Autopsy Round 1, 2025: Hawks shoot down Bombers

The media are calling for blood. He will get 2 weeks for sure. It doesnt matter what he was doing, it matters that they have decided his guilt.

He's concussed himself, gives him 2-3 weeks recovery but we know we've got Frosty to cover him.

Chol: 8 disposals - 6 marks (3 contested) - 2 goals - 2 behinds

View attachment 2249804
A real standout for me tonight with combo of chasing, marking, contesting and conversion. A big reason why we won and stuck it up to all his doubters esp those who critiqued him on his so called poor finals even though he brought the same level energy and intensity as he did tonight

If he’s ruled out for a week with concussion and he’s rubbed out for a week by the MRO he only misses 1 week

You don’t add the 2 together
He almost certainly won’t get a week. Will either be deemed a footy act in which case he doesn’t get suspended. Or a non-footy act in which case he gets 3+ because Ridley was concussed.

Interesting game.

Don't think we played that well but still won by 25 which is a good sign.

Reckon Morrison makes way next game as he's been average both games.

The Wizard looked at lot better today than last week.

Biggest postive for me was how Barrass and Battle allow Sicily to float and play his natural role.

Ward and Mackenzie both looked decent tonight.

Oooh yeah, such a great feeling to be back at the G, and in front of a big crowd and a night match as well! Was hoping we'd push 85k, but 80k was good enough.

Ripper first quarter, and never really looked troubled from there, as every time they got a bit of a run-on, it only resulted in a couple of goals before we extended the gap again - kept them at arms length.

Loved seeing the small forwards have their turn this week, after a quieter week last week.
Having Browny and Willow make an appearance was awesome.

Can't say I was aware of anyone having an absolute blinder of a game, ala Day's first half last week, but more an all-round good contribution from a lot of players.

And thank fk we aren't coughing up 800k+ for McSpud!

He won't get dropped but Weddle has been bloody ordinary 2nd week in a row.

All of last season it was a case of stepping up when he needed to. And when we needed someone to close the coffin tonight, it was him with the hammer and nails.

Weddle is not someone you drop.

Lots of posters who rightly hate Essendon here but refuse to give them their chocolates. They were strong through the middle, their pressure rating was consistently up above 200 which is very high especially for March. We absorbed pretty much everything they threw at us and we consistently found a way to respond, and in a different way than last week.

Two wins that weren't pretty against two strong sides, but in two different ways. Early last year we didn't really have much of a Plan B. We do now.

Loved Finn’s contested mark and goal. Was really composed. It was that play from Nuke to Finn that put the game out of reach.

Yeah, he's not just a tagger now. Adds a fair bit across the HF line, too.

Absolute sour grapes from Scott. “Beaten by a more efficient…(sour face and a three second delay)…probably at this stage a classier side.” Couldn’t even be complementary without gritting his teeth.
Now, I am certainly no fan of either of the Scott brothers, particularly Handbagger Scott, but I thought Scum Scott was pretty reasonable tonight. He was quite willing to give credit where credit was due. Every coach would like to take something positive from a loss and he certainly did not complain about anything, just accepted that we were too good in certain areas of the game and identified areas where they need to improve.

I think you might be looking for an excuse to hang shit simply because they are, well, the Scum. Not that there is anything wrong with that.

Essendon played better but we were classier and took our opportunities.

The scum a few years and drafts away from being relevant again.

We can play better and need to replace Worpel in the centre. His drive and clearance work was missing tonite.

Onwards and upwards Hawkers.

Essendon played better but we were classier and took our opportunities.

The scum a few years and drafts away from being relevant again.

We can play better and need to replace Worpel in the centre. His drive and clearance work was missing tonite.

Onwards and upwards Hawkers.
At no point in this game did I think the Dons were a chance to win. They did not play better and they are a not few Years away from being relevant. 9th is their best outcome. Essendon are rooted to 9th or lower.

First post (long time ‘lurker’). Dimma was compared to Dunstalll in the comms at one point tonight and I haven’t heard that before Thought that was very interesting, given his leads, and given Amon, Mass, et al.‘s boot.
One can hope, but one can see it.

Great to win against them after 4 years. We looked tired in the 4th quarter. However managed to finish with a win. Hope CJ comes for Scrimshaw next week.

2 games and 2 top liners down is disappointing. The much vaunted depth is getting an early workout.
Worpel’s value to the team has been underrated and will be sorely missed in the next few weeks. Day especially is feeling it with much more attention going his way.

Wouldn’t be surprised if Scrim has a little more damage than a broken nose..facial fracture of some sort is a distinct possibility. Let’s hope not.

Great to get a win over the Bombers anytime but never felt comfortable for mind. Winning while the team is not quite in form is very encouraging for the club.

