Samantha Murphy Ballarat * Patrick Orren Stephenson Charged With Murder

Here are the crime board rules of engagement. Please read them.

Importantly, 'sub judice' means that a case is under consideration by the courts. 'Sub judice contempt' can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Don't spread baseless rumours or state as fact that which is opinion, please.

A degree of respect in all discussion across this board is expected.

The Murder of Rebecca Young - Ballarat

The Murder of Hannah McGuire - Ballarat * Lachie Young charged

Allegedly

Possibly. But then why did it take so long to apprehend him? And why so long before the phone was found? And where's the body?

Wouldn’t take a genius to hide a body in that country.

I reckon they received late intel on the phone, ironically around the same time he’s got a new legal team….or from other sources

There wasn’t a lot of evidence early on, and it looked like the police took a more systematic approach than they would typically with with better information. Not every case is clear cut and can be acted on quickly, you would be aware of that.

Dropping a phone in a puddle rendered mine useless. How useful will this be after 4 months?
There are different degrees of "useless". Your local Telstra shop may not be able to retrieve data that is accessible to ASIO. My best friend's dad became exceedingly wealthy in the 90s after developing a machine that could retrieve data from failed hard drives. Imagine what can be achieved 30 years later.

But they suddenly switched from 'not giving a running commentary' to a very specific and detailed public display. Why?
Finding the phone is not necessarily a huge step forward. Why release this information publicly, and not anything else leading up to it?
Rattling his cage perhaps! Rattled enough for legals to be signed up.

Wouldn’t take a genius to hide a body in that country.

I reckon they received late intel on the phone, ironically around the same time he’s got a new legal team….or from other sources

There wasn’t a lot of evidence early on, and it looked like the police took a more systematic approach than they would typically with with better information. Not every case is clear cut and can be acted on quickly, you would be aware of that.
How would you theorize the phone not being co-located with the body?

And how do you rationalise the selective release of information to the media? Going from public appeals for information to all of a sudden charging POS then saying nothing for weeks, then selectively publicising one or two searches in specific locations.

It's hard to fit all the facts to a criminal mastermind. But it's equally hard to fit all the facts to an absolute moron.

Has POS faced court yet over the October 2023 bike accident he was charged with after SM disappearance? Makes me wonder if bike was repaired in certain body repair shop and POS got wind police were looking at him over that accident then he came to a conclusion someone from body repair business passed info to police?

I think I read that POS was at the scene of the 2023 accident when police arrived but could be wrong.
I did wonder about the possibility the accident is linked in someway though, eg SM was a witness. Probably unlikely but who knows.

There was an October 2023 accident? I thought it was just a DUI charge? Where can we find the details of this accident? Another vehicle involved?

Media have said was a single motorbike accident where POS ran into a tree.
Right, and it was not on a road, so no other vehicle involved. And he has only been charged with that incident since SM disappeared. So how can the repair of his bike have anything to do with SM's disappearance? If there was some sort of 'retribution' for a panel beater reporting a damaged vehicle to the police, POS would have had to be aware that this had happened, which means he would have been charged with the DUI earlier. Also, Mick would have known about it.

Charges would have been pending. Not sure about the car repair business mentioned but SM could have been witness to the accident.
Probably unlikely but an alleged murder has taken place for some reason.

Earlier on in the case, before POS, there was talk that SM had taken out an AVO on someone. Nothing has been mentioned about this for a while. Presumably she had been/felt threatened in some way. It might be relevant to here subsequent disappearance, presumed murder.

I haven’t seen this. Has that been discussed in here?
If true, could be relevant.

Its been in the wacky Reddit chat. IDK but the daughters initial comments about her Mum staying strong or something or other gave me vibes that some other type of drama had been going on, IMO.
The comments, staying strong, could have meant something in particular.
I personally took it as a general comment. Most people have to remain strong in life.

Are these court proceedings/orders closed court in Vic so can’t look it up?

I've seen the order somewhere and I'm not absolutely convinced it's the same S. Murphy. Murphy is such a common there's even a Ballarat cop with the same name, initial S.

