Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay Pt 2 *Pilot Greg Lynn sentenced 32 yrs with a non-parole period of 24 yrs

When will the jury have delivered their decisions of guilty or not guilty on both?

• 1st day

Votes: 4 6.0%
  • 2nd day

Votes: 16 23.9%
  • Between day 3 and 5

Votes: 21 31.3%
  • Over 1 week

Votes: 5 7.5%
  • Hung on one or both timeframe unknown

Votes: 21 31.3%

Here is PART 1 Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

DPP v Lynn [2024] VSCA 62 (12 April 2024) INTERLOCUTORY APPEAL

R v Lynn (Rulings 1-4) [2024] VSC 373 (28 June 2024)

R v Lynn (Rulings 5 & 6) [2024] VSC 375 (28 February 2024)

R v Lynn (Ruling 7) [2024] VSC 376 (8 May 2024)

The Greg Lynn Police Interview Tapes (Shortened Version)

The 3.5 HR Police Interview

R v Lynn [2024] VSC 635 (18 October 2024)

THREADS FOR THE HIGH COUNTRY DISAPPEARED
High Country Disappearance of Prison Boss David Prideaux
The Disappearance of Warren Meyer

2008 - Warren Meyer (23 March 2008) not found
2010 - Japp and Annie Viergever (29 March 2010) both shot & 3 dogs, house burnt.
2011 - David Prideaux (5 June 2011) not found
2017 - Kevin Tenant (17 February 2018) shot 3 times, played dead.
2019 - Conrad Whitlock (29 July 2019) not found
2019 - Niels Becker (24 October 2019) not found
2020 - Russell Hill and Carol Clay (20 March 2020) murdered

Lynn's first wife Lisa, was found dead on 26 October 1999.

Agreed on all fronts.

Looks like a Pelican 1720 knockoff case (black latches give it away as fake). They're bloody bulky cases on a back seat as Ive learnt.

But with that trailer he should have had plenty of space.
I've always wondered why he was even towing that trailer, seems so unnecessary and painful on those roads for a solo trip.
Ive passed thousands of 4x4s in the Vic Alps and can barely recall a single box trailer that wasn't a camper trailer apart from one Gronk poaching firewood.

It’s a good point he’s got a patrol and there’s only him in it. That is more than enough space for everything you need for a couple days on your own in the high country.

Double soft case gun bag's are lockable with a padlock. See link. https://www.berettaaustralia.com.au/gamekeeper-evo-double-gun-case-140cm/

Another good pick up re having plenty of space as a single camper with trailer attached. In fact the significance of the trailer is huge when you think if he didn't have it what would he have done with the bodies? Put them in the car? And so why did he take the trailer? Humm.. Surely not..... :think:
I wonder how many Button Men one could fit in a trailer like that?
Hypothetically of course

In fact the significance of the trailer is huge when you think if he didn't have it what would he have done with the bodies? Put them in the car? And so why did he take the trailer? Humm.. Surely not..... :think:
I've always wondered about this among the many other things about this bizarre hunting trip.When we were hunting all those decades ago we would not have considered taking a trailer.Why ? maybe he figured if he shot a sambur he would butcher it and take it all back in his trailer.In March it would have been jugged by the time he got home.It's just another weird anomaly.I remember reading it was his first deer hunting trip.I also remember him asking the b. sprayers where the best place to camp was,so not familiar with the area.

It’s a good point he’s got a patrol and there’s only him in it. That is more than enough space for everything you need for a couple days on your own in the high country.
And whatever he was hauling was must not have been too bulky as he was able to make enough room for two bodies.
I was half expecting questions of why he had a trailer would be raised by the prosecution, possibly asked in the police interview and the answer was satisfactory.

I thought I read somewhere he used soft gun bags?
That case could make sense on an off-road trip, but he also has pretty cheap taste in firearms and maybe doesn't care about protection.
I definitely remember Lynn’s own words (ROI) when discussing if he hadn’t cleaned the gun afterwards there would have been Hills prints/dna on the gun.
Lynn also mentioned a “gun bag” that Hill may have touched.

Maybe he was planning to bring deer home?
The best thing about camper trailers is you have everything you need packed in them.. I’d guess he liked to be prepared, probably had a 12v battery system etc,,, but I did see a picture of a tent.

