Roughead

Re: I think Jarryd Roughead shouldn't play this week!!!!

I really hope Roughie doesnt read BigFooty....then his confidence will really be shot!

But honestly people, what has he done wrong. Im actually quite satisfied with his progress at the moment. If he had kicked 2 of the goals that he missed last week, then every1 would be saying the exact opposite, but the fact of the matter is that it was extremely difficult to score from that end. At least he presented, gave efforts (which resulted in a goal to Guerra). Thats all we want from him now.

And it doesnt help that we congest our forward line, making it very difficult for Roughie to display what he is capable of. Maybe the Willo injury is a blessing in disguise - will have more focus on Roughie to score goals.

Mark my words people - he will come good! And sooner rather than later...
P.S. All this talk about bigger boys taking longer to develop - It seems that doesnt it apply after the player has been at the club for 2 years! :rolleyes:

Re: I think Jarryd Roughead shouldn't play this week!!!!

If, and I hope we do, continue to play and persist with Boyle, Roughead, Dicko and Franklin in our fwd50, leavin room for two smaller crumbing types, plus the mid-fielders drifting in and out,............... we will soon see these guys kicking multiple goals between them, with individual hauls of 4+. Each week one or two of these will get small "hauls", with the others chipping in with their ones and twos. GETTING TO KNOW EACH OTHERS' GAME. and then.......along comes Willo.:cool:

What do we do with him?
Ok he was better last week, looked good in patches but when things go wrong they go wrong and he can go long periods without touching the footy which is a real worry.
With Williams gone for a long time, I don't think we can afford to drop him at the moment. Dixon is struggling for goals and Boyle is still finding his feet, with Franklin the only consistent forward.
I reckon Croad should play in the forward 50 and chuck Roughie back. It's pointless leaving Roughie in the forward 50 for a whole match if hes not getting near the footy, doesn't do him or the club any good. Put him back and make him accountable and use him to give him a bit of confidence. Has no confidence at the moment.
Needs a big game against the Bombers tomorrow so he can gain some confidence.

Re: J Roughead

We had a shocker game last week. Missed set shots and turnovers. No need to flip out. We are usually efficient when it comes to shots at goal. Last week, not so. I'm sure everyone is aware that it cost us the win.

I'm confident the guys, did extra goal kicking practice at training, and we can expect a better return on the ground.

i no he isnt play that well at the moment but i think keep him in the side and keep pumping the ball to him. thats the only way he will get betta i no its hard but we just keep the ball going to roughead because he does show that he has alot of ability

Kick the ball to him properly would be a start! Then get him some velcro so he stops dropping marks he should take.
PS Guys if you want a good laugh go to the Richmond forum to 'Gaspar Retires'
I'm having an awesome time getting into those blokes.

I'd get him to BH, kick a couple of bags to get his confidence up. Essendon is his last chance, he kicked 4 last year on them, so its good to keep him in for this week.

this has probably been posted about before but hes gotta have stint in the 2's. did bugger all last night just seems to lack the confidence the rest of the team is playing with. chuck him back in the 2's and wait till hes dominating before you bring him back up

Please, can we think about how that would change our structure.
You take Roughy out and replace him with who??
And if you take Roughy out that leaves a Mal Micheal or a Scarlett to man up either Boyle or Franklin.
No thanks.

Personally, I still think Roughy is showing some good signs and I'm sick of him being canned on here.

And if you take Roughy out that leaves a Mal Micheal or a Scarlett to man up either Boyle or Franklin.
No thanks.

Personally, I still think Roughy is showing some good signs and I'm sick of him being canned on here.

Second That!

No thanks.

Bloody oath mate. Whats the point of sending him down to Box Hill. He is going to learn more playing on Mal Michael and the like than some VFL backman. Hes doing enough to hold his spot hes regularly chipping in with goals if not big bags

Roughie is only one goal behind Dixon at the moment. You have got to realise if Rough kicks one to two goals a game he will end up at around 40 or so, which is vital. We need Boyle, Rough and Dixon to kick around 30 or more goals a season to help out our most likely goal kickers in Willow (injured) and Franklin.

He is looking more confident, I think he does need to be played as more as a spot up forward, let him take the marks around the 50 metre mark and just let him kick them from there, he knows he can kick them.

What's up with Roughead?
Hasn't had over 10 touches in any one game this year...
Are they playing him forward and back? Or is he just not coming along?

Roughead