B Brown - Hartigan - Kelly
HB Mackay - Talia - Laird

R Jacobs - Sloane - Crouch
C Seedsman - Crouch - Atkins

HF Douglas - Walker - Lynch
F Betts - Jenkins - Cameron

I Lever - Knight - Greenwood - Otten

Looking back it's actually hard to believe that side made it so far
IMO a really solid team, even more with Smith and Mcgovern in.
Potent, versatile, accurate kicking forward line. Only weakness was no huge contested marking beast but Mcgovern???
In career best form midfield. Greenwood was our POD taking big marks in the forward line. Weakness was probably that Sloane and the Crouch bros were too similar, no quick agile goal kicking mid.
Real weakness though were the foot skills of Hartigan, Kelly, Talia and even Brown, especially if Smith and Lynch got tagged out.
Guys like Brown, Laird (defence first and rebounding), Sloane, M Crouch, Atkins (sidesteps, inside 50 kicking, goalkicking), Jenkins, Greenwood and even Knight (tagging, contest work, goalkicking) who would become maligned in the future were good players at the time.

It’s actually very cool to see such a strong team named for round 1 isn’t it? Reading this thread you would be forgiven for thinking that the selected side was a debacle, but in reality when the only point of disagreement from nearly all supporters is Milera over Nankervis then I think we can all be pretty happy.

It’s actually a credit to the coaches, recruiters and especially the fitness staff to have such a strong team named week 1, now the players just have to deliver on that potential.
But if I hear Nix even allude to it being "the best side he's had in his coaching tenior" I'll spew up.
Let the W/L column decide.

Aside from selecting the underdone Milera, I'm pretty happy with the selections. For once. Maybe Murray Davis is having some kind of positive influence after all.

Come on, injuries aside, we’ve been selecting this side since November. The only genuine decision to be made we got wrong. As per usual.

He then went to the SANFL and played for 8 games and played the remainder of the season in the AFL!

From the draft class of 2022:

Nick Daicos - 71 games
Connor McDonald - 67 games
JHF - 65 games
NWM - 63 games
Soligo - 60 games
Curtis - 59 games
Rachele - 56 games.

You are fair dinkum gonna sit there and say a kid who has played the 5th most games from his draft class hasn't been prioritized? You have lost the plot.
Some people just like to sook even when there is nothing genuine to sook about.

Watching last night's game with Hawthorn's mosquito fleet up forward, I'd be really worried if we picked the same defensive back 7 we have this week when we play them.

Laird and Milera defending Watson, Moore, Ginnivan and co - eek!

What would you change?
Bond in for a tall defender.

Nankervis for Milera.

Laird (if in form) probably the one to stay in.

Anyone hear Ross Lyons pre training presser yesterday

Think the media missed the attempted effect he was going for but saying how Adelaide are fit and healthy, high expectation, and most interestingly that it’s a big year for nicks going into his 6th year.

Clearly trying to get some external pressure on us hoping it cracks us and alluding to nicks jobs being on the line a bit out of the usual coaches union playbook

Bond in for a tall defender.

Nankervis for Milera.

Laird (if in form) probably the one to stay in.
Who is the first tall defender that goes?
Keane, if both of their form continues you’d have to say Murray.

Anyone hear Ross Lyons pre training presser yesterday

Think the media missed the attempted effect he was going for but saying how Adelaide are fit and healthy, high expectation, and most interestingly that it’s a big year for nicks going into his 6th year.

Clearly trying to get some external pressure on us hoping it cracks us and alluding to nicks jobs being on the line a bit out of the usual coaches union playbook
He's right but Lyon has enough problems of his own.

Not sure where they're headed. The new North Melbourne

Watching last night's game with Hawthorn's mosquito fleet up forward, I'd be really worried if we picked the same defensive back 7 we have this week when we play them.

What would you change?
We'll play all our talls

Someone needs to tell ROB to keep his trap shut.
He didn't even say Draper wasn't going to play. He said he'd had a good preseason and done everything right and made a general comment about the club being careful with draftees so they can get through the season, that's it.

The issue isn't with ROB it's just with the editorial spin that the network put on the interview.

He didn't even say Draper wasn't going to play. He said he'd had a good preseason and done everything right and made a general comment about the club being careful with draftees so they can get through the season, that's it.

The issue isn't with ROB it's just with the editorial spin that the network put on the interview.
As well as many in here…

He isn't involved in that side of things and should have answered as such.

Disappointed that Nank isn’t playing but I think he’ll be in soon enough. Think the rest of the team picks itself. Really happy that Draper was picked and hope he plays the rest of the year unless he needs a rest.
For a lot who keeps winging about not picking certain players, Curtin is picked this week after a few average games and no set position. He’s truly a swing man that could in time becomes awesome. Time for no more excuses and no more golden tickets

On iPhone using ][emoji6]][emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]]BigFooty.com mobile app

What would you change?
A lot can happen in 6 rounds of Footy.

I'll cross that bridge when I'm looking at it.

Preview Round 1 - Adelaide v St Kilda @ Adelaide Oval

Write your reply...