• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Seymour District Cricket Association

who is the most over-rated player in the comp? Don't like to bag players
who is the best batsman in the comp? P.Arandt
who is the best bowler in the comp? J.Tarran
who is the best allrounder? J.Tarran easily

bazlurhmann how can you have a go at Marcus he made plenty of A grade runs last year including a 90 odd against Broadford and has been on the rough end of some ordinary decisions the season.
Should defiantly be in the CW squad

Heard a disturbing rumour last night, Lego Man in A grade. Has Joey and the selectors had a melt down, are they all on drugs?? well i know the bigshow is on the love drug!! Surely there is some young kid who can bowl bowl very very slow puss??

Just kidding Timmy, hope you have a good day and those eastern hill bats better watch out. I'll be there to see the devastation and watch my man subba destroy the hill attack!! :thumbsu:

Well thought ide jump online to post a little while i got some time, due to my suspension courtesy of the Fat Shit of an Umpire on a power trip up at Avenel a few weeks ago. 2 Matches for saying "You F'ing joking" after being given out on a shocker then walking straight off afterwards - its a joke, the tribunal is a joke, and "The Fat Shit" of an umpire is a joke too, you give me out again ill give you a proper spray next time....

Im all for respecting an umpire - but showing a touch of frustration after being given out should be acceptable - we aint playing international cricket, and any half decent umpire wouldnt have given it 2 thoughts - ive even talked to an umpire or two about it and they think its a joke also. So the SDCA can kiss my ass.

Anyway, thats in the past, ill move on.

Rumours floating around that Legoman was selected for A Grade are infact true, theres no need to laugh too hard, as there will be no need to laugh at it when he gets pasted for 0-100 off 10 of the finest overs of putrid spin ever seen in the history of the SDCA. It really could be worth going to watch...

Tallarook A Grade are travelling nicely at the moment - sitting on top of the ladder and a couple of players in form at the moment - ive been busy smashing C Graders around in the nets in my time off, awaiting my return in a lower grade...might be hard to get straight back into the A's the way they are travelling......HAHAHAHAAH, just joking, Legoman got picked, theres a spot already...:)

P.S. - Congrats to young Tom Hardisty getting picked in the A's too for his first game after performing well in the B's recently.

bazlurhmann how can you have a go at Marcus he made plenty of A grade runs last year including a 90 odd against Broadford and has been on the rough end of some ordinary decisions the season.
Should defiantly be in the CW squad

thats exactly right there mouche, for one i have seen him perform..good player. and bazza whens the last time you have done anything to hang your hat on?? yeah you got a 100 odd in the c-crade last year..but most "A-grade" cricketers would.....well should. and wat you got a 40 in the B-grade?? woopdee doo..before you start putting other people down and floating out your opinion start looking at your own stats mate then you can shoot ya gob off:thumbsu: keep smashing em daven..

i cant believe you omitted wranga. he always seems to make runs in the country week games, even if he has been struggling all year.
and as the great aussie singer/songwriter shannon noll sang, ' WHAT ABOUT ME!!'
if marcus davon gets a spot infront of me, it is high time i joined the o'sullivan show, and big jikka spargo over at the seymour bowling club rink.
cya later bazz..:eek:

Heard a disturbing rumour last night, Lego Man in A grade. Has Joey and the selectors had a melt down, are they all on drugs?? well i know the bigshow is on the love drug!! Surely there is some young kid who can bowl bowl very very slow puss??

Just kidding Timmy, hope you have a good day and those eastern hill bats better watch out. I'll be there to see the devastation and watch my man subba destroy the hill attack!! :thumbsu:

On the first point that's the Rook to a tee, when in doubt up the average age of the team by 10 years ;) Just kidding hope you do allright Lego. Seems Subba somewhat didn't destroy the Hill attack but added 48, with Joey 30 odd in a score of 7/120 about an hour ago.

Broadford skittled Seymour for 60 odd, Trav and Matt Irving 3 wickets each, Broadford are 4/103 with a couple of overs to go, Trav still there and in the 30's, Billy Neilson got 28, Chippa 14 with a few sundries.

Big Carbs got another 5-for to pressurise the A-graders bowlers when the B's rolled Alex for 130, and Clears got 129 of 240 for one B'ford C-gde team in the local derby, then they rolled the other mob for 70 odd.

good work 2 clears,
at kilmore 2day we made 265 against alex
big rod got 86 to keep his average floating in a good area
marcus "sharkbait" davern got 57
justin colliss got 55 in very nice fashion
id say rod mcleod would be one of the leagues best batsman, patient powerful and has all the strokes, makin good scores every week

eastern hill bowled tallarook out in the 68th over i think for 140, the hill had 4 overs to bat and zac jones already out playing a stupid shot... runs for t'rook subba 48 and joey 28 then a few 10's i think, wickets for the hill dallas got 4, zubby 2, young brendan renf 2 as well.

