• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Rumours

Any signings from any of the southern clubs which actually have a chance of winning the flag? Clarence, Glenorchy and Nth Hobart...

Its a bit early still. Sounds like the only activity so far is Burnie throwing the council & AFLTas money around. Also TBRR recons big signings (read$$$$) at Clarence. So at this stage is it Burnie V Clarence GF?:eek:

I just saw on the Crows forum that Ian Callinan may be picked up by them as a mature age rookie. A bit bloody late but ggod luck to the little guy. I hope he does well & shoves it up those other recruiters who passed him over too many times. I loved watching him at the Devils. We missed watching him although we saw some Central District games on the ABC iview site. Good Luck Nutter

Here are some rumours that have been fliying around from the Sunny end of the state...

Devonport:
- Trent McCrossen to Ulverstone
- Clinton Viney to Easy Devonport

Launceston:
- Andre Miar moving to Melbourne
- Attempted to sign Crawford from Nth Launceston but he stayed there

South Launceston
- Mitch Thorpe in, his brother Cody and Beau are chances to leave North Launceston too for more opportunity
- A number of players from NTFA clubs training

North Launceston
- Robert Gilligan back
- Geoff Mohr in
- Some big bloke from QLD who was on an AFL list in
- Even more good juniors in - Littlejohn working wonders

Has anyone got anything else? I am sick of reading about which 2nd rate blokes Lauderdale and Hobart are after....

North Launceston
- Robert Gilligan back
- Geoff Mohr in
- Some big bloke from QLD who was on an AFL list in
- Even more good juniors in - Littlejohn working wonders

Has anyone got anything else? I am sick of reading about which 2nd rate blokes Lauderdale and Hobart are after....[/quote]

The bloke North are signing is Paul O'Shea, spent 2-3 years on the Doggies list, is about 6 foot 4 and can play anywhere. Massive pick up for them.

Its a bit early still. Sounds like the only activity so far is Burnie throwing the council & AFLTas money around. Also TBRR recons big signings (read$$$$) at Clarence. So at this stage is it Burnie V Clarence GF?:eek:

maybe it is about time AFL Tas had a serious think about where the league is headed. If the big clubs continue to get more big name players what will happen to the little clubs. Burnie and Devonport are being given massive financial injections because they are single club city's but if you look at the south you would have to say Hobart and North Hobart would be the 2 most at risk clubs in the whole competition. Their recruiting zones are far removed from where they exist, Hobart with the Channel and Kingston (who don't want anything to do with Hobart) and Nth are the huon. To get a new recruit to Nth from say Cygnet is very hard due to travel etc. Glenorchy and Clarence are laughing and Clarence got the best kids from Kingston from under AFL Tas noses due to Blighty's connection at the time and let them pilfer Hobarts recruiting in the first year, look at those boys at Clarence and what they achieved and put them into Hobarts team??

Heard a rumour that Hobart in all likely hood will not be at the TCA in two years time, according to someone at Footy Tasmania (Off the record remark)
would be piffle, if Hobart left TCA they would not exist! the only way that would happen is if they joined with Nth?? and go to the home of footy as one club called the Hobart Demons.

The ground is to be redeveloped so wouldn't make sense in any case, that is actually something that those dopes at AFL Tas couldn't dictate!

would be piffle, if Hobart left TCA they would not exist! the only way that would happen is if they joined with Nth?? and go to the home of footy as one club called the Hobart Demons.

The ground is to be redeveloped so wouldn't make sense in any case, that is actually something that those dopes at AFL Tas couldn't dictate!

Only reporting what was told to me after a discussion, someone had with AFL Tasmania about thre long term future off the ground and the future of the HFC, the talk was of them ideally in the eyes of AFL Tas heading south. Only what I heard second hand. also AFL tas would rather have any redevolment by the council done at North Hobart.

sorry mate but you cant tell me junior curran would cut it at TSL level. he got smashed in the grand final by carver, he is a yard too slow and not good enough overhead for the higher level. Blacky is slowing down, prob could still handle a key defensive role but his body is starting to break down on him.

as for lampkin, you have got to be kidding. dodges have some good talent, kane waller is a prime example, but i think you certainly overestimate their ability to have an impact at a higher level.

most would be bottom third/fringe players IMO. hobart nabbed a few sfl blokes last year, todd willing did well and jayde young was pretty good, but the others struggled BIG time.

