• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Sacred Hearts B&F 2005

yeh straylan only **** wear white boots!!! :D

i am a huge fan of smith and think that he should get drafted or rookie list (good chance). as you blokes have already pointed out he has the perfect midfielder body and is also very strong around the clearances, however i think you are underestimating his running game. he is quite quick and also carries the ball very well especially coming of the half back flank, where i believe he can be damaging.

Flying Joey said:
whos stengline?? that a new type of fishing rod?? and both those players would not be in the top 100 players in the afl..

I believe that he plays for the west coast eagles and may have even played for the crows....and they are probably the best two taggers in the modern game and both would easly be in the top 100 players in the AFL...wat gives u the impression that sum1 like baker or stengline wouldn't be in the the top 100 players???

straylan said:
I think Cail you are judging him harshly from our first encounter in the wet. You pointed out a number of flaws in his game after that and i watched him closely for them and i found the biggest problem in his game is when he gets the ball he runs at a tackler and trys to fend off (which he almost always does) rather than looking for space and giving the hands off first give. Not trying to be critical Cail, but i think you probably need to see a bit more of him, watching closely at his style of game, you have analysed his game pretty well but i think you have exagerated some of his pluses and minus'

Also interested in your views Colin Custard and maybe even Rossi Boys if you are online...

not disputing that i havent seen much of him... but ive seen him play 2wice in the wet and 2wice in the dry and he has only stood out once... a shc guy who plays with him says he is a star in the making. im just pointing out his weakness

smith is a quality player. ive seen him in quite a few games and he plays the hard brand of football which has been lost over the years. i like the way he goes about his football and he is a very honest player. also with that red hair he stands out like a sore thumb! still not sure if he is up with the draft prospects of bode, elliott, hurley etc etc.

Last time i checked Colin Custard your skills aren't up to scratch to disgrace the white boot wearers!! I recommend black boots for you next year! ;)

Smith is a gun, im definately not disputing that. I think he is a real chance to get rookie listed, given his potential use to an AFL club

PS Colin, Kahuna Icon, absolutely sick!!!

This little discussion leads to a good question:

If you were given the option to pick up Nick Smith or Jed Kenny for your schoolboy football team in 2006, who would you choose...

I would like unbias decisions here with reasons

tom722 said:
This little discussion leads to a good question:

If you were given the option to pick up Nick Smith or Jed Kenny for your schoolboy football team in 2006, who would you choose...

I would like unbias decisions here with reasons

How about you start a new thread about this then tom722, and leave this thread for what it originally was meant to be for, Sacred Hearts B & F 2005. Who do you lads think will win it.

they both play for sturt dont they? so they play the same brand of footy. it would b a hard decision but id have to say smith because of his ability to find the footy. kenny doesnt get the ball as much and needs to improve in that area of his game. smith also has a big engine...

keeper of light said:
they both play for sturt dont they? so they play the same brand of footy. it would b a hard decision but id have to say smith because of his ability to find the footy. kenny doesnt get the ball as much and needs to improve in that area of his game. smith also has a big engine...

I think that is the worst comment i have ever heard. First of all, most of they're developement is done at school footy. Second, that is perhaps the biggest generalisation i have ever heard. Do Mark Johnson and James Hird play the same style of footy?

Stop trying to sound smart mate and actually read what you have written before you click the 'post' button

Completely discredited

get over it, wat do u want me to do... physically disect their games with 10 dot points each for their strengths and weaknesses. which one has the better smelling deoderant. whos car is better. i say they do more development out at sturt, they have around 10 games a yr with them through holidays, compared to schools 14 odd... not including the trial games at the start of the yr for sturt. plus they have around 3 months solid preseason at the start of the yr for 6 days a week. so thats where they get their style of football from. how dare u say i dont know wat im talking about! u saint lads have a lot of growing up to do

keeper of light said:
get over it, wat do u want me to do... physically disect their games with 10 dot points each for their strengths and weaknesses. which one has the better smelling deoderant. whos car is better. i say they do more development out at sturt, they have around 10 games a yr with them through holidays, compared to schools 14 odd... not including the trial games at the start of the yr for sturt. plus they have around 3 months solid preseason at the start of the yr for 6 days a week. so thats where they get their style of football from. how dare u say i dont know wat im talking about! u saint lads have a lot of growing up to do

10 games?? i think its more closer to be bout 6 (not incl finals)... i think u got a bit too defensive there.. dont let other make u feel inadequete ;) id take smith but kenny would be good to take with a few years of sanfl league under his hefty belt.. big call but i reckon, in terms of footy development not physique, ged kenny will be a late bloomer and i reckon watch out for him wen he is about 20... he will play some league games next year and be a regular in 2007 IMO.. having said that, smith for me

yeh fair call i spose. spose i did hop on the deffensive a little early but yeh, back to shc b and f, we all know the top 5-ish for this yr but wat do u reckon about next yr. obviously button and day will poll very highly but wat about the smokeys like, tom fosdike who played no games in 1sts this yr due to injury, jack fosdike, tom mayfield, tom stevenson, mitch ryan... could b extremely close... thoughts??? or dus this belong in a new thread?

keeper of light said:
yeh fair call i spose. spose i did hop on the deffensive a little early but yeh, back to shc b and f, we all know the top 5-ish for this yr but wat do u reckon about next yr. obviously button and day will poll very highly but wat about the smokeys like, tom fosdike who played no games in 1sts this yr due to injury, jack fosdike, tom mayfield, tom stevenson, mitch ryan... could b extremely close... thoughts??? or dus this belong in a new thread?

button and day will prob miss a few cos of state duties.. tom fosdike, unless he is coming back to repeat yr 12, finished last year... matt fosdike i think u mean is a gun... from all reports from 2nds guys, wen fully fit he plays like poetry in motion... jack fos will poll high... o'grady... ryan at chf/ruck/full forward needs a solid year... mark eliott.. stevenson... will be very tight if day and button miss some games...

yeh matt fosdike sry.... im not havin a good night with names... sry lads! he should have a good yr and hope the bloke stays injury free.

mark elliott is no sam elliott though, takes some very hard hits though, courageous player for his size... just needs to get more run in his game and find the ball more from wat ive heard

I think Button is a real chance to make state 18s next year, but im not too sure about Daysie. He may get close but in the final team? i doubt that. Jack is way better than Matt by the way

Day to clean up B & F next year

straylan said:
I think Button is a real chance to make state 18s next year, but im not too sure about Daysie. He may get close but in the final team? i doubt that. Jack is way better than Matt by the way

Day to clean up B & F next year

matt is better than jack, thats y he made the shortlist for the u/16 state and also made the firsts squad without any preseason... ull eat those words come next november

The Mole said:
matt is better than jack, thats y he made the shortlist for the u/16 state and also made the firsts squad without any preseason... ull eat those words come next november

Maybe because Jack in inelegible...

Im talking about right now; Jack is a better player. Did i say Jack had more ability?

His b-day is 27 Sept 1989 and so therefore he is eligible in 2007 draft.

height: 185cm

Weight: 91kg

oh well thats very fascinating... however...

i asked if he was going to get drafted in 07, not whether or not he was eligible.. but thanx anyways :confused:

2007 is a loooooong way away. He still needs to keep improving but if he does then he would be a great chance i'd say. What might happen however is that he may not improve as much as others around him due to the fact that he is already really well built for such a young player and it might be another case of the man-child who gets caught by everyone else and who has managed to get himself into so many bad habbits that he is then crap...

Not for one minute saying Richo is crap though

Sacred Hearts B&F 2005