And whatever he was hauling was must not have been too bulky as he was able to make enough room for two bodies.
I was half expecting questions of why he had a trailer would be raised by the prosecution, possibly asked in the police interview and the answer was satisfactory.

Spot on. We’ve assumed he’s an experienced hunter. Maybe he’s not and that would explain a lot to be honest. Like taking a trailer on a solo hunting trip. Like was he expecting to bring the entire carcass home?

Agree more questions should have been asked on the trailer, could have unlocked a lot of avenues.

I've always wondered about this among the many other things about this bizarre hunting trip.When we were hunting all those decades ago we would not have considered taking a trailer.Why ? maybe he figured if he shot a sambur he would butcher it and take it all back in his trailer.In March it would have been jugged by the time he got home.It's just another weird anomaly.I remember reading it was his first deer hunting trip.I also remember him asking the b. sprayers where the best place to camp was,so not familiar with the area.
Ahh right that makes sense, I hadn't read about it being his first deer hunt but had already assumed he wasn't much of a hunter just based on some details.
There are a lot more people out there claiming to be "deer hunters" than actual successful deer hunters, as you'd know from experience it's not the easiest activity to take up and become proficient in.

Yeah it was supposedly a normal trailer with off road wheels and a cover. So not a camper trailer as such. I'm presuming Lynn was in a tent. Taking a trailer would only come into play if you were taking heaps of camping luxuries, wanting to bring a deer home etc. If not a deer then .......................

Maybe he was planning to bring deer home?
The best thing about camper trailers is you have everything you need packed in them.. I’d guess he liked to be prepared, probably had a 12v battery system etc,,, but I did see a picture of a tent.

Beat me to it. If that was why he took the trailer it tells me has NFI what he’s doing and he’s not an experienced hunter of deer.

Ahh right that makes sense, I hadn't read about it being his first deer hunt but had already assumed he wasn't much of a hunter just based on some details.
There are a lot more people out there claiming to be "deer hunters" than actual successful deer hunters, as you'd know from experience it's not the easiest activity to take up and become proficient in.

Or harvest. It’s incredibly hard. Bit of a long shot…but perhaps being so inexperienced is why he was hunting so close to camp (allegedly).

Disagree, the only reason I bring a portaloo is for number 2… bush wees for number 1

Drop boxes stink.. I’d be certain Hill brought it for Clay to do number 2’s and 1’s.
Maybe, but she's old enough to remember pan toilets that are 10x worse than the long drop. I wonder if Hill was happy to empty it for her ;)

Agreed on all fronts.

Looks like a Pelican 1720 knockoff case (black latches give it away as fake). They're bloody bulky cases on a back seat as Ive learnt.

But with that trailer he should have had plenty of space.
I've always wondered why he was even towing that trailer, seems so unnecessary and painful on those roads for a solo trip.
Ive passed thousands of 4x4s in the Vic Alps and can barely recall a single box trailer that wasn't a camper trailer apart from one Gronk poaching firewood.
Can vividly recall this being one of my major questions when first learning the car was driven by one person and one person only. Why the hell does he need a trailer??

Or harvest. It’s incredibly hard. Bit of a long shot…but perhaps being so inexperienced is why he was hunting so close to camp (allegedly).
That 100% make sense now.
Also given he didn't seem to in great shape I don't think he was venturing too far off the river flats, those gullies get real steep real fast, and both his firearms were better suited to the thick stuff.
Fair chance he was walking around aimlessly on the flats and RH did see him on the drone.

I think the media has a lot to answer for when it comes to descriptions like this, sensationalism sells - take Nils Bekker for example...described as a very experienced walker/hiker, yet his fateful trip was apparently the trip of a lifetime that he had been training for for months. Most of the route was on firetrails, which are boring as bat sh*t to walk and would not be the choice of an experienced hiker/bushwalker and it wouldn't be a big ask without training for someone used to hiking the Vic Alps.

If i recall his evidence, it was two soft gun bags on the rear seat

Lynn didn't say Hill actually took the shotgun out of a bag, did he?

Because if he did, that makes it even less likely that Hill stole his shotgun. It also seems very weird to me that the meticulously tidy Lynn wouldn't have his weapons zipped or cased up by 9.00pm, unless he was planning to use them through the night.

