Official Match Thread Season 39 Round 8 - Gold City Royals vs Ophidian Old Boys at The Golden Throne

Hmmm, in no particular order

Good Will Hunting

Ellen Brockovich

Good Morning Vietnam

The Blues Brothers

Notting hill

My top 5, yes I'm a sook, yes I like good simple music, yes I like a little tear and smile on my face when the movie finishes, yes I know no one asked, yes that has never stopped me before.

Actually, never done it before but I could order in a crate of Guinness and have a sooky, smiley, happy movie marathon, which I'm going to do on footy less Saturday, **** the AFL and the dicks that run it.

Just Joking, I'll get some Jack, Jimmy and Baileys instead :)

So about that movie i was talking about, the management eventually found out about the missing and unaccounted for photo prints.

Robin Williams character Sy, was taking his own pictures of the family home with him for his own private viewing.

So of course Sy gets fired, he later finds out that the husband was cheating on the wife and goes nuts. A very dark movie indeed.

I love Gary Cole's performance in that scene. He plays the role of the clinical/calculating and dickish boss very well.

Good Will Hunting

Ellen Brockovich

Good Morning Vietnam

The Blues Brothers

Notting hill

My top 5, yes I'm a sook, yes I like good simple music, yes I like a little tear and smile on my face when the movie finishes, yes I know no one asked, yes that has never stopped me before.

Actually, never done it before but I could order in a crate of Guinness and have a sooky, smiley, happy movie marathon, which I'm going to do on footy less Saturday, **** the AFL and the dicks that run it.

I did shed a tear or two at the end of that Titanic movie i have to admit.

Good Will Hunting

Ellen Brockovich

Good Morning Vietnam

The Blues Brothers

Notting hill

That post deserves more than a like actually. I'm upgrading my like to a love react.:D

So about that movie i was talking about, the management eventually found out about the missing and unaccounted for photo prints.

Robin Williams character Sy, was taking his own pictures of the family home with him for his own private viewing.

So of course Sy gets fired, he later finds out that husband was cheating on the wife and goes nuts. A very dark movie indeed.

I love Gary Cole's performance in that scene. He plays the role of the clinical/calculating and dickish boss very well.

Ah, I'll have to find a subtitle version, Good morning Vietnam annoyed me for years, loved the music but had to wait around 20 years for subtitles to understand what Robin was saying, knew it was funny just not what was funny. :) It was worth the wait.

Oh, and I'm glad to see Fantasia MK II has been dropped Irish BlueBagger , couldn't understand why he wasn't subbed out instead of Lord last week.

It looked like it was something that Bevo would do, prearranged don't change crap.
I'm confident enough that we'll beat the Hawks hopefully. I expect a performance from those players at the very least.

This is Carlton after all show us a bit of pride, a bit of fight and a bit of passion.:laughv1:

GIF by BBC Taster

And shut up sabso no comment needed from you ;)
I’ve gathered the SFA had several teams in the early years who are now obsolete, possibly due to a lack of premiership success after about 30 seasons ago or so.

I don’t know this Carlton of which you speak, perhaps they are one of those early clubs.

I’ve gathered the SFA had several teams in the early years who are now obsolete, possibly due to a lack of premiership success after about 30 seasons ago or so.

I don’t know this Carlton of which you speak, perhaps they are one of those early clubs.
There's no fears of Carlton doing a Fitzroy mate. I see us as a giant of a club albeit a sleeping one at that.

It's an Australian institution that had fallen behind the times admittedly.

As for the other team that's been waiting three decades for success, the shrewd management of David Moyes, the new yank owners plus the new stadium gives me hope that better days are just around the corner for Everton hopefully!

GIF by BBC Taster

And shut up sabso no comment needed from you ;)
Big clubs can fall on hard times Richmond went 37 years without winning a flag, and Collingwood went 32 years without winning one.

In the English soccer ball Sheffield United haven't won a major trophy in 100 years.:laughv1: I'm just a big believer in the saying form is temporary but class is permanent.

Big clubs can fall on hard times Richmond went 37 years without winning a flag, and Collingwood went 32 years without winning one.

In the English soccer ball Sheffield United haven't won a major trophy in 100 years.:laughv1: I'm just a big believer in the saying form is temporary but class is permanent.
When we finally got to lift the fa cup in 2021, it was Brendan Rodgers’ first major trophy as a manager. Under current circumstances it may well be his last.

It was a push calling Sheffield United a big club i have to admit.:laughv1:

There's no fears of Carlton doing a Fitzroy mate. I see us as a giant of a club albeit a sleeping one at that.

It's an Australian institution that had fallen behind the times admittedly.

As for the other team that's been waiting three decades for success, the shrewd management of David Moyes, the new yank owners plus the new stadium gives me hope that better days are just around the corner for Everton hopefully!
If the afl were to start removing Victorian teams the ones in danger would be those who had hung around for at least a century without building up any success, fans or club identity.

Carlton’s safe mate, if you want to find out who’s not just walk a few blocks west ;)

If the afl were to start removing Victorian teams the ones in danger would be those who had hung around for at least a century without building up any success, fans or club identity.
What happened to Fitzroy was a shame, but they lost their home ground and location wise the suburb itself is in between Carlton and Collingwood.

They could've been saved if the AFL were determined enough. They did bail Melbourne out of the shit when they were on their arse just over a decade ago.

Tbf they’re one of the biggest clubs in Sheffield
Traditionally Wednesday were the biggest club in Sheffield, but with the more recent Premier League exposure United are the bigger club now i reckon.

They don't have a stadium that's falling apart at the seams either!:laughv1:

Official Match Thread Season 39 Round 8 - Gold City Royals vs Ophidian Old Boys at The Golden Throne

Write your reply...