• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

SA 'players to watch' 2008?

1st cricket captain, huge thing at sacred heart is it?. Pity ur one of the shitter schools at cricket in the state. and hitchcock is way to small to get drafted.

Hitchcock isnt that small is he? Bloody quick from what i have seen. Just a bit light on but can put the kilos on a list though no doubt EG krakeour

As far as players too watch go, from what i've seen - Panos is too slow at ground level - think the G train earlier this year, but Adelaide are sort of interested. Tapscott is overrated. Very good, but not half as good as PAC think he is. Carlton and Essendon are monitoring, but will wait to see intercol. Heath is a smokey to go to Hawthorn. Hitchcock is a certainty - Carlton, Sydney, Adelaide and the Saints teams all waiting to see if they get a crack. HArtlett is playing league at Westies, and is a certainty - Carlton and Hawthorn looming large, but may struggle as he is top 10 material. Also heard that Port will be looking at Redden, Bosely and Panos, but no real substance to rumours.

phil davis at st peters is one of the best players in the competition, his ability to play in any position is better than any other, his athletic ability is fantastic for someone that is around 6'5.

phil davis is a fair gun, 2 bad he did his shoulder and is out for 6 months. Saints are in trouble for the intercol, however they have a few rising stars...like Sam Fraser, Jack Whiting, Peter Tallis.

As far as players too watch go, from what i've seen - Panos is too slow at ground level - think the G train earlier this year, but Adelaide are sort of interested. Tapscott is overrated. Very good, but not half as good as PAC think he is. Carlton and Essendon are monitoring, but will wait to see intercol. Heath is a smokey to go to Hawthorn. Hitchcock is a certainty - Carlton, Sydney, Adelaide and the Saints teams all waiting to see if they get a crack. HArtlett is playing league at Westies, and is a certainty - Carlton and Hawthorn looming large, but may struggle as he is top 10 material. Also heard that Port will be looking at Redden, Bosely and Panos, but no real substance to rumours.

Thats some very good info from you rousseau, but i wonder how you know all of this!? Are you just guessing or are you really in the know?

Have good contacts via carlton, collingwood, hawthorn, Saints. Adelaide teams are a little hit and miss. However i'll be the first to admit that drafting is a week to week proposition. Last year i would've told you that Ebert was certain to go to the Crows, right up til draft day. We all know how that turned out!!! I see a lot of college footy, i give my opinion and sometimes they listen, sometimes they don't.

Well that is some quality information then! Cheers rousseau! Keep us posted on the boys and how they are shaping up!!:D

rousseau, in what order do you rate these boys? Whos the best prospect to actually get picked up obviously apart from hartlett? and do you think they are disadvantaged at all because theyre playing college football? appretiate your opinion!:D

What a load of toss.

Well who do you think is the top few in the SA school comp mate?

Hartlett...ball magnet
Trengove...coming on nicely, lot to like
Tapscott...has that midfield shape and ability to go fwd
Armfield...enigmatic, goalkicker

all had reasonable years...but I wont say 'who will take them' and 'who is interested' cos that'd be crap...but then again...nah...doesnt matter.

Hartlett...ball magnet
Trengove...coming on nicely, lot to like
Tapscott...has that midfield shape and ability to go fwd
Armfield...enigmatic, goalkicker

all had reasonable years...but I wont say 'who will take them' and 'who is interested' cos that'd be crap...but then again...nah...doesnt matter.

What do you think about Panos, Hitchcock and Heath then? Seen much of them?

to my thinking...
Panos has not advanced this year and displays a lack of innate smarts and below hips hand eye coordination
Hitchcock I havent seen enough of to make informed opinion but dont rate as high as some on here thats for sure.
Ned Heath i like as an all-round package

I think the other 4 (mentioned in last post) are better.
BUT opinions are great aren't they?

to my thinking...
Panos has not advanced this year and displays a lack of innate smarts and below hips hand eye coordination
Hitchcock I havent seen enough of to make informed opinion but dont rate as high as some on here thats for sure.
Ned Heath i like as an all-round package

I think the other 4 (mentioned in last post) are better.
BUT opinions are great aren't they?

Yes opinions are great, i am thinking the same as you with panos great hands overhead but a bit slow, id like to see what clubs think of him. Hitchcock i have seen a bit of and has been impressive- gets close attention from the other team which doesnt help him, Heath i however have not seen a great deal of. What are other peoples opinions of....Trengrove, Tapscott, Panos, Hitchcock and Heath?