I love it when big heads from statewide clubs give no credit to any players that play SFL or Old Scholars. What about a bloke by the name of Jem Howe that hobart recruited last year from dodges how would you rate his year? Would also like to hear your opinion on Trent Staden from Clarence (ex sorell)

Hobart > SFL

I have said it before I will say it again Hobart FC should simply swallow some pride and play in the SFL.

Its so obvious what is on the cards, and that is AFL TAS, and dare I say they are on the money with this one, would prefer to have a team playing out of the Kingborough area. Speak to many TSL players and they all agree that ideally the comp should be 8 teams anyway.

So, with Hobart unable to get an abundance of junior teams up and happening, its ground (TCA) not suitable for TSL, its WIN/LOSS in the first 2 years of the new comp poor and so on and so on, it the HFC Board, should get out now before it is forced out.

Playing two games at the new fantastic facility near Kingborough Sports Stadium next year will only lay a greater foundation for a TSL club to exist at that venue.

And Kingborough FC in no way will want to share the ground.

The word is AFL TAS at the end 2013 when the 5 year licences expire, will be implemeting a performance criteria and those who haven't won X amount of games collectivly between u18's and seniors will be under serious pressure to keep their licence.

What is the smart move Hobart FC?

Kingpin, I await your reply mate.

Re: Hobart > SFL

Well Hobart will be in the sh*t if Kingborough make it. Seeing as Hobart will be left with a zone of 10-20 thousand people.

Only way I can see them stay in is if they increase their zone from davey street to Liverpool street which would see them include South hobart and most of the CBD into the zone. They would have to strengthen relationships with the Sandy Bay-Taroona area. And I would leave the huon valley to be a area where Hobart and North Hobart are able to recruit.

Otherwise I can't really see two inner city teams working in this SWL.

I have said it before I will say it again Hobart FC should simply swallow some pride and play in the SFL.

Its so obvious what is on the cards, and that is AFL TAS, and dare I say they are on the money with this one, would prefer to have a team playing out of the Kingborough area. Speak to many TSL players and they all agree that ideally the comp should be 8 teams anyway.

So, with Hobart unable to get an abundance of junior teams up and happening, its ground (TCA) not suitable for TSL, its WIN/LOSS in the first 2 years of the new comp poor and so on and so on, it the HFC Board, should get out now before it is forced out.

Playing two games at the new fantastic facility near Kingborough Sports Stadium next year will only lay a greater foundation for a TSL club to exist at that venue.

The word is AFL TAS at the end 2013 when the 5 year licences expire, will be implemeting a performance criteria and those who haven't won X amount of games collectivly between u18's and seniors will be under serious pressure to keep their licence.

Kingpin, I await your reply mate.

They might well have to drop back if they continue to not be able to run the club properly.
It's almost 2011 and the same mistakes continue to happen unfortunately, the majority of supporters are kept in the dark like mushrooms while certain clique groups within the place act like a secret society dictating everything.
Membership is virtually non-existant, crowd numbers fell away hugely from that first game to our final one, communication within the club is also non-existant. It's a bloody mess.

I'm as fiery as anyone when it comes to defending our right to be in the TSL, but I have to say that if the way things are headed continue, then we'll be very lucky to keep our place in years to come.
Hobart is nowhere near professional enough, it's as plain as day.
I said at the time when Baker announced FOUR games at Kingston in 2011 that that was the beginning of the end of Hobart, and I'm not swayed by that opinion either despite glossy newsletters stating to the contrary, spin etc.
I don't particular trust many of them running the club not to send us off to Kingston and end up amalgamated with them - I know I'm certainly not the only person in the club who shares that belief either - far from it.
If they do go down there they might as well be called the Kingborough Tigers because almost no Hobart supporter will have any involvement with it.

In retrospect, the club got itself on an even keel between 1999-2001 but has gradually fallen backwards in most key areas since then through arrogant and lazy management (that goes for those prior to Baker as well).

