Scarlett on Maxwell

Extremely poor form by Scarlett because he does not give the full picture and why Maxwell gave him a spray at 3/4 time 2010 Prelim. Maxwell stated in his book that Scarlett gave him and his team at spray in the 2009 Prelim final which is something that maxwell didn't forget. So his spray that he gave which he admits to was to tell scarlo that he didn't have anything to say that year? All quite funny really but to come out and have a a sook and then personally attack a player in a book is pretty weak. For the record Maxwell never bagged Scarlo as a player and rated him very highly, he just wanted to get back the following year what was given out to him.

I'll even quote the book so everyone gets both sides.

Book is 'One grand week' pg 143

"Walking to the huddle for the final change, Maxwell crossed paths with Scarlett. In the same game 12 months earlier, as the eventual premiers were having their way with Collingwood - leading by 34 points before romping to a 73 point demolition - the Geelong fullback had verbally taunted the Collingwood captain for 30 seconds, a string of abuse and invective designed to mentally upend his opponent. It was all gamesmanship, but Maxwell was not going to deny his chance to return fire 12 months on.
'Jezz, you're pretty f***ing quiet!' he yelled at Scarlett. 'Don't you have anything to say this time? you're finished old man.'
Ever the competitor, Scarlett had one final shot. 'You blokes will f*** it up next week anyway.'
'Maybe.' countered Maxwell, 'but you wont be there!'

Now Scarlett had every right to return fire the following year but dont bag out a player in this story without telling the whole story. Poor form from a very arrogant great player.

I can recall reading something post 2010 when Maxwell's sledging of Scarlett in the prelim was brought up. Maxwell said they copped it a year earlier in the 2009 prelim and he was returning serve.

It's all swings and round-a-bouts.

I remember that also. I guess the fact that he instigated the sledging didnt suit Scarlett's story though.

Didnt they both go to St Joeys in Geelong?

Don't really care to be honest.

I would rather a great, competitive player who was a dill that helped us win grand finals as opposed to a good, honest footballer who was a nice bloke who didn't win us grand finals.

He would have been close to the last bloke I would have picked to write an autobiography.

Not fussed that Scarlett doesn't recognise Maxwell's ability to stand up in big games, as evidenced by him winning our best finals player in 2009 and 2010. I can certainly understand how Maxwell gets under people's skin and everyone's entitled to their opinion.

Though I did laugh at this line when he was giving a blow by blow account of the Harvey incident, "That's how I played football. What happens on the field, stays on the field."

Scarlett is an absolute flog, theres no two ways about it.
May have been an exceptional footballer but the guys a deadset w***er.

Even though Scarlett is the lowest form of scum going around, I don't see nothing wrong with his comments on Maxwell, it was during the game, let's not get precious.

I don't think Maxwell is overrated, who ever really rated him as an elite AFL player anyway? Genuine B grader, seems like a good captain but bit of a Mike Brearley really.

If Matthew Kreuzer is B-grade then Maxwell scrapes in to the D-grade category.
And trust me, I know about having a scrub as captain of your side when he shouldnt even be in the 22.

Scarlett is a vindictive little prick. Cashed up bogan. He either likes you or he doesn't. If he doesn't then he will go out of his way to let you and his mates know.

Typical bogan, contradicting himself and being a massive hypocrite.

Someone will say that Scarlett doesnt bullshit around, that his behaviour is him being honest.

No no dont confuse arrogant smug rudness with speaking from the heart.

tumblr_lriaismIO51qb972po1_500.gif

So let me get this right, he states that what happens on the ground stays on the ground, but then badmouths another player for what happened on the ground in his book publically.

A tad .. no .. very hypocritical.

Got to sell your book somehow.

Loved reading this today, fantastic. It seems he is speaking not only for his teammates, but all of Geelong people.

I could not agree more, and i have always wondered what he said to the w anker when he ran up to him in the GF. It got me out of my seat.

First in line for the book, hopefully he is doing a signing somewhere...

So let me get this right, he states that what happens on the ground stays on the ground, but then badmouths another player for what happened on the ground in his book publically.

A tad .. no .. very hypocritical.

Got to sell your book somehow.

Scarlo is your typical bogan. I have seen him first hand and the guy would be at home with a couple of himbo tradies. Bogan to boot, which everyone knows bogans are dumb and are massive hypocrites.

The guy has zero class. I watched about 5 mins of open mike and switched off, the guy was a bore had the personality of brick.

People say that he is shy and reserved..nah he is just a sly prick who would bad mouth you when you have your back turned.

The whole Justin Murphy thing? I rekon Justin told scarlet exactly what he was and "Matty" couldnt hack it.

Also his revelations of going to training, hanging out with his few mates ignoring everyone else and then going home as soon as training finished would have given people a clear indication of the type of person he is.

At least I know what an apostrophe is.

Nick Maxwell: An apostrophe? Is that like a really bad event involving an apple?

Yet it was you who left it out when trying to bag someone on their poor spelling and grammar (which you made up). Maybe you're the one to explain to Scarlett what a hypocrite is...make sure you sit down first, could be there a while.

Loved reading this today, fantastic. It seems he is speaking not only for his teammates, but all of Geelong people.

I could not agree more, and i have always wondered what he said to the w anker when he ran up to him in the GF. It got me out of my seat.

All of Geelong people? Really?

I guess i speak on behalf of all non geelong people when i say "scarlo" is a dumb petty vindictive bogan. Oh and he was over rated as well.

I am surprised Scarlett came out and decided to do a tell all.
He says Maxwell gave him a spray and then he ran 100 meters to give back a spray..............and he still tripes on about it.??????
Surely, when he gave back what he received, should have been the end of the matter.

.........but footy does strange things, doesn't it...?

Hope he spells his name right for you. Just for a laugh, maybe ask him to read you some of the book...

Funny reading all these collingwood supporters having a sook, news flash!! every single AFL player will have some sort of negative opinion about another player from the same or different club.

Is an autobigraphy, Scarlett probably got asked about certain players or incidents. Whats the point of doing a biography if he cant speak his mind about these things. The article is quoting the book, he didnt have a press conference to tell everyone how much he dislike Maxwell.