• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Seymour District Cricket Association

It's none of my business Sol but I reckon Black Cat has some good points.For one I dont think that getting your club outa trouble means having a strong A grade side. I'drather focus my efforts on building (or rebuilding) a strong club and that doesn't take $$$ so much as it does a fair dinkum commited effort by a small group of dedicated and like minded people. Now I'm not against paying players if all your trying to do is build a strong team for a short time or perhaps buy some expertise to assist or improve your local talent, but dont be fooled into thinking that this is sustainable or is in any way the same as building a strong club. I'd suggest that you'd be doing more for your club by getting around the schools and attracting enough kids to fill three junior sides than you would by going out and spending money on boom recruits that only stay until they get a better offer and seldom do anything to improve the quality of your club. I really hope that whatever you guys decide to do works out because one things for sure, the SDCA can ill afford to be losing any clubs let alone those with a proud history such as Royals.
spot on legoman could not put in better word's myself:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Well we got beat on the weekend, we did everything right in the field really, dropped 2 catches, but **** me, we cant chase 102, well, we suck. No excuses, we suck, dont deserve **** if you play like that, and it still hurts.

Well done to the Avenel boys, really did the right things at the right times, you apply pressure, the lesser team will collapse.

Still as mentioned by club legend (and soon to be pensioner) Sam Watts, life goes on, and we showed just how good of a club we are by drinking ourselves silly for next few days afterwards....not that we condone excessive drinking...but we all had a good time...and lets face it, with guys like leggoman around the club you gotta drink copius amounts of piss to put up with em...

Royals paying players? Seriously who deserves money around the this comp? Im yet to see a young cricketer come through the ranks in the last few seasons who even looks like he doesnt suffer from some sort of ******ation. Heres a tip, get rid of the ****head from your club, buld your club into something where people wanna actually come and play for, and secondly, juniors, juniors, juniors...get a juniors team...

P.S. - my asking price is 5K....:)
Nice to hear from you no show a bit harsh on the young blokes mate i reckon some good cricketer's coming thur the rank's. and as 4 the royal's getting junior's our under 14's made the g"f @ under 12's went realy well showed some promise future looking alright as 4 the 5k u can buy duck"s 4 5buck"s down at the market's :)

$2000 bucks to lewer Shaun Pearce to the club (Captain Coach - Money Talks.
Joel Dunne will come to if we wave cash under his nose.
Chase Simon Hepburn again with cash and along with Mulraney your bowling Crisis is fixed.
Chase Jac Smith if he is unhappy at the Hill - Theres One Bat.
Keep Tommy sober Friday night theres 2 bats
Put incentives in place EG 50 runs 10 free pots.
Put lesser rewards in B & C grades keeps the kids interested ( SCC Hot Spot Award)
Chase Capuano & Pollock until the cows come home.
And finally get in the Telegraph like other clubs so the General Public knows whats going on.
Its just common sense ay fellas.

Put incentives

Sol lm sure your heart is in the right place but beer and money dosent make a good club its all about the process get the right people on the commitee and then there can be a flow on effect

It's none of my business Sol but I reckon Black Cat has some good points.For one I dont think that getting your club outa trouble means having a strong A grade side. I'drather focus my efforts on building (or rebuilding) a strong club and that doesn't take $$$ so much as it does a fair dinkum commited effort by a small group of dedicated and like minded people. Now I'm not against paying players if all your trying to do is build a strong team for a short time or perhaps buy some expertise to assist or improve your local talent, but dont be fooled into thinking that this is sustainable or is in any way the same as building a strong club. I'd suggest that you'd be doing more for your club by getting around the schools and attracting enough kids to fill three junior sides than you would by going out and spending money on boom recruits that only stay until they get a better offer and seldom do anything to improve the quality of your club. I really hope that whatever you guys decide to do works out because one things for sure, the SDCA can ill afford to be losing any clubs let alone those with a proud history such as Royals.

I agree that playing for the club and pride is above anything.
Unfortunately trying to get someone to swap to Royals is the hardest thing you could ever do.
I have been laughed at trying to get people to come over.
People say na I wanna win a game & F$ck that.
So after this and the teams fielding 3 unsuccessfull grades is the reason I suggested $$$$

Therefore for that reason is why I dont wanna say Im incorrect.

Jobby had a valid point about the Beer Incentive is not a good image on a cricket club but I am sure it would make a Great Incentive either way.

Doona commented earlier that Royals is good for the A grade competition and I back that 100%.

What I also wanna put forward is that Royals need to put a compettitive A grade side on the Track.

I Received a text message from a fellow Big fooy member suggesting this side for Royals A Grade next year as a cheaper alternative.

D Lawler
M Enrico
M Mulraney
C Mulraney
T Stevens
L Wyatt
J Pollock
C Capuano
T Purton
L Black
K Watson (jnr)

Great in hindsight - but lets get serious.

