• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

SEQAFL Division 1 2013

No worries. I just wish Mayne had have won some of those close ones so I could be closer to you and Tiger G... Oh and so they could have made the finals of course. Always next year, whatever that will bring.

Was Cresswell and co up to their old tricks Kwhit on Saturday? - heard there was a bit of the "Victoria Park" mentality being thrown around at one of the best ambassadors in this comp?

Cresswell threatened to kill a magpies supporter so yes very ordinary, the rest of PBC dont need this bloke as his antics tarnish everyone at the club!! Playing wise outside of D.Dyson trying to pick off Roscinski after bounces they were pretty good. i also dont see the value in Perry-Bolt hardly got near a contest and the magpies backline ran off him... Carr is a jet and looked dangerous all day and JD and Munro tried all day, Heff -roper and Dillon struggled and look slow must be from all that $$$ they are carting around!!!

Wasn't pretty that's for sure. I heard Cressa going off at someone, but that's hardly a rare thing so didn't pay to much attention to it! Dyson picking of Roscinski or at least trying to, yeah I saw him come of the line at one centre bounce and missed, wish he had of got him because he was tearing us a new one. The Maggies were outstanding on the weekend, and full credit goes to them. I am not sure I have ever seen a team kick 14 straight in a half of football, never gave PBC a chance. I did think PBC had all the footy in the second term but could not get reward for there effort and as a consequence couldnt pin the lead back. But they are absolutely the team to beat this year! Surfers this week and a chance to get back some form otherwise they will hand us a new one as well, pressure well and truly on...

Yeah agree lads it was very hostile. The war of words were between I think the Pies runner and Creswell who both had a fair bit to say to each other, it wasn't one way traffic.
Looks to me that the Pies will make it back to back.

Yeah agree lads it was very hostile. The war of words were between I think the Pies runner and Creswell who both had a fair bit to say to each other, it wasn't one way traffic.
Looks to me that the Pies will make it back to back.

What is it with PBC coaches and lack of discipline?
If PBC make it into the new QAFL will Cresswell be coach KWHIT?
I have heard only rumours that now that Broady's senior coach has resigned that some people want Cresswell to take over. Any truth?

Long time reader.....First time comment

Loving all the talk that the Magpies will go back to back especially after yes a very good win on the weekend, seemingly even today's news feed see's AFLQ now favouring the Magpies and probably rightfully so being the reining Premiers. Would have to say though that Springwood is a real chance this year they most certainly have the personal (an unbiased opinion but more than just the big name recruits). The only thing that really is between them and holding the silverware this year isn’t other teams but belief in themselves. They are a true threat but I guess we will know around 5pm on Saturday as only they can silence the non believers. It’s been more than one season in building into this and all concerned with the club have done a great job. A true underdog story that hopefully has an even better ending. There are no name kids at that club that have battled hard over these 4-5 past seasons that along with the committee / volunteers deserve the success. I hope these no name kids remember this as there running out of the change rooms over the next couple of weeks because it will be them that make the difference and rightfully so. The Pumas deserve to be where they are but I guess Minor Premiers is only a positive word in Pre Seasons the following year when you’re not there at the end the year before….Lowe Oval has been the field of dreams for a long time just need to start believing - again more than capable of winning it

Fair call they have only lost the one time this year so good luck to the pumas!
On the Creswell issue, I witnessed it, it takes two to tango and as I said he copped as much as he gave, he's got to learn however not to listen to those who bait him as he BITES!

I have heard only rumours that now that Broady's senior coach has resigned that some people want Cresswell to take over. Any truth?

No questioning cresswell's understanding of the game etc but the way he carries himself clearly can leave a bit to be desired. Not the right fit for the Cats IMO. I still reckon PBC will make th GF.

Not the right fit for a number of clubs I would say 2010. There is nothing worse than a coach who can't prevent himself from getting into commentary with the public - opens up a can of worms for players who basically see it as a green light for undisciplined acts which is no coincidence with the way PBC carry on at times. Some excellent footballers there, some excellent blokes, finals time is the one stage you get to display your club to a whole lot of neutral people I reckon. Is the time for best behaviour imo. I'm sure Cresswell has a pretty comprehensive understanding of the game - most blokes who played under Roos would imo. But if you want to go down a cost vs success analysis it might be found that PBC spend a small fortune on players and the football dept. They should be top 3. TBH if they don't win the GF I reckon they have underachieved.

