News Royce Hart on Open Mike

Please someone provide a stream for us expats to see this
Ivecasked them on twitter if there is a way for people overseas to view it, hopefully I get a response...

Wish I saw him play. If I really reach I can go far back as to remembering him at CHF in one of his final games with old woman behind me commenting that Royce cant move anymore.

In the old days where knee injuries would have ramifications on life after football, I wonder how he has gone with his knees. He was given a knee replacement by club some years ago.

Lee Walker said today that after four he is still mobile at 40. He had them done in the nineties.

Mike likes a bit of controversy and I cant remember where he has gone for a pure football interview where there have been no hiccups. Only one I can think of with Royce is his ill fated coaching stint with the Bulldogs where he gave away Stoneham to the Bombers.

Dont think Royce loses much sleep over that.

Have a look at Royce trying to pick up the ball at 0.49. Knees really stole him from us.

so many stars of the game in that line up should have won more flags than 1980

He's been through the ringer to be honest, physically and emotionally and like all it happens to has not come through some of life's challenges unscathed. A proud man still, hope that is what comes across. The day I spent at his place a few years back going through his memorabilia collection after a barbie will stay with me for a long long time.

Yeah i guessed that may have been the case. Mike isnt interested in going over a stellar career on his interviews and I guessed there was something there for him to inquire about.

That Steven (???) Baker (saints thug, think ive fluffed his first name) got a gig illustrates that there needs to be hardship or controversy.

Can you elaborate as to your time with him. Might not need to watch it on Monday if you do a good job. :)

so many stars of the game in that line up should have won more flags than 1980

Yeah I dont really remember that era leading up to 1980 but in 1977 we up with Hawthorn who were preliminary finalists that year and premiers the year before and after I think.

Maybe the old old timers can fill us in as to why we didnt get there. Did the Pitura deal knock the stuffing out of us.

That vid shows some interesting things I wasnt totally aware of.

Pitura did show something in at least one game.
We used to win the close ones.
Mick Malthouse wasnt always number 7. Carter had it before him.
That guy Robbie Lamb had skills
Cloke once had no moustache
Bartletts hair recession was mainly between 77-80
Raines was a star as far back as 77. I always thought he came into prominence around the time he was given number 4.

we kept changing coaches
pitura was a real bad deal
royce was shot butch done his knee (i thought he was going to be as good as hart)
and when the like of jess, weightman, raines, cloke and wood where stars it all imploded

Though I don't follow Tigers I remember RH as a champ and will be watching

Many forget he was only 187 cm playing in a key forward role

Some guys who played with him, including Sheedy and Hunt, praise him as a player but are less complimentary of him as a bloke.

I'll be interested to see if Mike touches on this

Wish I saw him play. If I really reach I can go far back as to remembering him at CHF in one of his final games with old woman behind me commenting that Royce cant move anymore.

In the old days where knee injuries would have ramifications on life after football, I wonder how he has gone with his knees. He was given a knee replacement by club some years ago.

Lee Walker said today that after four he is still mobile at 40. He had them done in the nineties.

Mike likes a bit of controversy and I cant remember where he has gone for a pure football interview where there have been no hiccups. Only one I can think of with Royce is his ill fated coaching stint with the Bulldogs where he gave away Stoneham to the Bombers.

Dont think Royce loses much sleep over that.

Have a look at Royce trying to pick up the ball at 0.49. Knees really stole him from us.

Tigers are revvin' in 77.
I remember that was our slogan I think.
Aah the old ABC commentators.That's Doug Heywood.I missed Royce's time at Tigerland.
I was a Rioli,Disco,Jess and Flea worshipper.KB too of course.
I remember my dad getting the '74 Sun with Richmond's premiership on the front and my first Tiger hero was Sheeds but I never really had the interest of the game back then as a youngster as I was into Led Zep and drumming back then hehe.
True Story. My aunty worked at Royce's clothing shop in Brunswick and she tells me Royce saved her from getting shot by a burglar who came in firing wanting the till money.

Anyway,so many stories about him from Tigers in the social club.Wish I had seen him play as he was one of the all time greats.Those late 60's early 70s teams are mythical and larger than life to me with some truly awesome players that still are in the game today like Sheeds,Balme and even Hafey as coach who follows the grass roots game all the time now and spreads a positivity to all people of all walks of life love him.

Never forget how great this proud and mighty club is.

And still is now.
UP THE MIGHTY TIGERS!

Let's hope our new cubs create a new Tiger era we can talk about for the youngsters.

Let's be honest Mike Sheahan has done a terrific job with his show.Must Watch TV imho.
Gripping and you can relieve all the great moments of the past of these great players.

Aah Footy love it!

Greatest player I have ever seen play the great game.

So far ahead of his time as a player, just wish the medical procedures we have now were available in his time. Would have been an 8 time premiership player rather than 4 and captain of 6.

Still have not forgiven that Hawthorn flog Norm Bussell :mad:
Yes a true champion fond memories of the great man.

He actually had a Bottle Shop in Victoria Parade -around late 70s early 80s -i can remember going in there a couple of times -he was very stern Royce-no nonsense -totally opposite to Sheedy -who would have a yack to anyone in the street.

Yeah I dont really remember that era leading up to 1980 but in 1977 we up with Hawthorn who were preliminary finalists that year and premiers the year before and after I think.