2011 will be a very pivotal year. I still think we should've stitched up a deal making it worthwhile and moved to North Hobart but that's a lost opportunity.

PS: Lance Spaulding has apparently quit the club citing work reasons for his departure, so I was told the other day.

They might well have to drop back if they continue to not be able to run the club properly.
It's almost 2011 and the same mistakes continue to happen unfortunately, the majority of supporters are kept in the dark like mushrooms while certain clique groups within the place act like a secret society dictating everything.
Membership is virtually non-existant, crowd numbers fell away hugely from that first game to our final one, communication within the club is also non-existant. It's a bloody mess.

I'm as fiery as anyone when it comes to defending our right to be in the TSL, but I have to say that if the way things are headed continue, then we'll be very lucky to keep our place in years to come.
I said at the time when Baker announced FOUR games at Kingston in 2011 that that was the beginning of the end of Hobart, and I'm not swayed by that opinion either despite glossy newsletters stating to the contrary, spin etc.
I don't particular trust many of them running the club not to send us off to Kingston and end up amalgamated with them - I know I'm certainly not the only person in the club who shares that belief either - far from it.
If they do go down there they might as well be called the Kingborough Tigers because almost no Hobart supporter will have any involvement with it.

In retrospect, the club got itself on an even keel between 1999-2001 but has gradually fallen backwards in most key areas since then through arrogant and lazy management (that goes for those prior to Baker as well).

2011 will be a very pivotal year. I still think we should've stitched up a deal making it worthwhile and moved to North Hobart but that's a lost opportunity.

PS: Lance Spaulding has apparently quit the club citing work reasons for his departure, so I was told the other day.

So Kingpin what are your views on the club supported by the council putting Match standard lights up at the TCA?, would it bring any new members to the club or punters through the gates?
Would the money be better spent on improving other amenities at the Ground?
I could not see many games be played at night during winter. (I can remember as a kid in the 70”s going to Greyhounds with my Grandfather bloody cold at the best of times)

Have heard much of the same stuff from the club and that the coach is always the last to find out anything or in many cases not even consulted:confused: there isn't an even arrangement in the league which doesn't help Hobart but I don't think many people want to play there either due to the rumours and talk around how the club is run. There is susbstance to much of it from what I have been told but the playing side of things and coaching is in real good order. They have had lots of new faces at the 5 sessions to date, in fact they had around 35 on the track Last Monday and only about 10 were senior squad, the rest were newbies and some u/18's whom are yet to start. The council will redevelop the ground because otherwise it will be condemned as in many places it is in very poor condition, the ground isn't the problem it is the clubs reputation that hurts them and of course poor planning by the clubs board leaving things to the last minute and apparently a President whom is so far out of touch of the club it isn't funny.

Heard from a player that Trent Harvey is back in training and his testing results first night back were his best for 7 years, pretty increadible for a bloke who has come back from an achillies tear. Saw another bloke there on Monday night whom I hadn't seen before and he blitzed the time trials, apparently beat perennial winner David Clark's times, asked a mate and they didn't know his name but apparently is an onballer with a huge engine and can play ok as well, one day one of these no names may be a jet similar to guys like Green, Standen, Riley etc from the roos?

You reckon Hobart is in trouble. Hugh problems up at the coastal magpies. Erroll Bourne quit his post last night.

I love it when big heads from statewide clubs give no credit to any players that play SFL or Old Scholars. What about a bloke by the name of Jem Howe that hobart recruited last year from dodges how would you rate his year? Would also like to hear your opinion on Trent Staden from Clarence (ex sorell)

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Exactly.

Yes undoubtably AFLTAS would want Hobart to play out of the new Kingborough facility in the near feature, but it wouldn't be in Hobart's best interest to leave the city. The football department knows that the Hutchins/Sandy Bay boys are the ones that are the most important to success in the future, and you can just see AFLTAS re-drawing the development zones if there was a permanent move to Kingborough so that Hobart would have to give up their city zones to North Hobart for their current Huon and Cygnet zones.

The feeling is so strong in fact I would predict that for most if a merger had to occured it wouldn't be with Kingorough but rather the Sandy Bay Juniors and feature games would be looked at playing at Queenborough as oppossed to Kingborough.