Hi Maddog.

I don't know much about some of the players you have requested info on but one of the players i have seen a lot of as a Norwood Redlegs fan is Matthew Panos.

I have seen quite a few Rostrevor games and in my opinion Panos is one of the most talented player I have seen play in the independent school comp the last two years. The only two players who have impressed me in the same manner are Ebert and Hartlett last year when playing for St Micks and Sacred Heart respectively.

Panos has the ability to do uncanny things on a football field and win games of his own boot. He is a great kick for goal and the numbers back this up. He was the leading goal kicker in the entire competition as a year 11 and i am pretty sure he was the leading goal kicker for SA at the U/16 championships last year. His contested marking ability is excellent. He has already kicked over 100 goals for Rostrevor at first XVIII level.

He is having an excellent season to date with Rostrevor. They have only lost two games and the game they lost to Sacred Heart was one of the closest in recent memory and certainly winnable. Panos has been the main reason for Rostrevor's ongoing success which is surprising given that they have lost quality players such as Stopp (SA U/18s), Murphy (AFL Draft Camp invitee), Holm (former state player) and Sharples (who has played in limited games due to Sturt SANFL commitments) without similar level replacements.

I don't agree at all with The Scout's comment that Panos hasn't developed this year and isn't a smart player. Panos is still kicking about 6 goals a game despite spending time in ruck in most games. When you factor in that he is double teamed most games and doesn't have the support of the players mentioned above, this is an excellent return. He has gotten taller and bigger physically.

He makes good decisions when i watch him play and is very good at getting assists for goals and applying forward pressure. I also don't agree with the slow at ground level/lack of co-ordination comments. I have heard many judges of junior football far more wise than me compliment Panos in these areas, in particular his vision and skills for a player of his size.

The one 'knock' i have heard in relation to Panos is he still has to get more physical in contests and bulk up but as with most tall 17 year olds this will come with age. A lot of people are rating Panos very highly because he is still relatively new to football.

Hope this is of some help Maddog.

Hi Maddog.

I don't know much about some of the players you have requested info on but one of the players i have seen a lot of as a Norwood Redlegs fan is Matthew Panos.

I have seen quite a few Rostrevor games and in my opinion Panos is one of the most talented player I have seen play in the independent school comp the last two years. The only two players who have impressed me in the same manner are Ebert and Hartlett last year when playing for St Micks and Sacred Heart respectively.

Panos has the ability to do uncanny things on a football field and win games of his own boot. He is a great kick for goal and the numbers back this up. He was the leading goal kicker in the entire competition as a year 11 and i am pretty sure he was the leading goal kicker for SA at the U/16 championships last year. His contested marking ability is excellent. He has already kicked over 100 goals for Rostrevor at first XVIII level.

He is having an excellent season to date with Rostrevor. They have only lost two games and the game they lost to Sacred Heart was one of the closest in recent memory and certainly winnable. Panos has been the main reason for Rostrevor's ongoing success which is surprising given that they have lost quality players such as Stopp (SA U/18s), Murphy (AFL Draft Camp invitee), Holm (former state player) and Sharples (who has played in limited games due to Sturt SANFL commitments) without similar level replacements.

I don't agree at all with The Scout's comment that Panos hasn't developed this year and isn't a smart player. Panos is still kicking about 6 goals a game despite spending time in ruck in most games. When you factor in that he is double teamed most games and doesn't have the support of the players mentioned above, this is an excellent return. He has gotten taller and bigger physically.

He makes good decisions when i watch him play and is very good at getting assists for goals and applying forward pressure. I also don't agree with the slow at ground level/lack of co-ordination comments. I have heard many judges of junior football far more wise than me compliment Panos in these areas, in particular his vision and skills for a player of his size.

The one 'knock' i have heard in relation to Panos is he still has to get more physical in contests and bulk up but as with most tall 17 year olds this will come with age. A lot of people are rating Panos very highly because he is still relatively new to football.

Hope this is of some help Maddog.

Thats an exceptional review! I now wish I had taken time to expand on my criticisms of Matt's game.

Can I just add that although my response was brief and possibly seen as negative, there are many aspects of Panos' game that I admire, but I chose to respond quickly and perhaps without due respect to the many aspects of Matthew's game that are good, even exceptional.

