proportions, Tim was able to leverage off his friendship with the owners of the Prince Of Wales, who generously offered up the place free of charge. That alone almost ensured the success of the evening. The Prince is a legendary pub, and its pulling power on any given night cannot be underestimated. It meant that this wasn’t going to be reduced to some pissant thing that would slip through the cracks of public attention. It guaranteed Roosistence a profile, which was a really great start. And as you’d expect, we were over the moon about that.
Moreover, once a venue is booked, there’s no backing out. So it provided a great spur to keep pushing us forward. Obviously, the Prince were limited in the nights they were able to offer us at such short notice, but we managed to snare a free date that gave us just enough time to conceivably organise everything. While in hindsight the timing turned out to be perfect, back then it was merely part educated guess, part practicality.
So with the venue iced, we then turned our attention to putting the bill together. Rob Clarkson was the first person we rang. Or Tim rang. You know what I mean. (But, hey, he did put the call on speaker. Or maybe Rob just speaks so loud that it sounds like that. M’eh.) Either way, Rob loved the idea and, despite having moved to Sydney, he was very keen to be involved. He was kind of a natural first port of call for Tim. Both a North fan who’d been to many games with Tim, and a popular, long-standing fixture of the local indie music scene. His gigs at the (sadly-departed) Punters Club were Melbourne institutions. And to our delight, he jumped (hopped?) all over Roosistence.
Awesome - we were batting one-for-one after the first call !!
The next number we dialled was Mick Thomas. Unfortunately Mick wasn’t around, but this was no cause for any stress. Given his and the Weddoes long association with footy, and the well-documented love that his longtime sidekick Squeezebox Wally has for the North Melbourne Football Club, we knew Mick would want to be involved. A scheduling clash was going to be about the only thing that would prevent him from playing. Fortunately for us, he was free. Or he shuffled dates. Either way, Tim texted me the next day to let me know that Mick was ‘in’.
At some point during the evening Tim mentioned that he’d become friendly with the guys (and girl!) from Something For Kate. The drummer, Clint, part-owned a wine bar just down the road from Tim’s place and they’d become quite well acquainted. I must admit that I didn’t put much stock in it at the time. While they’d pretty much moved on from their early hipster beginnings to develop into a solid rock band with a more mainstream appeal, I didn’t think they’d be the types to go for it. Shows how much I know. Tim had called me within 24 hours to confirm that they too had signed on.
I think that first night saw us lock in Dallas Crane also...or part thereof, as it turned out. Again, Tim and You Am I have a long association with the Dallas Crane guys, and they also share the same management company. It made sense to have them play.
Tex and The Wrights came into frame a few days later. And of course news of both agreeing to play literally floored me. I still have trouble fathoming that all this really happened.
Bouncer on the other hand were...ummm...kind of an afterthought.
So fortunately for Tim and I – or more accurately, as a testament to Tim’s fantastic work – the line-up came together fairly swiftly and without a whole lot of hassle. There was the odd person who said they’d love to play but couldn’t (e.g. Paul Kelly), or people we had to wait a few days on to confirm. But for the most part, everyone’s scheduling planets aligned. (Destiny!) Despite only having a small window of time to put the bill together, things fell neatly into place.
And then the real work started...
From advertising the gig, to sorting out the ticketing, to producing the merchandise, to doing interviews, to organising the travel arrangements for the artists....and on....there was a huge amount of work to be done in a relatively short amount of time. I’d estimate that 80% of that work was done by Tim and his manager. The remaining 20% was not only enough to keep me flat out every day for the entire duration, but it also taught me that event management is not a career path I’ll be choosing any time soon. The stress levels and workload are through the freaking roof.
Every day I would have the mobile phone glued to my ear from 10am to 10pm. Phone call after phone call, email after email, discussion after discussion. I also clocked up a whole bunch of k’s making regular trips from my place in Diamond Creek down to Tim’s manager’s office in Fitzroy St. It was an extremely busy time. I’d talk to Tim pretty much every day, and sometimes I’d kind of almost forget that he was ‘Tim Rogers – lead singer of You Am I’, and just begin to see him as ‘Tim Rogers – the guy who I was organising the Roosistence gig with’. Then occasionally I’d get a jolt back into reality when I’d receive a text from him saying “just stepped off the stage in Townsville” or something similar. How he managed to fit everything in, I have no idea. But again his management were definitely a godsend in that regard, selflessly chipping in to do everything they could.
