• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Rumours

luke marshall 2 times premiership player and best and fairest at ulverstone will be heading to the dev pies as runner until his knee recovers then might think about pulling the boots back on, also going with him is the mercurial Shaun Conkie so things are looking up for the pies

Wow, Real big bonus for the Pies. Marshell is good player, would be getting on though. I guess with the Pies loses at the moment his experience would count.Conkie is a goal sneek and could serve in the midfield too Great player. They must respect Luty well. Orare they just heading over as runners / assistant coaches?

Justin Rodman to Devonport as well!

Something tells me that there is a real problem with the clubs on the nw coast.

It just seems very fragile the whole set up with burnie relying on council hand outs and both clubs being propped up by afl Tas.

Let's face it in the first 2 years of the comp b
oth clubs seem to have had big turn over of players.

Then again devonport surprised everyone with their performances but gee how will they go next season?

The coach who made it all happen had to reapply for his job and then in the end obviously had enough and walked.

So who is running devonport now and where will they be in 12 months?

Where will we all be in 12 months more the point.

Duffs ladder and win/loss
Clarence 15/3. Back to back to back
Glenorchy 14/4. Just not good enough. Averaged 3G to home games.
Launceston 13/5. There abouts again
Nth Launceston 11/7. 1 statewide flag in 19 years. Ouch
Nth Hobart 10/8 unpredictable as usual.
Hobart 7/11 should quietly slip back a level and keep it's idenity intact
South Launy 2/16 as above

Looking forward to hearing bunk bunks call on it all.

The problem as i see it on the North West coast is that they are over the top parochial. They would rather have the NWFU back to the detriment of giving their kids the chance to play statewide. There also seems to be a lot of cash flowing around in the other leagues (DFA, NWFA) which seems to pick off a lot of their really good players.

The problem of lower division clubs trying to 'pickoff' players applies everywhere. A lot of SFL clubs down here hardly bother with juniors, the just try to buy success. The OS dont develop anyone, they just hand out the cash:eek:
As far as Duffs ladder, its almost impossible to have 2 southern or 2 northern teams on top of the ladder at the end of the season, the split roster sees to that. Its a bit early & not having reserves sees the loss of some depth in clubs, so injury & illness may be a bigger factor this season. In 2010 both Clarence & North Hobart had good reserves depth. I havent heard much about how Clarence, North Hobart, Hobart, North Launy, Launy, of South Launy are looking with pre-season recruits or training. Lauderdale, Glenorchy, Burnie & D'port seem to be active one way or the other:D. I heard Zane Murphy trained down here with the Demons. But thats about all. Any other news? TBRR is pretty quiet, must be on holidays:rolleyes:

Something tells me that there is a real problem with the clubs on the nw coast.

It just seems very fragile the whole set up with burnie relying on council hand outs and both clubs being propped up by afl Tas.

Let's face it in the first 2 years of the comp b
oth clubs seem to have had big turn over of players.

Then again devonport surprised everyone with their performances but gee how will they go next season?

The coach who made it all happen had to reapply for his job and then in the end obviously had enough and walked.

So who is running devonport now and where will they be in 12 months?

Where will we all be in 12 months more the point.

Duffs ladder and win/loss
Clarence 15/3. Back to back to back
Glenorchy 14/4. Just not good enough. Averaged 3G to home games.
Launceston 13/5. There abouts again
Nth Launceston 11/7. 1 statewide flag in 19 years. Ouch
Nth Hobart 10/8 unpredictable as usual.
South Launy 2/16 as above

Looking forward to hearing bunk bunks call on it all.

There are few issues to clear up here Duff
Burnie DO NOT rely on Council handouts. The partnership with Burnie Sports and Events was in place 2 years before the TSL mark 2 commenced.
Its true Burnie and Devonport have had some problems off field but if you look at on field results in 2009 Burnie was on top of the ladder for most of the year before losing the pre-final by 3 points. They certainly had problems at the end of 2009 but the upshot of it all is that they have now got a very talented young group who will be very good next year with the injection of some terrific recruits. As for the stories about part of Laycocks payments being funded by AFL Tas it is simply not true.
Devonport made the finals last year and finished second this year so you must agree both clubs have been very competitive on the field.
If Devonport can arrest the loss of players and get behind the new coach they are certainly capable of making the five next year.
I dont know much about the funding from AFL Tas but I suppose it is some sort of recognition that Burnie and Devonport needed help in the administration area. If Burnie and Devonport left the TSL the league would no longer be a statewide league. AFL Tas are acutely aware of this and maybe thats another reason they may have offered additional funding. If any two teams from the North or South dropped out AFL Tas could still claim to have a statewide league. I think all clubs should get the same but you cant blame the coastal clubs for taking whats offered.
When the TSL started we were told all clubs would be treated equally but
the two Coastal teams are still poorly treated with finals allocations, for example Burnie having to play a "home" pre-final in Launceston last year.
As for your ladder, I agree Clarence will still be the team to beat and Glenorchy, Launceston and Burnie to fight it out for second and third spot with North Hobart the other side in the top five. I have heard North Launy have lost a few players with the biggest loss being Zane Murphy but on the other hand they have picked up a few as well so I think they will be pushing for a top five spot also. I expect Lauderdale to continue to improve under Darren Winter and hopefully Hobart and South Launy can also be better next year.

