Round 2, 2013: Geelong v North Melbourne

how many goals did you get from free kicks?
If they were legitimate, does it matter?

Maybe your players should work harder to not give away free kicks. Maybe your side should've figured out a way to prevent us getting 71 inside 50's.

It's easy for your coach, your players and your supporters to shift blame onto someone else. Unfortunately, doing so doesn't rectify the problems present in your side that have lead to you starting the season 0-2 and caused you to lose a finals game by 100 points last year.

i agree, however it doesn't change the fact that they got a lot more goals from frees

I am not sure on the stat, but which frees were not there, even the last one is a free and a 50 plenty of times, if its there has to be paid. Was a great game and i know when you are on norths end you look at things like umpiring because it just sucks to lose the game. But the umpires didnt throw away a 6 goal advantage, if geelong kick straight its a bigger loss, if anything lucky to end up close

It was comical but this is BF remember, Brad mentions it and its sooking cos they lost, Chris mentions it and its an obvious logical call because they won.

Also manboob , its INTENTS AND PURPOSES mate! Theres no such thing as an intensive purpose.... You're a fellow Cat so I wont give you shit for it though :p
I know I know I was referencing a "pacific" post above :p

i agree, however it doesn't change the fact that they got a lot more goals from frees
We did get a number of them - especially in the first half - but they were there (the tug on Hawkins' jumper, Selwood and Lonergan being dealt with in the marking contest, etc).

I was in the Geelong Social Club who were being filthy at the umpires like it was on special at the local Harris Scarfe. I didn't get it - I thought that the umpires did ok today, no-one really got the bad end of the stick.

Great, we'll get another Scott whinge after the match
Give your backsides a go you blokes. That decision in the wet when it was desperate and close is NOT HOW GAMES ARE MEANT TO BE WON. They are won by players contesting and fighting desperately for the footy.
These prancing ding bats and their soft seated pea brains like Bartlett in the rules committee giving them all the tiggy touchwood crap they can find to confuse and stuff up a match is beyond enjoyment of a close match.
All it does is make people angry and frustrated.
Yes Geelong had the ball in its forward zone, but it was raining slippery and the so called offending player had no other choice but to tackle , RIGHTLY SO ITS FOOTY, but this turd of an official decides to use no discretion whatsoever in a totally different set up of conditions. It was a scrap the ball should have been bounced , but the half brain inflames the situation because the rules are grey and the inflames someone else and decides to give a 50 metre as well.
Well the dip stick may as well have kicked it himself. Footy. Gee wiz I went to Subi today I watched our game it was good , yes we won , but I can tell you I saw two 50's given to each team during that game , that I still don't know what for, to either sides.
I had my two sons there they couldn't figure either , some fans sit and look bewildered but just put up with rubbish perceived, infringements by confused umpires. How can people see the game and see their team get crucified by half wit umps that never played the game in wet /dry or windy conditions and have no idea of the situation changes.

Now before you call me a whinging whining mongrel , what do you think a coach would do if his defender didn't try to stop an apponant getting away and just let him go.
To me its getting to the point where defenders can barely approach a forward without getting freed against him.
The worst thing is this, sometimes you see the umpire give a free and then some you see him let it go, and they are the same thing!!!!!
If know one else sees that , then your all blind. Or I'm going mad.

Now before you call me a whinging whining mongrel , what do you think a coach would do if his defender didn't try to stop an apponant getting away and just let him go.
To me its getting to the point where defenders can barely approach a forward without getting freed against him.
The worst thing is this, sometimes you see the umpire give a free and then some you see him let it go, and they are the same thing!!!!!
If know one else sees that , then your all blind. Or I'm going mad.

1) He'd be very unhappy.

2) The Bartel free was clearly there....then Firrito made the error....again!

3) You're a "whinging whining mongrel still got a chip on your shoulder" Hawk supporter.

Did I do it right?

1) He'd be very unhappy.

2) The Bartel free was clearly there....then Firrito made the error....again!

3) You're a "whinging whining mongrel still got a chip on your shoulder" Hawk supporter.

Did I do it right?
I knew I was a whinger, well wait until September then you'll really see me whinging.
How would that be a Hawks v Cats GF. I don't think I could stand the stress.

Yes you did it right.

I knew I was a whinger, well wait until September then you'll really see me whinging.
How would that be a Hawks v Cats GF. I don't think I could stand the stress.

Yes you did it right.

You and me both buddy!

We'd both be in a home having beautiful nurses wiping dribble off our chins.......hmmm.....may be worth it. :thumbsu:

Round 2, 2013: Geelong v North Melbourne