Seymour District Cricket Association

you should be excited baz, as you'll be in B grade taking the easy option as usual:eek::thumbsdown:
how about you lose some kgs and have a crack at the A grade ya flog:D

ignore that baz, i dont tease fellow overweight people! youngman and witz hacked into my account.. as u can see, 16:55pm was when i was still at work!

I think Heathcote will be sticking with the SDCA for the time being. A move into A grade wont happen this year as there simply isnt enough depth in the playing list :thumbsu: Also in other news heard teddy could be pulling the boots back on and opening bowling for c grade this year:eek:

Would this be the same list that finished at least one game clear on top of the B Grade ladder and were only just pipped at the post in one of the best finals we have seen in this competition? :cool:

Yes point taken, But although the B grade side is very talented and probably has the ability to possibly make the step into A grade the depth of the list falls away quite quickly after the best 12-14 players on the list.
Say we had a few injuries we would then be playing C grade cricketers at A grade level which might not be good for the kids that arent up to it yet.

Yes point taken, But although the B grade side is very talented and probably has the ability to possibly make the step into A grade the depth of the list falls away quite quickly after the best 12-14 players on the list.
Say we had a few injuries we would then be playing C grade cricketers at A grade level which might not be good for the kids that arent up to it yet.

Lets be honest there aren't too many sides in the comp these days with 11-12 actual A-grade cricketers so I wouldn't worry about the depth - we've all been thru tough periods, Id say get up and have a go you's may just surprise yaselves as she aint the cricket it used to be!!!

Yep, I understand whats being said here but a lot of people have got to remember it wasnt that long ago (2-4) years ago our club was on it knees and looking at folding. Its all about rebuilding the club back to where we supposed to be and chucking us in the deep in so soon dont think will do wonders. Give us a couple of years and i reckon we will be where we want to be and thats back playing A Grade cricket

you Should Be Excited Baz, As You'll Be In B Grade Taking The Easy Option As Usual:eek::thumbsdown:
How About You Lose Some Kgs And Have A Crack At The A Grade Ya Flog:d

How About You Shut The Hell Up. Its The Pot Calling The Kettle Black Isnt It Josh.

You Will Have To Borrow Your Whites Off J Dubb Or Pudd This Year To Get Your Massive Ass In Them.
But You Probably Wont Play, Because After All You Are Fudge Packer.
Go And Eat Some More Pillows And Get heck E D.

I understand what your saying here. We (thornton) played in the grand final went to the yarra valley and bang 3 games later no club. Big changes can cause great harm to a club. Also interested do the comittee, powers that be or whatever have the power to promote or relegate sides or does that just sit with the individual club. Because I know in the yarra valley every side was graded at the start of the year and you played in the grade they put you in.

Yeh agreed, we were in a similiar scenario as u onlooker. Played in Grand Finals in both grades soon after clubs on it's knees. Im pretty sure the commitee has the power to promote and relegate but not an expert on the topic...

Must be nearing time for committee's to start firing up, coaches to be announced, along with what players clubs are recruiting for the rapidly approaching SDCA season 08/09.

Any news lads???

Heard a rumor royals is recruiting big with 2 newies that have won a grade club not league bowling and batting averages one of them being a left arm opneing bowler and the other a left hand opning bat from the b.d.c.a the two young fellas played at golden square another biggy is that royals have got the signature of a loyal seymour c.c. supporter pete woods umm what else i hear the have also picked up a handy all rounder who won the league all arounder in what ever comp yarrawonga is in he is an 18 yr old 1st chage bowler and bats at 4 making 2 hundreds last season he made 627 at an average 94.5 and took 24 wickets at 11.8 with a classy econamy rate of 1.9 also i hear DAVE LAWLER is back on the prowl dont know what club he might rock onto yet though:thumbsu:;) cheers boys anyone else know any news?????

Some serious rumours there ill say, heard Christian & Darren Allum are both keen to head to Royals as are Mark & Scott Challis & Ken Mankey refuses to now be seen in the same guernsy as Christopher Chee.
Can Confirm I have heard straight from the Horses mouth that Woodsy is now making the Trek to Bennett Oval as opposed to Chittick Park, with the same Blue Esky to accompany him.