Duff TV said:
Glenorchy 14/4. Just not good enough.Averaged 3G to home games.
By hell they'd wanna hope so with the coin that's been shelled out!
You'd hope they do draw crowds like that because if that doesn't bring a crowd in to footy, nothing will anymore and that would be very sad.

Duff TV said:
Nth Launceston 11/7. 1 statewide flag in 19 years.
The old Robins have won 2 in fifteen years - 1995 and 1998.
It's North Hobart that last won a state level flag in 1992, given their level of success over the years, that's considered a very barron spell and getting close to their worst TFL flag drought ever.

Duff TV said:
Wouldn't work.
They'd be forced to change their identity again because of Kingborough and that'd be the end of Hobart - mark my words - finito.
Kingborough might have their new paddock but they're still not (and never, ever were) very professional as a club and it would be laughable if they got invited into the TSL, whilst two others were forced out and most people know it.
Not only that, but take a look at exactly who is General Manager of the SFL these days - Angus Adams. ;)
He won't be doing us any favours, he'll just be another Noel Morrison (but with his hands firmly inside his pockets).
Things might not be all that awesome now (we're a long, long way behind the top clubs), but things would be even worse if we followed your idea there.

PS: Hobart put in its submission to the Council recently in regards to lights at the TCA Ground, it was announced under the Council notices today in the paper for public comment/submissions.
Not doubt some whingeing 59-year old doggie-walker type who plays the flute and listens to ABC Classic will try and constantly shitcan the idea with constant objections, a bit like that stupid Joanne Marsh who constantly writes into the paper complaining about the lights at Bellerive Oval.

Rhys Mott signed with Glenorchy in today's Mercury and still chasing Reynolds.

Great for Glenorchy but is it great for competition when it appears certain clubs can ignore the salary cap or get dispensation to get around it?? Reynolds has knocked back a 3x increase in last seasons match payment with Devonport reportedly and has been offered 5x his last years match payments per game with Glenorchy ;) Now I am not saying this is legit but lets just say for arguement sake Reynolds was getting $150-250 per game last season, which you would think he was? His per game payment would be around $1k if finals included, that would amount to half the clubs salary cap, then there is Aker, Bowden, Mott, Crouch, Corbett, Spencer, Hunt, Bowring?? how does a club fit all these guys under the recognised salary cap?

Now just before people think I am Pie bashing I am not, maybe AFL Tas have to lift the cap because in 2010 $60K is too low:eek:

I just hope Hobart can catch the big fishes they are chasing and get the same dispensation that Glenorchy and Burnie have been given because if the big clubs keep getting bigger the small will just fade away and the comp will be a rubbish comp?

Rhys Mott signed with Glenorchy in today's Mercury and still chasing Reynolds.

Great for Glenorchy but is it great for competition when it appears certain clubs can ignore the salary cap or get dispensation to get around it?? Reynolds has knocked back a 3x increase in last seasons match payment with Devonport reportedly and has been offered 5x his last years match payments per game with Glenorchy ;) Now I am not saying this is legit but lets just say for arguement sake Reynolds was getting $150-250 per game last season, which you would think he was? His per game payment would be around $1k if finals included, that would amount to half the clubs salary cap, then there is Aker, Bowden, Mott, Crouch, Corbett, Spencer, Hunt, Bowring?? how does a club fit all these guys under the recognised salary cap?

Now just before people think I am Pie bashing I am not, maybe AFL Tas have to lift the cap because in 2010 $60K is too low:eek:

I just hope Hobart can catch the big fishes they are chasing and get the same dispensation that Glenorchy and Burnie have been given because if the big clubs keep getting bigger the small will just fade away and the comp will be a rubbish comp?

Reynolds was spotted in Hobart at the weekend dining with Glenorchy officials. He has been offerd a 25k package to play along with free rent up to the value of 15k. Good on Glenorchy for being able to get these players but really how do they keep them all under the salary cap. Interesting

How do you 'know' all this if your at Penguin? None of my old Glenorchy mates mentioned any of this. Anyway, I do know that Adrian Williams is back from Qld. Played at Redlands Club last 2 years, played mariners & Devils before that. A good key position pickup for north Hobart I reckon, & good to see some of the lads come back home.

salary cap

if the big clubs keep getting bigger the small will just fade away and the comp will be a rubbish comp?