I do however stand by my criticisms. I disagree that Panos is double teamed most weeks. There is an obvious amount of 'zoning off' in development and school football, yet I can state as fact that very few teams employ double teaming on one player. Zones have however become far more efficient. The fact he still delivers good returns goal-wise, is a testament to his ability.

I would suggest that if you rate Panos the equal of Ebert and Hartlett in terms of impressions, you may have missed many who would be judged well ahead of Matthew's (no doubt) solid performances.

Footy is great for opinion and thats mine.

No worries Scout. I realise that this is a review of the top players in the State and that you weren't bagging Panos. I just wanted to add my 2 cents (slightly more!) to comments that Panos has G-train 2008 like speed when the guy is a heck of an athlete. The g-train comparison was not a fair one in my opinion. I also rate Panos because unlike other top forwards he does the unselfish things. I have seen him pass up goals when on track for 10 goal games to set up team mates and i really admire that in a young forward.

Knowing a fair bit about Rostrevor football i just wanted to add my opinion that he has improved immensely this year. He might not have had a 14 goal game like last year to date but it was always going to be harder for him as the focal point (last year Murphy, Stopp, Holm, Sharples took attention), yet his production is better than ever. When up forward he consistently has the best defender and has another defender drop into his leading space. As above, a good tactic when you don't have Murphy and Sharples to defend in the forward line.

You are absolutely entitled to your comments and there are a lot of good players out there. I rate Panos up with Ebert and Hartlett in terms of players i have seen over the past two years in terms of talent. I'm not saying he is as good as them right now...they are very different players. There are a heck of a lot of great players (many are mentioned in this thread ie Armfield, Broadbent, Davis) but in terms of talent/upside/potential, Panos is right up there. He has enormous potential, in my opinion the most potential of any player in the 2008 SA school's comp.

No worries Scout. I realise that this is a review of the top players in the State and that you weren't bagging Panos. I just wanted to add my 2 cents (slightly more!) to comments that Panos has G-train 2008 like speed when the guy is a heck of an athlete. The g-train comparison was not a fair one in my opinion. I also rate Panos because unlike other top forwards he does the unselfish things. I have seen him pass up goals when on track for 10 goal games to set up team mates and i really admire that in a young forward.

Knowing a fair bit about Rostrevor football i just wanted to add my opinion that he has improved immensely this year. He might not have had a 14 goal game like last year to date but it was always going to be harder for him as the focal point (last year Murphy, Stopp, Holm, Sharples took attention), yet his production is better than ever. When up forward he consistently has the best defender and has another defender drop into his leading space. As above, a good tactic when you don't have Murphy and Sharples to defend in the forward line.

You are absolutely entitled to your comments and there are a lot of good players out there. I rate Panos up with Ebert and Hartlett in terms of players i have seen over the past two years in terms of talent. I'm not saying he is as good as them right now...they are very different players. There are a heck of a lot of great players (many are mentioned in this thread ie Armfield, Broadbent, Davis) but in terms of talent/upside/potential, Panos is right up there. He has enormous potential, in my opinion the most potential of any player in the 2008 SA school's comp.

Thanks for that gimmethat! Was a good read iv only seen bits and pieces of Panos. Do you know much about Hitchcock(Sacred Heart) or Heath(St micks)?

I dont have alot to say about this thread just that people should stop throwing hartletts name around as he graduated in 07 and doesnt play school footy anymore.

It was SA 'players to watch' NOT SA 'school players to watch'. The school reference in the original post was just to familiarize with names, and Hartlett was not even mentioned there. You may notice, had you read the posts, that Hartlett (and Ebert for that matter) were brought up in 'comparative' terms to Matty Panos.

Geeez.
:thumbsdown:

Panos is a good player with a very accurate kick and a strong pair of hands. BUT if any opposition put a player on him who pushes him around and tries to get into his head mentally, he will crack and not get a kick. have seen it happen plenty of times.

Trengove.....gun, skillfull and fit
Van Hoof.....gun, born leader, strong agressive player
Redden.......gun, skillfull and athletic
Tapscott.....gun, tough, hard and skillfull
Heath.........gun, tough and relentless

These are the players to look out for

What a load of toss.