Joey may have missed the finals this year but all the boys from the Rook love him & being the good bloke Joeseph is they would most likely be loved back.
Capuano nearly played in a premiership side - gonna be hard to get him to come.
Chris Mulraney informs me he loves the Maroons
Lalwler & Enrico have bad issues with the club as we all know and I beleive they 2 have shown interest in the Maroons.
Rumours are out that Wyatt is interested in Eastern Hill - I have not seen him to talk about that but he is a big loss if he goes.

I personally dont know the 2 Pucka fellas in Black & Purton but army are often transferred but yes would be great to have them there but is someone gonna chase them.

Thats why I suggested dollars fellas.

Nice to hear from you no show a bit harsh on the young blokes mate i reckon some good cricketer's coming thur the rank's. and as 4 the royal's getting junior's our under 14's made the g"f @ under 12's went realy well showed some promise future looking alright as 4 the 5k u can buy duck"s 4 5buck"s down at the market's :)

Juniors is a great point mate and that idea of yours and the schools is 10 outta 10 love it.
That is also why I suggested Royals need coverage in the Telegraph so people think $hit lookout Royals are getting serious this year.
Then hopefully one thing turns into another and so on and you get a couple of extras at the club and maybe some retirees/past greats back at the club.

Would you be prepared to name the D.ick head at the club or do you think it would be safe to know who you were talking about

who won A grade trophy"s @ B's
joey tarran won the batting and allrounder and the cricket of the year i think?? and pearcy won the bowling and in the B's simon hepburn won the bowling and im not sure who won the others:confused:

how come you did not make an apperance for the league presentation night?? :confused: bit slack blackcat:D

I Received a text message from a fellow Big fooy member suggesting this side for Royals A Grade next year as a cheaper alternative.

D Lawler
M Enrico
M Mulraney
C Mulraney
T Stevens
L Wyatt
J Pollock
C Capuano
T Purton
L Black
K Watson (jnr)

Great in hindsight - but lets get serious.

Joey may have missed the finals this year but all the boys from the Rook love him & being the good bloke Joeseph is they would most likely be loved back.
Capuano nearly played in a premiership side - gonna be hard to get him to come.

Wouldnt bet on it :p

heard a disturbing rumour today from a fellow cricketer, he was approached by mick enrico asking him if he wanted to play for a C grade side who would play under the prince of wales name. Heard mick, dave lawler, joe pollock, clint capuano and a few others could be playing. Surely the sdca wouldn't let this happen. Would be a disgrace for the competition if players of their obvious talent wasted it in c grade smacking u16's kids around.

Pure rumour mate, had a day with Joey Satdy and wasnt mentioned amongst the things we chatted about. We both know Clint & Joey will be pushing to play A-grade cricket next season wherever it is they decide to play.

Dunno about the other 2, dont know them but what you're suggesting wont happen. Surely between the 10-12 clubs that play a or B-grade someone would want them at their club as they seem adament in their dislike to play at Royals

Note: I do believe Dave & Mick attended the Royals presentation night on the weekend, whether it was in support or for just a $hit stir I couldnt tell ya

Maybe its time for all the young lads to return to pyalong lets get a b grade side again and then se what happens from there what you think joeyboy?

lve heard from a good source Lawer has already put in a clearance to Seymour,it would be good to see him go there they wouldnt put up with his crap

Note: I do believe Dave & Mick attended the Royals presentation night on the weekend, whether it was in support or for just a $hit stir I couldnt tell ya[/quote]

what do you think doona;) ;) ;) ;)
i wish royals all the best in the furture
no hard feeling too them. lets hope everyone can move on
and play good cricket
cheers donkeydave

hey joey how about you stay at the rook and help them to win a flag next year?? Also get back to work, thought you said u had no time and are always busy!! ;)

Wouldnt bet on it :p

Could also add Mark Carboon to that list, maybe a bit old but got plenty of experience and hear he won't be playing at Broadofrd next yr. Something about getting shafted by his beloved Broadford. Seeing royals probably wouldn't make the finals in their first yr of rebuilding he wouldn't have the danger of that happening again!! Would also be great for the young players. :eek:

Perhaps Carby could head to Tallarook and aim for a spot in their B-Grade. I'm sure he would enjoy playing in a team where he is a long way off being in the top age bracket.:D

Would not be too different to a decade or so back when the Seymour Footy Club put a side in C Grade. They had blokes like Jezza Gaehl, Salakowski, etc, who had been playing A Grade but just bummed around in C Grade.
Not surprisingly, when the novelty wore off after a couple of seasons the club folded.

Perhaps Carby could head to Tallarook and aim for a spot in their B-Grade. I'm sure he would enjoy playing in a team where he is a long way off being in the top age bracket.:D

we'd quiet happily take him at the rook, great bloke and that's the kind of blokes we like to attract!!

Overheard a conversation at the footy the other friday night between avenel and alexandra jazzy about the proposed POW cricket club, names being thrown around like Lawler, Enrico, Capuano, Pollock, Smith-Williams, Bergowiz, Soloman and Rattray to name a few, would make for some interesting cricket.