Surkin

Aug 17, 2009
France
Knicks
I've tallied it all up and remarkably everyone is all square going into this last round.

Buln Buln v Ellinbank - Ellinbank in the "Who Cares?" Cup
Catani v Garfield - Garfield to make a statement coming into finals. 10 goal win.
Cora Lynn v Bunyip - Cobras to tune up for the finals with a 90 point win. Runnalls to kick 8 and grab the goal kicking award.
Kooweerup v Lang Lang - The the "Who Cares II" Cup
Nar Nar Goon v Warragul Ind - Dusties confidence to get even lower with a 100 point loss.
Neerim South v Nilma Darnum - NNS in a close one. Urie the difference.
Poowong v Longwarry - Longwarry to make it 2 from 2 against the magpies.

Buln Buln v Ellinbank - Ricky Hayes to kick 8
Catani v Garfield - Too strong, even at the town with no shop.
Cora Lynn v Bunyip - Could be the biggest margin all year.
Kooweerup v Lang Lang - Lang in a boring affair
Nar Nar Goon v Warragul Ind - Dusties are shit, wont get near the boys from nar nar goon
Neerim South v Nilma Darnum - NNS by 10 goals
Poowong v Longwarry - Magpies to beat the crows, not the only time it will happen this weekend

Buln Buln v Ellinbank - "Jamie Purcell Cup"
Catani v Garfield - "Pickering Cup"
Cora Lynn v Bunyip - "Fatty Johnson Cup"
Kooweerup v Lang Lang - "Tony Butera Cup"
Nar Nar Goon v Warragul Ind - "Pretenders Cup"
Neerim South v Nilma Darnum - "Horses Slong cup"
Poowong v Longwarry - "Scott Pallant Cup"

Haha can't wait to hear what Tumble has to say about this.

I'll leave it alone for now Surkin. If all goes to plan i might remind Leo of this comment around the weekend of the 18th September....just like last year after the magoos got up against the EDFL Reserves version of the invincibles...

Speaking of pretenders though, I once heard of this bloke who couldn't get a kick in a stampede, yet he felt the need to portray his opinions and vast knowledge of the game over the internet to all and sundry, purely because his brother was an ex premiership player in an average local footy competition. Now there's a pretender....

I'll get back to you later on with my competition winning tips and maybe a final send off for plugger.

I'll leave it alone for now Surkin. If all goes to plan i might remind Leo of this comment around the weekend of the 18th September....just like last year after the magoos got up against the EDFL Reserves version of the invincibles...

Speaking of pretenders though, I once heard of this bloke who couldn't get a kick in a stampede, yet he felt the need to portray his opinions and vast knowledge of the game over the internet to all and sundry, purely because his brother was an ex premiership player in an average local footy competition. Now there's a pretender....

I'll get back to you later on with my competition winning tips and maybe a final send off for plugger.

Make it a good one, tumbles.

This will be the last season I mod here.

Time for someone else to have a crack, I reckon.

Probably wont be on here too much after the finals end and will have little to do with the EDFL after this year.

I dont think goodie played in a premiership, unless juniors count? Or did your brother, or surkins or pluggers play in one?

I did tip the goon in the twos last year tumble, i think i was the only one apart from you.

Hardly, they lost to nilma half way through the year and you guys were only two games behind them at end of season. Nyora(3 wins 2009) was only down 9 points at 3 qtr time at their home game!!! They were no better than you or catani over the year.

Classic! Crossed my mind many times!!

Buln Buln v Ellinbank - Ricky Hayes to kick 8
Catani v Garfield - Too strong, even at the town with no shop.
Cora Lynn v Bunyip - Could be the biggest margin all year.
Kooweerup v Lang Lang - Lang in a boring affair
Nar Nar Goon v Warragul Ind - Dusties are shit, wont get near the boys from nar nar goon
Neerim South v Nilma Darnum - NNS by 10 goals
Poowong v Longwarry - Magpies to beat the crows, not the only time it will happen this weekend

Getting a cheap plug in there magic. The lid is off and you knobs can't help yourself.

Pretty sure Leo got heaps of kicks, how else do you return the ball to play from a behind:D

Hope Big Papa doesnt see that he rates himself fairly highly haha, you can throw me in there aswell never even played in a final.

Are you stepping down as president at Darnum plugger?

What are you planning on doing with yourself next season?

Yeah mate. Had enough.

Some clubs that win flags follow up the following year with plenty of help and plenty of enthusiasm, not matter what the results are. Just not Darnum.

Frankly I reckon we were a better club when we were being whipped.

Lose by 200 points. Get on the piss. Have a great night. Get to training. Lose by another 200 points. Get on the piss........

Im done. There is nothing more for me to do there. I have tried to change things for the better but the club is too divided.

I will probably spend my Saturday afternoons at what will become the best venue east of the suburbs, standing on the hill at the Moe Footy Ground.

It is an 8 minute walk downhill sober from my house and about 35mins pissed back up the hill.:p

Fair enough Plugger. Good on you for having a crack at the Presidency.

Know exactly what you mean about having a divided club too. Noticed it for the first time at my club this year and it's hard when you have people pulling in different directions.

Best of luck at moe.