I don't see why you can't have 2 clubs representing the city of Hobart when you have 3 representing a much smaller Launceston.

The TCA in it's current shape does not come up to TSL standards and it's a disgrace that people in authority have let this historic former international cricket ground to get in such a state. I have been told that luckily there are plans taking shape to improve the TCA as under the HCC's new plan for the Queens Domain they want to create an intergrated sports hub that takes in the aquatic centre, domain tennis court, TCA, the athletics centre and crossroads grounds. Also the reason why the the asbesos roof hasn't been replaced is because that could be the site of a new changeroom/bar/function room facility that would be used by the football club, cricket club and the hobart city band. The function centre would also be used by both the tennis and athletic centres as they both don't currently have the room available to hold apropriate corporate functions for their big events.

If Kingborough were let into the competetion then theoritically all southern TSL clubs would have to give up some of their recruiting zone whether that would actually happen is anyone's guess.

Hobart don't have a good relationship with the Kingborogh football club, but they do have a decent relationship with the Kingborough Junior Football Club, which can only be further strengthened by the fact that former Premiership winning under 16 Kingborough coach Brad Willis is now Hobart's under 23 coach. I have also heard that the junior and senior clubs down at Kingborough are quite seperate and don't have the greatest relationship.

2011 I agree is a pivotel year, if HFC don't make the finals on the field and changes off the field (which I'm lead to believe will happen) then they could be in some trouble in the following years.

Also Lance Spaulding hasn't quit the club, he has just indicated that due to work commitments he can't commit full-time as an assistant coach, he will still be involved but on a more limited basis, and to be fair due to his Mariner commitments last year he wasn't always able to be around the club.

The TCA in it's current shape does not come up to TSL standards and it's a disgrace that people in authority have let this historic former international cricket ground to get in such a state.
TCA is one of my favourite grounds in Australia. But I agree, the current state of the place isn't good.

Perfect location on the edge of the city, and awesome views of the mountains on one side and the water on the other. Imagine a half decent function room with 360 degree views, it'd be booked out every weekend! If only those in charge could get their act together and realise the potential of that ground.

As for Hobart, well they arguably had one of the more exciting young teams in the competition this year. They had their ups and downs but if they can keep the majority of those guys at the club, and get a couple of experienced players into the place, I can't see the doom and gloom some of you are predicting.

So Kingpin what are your views on the club supported by the council putting Match standard lights up at the TCA?, would it bring any new members to the club or punters through the gates?
Would the money be better spent on improving other amenities at the Ground?
I could not see many games be played at night during winter. (I can remember as a kid in the 70”s going to Greyhounds with my Grandfather bloody cold at the best of times)

Mate - I don't know - maybe if the senior team is winning games it might help things along a fair bit.
In the very early/very late part of the season it'll probably bring in extra supporters to the games but I couldn't see too many games being held mid-season because of the cold either - brings back memories of training nights up there in the TFL days and the dogs days, pre-Elwick.

Membership fell by about 40-45% after leaving the TFL and really seems to have hit a brick wall since the club became the Lions back in 2005 for a few years there.
They'd be struggling for 200 members even if you added all the current players, life members and regular supporters buying memberships onto the same members list currently.
Getting people to sign up gets harder every year (like it does for all clubs).
Personally I think there's a number of other improvements that need doing up there before lights, such as the main stand (terrible), both changerooms (poor), playing surface (not up to scratch), scoreboard (too small), toilets (not enough of them), kiosks (require modern upgrades), sealed carparking and lighting, the clubrooms haven't changed in four decades etc etc.
I've heard when they ripped down the roof above the old betting ring at a cost of about $270k that they want to build a proper function room there for the cricket, footy and band rooms (multi-purpose facility) so you'd be looking at all upgrades up there to be for both cricket and football and other commmunity projects.
Lights would be good certainly, but in the future once many of the other problems have been addressed.

footyman said:
As for Hobart, well they arguably had one of the more exciting young teams in the competition this year. They had their ups and downs but if they can keep the majority of those guys at the club, and get a couple of experienced players into the place, I can't see the doom and gloom some of you are predicting.
Another year of experience will do them the world of good, as well as a complete pre-season for some of them that didn't get one last season.
With a few good recruits in there mixed in with the youngsters it could be a solid year, one thing the club does have a huge problem with however is depth. That's no secret.
I've given up on following what's going on off the ground with what's happening with our junior teams etc, seems to be very on again/off again, the whole saga.
My personal belief is if there is any big danger to the HFC it will be caused by off-field problems rather than on-field...