And then after a busy day of Roosistence-ing, every night I’d be on Bigfooty, going into battle against the pro-Gold Coast posters who while small in number, were extremely loud in voice. For those of you who weren’t around at the time, as you’d expect, a number of new, pro-GC accounts popped up at the time, and – surprise, surprise – the vast majority of these posters haven’t been spotted since. But they were a feisty bunch while active, and for a while there the forum resembled a war zone. (Okay...more of a war zone than usual.)
As the night drew ever closer, slowly but surely and with much hard graft, everything began coming together. And, hey, to be fair, not all the work was a chore. Far from it. I had the opportunity to chat to the Shinboner Of The Century a few times on the phone before the big night, which was a real highlight for a footy nerd like myself. There were other highs (the tickets selling out), and also some lows (MC Greg Fleet disappearing into the ether a few days before the gig...only to turn up in a state of health that immediately precluded him from being any chance to do the show). I’m just thankful that his name wasn’t on the posters. We sounded out Trevor Marmalade as a last-minute replacement. He declined but was good enough to agree to come along and say a few words. Thankfully local St Kilda icon (and character in Freddy Negro’s ‘Pub’ comic strip), Jason Evans, was able to step in at the 11th hour. He may not have been the slickest MC going around (and he doesn’t barrack for Norf), but he put his heart and soul into the task, and ended up doing a fine job all things considered.
If it's any consolation (and when you consider my posting, it should be), I put a self-imposed New Years ban on myself from posting on Bigfooty until I finished it.
Secondly, before I launch in on this, a few disclaimers...
Disclaimer #1 - The following is all drawn from my hopelessly-flawed memory. I haven't looked up any old threads or any articles from the time. Because that would involve actual, like, effort. So there may be numerous factual errors, for which I apologise in advance.
Disclaimer #2 - This is a reflection on putting the Roosistence gig together, and as such I haven't included any background on the events of 2007. If they are unfamiliar to you, I suggest you do some catching up. And a couple of paragraphs from me sure as hell won't cure what ails ya.
Disclaimer #3 - I can't write for shit. So apologies in advance for that, also.
Now on with the show...
ROOQUIEM FOR A TEAM
Small mercies. If Paul Kelly had played Roosistence I may have been severely tempted to start this story by wheeling out the old “from little things...” line. And no-one needs that. But alas, a desperately unlucky scheduling conflict rained on that parade. Tim did indeed contact Paul...err, Mr. Kelly....and sound him out when we were putting the bill together, and he was very keen to be a part of the benefit, but when his management realised that it meant he’d be playing two nights in a row at the Prince, they pulled the pin on the non-paying, more recently arranged date. i.e. Roosistence.
Not sure the “big things” shoe fits anyway. More "medium-sized", although it's partly accurate - you certainly don’t get much “littler” than my brain. But for better or worse, that’s where the Roosistence gig began. Beginnings just don’t get much humbler. And it certainly wasn’t an idea that I mulled over at any great length. Well, not in the cerebral fashion anyway. And if it even bears mentioning, no thought was given to logistics, costing, or plausibility. None of that boring stuff.
From memory, I had only discussed the idea with one other person prior to approaching Tim – that being (the poster formerly known as) The Zebra. Fortunately, he was exceptionally enthusiastic about it, and for that he is owed a major debt of gratitude. If he’d poo-pooed the whole thing by pointing out some kind of bus-sized hole in my plans, then it’s entirely fair to say that I would have probably ditched the idea right there and then. But he was all over it, which gave me the confidence to go ahead and contact Tim. So all I can say is thanks Zebs. (Hopefully kelman will pass this on to him.) And I’d also like to add that market research groups of one are incredibly underrated.
So I PM’ed Tim. In those dark days he was a fairly regular frequenter of the forum, desperate for info on the lay of the land just like the rest of us. He didn’t post much, but I’d often notice his username online. And a few nights later when I saw that he was around, I sent him a message. I’d never spoken to him previously, so I was not only surprised to get an almost instantaneous reply, but one that said something along the lines of “let’s do it!” Even more surprising was the fact that this reply sounded scarily inclusive. Last time I checked “let’s” was the abbreviation of “let us”. “Us” as in “we”. Naturally, I was expecting him to be the one to run with this. Well, actually, I was expecting him to give me a quick “yeah, nah”, but if by some slim chance the idea actually had some merit, I expected I’d be handing that sucker over to him like a molten baton in a twisted Japanese game show relay. Clarification was required, and subsequently sought. As it happens, his use of the inclusive pronoun was entirely intentional. Goddamn. What had I just got myself into?