Im not gone yet, mate.

We still have tomorrow against the cats. Then the $1000 draw on sunday with the vote count. Presentation night on the 3rd.

I still may be involved in some capacity as a coach with a former teammate from Darnum. Or maybe even as a coach. But there is still a lot of decisions to make. I am pretty confident I wont be with the Darnos next year, after being there for the better part of 15 years.

Ha ha settle down Leo don't get all emotional on us, it was just a gag. You obviously knew who i was talking about though, you bristled pretty quickly!

Very sad to hear the news of plugger hanging up the mouse as moderator of the forum. He's done a wonderful job over the last couple of years, keeping this board as boring as humanly possible, which i'm sure has pleased the big bosses no end. Some would rate him a hard taskmaster, but I would just say he just takes any job he gets given with great responsibility and seriousness. Just like the way he conducts himself as a fill in reserves umpire on the occasional Saturday afternoon. I say good luck to you pluggeroo on your next chapter in life down in beautiful Moe, I hope it all works out well for you.

Now for my winning tips for the final round of 2010.

Buln Buln - Don't know why, don't really care.

Garfield - 2 goals. Should be a good, tight contest all day. I think Garfield's tall's may just get them over the line. An upset wouldn't surprise however.

Cora Lynn - They haven't been winning these types of games by as much as you would expect. The poor sides seem to be still kicking 8-10 goals, which would be a bit of a worry for the hierachy heading into the finals series. I reckon they'll win by about 70 points, but should be hoping for something more like 130+

Lang Lang - Should be too good for KWR and finish the season on a high. Surkin to kick a goal and win the Maccas award...

NNG - With Dore coming back into a close to full strength line up, the Goon should roll on into the finals series with plenty of momentum, winning by 8-10 goals against an out of form Dusties outfit.

Poowong - Based on the fact Longwarry were the worst senior football side i have seen in a long, long time last weekend. Poowong by 80 points.

NNS - Neerim are gearing up for a big finals campaign and will do enough to get the job done against a spirited and emotional Nilma Darnum side, who will have plenty to play for in a match dedicated to keeping their outgoing club president at Darnum land. The Darnum players will be wearing a commemorative jumper on Saturday to raise awareness of Pluggers possible departure, hoping that it hits home to their 13 faithful supporters, what a loss this great man will be for their footy club if he chooses to move on and support Moe. The jumper will be their traditional red and black strip, only just above the sponsors logo on the left breast, there will be a green whistle with the words "Don't Pull the Plug" embroided below it. As another tribute to Plug, the players wearing numbers 1 and 11 are auctioning off their jumpers as they have used photo's of old fashioned canvas stretchers as the numbers on their back. Neerim should also be commended, as they have paid their own tribute to plugger by painting the goalsquares in a nice fluro orange colour, so as to avoid a fiasco such as the day down at Lang Lang earlier in the year in Pluggers last game as Darnum's official reserves umpire.

After a narrow but gutsy loss to Neerim, the feeling in the changerooms afterwards will be quite downcast, with a touch of sadness for poor old Plugger as he's thinking it will be his last beer with the Darno boys as a Darno himself.

Anyway, after a few beers Plugger will head back to the Darno rooms to tidy up a bit of end of season paperwork. But much to his astonishment, the committee have gone and organised a surprise testimonial dinner for him as a tribute to his 15 years of service to the footy club. It will be the who's who of Nilma Darnum Footy Club history. Former AFL Premiership Player Mal Michael will be a guest speaker, along with Brad Sinclair, Jamie Cann and Bigpapagman.

Plugger will be so excited that he'll forget how much he is drinking and give Kenny Moore a bell at around 11 O'clock pissed to the eyeballs to tell him of the news and question him about his non attendance.

Just as the night is coming to an end, former coach Brad Sinclair will get up on stage to make a special presentation to Plugger. Not only is he presented with the games special number 1 guernsey with the stretcher as the number on it, but they have also produced one of those frames that have a stubby inside glass that say "Break glass in case of emergency", only it will be a green whistle intead of a stubby. The crowd will go into raptures and Plugger will produce a wry smile of acknowledgement. By this stage Plugger is pretty hammered and decides to make a speech. He goes on and on thanking everyone from the coach to the boot studder for being such good people at such a great club, getting quite emotional through all of it. Right at the end, the big fella makes the big announcement. He yells at the top of his voice "You can take the boy out of Nilma Darnum but you can't take the Nilma Darnum out of the boy! I'm here to stay everybody, I love you all!", whilst punching the air with one hand and tipping his beer all over his head with the other. He then goes to snatch the framed whistle in joy, but accidentally puts his hand through the glass, scratching 3 of his knuckles in the process and drawing blood. He then passes out from the sight of the blood, falls off the stage and on to his bung rib and starts screaming in agony. The crowd rush to him to see if he's ok. When made known of his minor injuries, they smash the broken frame and commemorative jumper over his head, tell him to sort his own green whistle and stretcher out and get the phark out of the rooms and not ever come back coz they are sick of his shit. Bigpapagman then lets out a Nelson Munz "Haa Haaaa" and everyone goes home.

That's what i reckon will happen in that game tomorrow.

Round 19 Tipping - The Decider!!!