• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Seymour District Cricket Association

I agree Joe that you're probably not an A-Grade cricketer but I'd be surprised if that alone makes me a genius, although I do appreciate the inference. As for you feeling gutted after being dropped for the A-Grade Grand Final last season, if memory serves me correctly it would be more accurate to say that you failed to regain your place in the team after declaring yourself unavailable for Two of the last Three games and then not producing the goods on your return to C-Grade. I'm sure we all understand how disapointed you would have been at not being selected but that doesn't mean that you were deserving of a place in the team, although I see that you must realize that now as you repeatedly state your "not an A-Grade cicketer, never have been".

In relation to your returning to Pyalong making you weak, I guess that really depends on your motivation. If you have spat the dummy at not being selected in the Grand Final team then I'd be inclined to agree with the bloke who gave you the spray, however If as you have stated you have returned home to assist your local club, then fair enough thats a commendable notion. The only thing I'd say is that with you and Zochy in the team perhaps B-Grade would have been a more realistic option rather than walking through C-Grade games. As for Clint, whom I believe is an A-Grade cricketer, as far as i know we still have not received a clearence application which I hope means he has not made any decision as yet.

Oh and by the way if you hadn't cottoned on just yet Joe, the whole idea of a public forum is that anybody can have their two cents worth. I guess we can't all be a genius.

Tim tim tim, we committed to Pyalong after the date where you are able to lodge an appeal to field another team as to my knowledge, so C grade was it.
I do realise that this is a public forum Timothy, my comment was about you having a go at me about the contentious issue at hand, i no you wouldnt be able to let it go, since iv known you, you always have to get the last word in, but your opinion is valued and taken onboard.
I look forward to next year when Zochy, Clint and I can battle it out with The Tallarook B grade greats, maybe put you over the fence on an odd occasion to :D, till then, keep on punching mate :thumbsu:

Who did ya's play Fishy? Well done to Gordo who is a great fella top effort :thumbsu: his first century was is?

His first century yes, and a bloody fantastic one. played alexandra up there and he looked that good, the only bloke to look like shaking his feathers was Corey Jack. Massive honours to Damien Murphy, who has returned to chittick park since 8 years ago, made an A grade appearance on the w/end, and offered to drive the bus back so Gordo's could get on the cans. top bloke :thumbsu:

as for Old man rivers J.Brown, has made 50, 15ish, 51 then 77 so far this year, in fine form is the grandpa of SCC. never have i seen him bat this well, but ive only been watching him bat since his early 40's :D

so a review of our game up in alex on the w/end, we travelled up there by bus, minus N.Allum, S.Kelly, P.Fish, C.Kemp and M.Grak so we had a very depleted team, but none the less, we carried on, stole half of the B grade and got on with it. Alex won the toss and went in to bat making 6 fa 251. wicket takers were S.Allum, Mulraney, Heron, Pink and Distefano. in reply, J.Brown and Pink went in, only to see Pink depart soon after, Watson came and went, Purcell came and went, and with the score on 3/16, Gordon and Brown decided to bat the rest of the day out and we finished with 3/191. Full credit to Alexandra Cricket Club, they are a fantastic bunch of blokes, with great club rooms and to see 30-40 ppl get back to their rooms for $2.50 pots and a free BBQ to anyone interested was sensational, we were quite happy to postpone our first stop at Molesworth to enjoy some ale's and some snags with the lads from ACC.

cheers

also, Timothy Muir, you look dazzling in a suit!!

the last thing I want after this "pulling the BCC strings" rot Howie started that has me out of favour at BCC

Who said you were out of favour at BCC? I haven't heard anything of the like.

By the way people, when did this thread take on the name Mr Muir's personal $hit expressions thread

Tongue in cheek pal . . . as I said after the B-grade game I saw on the weekend I just may be enticed return for a trundle if I am welcome - maybe just to play C-grade and bowl bouncers at the kids like Joey Pollock :D

Where's the mysterious POSTMAN from last cricket season?? gave me a few words of advice on what to and what not to say on here. Sure what the lego man is saying warrants a talking to by the POSTMAN!! :p

Seems you have me at a disadvantage there nohoper in that you know who I am, however I dont believe you have divulged your identity. The name nohoper clearly suggests that you come from Broadford but the rest remains a mystery, at least to me anyway.
As for the personal thread, I think you'll find that most of my posts are in reply to others, and/or, form part of general discussions rather than being expressions of personal $hit. Being the nohoper you are, perhaps you don't understand that I'm only responsible for the posts by lego man and that Doona2, Joeyboy, Zero2Hero, vantheman, etc are not me but infact other people. Do you get it now?