I think the media has a lot to answer for when it comes to descriptions like this, sensationalism sells - take Nils Bekker for example...described as a very experienced walker/hiker, yet his fateful trip was apparently the trip of a lifetime that he had been training for for months. Most of the route was on firetrails, which are boring as bat sh*t to walk and would not be the choice of an experienced hiker/bushwalker and it wouldn't be a big ask without training for someone used to hiking the Vic Alps.
Yeah always wondered what happened to him and yes I thought he was very experienced. Wonder what happened? No GPS nav device or Personal Epirb back then?

ABC: Senior Sergeant Keegan said police had a few theories about what had happened to Mr Becker.

"There were some very cold nights ... hypothermia may have kicked in," he said.

"But he may very well have walked out of that search area."

Mr Becker, 39, was described as a "strong, fit and resilient" hiker who had prepared for months for the five-day solo hike in the Alpine National Park.

He left the Upper Jamieson Hut on October 24 and sent a message to his family that he was heading back to his car on October 29, but he never returned.

Maybe he was hunting and came back after Hill set up… this would set him off I reckon.. someone intruding into his space, when there were so many other places to camp.
Probably close to dark ..
Did hill already take his unsecured shotgun? To teach Lynn a lesson on gun rules? Hill locks it in his Ute?
Lynn gets angry etc….

So many possibilities ..

You are very right, Zidane. The Prs. put it to Lynn on the stand that there were several exit points in this conflict, if you take Lynn's vesrion of events. First, if as described, Hill took the gun...Lynn could have left the sight to call/seek police. Similarly, when Carol was shot, once again assuming Lynn's version. Also, another when Hill laying there with knife in chest, etc.

With all those "exit points", any ONE of them would have de-escalated the situation, and would have dramatically change the outcome. At that point, Lynn said he had never considered driving away as an option, until Prs. just mentioned it.

IMO, that is very telling of the character of the man accused...but I think both sides were a bit inclined to not back down.

I also agree, you believe Lynn's version of events, or you don't.😉
InogoRaida, was there anything that stood out for you when seeing/hearing GL in the court room? I always think seeing and hearing someone is more telling about a person than hearing about them. If you are able/want to say of course.

Lynn didn't say Hill actually took the shotgun out of a bag, did he?

Because if he did, that makes it even less likely that Hill stole his shotgun. It also seems very weird to me that the meticulously tidy Lynn wouldn't have his weapons zipped or cased up by 9.00pm, unless he was planning to use them through the night.
GL told the Prosecutor that Hill’s DNA could have been on the gun bag.

InogoRaida, was there anything that stood out for you when seeing/hearing GL in the court room? I always think seeing and hearing someone is more telling about a person than hearing about them. If you are able/want to say of course.
He has the words "Die Bart Die" tattooed on his chest.

Not sure about this photo given the proportionate size of the shotgun (could be spliced together -it’s from The Age).

You’ll notice the shotgun and rifle are stored together in the same case. It would make sense if these are his hunting weapons.

He could have transferred these to individual bags for his trip. I wouldn’t have bothered. Does make it an interesting point according to GLs story that RH took the shotgun over the rifle if they were both stored in this case.

View attachment 2022604
If I recall correctly (from the trial) - the gun case in the photo is actually a new case he now uses. He rambled on at great length to detectives in ROI about how he is such a good boy now and so, so safety conscience after his little ‘episode’ up in the high county where he was the only living person left to tell the ‘story’. Yeah he went on and on describing the special built in cabinet he designed himself for the patrol which has special slots for the gun cases and even cable ties (seen in pic) to keep them extra secure. On the fateful trip I believe the firearms were in bags. IMO they were also very securely locked away that night but that wouldn’t fit the horse sh!t story now would it? Side note - What was so off putting for me watching that ROI was how he liked to ramble…. Eg he went on for a good few minutes discussing the paint he used on the patrol and how good it came up. You could be mistaken for thinking it was a bloke chatting to two work mates around the coffee machine- not being questioned regarding his possible role in two murders. Bizarre. Wonder how many other bodies are up in the high county that will never be found……

Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay Pt 2 *Pilot Greg Lynn sentenced 32 yrs with a non-parole period of 24 yrs