Interesting game at Avenel today lads.

Yea batted first all out for 143.
Daniel Evans 51 not out and Mark Nicholls 28 in his first game back.

Avenel are now 6/53.
Llyod Agnew has 3 fa, James Walsh, Aaron Miller and Daniel Belsten 1 a piece. Aaron Hinss got 35 for Avenel.

It's all happening on big footy!
1/ Barrell's pushing himself for country week selection.
I don't know much about Marcus Davern other than he keeps for
Kilmore. But Barrell really, if your gunna put your name forward as the
SDCA keeper then surely you've gotta be able to get the gig at your
own club. I don't see how being the second best keeper at Eastern Hill
somehow qualifies you to keep ahead of anyone else let alone someone
who actually keeps in A-grade.
2/ The BIGSHOW has finally re-emerged and had something to say.
Although I'm guessing you would have had help typing your most
recent post as it seems you can't do anything alone of late. I believe
that even washing has become something that requires assistance.;)
By the way Ad, it would be nice to see you at a game at some time in
the near future.
3/ The rumours are true, LEGO MAN picked in A-grade.......FINALLY!!
Actually lowered the average age Doona as I replaced Sam Watts
who's traveling overseas until late January. Unfortunately I didn't get
much opportunity today as I was clearly batted far to low at
number 11 and ran out of partners before troubling the scorers. Never
mind as no doubt I'll be given ample opportunity to spin up a storm at
Kings Park next Satdy.:D

the near future.
but in saying that there LEGO MAN, providing that the hill dont make the runs before you get your hands on the ball:eek:after all there only chasing 140 odd?, and im sure that you will be trying to squeeze the ball out of joey as early as you can..one thing is that might just help eastern hills run chase a lil easier:p

i tell u what will be helping the eastern hill cause will be some water on their track. Absolute disgrace their pitch today, obviously spent a shit load of water on their ground but 2 ounces of **** all on their pitch. Bounce was up down all day.Surely having the use of that water should make their pitch be top class instead it was very average, an indietment on their club. just mo!!

Well thought ide jump online to post a little while i got some time, due to my suspension courtesy of the Fat Shit of an Umpire on a power trip up at Avenel a few weeks ago. 2 Matches for saying "You F'ing joking" after being given out on a shocker then walking straight off afterwards - its a joke, the tribunal is a joke, and "The Fat Shit" of an umpire is a joke too, you give me out again ill give you a proper spray next time....

Im all for respecting an umpire - but showing a touch of frustration after being given out should be acceptable - we aint playing international cricket, and any half decent umpire wouldnt have given it 2 thoughts - ive even talked to an umpire or two about it and they think its a joke also. So the SDCA can kiss my ass.

Rumours floating around that Legoman was selected for A Grade are infact true, theres no need to laugh too hard, as there will be no need to laugh at it when he gets pasted for 0-100 off 10 of the finest overs of putrid spin ever seen in the history of the SDCA. It really could be worth going to watch...

Tallarook A Grade are travelling nicely at the moment - sitting on top of the ladder and a couple of players in form at the moment - ive been busy smashing C Graders around in the nets in my time off, awaiting my return in a lower grade...might be hard to get straight back into the A's the way they are travelling......HAHAHAHAAH, just joking, Legoman got picked, theres a spot already...:)

P.S. - Congrats to young Tom Hardisty getting picked in the A's too for his first game after performing well in the B's recently.

here here bigshow

what an absolute disgrace from the sdca, i hear the umpire in question was a disgrace as a player and has continued on as an umpire. The sdca has obviously made a example of one bigshow and hopefully will stick to their high standards. I doubt that very much as they are always looking for the easy target.

the near future.

For starters i never said anything about wicket-keeping. if there was anything i wa going to wrap myself up about it wouldnt be my wicket-keeping. and on the having not been keeping, im glad to be second inline to easily the best wicket-keeper in the competition over the last 5, if not ten years. the rook stalwarts in the group might fight for cricket because of his recard, but at least mick takes the ball with his gloves and doesnt try and stop it with his pads.

sorry i offended a few people about the davon call, but im sure this is an open forum and i dont rate him. fair enough i havent made a run this season, but i have just spent a season in the uk and made plenty of runs. and having missed the last month injured, im sure i will be amongst them in the near future.

all the best guys, love the challenge, and remember, we are all lucky to be able to still play our reat game. some others, not only in the world, but on our own doorstep arent so lucky.

I know not everyone has played on every deck yet but just some thoughts about the tracks this year.