Duff TV said:
Kingborough Tigers won't have any say in it.
After all, Hobart president Philip Baker met with representitives from the Kingborough Council and AFLTas without anyone at Hobart's knowledge and Kingborough Tigers had no representitive even present at the meetings.
It's not about the footy club down there, it's about the Council securing higher ranked football fixtures for their brand new facility.
They eventually want AFL practice matches played there as well.
My fear has always been the club going down there and being infiltrated by outsiders with a vested interest (much like the St Virgil's people did a few years ago) and all of a sudden you have a takeover from within on your hands and then the club is playing most of its home games there.

Duff TV said:
That will probably change 1,568 times from now until then.
Seriously, they change their mind as much as you or I change the socks and undies.
The criteria was NOT about games won, NOT about attendance figures and gate revenue but was about clubs remaining IN PROFIT (Wade's own words).
If the above scenario (in your example) is used then we would probably have to be demoted and so would South.
I get the feeling they want Hobart playing four games next season at the Twin Oval's and upping that in years to come.
Kingborough Tigers won't get a TSL License under their own steam - this was the very strong message we have been hearing.
Will Devonport come under scrutiny because of their miserable crowds, likewise Burnie? Likewise South?
Will Hobart being allegedly the 'strongest' club financially in the comp gain them a pardon for their poor on-field results?
Is Ulvie still on the agenda? Yes? No?

I don't think anyone knows anything. Talk about Chooklotto...

Duff TV said:
Smartest move for them is not to keep taking its fans and membership for fools or they'll keep losing them.
Be transparent. Make good, open decisions and make every person coming to the club or longtime fan feel like a welcome and valuable part of the club.
That's not always been the case in recent years.

PS: Hobart to the SFL means death. Look at the clown that's 2IC in it (Adams) - he'll do his best to keep us from going anywhere and he's already made that perfectly clear should we come back in..

Re:

Eroll is gone,
http://www.theadvocate.com.au/news/local/sport/football-australian-rules/brown-bourn-again-as-magpies-coach/1994044.aspx
http://www.examiner.com.au/news/local/sport/general/bourn-quits-as-devonport-coach/1994140.aspx
Is this a record in a resignation/sacking only a fortnight after signing a new contract?
WTF is it with all the politics on the coastal SWL teams, been going on for years .

If its not spin and there is a personal issue I wish Erroll all the best in the future.

Re:

Eroll is gone,
http://www.examiner.com.au/news/local/sport/general/bourn-quits-as-devonport-coach/1994140.aspx
Is this a record in a resignation/sacking only a fortnight after signing a new contract?
WTF is it with all the politics on the coastal SWL teams, been going on for years .

If its not spin and there is a personal issue I wish Erroll all the best in the future.

A problem at Devonport:eek:? No worries boys & girls, AFL tas will just throw more money at it. With Devonports new AFL paid manager they will just recruit AFL Tasmania's state assistant coach Brown. Both coastal clubs will now be 'managed' from Argyle street. Problem solved:D

TCA is one of my favourite grounds in Australia. But I agree, the current state of the place isn't good.

Perfect location on the edge of the city, and awesome views of the mountains on one side and the water on the other. Imagine a half decent function room with 360 degree views, it'd be booked out every weekend! If only those in charge could get their act together and realise the potential of that ground.

I agree the TCA is one of my favourite ground also, the first place I watched a TFL game in the late 60's and loved going there to watch the early shield games. Once the Greyhound track went it had huge potential to be upgraded, but alas that chance passed.
At the present moment both the HCC grounds do not have the potential to have an AFL standard size oval or meet Scot Wades SWL standard
http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2010/08/24/168021_afl.html

And I cannot see how they both could be expanded to meet this standard.

Rumours