By the way Doona thanks for organizing those 2 clearences.:thumbsu:;)

Seems you have me at a disadvantage there nohoper in that you know who I am, however I dont believe you have divulged your identity. The name nohoper clearly suggests that you come from Broadford but the rest remains a mystery, at least to me anyway.
As for the personal thread, I think you'll find that most of my posts are in reply to others, and/or, form part of general discussions rather than being expressions of personal $hit. Being the nohoper you are, perhaps you don't understand that I'm only responsible for the posts by lego man and that Doona2, Joeyboy, Zero2Hero, vantheman, etc are not me but infact other people. Do you get it now?

By the way Doona thanks for organizing those 2 clearences.:thumbsu:;)

mystery to me too :confused:

Who did ya's play Fishy? Well done to Gordo who is a great fella top effort :thumbsu: his first century was is?

The boys played Alex (ive been working the last few weeks) at Alex
Dont know the full details but Alex made 250 odd and we were 3 out for 190 odd The high points being Gordos first ton and Brownys 78.

Wait......Theres a C Cgrade in our competition?

Well put together ad, and worth the wait. I still think that the blokes who are not up to the standard of the premier grades of cricket in this elite competition of ours are still worthy enough to have a say. Thanks for the kick on the guts :thumbsu:

Holy moley, what an action-packed couple of days on the SDCA thread!
A) - If by bowling bouncers to "kids" you mean 13 and 14-year-olds in C grade, come on. Once a kid's too old for juniors he shouldn't expect any favours if he chooses to play against the big boys (I certainly didn't when mad Al Guinelly was zipping them around my ears when I was 16 or 17), but to do it to young fellas who are most likely just making up numbers is just not on.
B) - The days of most clubs in the SDCA having at least three teams won't be around for much longer. For starters, the GDCA has a significantly greater population base to draw from and is also closer to Melbourne. If the SDCA want more people to play to play cricket they need to get with the times and make it more enticing. Top of the list should be making the B-grade comp a one-day competition.
In the Grampians comp - which has a much more comparable population base to the SDCA - one club has three teams. Most just have two and they operate a promotional and relegation system between their three grades.
C) - Well done Brett Gordon!!! Some mighty fine cricketers have made centuries for the SCC.
D) - Do Jason Brown and Marion Jones have the same supplier?
E) - When is Ben Murphy returning also?

The boys played Alex (ive been working the last few weeks) at Alex
Dont know the full details but Alex made 250 odd and we were 3 out for 190 odd The high points being Gordos first ton and Brownys 78.

I've been working too Fishy. That's the best place to log onto Big Footy!

Listen hear peanut, seems your getting personal with me, if i was you id get my facts correct before shooting your big mouth off. C grade is were i belong, i do not have the talent or ability to be a successful cricketer in a grade, i couldnt make a run or take a wicket in a grade, thats why im back in C grade, so credit to you, well summed up, your a genius.
As for your statement about bowling half track rubbish...I cannot even get a ball to bounce above shoulder height. And slapped around??? Id hardly call 65 not out off 35 overs slapping around either, but i carried my bat, did my job. As for sledging, they copped as good as they gave mate, they seemed to be enjoying themselves giving our blokes a mouthfull of cheek throughout our innings and putting our players down, but of course you wouldnt have heard that side of the story..
Obviously you have a problem with me mate, but i dont see a problem with going back to help out your home town club, where it all began, getting to roll the arm over and have a hit on each satdy (instead of standing in the field for 80 overs), actually enjoying playing again, then finish up having a few ales with your good mates afterwards. if thats what you call a success story well than im it, ive made it. thanks champ for your input, it has been takin on board :thumbsu:

Touched a nerve i'd say joey. I never said that YOU bowled half-track rubbish but that someone else had and as legoman said,to do it to 14yo's playing at c grade level is simply just not on. Also whats this crap i hear about your players partaking of alcohol DURING the game on saturday,care to shedd some light on this and joey,try to be honest.

Yeah you have mate actually, i dont really appreciate when someone slags off about my sporting ability and puts me down, dunno what it makes you feel like but it doesnt sit real well with me. Then after shooting ya mouth off you go back on what you have said and say its someone else.