Maybe the old old timers can fill us in as to why we didnt get there. Did the Pitura deal knock the stuffing out of us.

That vid shows some interesting things I wasnt totally aware of.

Pitura did show something in at least one game.
We used to win the close ones.
Mick Malthouse wasnt always number 7. Carter had it before him.
That guy Robbie Lamb had skills
Cloke once had no moustache
Bartletts hair recession was mainly between 77-80
Raines was a star as far back as 77. I always thought he came into prominence around the time he was given number 4.

It was the recession he had to have.

Don't know a great deal about Royce (before my time) but some people have told me he was/could/should have been even more of a legend than he is had injuries not slowed him down.

Yeah i guessed that may have been the case. Mike isnt interested in going over a stellar career on his interviews and I guessed there was something there for him to inquire about.

That Steven (???) Baker (saints thug, think ive fluffed his first name) got a gig illustrates that there needs to be hardship or controversy.

Can you elaborate as to your time with him. Might not need to watch it on Monday if you do a good job. :)

To be honest 1980, I'd rather not. Royce is a very private man still a very proud one. It would be pretty average of me to give some open Internet forum a window into his life or how I have preceived it over the years. Suffice to say it was very sad that he couldnt make the recent Tommy Hafey Club day for Tassie Tigers at Punt Rd, it was awesome but somehow still lesser without him. I remember getting the day off school in 1966 to got to the AFL National Carnival at North Hobart Oval to see him, Stewie, Doc Baldock all strut their stuff. Shame they were all playing for the Vics in those days before SOO!

Im not sure how much bigger legend than CHF in the AFL Team of the Century you can get

I think (from what I understand from what people have told me) he should be mentioned alongside the absolute greatest of the greats as one of the very very best to play the game. Today, you normally hear guys like Matthews, Barassi etc regularly listed as the best to play the game. Think that's the kind of status/reputation/profile Hart should have within the football community.

any body that watched royce play would have him in that group matthews and barassi coaching media has kept there names up there harts football was at least on level terms.

To be honest 1980, I'd rather not. Royce is a very private man still a very proud one. It would be pretty average of me to give some open Internet forum a window into his life or how I have preceived it over the years. Suffice to say it was very sad that he couldnt make the recent Tommy Hafey Club day for Tassie Tigers at Punt Rd, it was awesome but somehow still lesser without him. I remember getting the day off school in 1966 to got to the AFL National Carnival at North Hobart Oval to see him, Stewie, Doc Baldock all strut their stuff. Shame they were all playing for the Vics in those days before SOO!

Yep fair enough TT. Just meant any anecdotes about Richmond that he would tell the world if he was more accessible. Wouldnt want someone to betray someone on this forum.

any body that watched royce play would have him in that group matthews and barassi coaching media has kept there names up there harts football was at least on level terms.

Think that's a good point - guys like KB and Hart were before my time so maybe are not as well regarded amongst younger people than the likes of Barassi and Matthews who's presence in the media maybe allows them to remain at the forefront of people's minds.

I think to some degree, KB is maybe more known now (at least by some opposition fans who never saw him play) for his strong richmond hype generation :D

Think that's a good point - guys like KB and Hart were before my time so maybe are not as well regarded amongst younger people than the likes of Barassi and Matthews who's presence in the media maybe allows them to remain at the forefront of people's minds.

I think to some degree, KB is maybe more known now (at least by some opposition fans who never saw him play) for his strong richmond hype generation :D

Both of hart and KB's football ability stacks up to any body that played the game in my life time

Can't wait to see Roycey baby on Monday night. I recently recalled with a fellow Tiger from Tasmania of my childhood memories of Royce, from the highs of him coming onto the ground late in the game to rapturous applause to kick a couple of goals and win the game for us it felt like he did that every week! To the day he announced his retirement in 1977 which I found out whilst at Arden street behind the goals reading the article in the footy record, such a small article but boy a day I will never forget (not like the media frenzy that occurs today!) and I shed a few tears right there, who was going to save the day for us now I thought! Sadly my tassie friend tells me Royce has had a tough few years with relationships and too much liking for the Sav blanc. Lets hope Mondays episode focuses on his champion qualities and the joy he brought to so many of us during that era!

Nice post "Royceybaby, wow he looks young in your avatar, great pic ! Still find it hard to believe sometimes that he was Dusty's height :eek:. Just seemed like he was taking off after hitting a trampoline, sublime :thumbsu: ..........So much talent, but worked his butt off for the club/team too, great club man. But really can't add anything that hasn't already been said...........

It was good to see Royce and from a Richmond point of view it was good to watch.

Mike was taking a certain angle but Royce wasnt biting.

Royce seems to accept all things that come his way too well for it to be riveting for non Richmond supporters.

Accepted his retirement, loss of captaincy, bad knees at 25, coaching time at Footscray and medical conditions too well for Mike to really get his 'Once he was the biggest name and then it all went wrong' angle.

There might have been some bad blood with Sheeds but he wasnt going to bag Sheeds regardless of any feeling.

I enjoyed it but does anyone get the feeling Mike was a bit dissapointed with what he got. Its more duds like Steve Baker who are going to give him that to justify being interviewed.

News Royce Hart on Open Mike