I may be accused of being overly skeptical but my bullshit detectors are going off.
Police have come up with donuts for weeks on end, and then suddenly, almost out of the blue, the phone is found, in perfect working order. At the first property they publicly search. In the first dam they publicly look at. And a camera crew are on hand to capture perfect photos of the phone in its wallet, for all to see. And the police high-fiving and jumping for joy (Why? How does this prove anything?).
Despite this, it seems the offender was meticulous in hiding the body, murder weapon, and other evidence relating to the crime. But totally careless and nonchalant about the phone. There are no witnesses or informers we know of. How did police suddenly arrive at this location? Where were all the failed attempts at other properties along this road, or other roads? Did they just get lucky? Or was it staged?
Agree, something is not right, it does not make sense.
Suddenly the media's camera is zooming in on the phone, which normally not a common practise for evidence being collected, then all of sudden police are really showing how happy they are jumping up and down in front of the cameras and then making sure the media is aware the phone is in good shape etc. The police are certainly getting messages out through the media for someone / others ?? Then all of a sudden POS gets a high-flying lawyer. Who is paying for this ? Parents ? Or someone else? Who doesn't want him sent to prison and talking ??

Agree, something is not right, it does not make sense.
Suddenly the media's camera is zooming in on the phone, which normally not a common practise for evidence being collected, then all of sudden police are really showing how happy they are jumping up and down in front of the cameras and then making sure the media is aware the phone is in good shape etc. The police are certainly getting messages out through the media for someone / others ?? Then all of a sudden POS gets a high-flying lawyer. Who is paying for this ? Parents ? Or someone else? Who doesn't want him sent to prison and talking ??

They want the perp to believe there's incriminating evidence on the phone so they give up SM's body instead of dragging things out.

In cases with such a high degree of publicity it is common for high flying lawyers to put their name forward.

They want the perp to believe there's incriminating evidence on the phone so they give up SM's body instead of dragging things out.

In cases with such a high degree of publicity it is common for high flying lawyers to put their name forward.
Trouble is if it doesn't work you are all Gary Jubelin.
Up the creek without a paddle.

I agree with 31550 - this seems too staged. There's something else going on here. They made a huge deal out of this phone in front of the media, the hugs, the high-fives etc. The media were there front and centre. My thoughts are that they are trying to rattle someone else (I have a theory) and perhaps have them slip up, or start acting differently, ina way that would draw attention to them. Re POS - they don't need the theatrics in the media to try to influence him. They can just have a word to him in prison - "Hey mate, we found the phone. It's in perfectly good working order. Is there anything else you want to tell us now, while you have the chance?". Same with the family - watching that performance by the dam in the media would be nice, but also having a cop come to your house and say the phones found would be sufficient enough to give them hope.

They did this with the Mt Clear (?) search before POS was arrested. Either police feel like they know something POS can tell them or there's a second person involved and police are onto them.

I-phones can stay submerged and then still be booted up months afterwards. There are multiple u-tube channels with divers and magnet fishers that recover phones that have been submerged for months.
What is strange is that the phone did ping again off the Buninyong tower later on after being switched off. Suggests the offender has booted it up and had a peek at the messages to see what's going on.

I-phones can stay submerged and then still be booted up months afterwards. There are multiple u-tube channels with divers and magnet fishers that recover phones that have been submerged for months.
What is strange is that the phone did ping again off the Buninyong tower later on after being switched off. Suggests the offender has booted it up and had a peek at the messages to see what's going on.
Ok starting to think this is possible as it was a late model iPhone so likely decent waterproof rating. Phone was probably sitting in no more than 1 metre deep fresh water for ~ 3 months. Chances are they will more than likely be able to get data from the phone but it’s not like she was using Strava or any app with good geo capability. I’m just not sure they will find anything really helpful on the phone. Once the phone is switched off I just don’t think there is a lot that happens on a phone.

Samantha Murphy Ballarat * Patrick Orren Stephenson Charged With Murder