Now some other questions where is Boony Pollock playing?
Are we gonna see Player N Allum or umpire O'Brien?
Will Kenneth J Watson finally call it a day?
Will Thomas Stevens turn up not bruised battered and beaten from a friday night more than 2wice?

As 4 Dave Lawler - The Season is to far away for him 2 remember where any clubs are - that he is allowed to play 4 :D

How About You Shut The Hell Up. Its The Pot Calling The Kettle Black Isnt It Josh.

You Will Have To Borrow Your Whites Off J Dubb Or Pudd This Year To Get Your Massive Ass In Them.
But You Probably Wont Play, Because After All You Are Fudge Packer.
Go And Eat Some More Pillows And Get heck E D.

leave your homo-sexual tendencies outside this thread please glen.
i know your guard is a little down at the moment, but stress not, i wont steal your title of SDCA's largest A grader.

jealousy is a sin :D

any serious news from around the traps lads?

So with Thornton coming into B-Grade this year, will they have a C-Grade as well? Will Pyalong have a B-Grade? It's looking like B-grade might be getting a bit cramped, surely there is room in A-Grade to promote some of these teams? If these new players for Royals actually exist, then surely they could play A-Grade? If this is what B-Grade looks like this year then there will be 13 B-Grade sides and only 8 A-Grade sides, I think the SDCA should be trying to get these larger clubs to put in an A-Grade.
Alexandra
Avenel
Eastern Hill
Heathcote
Kilmore
Nagambie
Puckapunyal
Pyalong
Royals
Seymour
Tallarook
Thornton
Yea

Of these clubs that will be playing B-Grade (from what I've heard), surely these four sides could be competitive in A-Grade.

With the kids from these clubs, if they're exposed to A-Grade cricket it can be only good for them. When you think about A-Grade cricket in the SDCA, there's not really any bowler that's going to endanger a 16 year old's life. And really if they got a chance to bowl to someone like Subba, regardless of whether they got carted or not, it would have to be a good learning curb.

I think you might find that Broadford will field a B Grade side as well.

And it may be a pretty good one Im told . . . . but only if the soft option of all one dayers comes in ;)

Broadford's AGM went off without a hitch Monday night Im told, little change at the top with Alwin Neilson (pres), Paul Withers (sec) and Billy Neilson (treas) all going on unopposed. Stabiltiy is amazing and things look good for another solid year for the Mighty Red & Blacks :thumbsu:

and will you be part of that team Doon:p

Would love to one day have a hit again, still reckon I'd be able to compete in say the B's perhaps but that interest I reckon would die pretty quick if this apparent vote goes though as personally I used to like the two dayers more.

So at this stage it could mean retirement forever :(

Would love to one day have a hit again, still reckon I'd be able to compete in say the B's perhaps but that interest I reckon would die pretty quick if this apparent vote goes though as personally I used to like the two dayers more.

chin up theres still the A's, just train hard:p

Not with my back :( besides there are plenty better than I ever was at home at the minute. Geez short memories phanto - wasn't all that long ago I was good for 10-12 runs every 3rd innings at my standard number 10, maybe that may equate to a number 6-7 in the B's these days ;)

Don't you be getting ahead of yourself here Big Fella!:D

I'm pretty sure the 1 day only games for B grade has been Knocked on the head!.

Geez there'd be a few $hitty with that - perhaps they coulda had two B-grades, one for the one day crew and the other for those keen on the longer format. Wonder the break down of clubs for and against it?

Thornton
Alex
Yea
Avenel
Nagambie
Royals
Seymour
Eastern Hill
Puckapunyal
Tallarook
Broadford - Against (as far as I know)
Kilmore
Heathcote

Pyalong perhaps?

Is it true Yea are now pulling outa A-grade also? What on earth is this comp coming to? Surely a seven team A-grade comp is disappointing when ya second tier competition could have up to 15 teams :confused: