Toast Sam Menegola

Who should start in the centre bounce alongside Dangerwood?

• Menegola

Votes: 29 29.9%
  • Horlin-Smith

Votes: 3 3.1%
  • Duncan

Votes: 29 29.9%
  • S. Selwood

Votes: 24 24.7%
  • Cockatoo

Votes: 8 8.2%
  • Someone Else

Votes: 4 4.1%

Really stretching what is considered young these days "young". At this rate Podsiadly would have won it.
Given the rising star criteria are overly restrictive I'm comfortable with this award being more permissive.

(perhaps the names of the awards should be swapped though)

And Petracca was voted third .........................Very good company that.
Yes I'm a huge Petracca fan. He will be a top 5 player in the comp in a few years.

Really stretching what is considered "young" these days. At this rate Podsiadly would have won it.

I wouldn't say that in this case. Menegola barely played much wafl in 3 years at freo due to injuries and missed half of 2015 at subi due to injuries so he wasn't massively experienced despite age so i think the award is fair.

Pods on the other hand had already played enough games for life membership at werribee by the time we drafted him.

I love him... but he is easily one of the hungriest players I have seen for goal. The moment he crosses that 50 all he sees are the goals.
Good to have a player who wants the game on his own boot, he can go to an even greater level if he starts dishing a few more off..

Amazing to think he is only in his 2nd year on our list and is really firmly entrenched in our midfield now.. we use his strengths I feel well, wins his own footy, good overhead and loves to kick it long.

I love him... but he is easily one of the hungriest players I have seen for goal. The moment he crosses that 50 all he sees are the goals.
Good to have a player who wants the game on his own boot, he can go to an even greater level if he starts dishing a few more off..
Hmm. Haven't seen that. I feel like he's had a lot of shots because he's putting himself in the right spots. My chip at him would be his kicking has been poor at times.

I was excited when we drafted him, l thought we lacked a second big inside/outside mid like danger.
His form in the two's just had to be rewarded,
undeniably to good at that level.
Just love counting his stats quarter by quarter.

Has a bit of Smithy about him...

Not flashy necessarily but gets in there and does his thing. Runs all day, goes hard all the time. Might even be a better kick than Smithy.
And whatever he does, he just gets it done ( most of the time) Bigger body, strong but very effective.

Like the ceiing he has, as I reckon he aint there yet.
All the great players in the last 07-11 era had the blue collar, less flashy but no less important types. Corey and Kelly fit hat bill then, Menegola now..

Go Catters

"A knee injury kept him sidelined for most of 2013."

Oh great, another injury prone recruit!
Missed 10 games with PCL knee injury at start of 2016. Some come good, others are a massive fail (Cowan, Smedts, Vardy, Brown, Lang, McIntosh, Clark etc - could go on and on). Like most things in life the net result for the club will fall somewhere in the middle. Hopefully Menegola is passed the knee injuries and can maintain his form in the finals and years to come.

Hmm. Haven't seen that. I feel like he's had a lot of shots because he's putting himself in the right spots. My chip at him would be his kicking has been poor at times.

Yeah, I'm the same. I can't really remember any times he's had a shot that I think he should have dished off. He has definitely missed a lot of gettable ones, but that's a different story altogether. He's certainly no Menzel in terms of hungriness, that's for sure (and I don't say that in a negative way - I love that Menzel takes the responsibility when he thinks he can kick it, and I wish it would rub off on Hawkins who I think is too unselfish).

I think the most amazing thing about Menengola ( who has been a fantastic recruit ) is the bloke ( Jarrad Schofield ) who turned his career around - hasnt got an AFL Senior coaching job yet - doesnt even appear to be on any clubs radar

Multiple flag winning coach at Subiaco - again this year finished on top of the ladder - a mile in front of everyone else

200 game AFL Premiership player - and was a skillfull player - you know if Gold Coast had any brains whatsoever - Scholfield should be their no 1 target

But they will probably pick someone who is a mate of a mate at the club - look at blooody Sanderson - who was a teenage friend of Buckleys - and now he is Bucks right hand man at Collingwood

I wouldnt mind Schofield coaching Geelong one day - his record is 1st class

Has a bit of Smithy about him...

Not flashy necessarily but gets in there and does his thing. Runs all day, goes hard all the time. Might even be a better kick than Smithy.
And whatever he does, he just gets it done ( most of the time) Bigger body, strong but very effective.

Like the ceiing he has, as I reckon he aint there yet.
All the great players in the last 07-11 era had the blue collar, less flashy but no less important types. Corey and Kelly fit hat bill then, Menegola now..

Go Catters

The JC comparison is a good one. Strength in the contest and gets his arms free to move the ball in our direction. Better at getting forward and has focused on improving his finishing. You can see it in his reaction over the past few weeks when he has nailed his set shots.

the guy isnt anywhere close to JC

only thing going for him is his size and endurance apart from those he is very average much like blicavs

found out in finals once again

He was ok i just wish he would take first option a bit more.

Parsons concerns me a lot more TBH.

I thought he was far from ok. He was almost worst on at halftime. Selwood not far behind.
Lacks class. We don't have many smart players. Blicavs has always been a concern in these kind of games. Too many average players. List is very unbalanced.
If we bring in more top ups from GWS, we will be further unsettled and really going no where anytime soon.

He was ok i just wish he would take first option a bit more.

Parsons concerns me a lot more TBH.
Menegola's disposal under pressure is disastrous.

Why would Parsons concern you more? He's a second-year kid on the rookie list. Of course he'll struggle. He has far more upside than Menegola. What we see from Menegola is all we'll get, and for a side trying for a premiership, we have to ponder whether what he offers is good enough.

Menegola's disposal under pressure is disastrous.

Why would Parsons concern you more? He's a second-year kid on the rookie list. Of course he'll struggle. He has far more upside than Menegola. What we see from Menegola is all we'll get, and for a side trying for a premiership, we have to ponder whether what he offers is good enough.

Although we have a few now who evaporate completely when finals roll around - Motlop, Murdoch, Blicavs naturally (I'm sure he'll escape criticism again) - Menegola is zooming up that list fast. He was utter garbage again when the pressure was on.

Great to see Blicavs going back to slowing play down EVERY time he got the ball tonight. He wasn't our worst but god he was shithouse.

Toast Sam Menegola