Re Springwood - their x factor are the 2 Lions boys - Proud and Hooper. On a bigger stage it would not surprise if they pick up the pace in the 2nd semi. Would love to see a Pumas v Maggies GF. Watching Tourney against the Gorillas on Saturday just shows that these guys who have played 50+ games at AFL level are a class above this comp when they want to play. Tourney must have had 25 possessions to 1/2 time playing off a HBF!!

Sounds to me smy like you have it in for either PBC or Creswell?
From what I saw on the weekend if I had my integrity questioned like he did I would react the same way, and as for the public as I said it was the runner! The bloke went out of his way last year to help out Springwood off his own back, to me he's a pretty easy target, he's not the first coach to show passion! K Sheedy and the grumpiest of all magic Micky Malthouse, what a fiery man he can be.
On the GF from what a saw Magies will
Be very hard to beat, play a good brand of footy.

I believe they spoke to him last year Kittycat! His footballing knowledge can not be questioned, his passion for the teams he represents and the players he coaches can not be questioned. Easily baited? maybe, but like I mentioned he will take to anyone that has a crack at one of his players! Ask people about Norm Dare and the way he runs things! very little difference between the two. He only wants success and demands the best. And some of the sprays he delivers aren't always at opposition in fact his players probably cop 75%.

Love the club or hate the club have played in 5 of the last 6 GF's winning two, pipped in one and touched up in the other two. How many other clubs out there can boast a better record?

Long time reader.....First time comment

Loving all the talk that the Magpies will go back to back especially after yes a very good win on the weekend, seemingly even today's news feed see's AFLQ now favouring the Magpies and probably rightfully so being the reining Premiers. Would have to say though that Springwood is a real chance this year they most certainly have the personal (an unbiased opinion but more than just the big name recruits). The only thing that really is between them and holding the silverware this year isn’t other teams but belief in themselves. They are a true threat but I guess we will know around 5pm on Saturday as only they can silence the non believers. It’s been more than one season in building into this and all concerned with the club have done a great job. A true underdog story that hopefully has an even better ending. There are no name kids at that club that have battled hard over these 4-5 past seasons that along with the committee / volunteers deserve the success. I hope these no name kids remember this as there running out of the change rooms over the next couple of weeks because it will be them that make the difference and rightfully so. The Pumas deserve to be where they are but I guess Minor Premiers is only a positive word in Pre Seasons the following year when you’re not there at the end the year before….Lowe Oval has been the field of dreams for a long time just need to start believing - again more than capable of winning it
i dont actually think the Maggies are the favourites i think the minor premiers must be, i also believe that the work done by the pumas on and off the field has been remarkable and all concerned should be congratulated i just hope it doesnt come unstuck by some recruits cashing in as it did 5 or so years ago? big question is will proud play? can anyone tell me why he hasnt played recently.....?

Speedy I believe he has had a few personal problems to sort out and yes will / would be a great inclusion. I think all concerned learnt alot 5 years ago and I am pretty sure there is stabilty now within the playing group / club itself which should lead to hopefully a joyous couple of years at the right end of the ladder. Considering the Club doesn't hail from a nice sandy beach or have the herritage / history to draw from like a Mayne or Wilston it truley has done a remarkable job. They've always had good kids there they just needed the right players around them to help them grow which has probably been the major difference this year - the kids are now coming of age.

Sounds to me smy like you have it in for either PBC or Creswell?
From what I saw on the weekend if I had my integrity questioned like he did I would react the same way, and as for the public as I said it was the runner! The bloke went out of his way last year to help out Springwood off his own back, to me he's a pretty easy target, he's not the first coach to show passion! K Sheedy and the grumpiest of all magic Micky Malthouse, what a fiery man he can be.
On the GF from what a saw Magies will
Be very hard to beat, play a good brand of footy.