Thanks Scout. Glad to see that my thoughts impressed you so much.:thumbsu::confused: All i was doing is pasing on info. that i thought others may wish to hear about. It may well turn out that all those i mentioned miss out on the draft (except Hartlett - who we all agree is a certainty - at least he is if his shoulder responds to surgery); or get drafted to clubs other than those i mentioned; or, God forbid, they all get drafted to the clubs i mentioned (which i already stated was highly unlikely due to the hit and miss nature of drafting). If you see so much college football then you will have seen the scouts from these clubs, speaking to the parents of those mentioned (except Hartlett's, who is playing league - don't want to upset Bucks!;)) You may even have seen me!;) Or, perhaps i'm just making it all up, and it is 'a lot of toss', which would mean that i'm extremely shallow and have very little else to do with my time. But that's the thing about the faceless internet and cloaked forums - you don't have to be personally accountable for your statements!! I'd just be interested to know where i've actually written anything that couldn't possibly be true????

Rankings

Hartlett
Hitchcock
Heath and Panos
Tapscott

Thanks Scout. Glad to see that my thoughts impressed you so much.:thumbsu::confused: All i was doing is pasing on info. that i thought others may wish to hear about. It may well turn out that all those i mentioned miss out on the draft (except Hartlett - who we all agree is a certainty - at least he is if his shoulder responds to surgery); or get drafted to clubs other than those i mentioned; or, God forbid, they all get drafted to the clubs i mentioned (which i already stated was highly unlikely due to the hit and miss nature of drafting). If you see so much college football then you will have seen the scouts from these clubs, speaking to the parents of those mentioned (except Hartlett's, who is playing league - don't want to upset Bucks!;)) You may even have seen me!;) Or, perhaps i'm just making it all up, and it is 'a lot of toss', which would mean that i'm extremely shallow and have very little else to do with my time. But that's the thing about the faceless internet and cloaked forums - you don't have to be personally accountable for your statements!! I'd just be interested to know where i've actually written anything that couldn't possibly be true????

Rankings

Hartlett
Hitchcock
Heath and Panos
Tapscott

I too have seen a bit of school football this year along with some SANFL underage matches. Watched the PAC V SHC game on the weekend, Tapscott hurt his shoulder early and spent most of the game on the bench so didnt have much of an impact. Hitchcock was good for SHC kicking 5 or so goals, ran and carried the ball well. rousseau is he still having an eye kept on him? and do you expect him to get picked up or think clubs will pass over him? And what do you think about Panos's chances??

Hitchcock is someone who is being watched week in, week out. He tore up the 19s in the last two sets of school holidays and got a call up to the ressies. However, he didn't get much of a run. Because of his size he may get overlooked. He's not as powerful as Ebert or even Hartlett, and doesn't appear as though he's likely to get that big. So, clubs run a fairly high risk in that if he does his knee and loses agility and/or pace, he loses that 'x' factor. His skills are outstanding, but at that height you need something else. He's also disadvantaged by the fact that the two local AFL teams have their small forwards, and desperately need bigger bodies, whilst melbourne based teams tend to stick with local boys who they see all the time. Having said that Carlton, St Kilda and Collingwood are all paying close attention.

Panos i honestly don't know. He has the same sort of hype as James Sellar, and look how that's turned out. But then he also reminds me of Matty Lloyd, and look how he turned out. I hope that one of the local teams takes a punt on him, because he can take a grab, leads hard and strong, and more importantly can kick. At 190 odd cms he's a good strong target.

As for how the scouts work, they'll watch SHC vs anyone due to the fact that if you can play well against them you're obviously travelling pretty well. But they also like to see them at club level. If they're not playing 19s or ressies they are almost no chance.

Guys i cant believe you are forgetting 3 of the BEST year 11's sacred heart have ever produced, Michael 'Jenno' Jennings, Jack 'Albman' Curtis and Alex 'Wingnut' Safari. These three legends will without a doubt be 1,2,3 in the 2009 AFL draft and if they arent then everyone can kill me because im so confident. Wingnut can quit mountain biking right now and put all his focus into footy because he can win a brownlow in his debut season. Jack and Michael are the 2 longest left foot kicks in the business and i have personally seen them kick goals from at least 65m into the wind. Jack has white hair and huge muscles and the girls love him and that means at least 35 possessions every week and 6 goals. Jenno is massively well hung and sometiems his wang can be seen hanging out of his shorts when hes lining up from 70 out on the boundary. I once got a sneek peek of his 'snake' when he kicked 10 against St. Peters and won the game off his own boot. Stop talking about the likes of Redden, Hitchcock, Armfield or Homburg and concentrate on the real guns from Sacred Heart. Coldfish99, making his long awaited return to bigfooty.com with a bang, signing off. Discuss.

SA 'players to watch' 2008?