Loving the 2 B’s down back, but it is not a settled line up as both Weddle and Frost seem a little lost and unsure where they fit in. Scrimshaw out may be a blessing for Weddle as he will have a better sense of his role.
Can’t see Frosty in our best 22 by seasons end I’m afraid. A luxury as sub with either another running mid or Gunners/Bruest better suited for that role.
Big job for fitness staff so early in the season with a 6 day break. Beat the Blues and then a 10 day break before a huge game v GWS in Tassie then a well earned bye. Go Hawks.

Frost struggling as a sub. Either start him or drop him.

Surely CJ comes in for Scrim.
Agreed re: Frost.

He was very shaky in the first few minutes. He needs continuity and to be able to play a full game with confidence.

So we start him on Thursday.

Wasn't a bump, was arms out to wrap him up handball got out. Just a late high tackle that riddley partly caused by looking down and turning into it.
That is very funny.

Scrimshaw failed to get low to tackle.

Didn’t bend at the waist and drop his shoulder.

Perhaps he thought he could make contact with the ball by staying up straight. 🤷‍♂️

Either way it’s 100% his fault. Ridley got concussed and misses the rest of this game and next week.

Scrimma gets 1-2 weeks but probably has to sit out more due to the nasty head clash with Battle

As good as Essendon played, we were pretty comfortably a better drilled team - at least offensively. We were thoroughly out-worked and the wet/slippery condition of the MCG definitely didn't help.

During the game I bemoaned the lucky bounces, scrubbed kicks, umpiring or lack thereof (did Draper have a single HTB against?) for Essendon and admired the rare times our structure worked when we finally got clean hands on the ball. Eventually I realised Essendon were just working far harder.

The game was played predominantly on Essendon's terms - they're just not very good (yet?) and we scored heavily when we got on top. Their little "W" formation to clear congestion worked far too often - MacKenzie, Massimo and Morrison kept getting sucked into the contest, leaving their opponent able to run free into space. Normally this is one of Harry's strengths.

I thought we had a number of players down this week:

Mass seemed to be tying himself in knots anytime he went near the ball. Some great defensive physical efforts, but Bombers played his left side all night. He needs a right foot, even if just a get out of jail.

Frost just isn't a sub. He's a role player and can be a damn good one. I'd actually 'promote' him and give him a key defensive task (tall or small), just focusing on shutting down his opponent. This might even free up Barrass more.

Weddle started on fire, then disappeared for a half before going forward. I want him forward from the opening bounce, or at least pushing up hard off the HBF. He tends to turn invisible when given a defensive assignment.

I thought Meek was comprehensively thrashed by Draper. Meek looks really tired and needs support. No Worpel means Nash can't help out, and no Lewis/Dear means Chol is being used sparingly. Somehow we have to generate more support. Maybe even Weddle if he can't find a role!

Mackenzie got a lot of onball time, and seemed spent in the 3rd quarter. In the last he was stuck on the treadmill. Probably still lacking endurance, but after 3 seasons isn't that a bit of a worry? Only works one way, and his lack of structural positioning was exposed constantly.

Morrison was exposed badly for his lack of pace again - opposition players just discount him when nearby. Getting smashed at the contest obviously doesn't help, but he seemed to be caught between trying to help at the contest, and stopping the outriders - achieving neither.

A win, but a game that if I watch again, will be more to see what went wrong structurally I think.

Listening to Brad Scott's presser - I think Essendon did a LOT of homework on us but utlimately shot themselves in the foot and were way too fixed on limiting our strengths instead of playing to ours. They put a lot of effort into shutting down Mass, Amon, Day and Meek. They had their pressure and tackling up all night. They were switched on. They changed tactics significantly.

In some ways I think Mitchell lost in the coach's box. But also, they had no answers for our fast break game.

We've been on the other side of games like this for a while. Lamenting poor goal kicking conversion and key moments in the game. Coming away happy because tackling pressure was up and if we can just have a few things click at the right moment we'll win a few more etc.

But I'm reminded of Clarko's sides in the last two weeks where the other side needs absolutely everything to go right for 4 quarters to get the win. Our clearances were quality when we had them. Our play was direct and our conversion was great.

The smalls were awesome. Moore really creative all night. Wiz, Ginni, CMac, Moore and Maginess (10 goals from this group) popping up at different times - but their backline looked nervous all night. The whole forward line worked well. We took Mackay out of it and they just didn't have enough small defenders. It's also great to see Chol having so much fun. Took some big marks. Still missed a couple but I love watching this guy play.

The midfield never looked happy or comfortable. The clearances we got were poetry. Newcombe delivers inside 50 so so well. If he's got time and space to kick we'll end up with a goal. Day was tackled before he had it most of the night. Newcombe had to work hard and I was surprised to see he had 25 touches cos he's normally a lot more impactful with those numbers. Nash hada great game though. Just want Worpel back ASAP!

I found it a tense game but that first half was some of the best footy you'll see from us and I loved it

Autopsy Round 1, 2025: Hawks shoot down Bombers

Write your reply...