Mate - no grudge against PBC. They are just another footy club. I do worry about coaches who fly off the handle though at spectators. 'integrity questioned"?? Well hello, it wasn't for J walking that he ended up in the big house. I'm sure he understands as well as anyone that he f'd up and tbh is open slather to anyone who wants to have a crack. Imagine if he wanted to get involved at AFL level again - do you think Pies supporters would just let it go thru to the keeper.
My point is that if you are going to respond to everyone who baits you then your mind must not be on the job of coaching a footy side anymore. Its not an unusual occurrence anymore is it?? Just think as a senior coach you need to be better than this.

Kwhit - no arguement there re success but as PBC spend more than anyone else in the comp these days then it should be reasonably successful!! Flew in one guy from WA last weekend didn't you??

Anyway reckon it will be a ripper match v Surfers this weekend - if they run someone with Tourney from the 1st minute then they should win. He was the difference on the wend v Grange.

What are everyone's thoughts on the sat/sun scheduling of finals?

I think it's great for footy public but tough gig for a team on the short back up for the prelim - would think surfers and Pbc will belt the suitcase out of each other - plenty of nights at the pool for the winner between Sunday and the prelim on a Saturday! Good to see common sense prevail with scheduling of reserves and seniors at same ground despite different stages of finals.

Maroochy's 18s could probably justifiably not be super happy with a 9am Sunday start at Palmy.

I don't really have a problem with the Sat/Sun split in seniors/reserves, but it's a tough gig for 18s who have played Saturday all year and who a fair proportion would work Sunday so they can go to uni/school during the week.

Speedy I believe he has had a few personal problems to sort out and yes will / would be a great inclusion. I think all concerned learnt alot 5 years ago and I am pretty sure there is stabilty now within the playing group / club itself which should lead to hopefully a joyous couple of years at the right end of the ladder. Considering the Club doesn't hail from a nice sandy beach or have the herritage / history to draw from like a Mayne or Wilston it truley has done a remarkable job. They've always had good kids there they just needed the right players around them to help them grow which has probably been the major difference this year - the kids are now coming of age.
so proud is available?

As a teacher smy I always preach my students to open minded not narrow minded, never judge a book by its cover, everyone in the community deserves a second chance.
My brother in-law spent time in the bighouse as you call it, he is man whom :thumbsu: went down the wrong road made poor decisions under duress and paid the ultimate price, time away from his loved ones, now he has great integrity and has a great heart, don't tarnish everyone who makes mistakes and spends time inside as poor people, I think it's great that Creswell, Torney, Proud and Hooper are putting back into grass roots football, it's what Queensland footy needs and will only benefit the younger generation coming through. That's my thoughts as someone who knows both sides and as I said before the exchange on Sat was between the coaching areas not the general public.

As a teacher smy I always preach my students to open minded not narrow minded, never judge a book by its cover, everyone in the community deserves a second chance.
My brother in-law spent time in the bighouse as you call it, he is man whom :thumbsu: went down the wrong road made poor decisions under duress and paid the ultimate price, time away from his loved ones, now he has great integrity and has a great heart, don't tarnish everyone who makes mistakes and spends time inside as poor people, I think it's great that Creswell, Torney, Proud and Hooper are putting back into grass roots football, it's what Queensland footy needs and will only benefit the younger generation coming through. That's my thoughts as someone who knows both sides and as I said before the exchange on Sat was between the coaching areas not the general public.

Hmm - like to know where I actually said that?? My comment was based upon your assumption that he should take umbrage at having his "integrity questioned" (whatever was said I'm not sure). Well you know what, a guy like James Hird for example is going to cop it from a lot more for a lot longer for doing far less. If he decides to go off the deep end every time he is challenged then his return stint in 2015 won't last long. Reckon in 30 years of coaching I've seen Sheedy lose the plot outside the coaches box with sepctators/opposition, same with Malthouse.
All i'm saying is that maybe the best answer to this sort of "questioning" is to just coach a winning side, not get into a slanging match.
BTW - I'm going to buy Cresswell's book so there you go..:)

SEQAFL Division 1 2013