I think it was roughly around this time that I entered a state of ‘sustained freakout’ that lasted for the next 6 or 7 weeks. I’m not the type to gaze at a gift horse’s pie-hole, so I never asked Tim why he wanted me to be a partner in this endeavour. I can only assume it was to give the whole shebang a bit of a grassroots feel, but that would only be a guess. Likewise, I never asked him why he was so swift and unequivocal in his affirmative reply. To me, it almost seemed like he had contemplated the thought himself, at least in some capacity, and he was just waiting for something or someone to come along and ignite the spark. Who knows, but let’s just say that I reckon my timing may have been pretty sweet. By that stage of the year – some time around early October – the drums of relocation had become deafening. It was definitely the hour to start kicking against the pricks.
And just like that, the Roosistence gig was born. And to his immense credit, from that moment on Tim treated me as an equal in all decisions that were made regarding the show. He had little need to do so, particularly given his immense experience in putting together gigs.....compared with mine, which basically amounted to once arranging a few dates at the Arthouse for a mate’s punk band. But I have to say, with the exception of a couple of executive line-up decisions that were made in the interests of ‘seizing the moment’ so to speak, Tim duly consulted me, and sought my approval, every step of the way. For that, he has nothing but my eternal respect.
The evening following our PM discussion, I went over to Tim’s place to try to nail down some of the details. He greeted me warmly, almost like an old friend, and I was immediately put at ease. Like anyone, Tim has his eccentricities, but he is an extremely down-to-earth person at heart. I also recall that he had The Liquor Giants cranking on the stereo, which I took to be a very good omen. Totally love that band. So after we were done discussing the brilliance of Ward Dotson and his cohorts, and Tim had fielded some obligatory fan-boy questions from yours truly, we got down to business over a cold ale or two. What followed over the next few hours was basically Tim flicking through the phone book on his mobile phone, while I threw out random suggestions of bands and musos that I thought were a good fit for the gig. Hopefully ones starting with a letter of the alphabet that Tim hadn’t got up to in his phone yet. Just so I could appear vaguely useful.
For the most part, the names I mentioned were positively received. Only once did I mention a name that didn’t go down too well. For obvious reasons I won’t go into the details of this rather awkward moment, but it appears there was some history there. I had to spend the next 5 minutes doing some fast talking to redeem myself, but from memory that was the only real speedhump in the evening’s proceedings. In fact, it went like a breeze.
We quickly managed to bed down a basic timeline and then, miraculously, snare a venue. An iconic, kick-ass venue, to be exact. In a coup of pretty epic proportions, Tim was able to leverage off his friendship with the owners of the Prince Of Wales, who generously offered up the place free of charge. That alone almost ensured the success of the evening. The Prince is a legendary pub, and its pulling power on any given night cannot be underestimated. It meant that this wasn’t going to be reduced to some pissant thing that would slip through the cracks of public attention. It guaranteed Roosistence a profile, which was a really great start. And as you’d expect, we were over the moon about that.
Moreover, once a venue is booked, there’s no backing out. So it provided a great spur to keep pushing us forward. Obviously, the Prince were limited in the nights they were able to offer us at such short notice, but we managed to snare a free date that gave us just enough time to conceivably organise everything. While in hindsight the timing turned out to be perfect, back then it was merely part educated guess, part practicality.
So with the venue iced, we then turned our attention to putting the bill together. Rob Clarkson was the first person we rang. Or Tim rang. You know what I mean. (But, hey, he did put the call on speaker. Or maybe Rob just speaks so loud that it sounds like that. M’eh.) Either way, Rob loved the idea and, despite having moved to Sydney, he was very keen to be involved. He was kind of a natural first port of call for Tim. Both a North fan who’d been to many games with Tim, and a popular, long-standing fixture of the local indie music scene. His gigs at the (sadly-departed) Punters Club were Melbourne institutions. And to our delight, he jumped (hopped?) all over Roosistence.
Awesome - we were batting one-for-one after the first call !!
