Review Round 6, 2018 - GWS vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against GWS?

Time to make a statement Fagan.

Zorko doesn't deserve a place in the team. Neither does Lester.

Kids battling against men, we will be a very good team.

Our defence was amazing, Gardiner, Robbo and Harris have taken monumental strides forward this year.

Someone answer the question what does hipwood offer ?

-Drops almost every mark
-Outmarked by players 20cm smaller than hipwood
-no footy IQ

gone from his biggest fan at the start of the season thinking he was gonna be a coleman winner in a few years to wanting him dropped, zero development from him this season. Also anyone have stats on how many marks he has dropped this year?

Someone answer the question what does hipwood offer ?

-Drops almost every mark
-Outmarked by players 20cm smaller than hipwood
-no footy IQ

gone from his biggest fan at the start of the season thinking he was gonna be a coleman winner in a few years to wanting him dropped, zero development from him this season. Also anyone have stats on how many marks he has dropped this year?
He missed preseason with illness mate. He hasn't had a chance to improve off of last season

Ugh, I almost hate that I can find a ton of positives in a game that we lost by 30+, but:
  • Andrews and Gardiner immense. Anyone who hasn't let up on their criticism of Gardiner should probably watch out, because he's coming up to spoil you.
  • Rayner and Bailey both showed why they went top 15 in the draft, and I love that Bailey wasn't afraid to take the game on.
  • Berry and Cluggs both work so hard, and you can tell they're both benefiting from a huge pre-season. Both of them managed to hold their own in several contests they would have been pushed out of easily last year.
  • Welcome back Beams and Rich. (Oh and welcome back to the midfield after last week M Robbo).

Names I have on my sheet - Andrews, Robinson, Robertson, Beams, Witherden, Rayner, Gardiner, Berry. Ticks for them. I thought McInerney had a decent debut, presented and made some efforts. If not for the maroon on his guernsey he would have bagged a half dozen goals from free kicks.

Those misses in the first quarter broke us pretty comprehensively though.

If Zorko is to play next week he needs a tagging role to do.

Time to make a statement Fagan.

Zorko doesn't deserve a place in the team. Neither does Lester.

Kids battling against men, we will be a very good team.

Our defence was amazing, Gardiner, Robbo and Harris have taken monumental strides forward this year.

Zorks might get a little reprieve in that he's coming up against a team that doesn't generally tag very hard. The hardest tags Bucks has implemented has been Callum Brown who rotates through the mids and forwards and I'm willing to bet he starts against Rich.
Zorko might get a chance to work himself back into form. Would surely be his last chance for redemption before being dropped though.

I fear Zorks is going to be this years scapegoat. So, in my contrarian way, I'm going to stick up for him.

He's not the biggest problem right now. He's just one of our usually more visible players, which is why he's going to get 90% of the heat. Like I said, he needs to settle down and focus his energy better. He's a target now, he's got to learn to live with it and when he does...well, I'm glad I'm a Lions fan is all I'll say!

Still, it's really hard as a supporter at the moment. We can see where the wins will come from, the pieces are all there, it's just getting them all to work together well that's now the challenge. I reckon by the end of the season we'll be seeing huge improvements, but right now it SUCKS.

Also, the umpires can go and get stuffed.

Went with Robbo and Beams for their great games; Robbo played well on the inside and Beams was good on the outside and kicked that goal.

Went with Berry for his effort.

And Dizzy and Andrews who were phenomenal.

Time to make a statement at the selection table.

I’d go with out; Lester, Taylor, Zorko and OMc (for structure reasons only).
In; Hodge, CBeams, Keays and one of Bell/Bewick/Bastinac

Hopefully NRobbo isn’t suspended

I went for Andrews, Gardner, Beams, Robinson and Bailey for encouragement, showed some good signs.

I have never been a fan of Lester and nothing he has shown this season has changed my mind, larger turning circle than the Titanic, nowhere near consistent enough, needs to join the likes of Bewick, Bell and Bastinac out the door, at their age they should be setting a great example for the youngsters but the youngsters are showing them up.

We don't seem quite as "gelled" as a team like we were last year.

Something terribly wrong with Zorks, that needs to be sorted quick smart.....for his sake and ours.

I just feel numb right now......but I suppose it could've been a lot lot worse.

Well the boys have lets the club down again. I guess they can all go back to posting Instagram selfies or whatever the hell else it is they do besides practicing how to accurately kick a ball

I went for Andrews, Gardner, Beams, Robinson and Bailey for encouragement, showed some good signs.

I have never been a fan of Lester and nothing he has shown this season has changed my mind, larger turning circle than the Titanic, nowhere near consistent enough, needs to join the likes of Bewick, Bell and Bastinac out the door, at their age they should be setting a great example for the youngsters but the youngsters are showing them up.

Exact same but Berry over Bailey for me. Thought he was so far and away our best in the second half, particularly that 3d quarter.

Well the boys have lets the club down again. I guess they can all go back to posting Instagram selfies or whatever the hell else it is they do besides practicing how to accurately kick a ball

Dude, every footyplayer has an instagram. Ours are likely no more or less active than any other team. I don't think social media use, which is poisonous, is the edge our opposition have on our guys.

I'm not going to remember anything about this game in about two weeks.

Weeks? I’m hoping to expunge that shit within 2 hours. Very ordinary game to watch. Wondering if winning AA selection is messing with Zorks head. He needs to get his shit together.

Game was really poor quality, but I guess it's not the worst result.

Backline was good. Robinson and Beams were good.

Zorko's biggest problem isn't that he keeps getting tagged out of the game, his biggest problem is that when he does he gets frustrated, stops tackling, stops running and stops being the leader we need.
Yep spot on. Great player but he can be a prat. Bad example. His set shot at the end was petulant. He needs to set a better example as a leader.

Review Round 6, 2018 - GWS vs. Brisbane Lions