Whose is the best?
Whose is the worst?
Whose is an improvement from last year?

cheers

For starters i never said anything about wicket-keeping. if there was anything i wa going to wrap myself up about it wouldnt be my wicket-keeping. and on the having not been keeping, im glad to be second inline to easily the best wicket-keeper in the competition over the last 5, if not ten years. the rook stalwarts in the group might fight for cricket because of his recard, but at least mick takes the ball with his gloves and doesnt try and stop it with his pads.

sorry i offended a few people about the davon call, but im sure this is an open forum and i dont rate him. fair enough i havent made a run this season, but i have just spent a season in the uk and made plenty of runs. and having missed the last month injured, im sure i will be amongst them in the near future.

all the best guys, love the challenge, and remember, we are all lucky to be able to still play our reat game. some others, not only in the world, but on our own doorstep arent so lucky.

Think I may fall into that category Baz miss me cricket like you wouldnt believe - opinions are like a$$holes mate we've all got em so keep contributing to this forum as thats what its all about :thumbsu:

Mark Nicholls back for one game only and the Tiges are in with a chance to upset Avenel, Seymour all out when 9 down with Kempy rolling up late, Davern got a 50, McLeod defiantely right up there with the best bats Ive seen this year, and jazzy and the BIGSHOW upset (again) . . . . . sure has been a big weekend in the SDCA :D

I know not everyone has played on every deck yet but just some thoughts about the tracks this year.

Whose is the best?
Whose is the worst?
Whose is an improvement from last year?

cheers

Wont comment on the worst but without doubt the best three would be Tallarook, Avenal & Nagambie (no particular order), then daylight to the rest IMO.

What about our team full of characters Pete? Dilly, Berro, Gilmore, Barrell Barnes, Hornet, Joffa, tiny Branagan, Pete White - Dilly's 3am curfew (no one in bed b4 3am) on grand final eve got us over the line against those cocky portland blokes :thumbsu:

Absolutely '98. What a year, what a team! I can still remember blokes like Barrell and Dilly talking after the game on the importance of playing in a premiership. For Dilly it came after many years of trying at Avenel before the Shaun Pearce era. At that stage it looked like the old grey man would never play in one, but what a show that week. Scarred Timmy and Joffa C for life.

Paul Arandt's form continued today with a half century against the Murray Valley CA at Chittick Park. SDCA posted 204, Subba planting a few big ones over the fence. Couple of questionable decisions, Corey Jack given out caught down leg side, the opposition even laughing at the bad decision given by the officiating umpire.

Dundon and Blackwell opened the bowling when I left.

Side was Blackwell (B'ford), Arandt (T'rook), Douglas (Broadford), Jack (Alex), Hede (Kilmore), Gordon (Seym), Youngman (where's he playing???), Spargo (B'ford), Miller (Yea), Dundon (T'rook), Muir (T'rook).

Davern (Kilm) withdrew with young Trav Muir a last minute call up, and I think John Green (Ave) may have pulled out also.

To keep this whole rep cricket debate going, my 20-man Melb CW squad would is as follows . . . . Blackwell (capt), Douglas (B'ford), Arandt, Dundon, J. Tarran, L. Watts (T'rook), Jack, Cavill, Nichol (Alex), S. Donovan, Green (Ave), Miller, Atkins (Yea), Gordon, S. Allum (Sey), Youngman, Smith-Williams (Hill), Hede, McLeod, Davern (Kilm), Black (Pucka).

Looks a good side. Jack to be VC - a show of good faith to the new club in the comp?

Tim Muir in the ones. Good to see the Rook persisting with a pensioner policy as opposed to a youth policy. I think I might make a comeback....pass another scotch please.

Miller, Spargo or Sam Watts? I reckon Mick Brown still the pick of the keeper/batsmen but if I picked whom I thought my best XI was there'd be a few over the 30 bracket which aint a great advertisement for the comp :D

Over 30? You've just named a bloke who's over 50!

Question for Doona and Peter the Legend...or anyone else that may know.

A bowler bowls a no-ball, and 4 leg-byes are scored.

Do all the runs go to the bowler, or 1 to bowler and 4 to leg byes?

How is it written in the scorebook?

Obviously when the batsman hits a no-ball, he gets the runs and 1 is added to the no-ball column. (what is the correct way of writting that in the book? - Only 1 written in the no-ball column? Or 4 in a circle?)

Can anyone verify the rules for extras scored off no-balls?

Please have a read of:

www.lords.org/laws-and-spirit/laws-of-cricket/laws/

Rule 24 - No Ball. Section 6.

I'm sure over the years, many runs have either been added or missed because people don't understand the rules...or bowlers have got away with murder.

My understanding was 1 to no-balls, 4 to leg byes...??