The next number we dialled was Mick Thomas. Unfortunately Mick wasn’t around, but this was no cause for any stress. Given his and the Weddoes long association with footy, and the well-documented love that his longtime sidekick Squeezebox Wally has for the North Melbourne Football Club, we knew Mick would want to be involved. A scheduling clash was going to be about the only thing that would prevent him from playing. Fortunately for us, he was free. Or he shuffled dates. Either way, Tim texted me the next day to let me know that Mick was ‘in’.
At some point during the evening Tim mentioned that he’d become friendly with the guys (and girl!) from Something For Kate. The drummer, Clint, part-owned a wine bar just down the road from Tim’s place and they’d become quite well acquainted. I must admit that I didn’t put much stock in it at the time. While they’d pretty much moved on from their early hipster beginnings to develop into a solid rock band with a more mainstream appeal, I didn’t think they’d be the types to go for it. Shows how much I know. Tim had called me within 24 hours to confirm that they too had signed on.
I think that first night saw us lock in Dallas Crane also...or part thereof, as it turned out. Again, Tim and You Am I have a long association with the Dallas Crane guys, and they also share the same management company. It made sense to have them play.
Tex and The Wrights came into frame a few days later. And of course news of both agreeing to play literally floored me. I still have trouble fathoming that all this really happened.
Bouncer on the other hand were...ummm...kind of an afterthought.
So fortunately for Tim and I – or more accurately, as a testament to Tim’s fantastic work – the line-up came together fairly swiftly and without a whole lot of hassle. There was the odd person who said they’d love to play but couldn’t (e.g. Paul Kelly), or people we had to wait a few days on to confirm. But for the most part, everyone’s scheduling planets aligned. (Destiny!) Despite only having a small window of time to put the bill together, things fell neatly into place.
And then the real work started...
From advertising the gig, to sorting out the ticketing, to producing the merchandise, to doing interviews, to organising the travel arrangements for the artists....and on....there was a huge amount of work to be done in a relatively short amount of time. I’d estimate that 80% of that work was done by Tim and his manager. The remaining 20% was not only enough to keep me flat out every day for the entire duration, but it also taught me that event management is not a career path I’ll be choosing any time soon. The stress levels and workload are through the freaking roof.
Every day I would have the mobile phone glued to my ear from 10am to 10pm. Phone call after phone call, email after email, discussion after discussion. I also clocked up a whole bunch of k’s making regular trips from my place in Diamond Creek down to Tim’s manager’s office in Fitzroy St. It was an extremely busy time. I’d talk to Tim pretty much every day, and sometimes I’d kind of almost forget that he was ‘Tim Rogers – lead singer of You Am I’, and just begin to see him as ‘Tim Rogers – the guy who I was organising the Roosistence gig with’. Then occasionally I’d get a jolt back into reality when I’d receive a text from him saying “just stepped off the stage in Townsville” or something similar. How he managed to fit everything in, I have no idea. But again his management were definitely a godsend in that regard, selflessly chipping in to do everything they could.
And then after a busy day of Roosistence-ing, every night I’d be on Bigfooty, going into battle against the pro-Gold Coast posters who while small in number, were extremely loud in voice. For those of you who weren’t around at the time, as you’d expect, a number of new, pro-GC accounts popped up at the time, and – surprise, surprise – the vast majority of these posters haven’t been spotted since. But they were a feisty bunch while active, and for a while there the forum resembled a war zone. (Okay...more of a war zone than usual.)
As the night drew ever closer, slowly but surely and with much hard graft, everything began coming together. And, hey, to be fair, not all the work was a chore. Far from it. I had the opportunity to chat to the Shinboner Of The Century a few times on the phone before the big night, which was a real highlight for a footy nerd like myself. There were other highs (the tickets selling out), and also some lows (MC Greg Fleet disappearing into the ether a few days before the gig...only to turn up in a state of health that immediately precluded him from being any chance to do the show). I’m just thankful that his name wasn’t on the posters. We sounded out Trevor Marmalade as a last-minute replacement. He declined but was good enough to agree to come along and say a few words. Thankfully local St Kilda icon (and character in Freddy Negro’s ‘Pub’ comic strip), Jason Evans, was able to step in at the 11th hour. He may not have been the slickest MC going around (and he doesn’t barrack for Norf), but he put his heart and soul into the task, and ended up doing a fine job all things considered.