I think you find the salary cap will be lifted to around 130K in the not too distant future.

Re: salary cap

if the big clubs keep getting bigger the small will just fade away and the comp will be a rubbish comp?

I think you find the salary cap will be lifted to around 130K in the not too distant future.

What club could afford anything like 130k? They get nothing for player payments from the AFL like they do in SA, WA, Qld etc. I wouldnt think too many of them could afford 100k, not with the crowds, or lack of them last year. Not having our own AFL team to help out the local comp is really stuffing us up.

They get nothing for player payments from the AFL like they do in SA, WA, Qld etc. I wouldnt think too many of them could afford 100k, not with the crowds, or lack of them last year. Not having our own AFL team to help out the local comp is really stuffing us up.

But I guess if they had a higher cap then the crowds would increase. I mean Glenorchys will go up a lot obviously with Aker. I think if the clubs could get a large enough cash injection from somewhere for one year so they could recruit some mainland and ex AFL recruits the crowd increases would cover the extra expenditure on player salary in the years after that. Meaning they could keep those players taken in the period when the cash injection is given. If that makes sense.

Cash injections dont just come from 'somewhere'. Also their arent 10 Akers that TSL clubs could pick up one each. I mean he's the biggest profile player to play in Tassie since Peter Hudson IMO. Glenorchy obviously have the balls to take a risk. What other clubs could take that risk? Its ok if you have your manager paid by AFL Tas or your income guaranteed by a council. But most of us wouldnt take that risk as it could end the club if it didnt work out. No we need some AFL money to filter down to ALL clubs so we can attract & keep our better players. Otherwise this league will go no where. Really we should be asking why do Hawthorn get away with not putting in for local footy. They are just financial leaches in Tasmania.

How do you 'know' all this if your at Penguin? None of my old Glenorchy mates mentioned any of this. Anyway, I do know that Adrian Williams is back from Qld. Played at Redlands Club last 2 years, played mariners & Devils before that. A good key position pickup for north Hobart I reckon, & good to see some of the lads come back home.

could be the peninsula power's key recruit lol, he did use to live in nubeena

Cash injections dont just come from 'somewhere'. Also their arent 10 Akers that TSL clubs could pick up one each. I mean he's the biggest profile player to play in Tassie since Peter Hudson IMO. Glenorchy obviously have the balls to take a risk. What other clubs could take that risk? Its ok if you have your manager paid by AFL Tas or your income guaranteed by a council. But most of us wouldnt take that risk as it could end the club if it didnt work out. No we need some AFL money to filter down to ALL clubs so we can attract & keep our better players. Otherwise this league will go no where. Really we should be asking why do Hawthorn get away with not putting in for local footy. They are just financial leaches in Tasmania.

I guess getting an extra $$$ coming from the AFL is the same as I said in the previous post.

Well AFL Tas are paying for managers at 2 or 3 clubs, nothing for players. Hawthorn put nothing into local footy whereas that doesnt happen in WA, SA, Vic, Qld. AFL money goes to help local clubs. So since Hawthorn were given the green light to suck in the money & give nothing back, what do you suggest?

Well the only way I see is to ask the AFL for a year for a rise in funding of around $700,000 to $1,000,000 and give it an equal share to all the clubs. The money can only be used for players. This means that the cap could go to 130-160 thousand $ a year. If the clubs are able to get players with the extra money that could increase corwds and revenue meaning the cap could stay at a higher level for years to come.

I mean with the increase in the tv rights deal for the AFL the commision would have enough for an increase surely.

It could be risky though for some clubs.

Well the only way I see is to ask the AFL for a year for a rise in funding of around $700,000 to $1,000,000 and give it an equal share to all the clubs. The money can only be used for players. This means that the cap could go to 130-160 thousand $ a year. If the clubs are able to get players with the extra money that could increase corwds and revenue meaning the cap could stay at a higher level for years to come.

I mean with the increase in the tv rights deal for the AFL the commision would have enough for an increase surely.

It could be risky though for some clubs.

I'm told that the AFL WILL NOT give money to Tassie clubs. EOS. That comes from a club official. The only money would have to come as part of the deal to play AFL matches in Tasmania. The North Melbourne deal had money for community football & a development academy. Our politicians shit themselves over northern pressure hence we have no AFL footy in Hobart & Hawthorn continue sucking money out of Tassie & put nothing back into local football. So their you go champ, thats how it is. If some triers manage to get some footy at BRO, I doubt that will generate enough $$ to pass some on to club footy. So if you want money, write to Geoff Kennett or the premier, they have it all & do nothing for club footy.

Rumours