Look ill explain how the day unfolded, Things got sour when one of our blokes got given not out for a LBW decison, one "senior" member of the Eastern Hill Cricket club was heard by the 3 of us out there saying to the young outfit - "thats the way its going to be fella's, they dont give em we wont give em", "sets the trend for the day", he continued to be real sooty and knarky for the remainder of the day, like a kid who doesnt get his own way, spoilt the day really, whilist the rest of the lads got on with it, with no fuss. Play continued before stopping in the 38th over due to the fact that they "didnt wanna chase the ball over the fence anymore", "its to hot for this sh#t".

Im not denying that The two opening batsmen didnt cop there share of short stuff but i myself cannot get the ball up there, they made 50 and 45 respectively so they obviously were having one hell of a time dealing with it, poor fella's, i must also state that they were well developed for "14 year olds" with one standing my height and the other a shade under, both new how to swing the willow. also Zochy and i were bowled out when the "kids" came into bat, so go figure. I myself contributed well to the extra's column, with 10 front foot no balls being issued from the "senior" ump at one end, when being swapped to the other end i bowled one, must of been my run up.

Ill shed plenty of light on it if you like mate, lot of our blokes enjoy a beer to quench there thirst at avo tea, me included, i also no a number of other clubs that do the same, hope that enough light has been shed on that for you, think thats honest enough Mr Larkins, cheers

Yep, no doubt about it Joeyboy your a true cricket success story going from A grade on turf where you couldn't make a run or take a wicket to slapping around a depleted 'Hill C grade on a dry postage stamp of an oval on a concrete pitch :rolleyes:. It must have also made you clowns feel superior in that you managed to sledge and bowl half-track rubbish at 14 year olds, very impressive.....NOT! :thumbsdown::mad:.

Going back on your word now zero, thought you didnt say it???

B) - The days of most clubs in the SDCA having at least three teams won't be around for much longer. For starters, the GDCA has a significantly greater population base to draw from and is also closer to Melbourne. If the SDCA want more people to play to play cricket they need to get with the times and make it more enticing. Top of the list should be making the B-grade comp a one-day competition.
In the Grampians comp - which has a much more comparable population base to the SDCA - one club has three teams. Most just have two and they operate a promotional and relegation system between their three grades.

Macedon, which has 1500 people, fields four sides, Hesket which has around 150 people, fields three sides. Clarkefield (non GDCA but in the same area) has around 50 people and has two sides.

I assume Clarkefield must have at least 25-30 cricketers to support two teams.. Do all these people that play live in the town of 50??

I think that is the point that Grandale was trying to make earlier.
The area that you are talking about has many more people surrounding it than Seymour..

You're a wise man, Sockit (is he really Roota?)
Matt "Grey" Nicholls (that would have to be your nickname wouldn't it?), the nucleus of the GDCA's cricketers live in an area between Sunbury and Melton/Bacchus Marsh. I reckon that area would have at least five times the population than the area that the SDCA draws its players.
Not to mention the fact those joints are basically suburbs of Melbourne these days.
It will be at least 30 years before Seymour is considered "basically a suburb of Melbourne"

Yeah you have mate actually, i dont really appreciate when someone slags off about my sporting ability and puts me down, dunno what it makes you feel like but it doesnt sit real well with me. Then after shooting ya mouth off you go back on what you have said and say its someone else.

Look ill explain how the day unfolded, Things got sour when one of our blokes got given not out for a LBW decison, one "senior" member of the Eastern Hill Cricket club was heard by the 3 of us out there saying to the young outfit - "thats the way its going to be fella's, they dont give em we wont give em", "sets the trend for the day", he continued to be real sooty and knarky for the remainder of the day, like a kid who doesnt get his own way, spoilt the day really, whilist the rest of the lads got on with it, with no fuss. Play continued before stopping in the 38th over due to the fact that they "didnt wanna chase the ball over the fence anymore", "its to hot for this sh#t".

Im not denying that The two opening batsmen didnt cop there share of short stuff but i myself cannot get the ball up there, they made 50 and 45 respectively so they obviously were having one hell of a time dealing with it, poor fella's, i must also state that they were well developed for "14 year olds" with one standing my height and the other a shade under, both new how to swing the willow. also Zochy and i were bowled out when the "kids" came into bat, so go figure. I myself contributed well to the extra's column, with 10 front foot no balls being issued from the "senior" ump at one end, when being swapped to the other end i bowled one, must of been my run up.

Ill shed plenty of light on it if you like mate, lot of our blokes enjoy a beer to quench there thirst at avo tea, me included, i also no a number of other clubs that do the same, hope that enough light has been shed on that for you, think thats honest enough Mr Larkins, cheers

If you check the original post joey you will see that i said "you clowns" which infers to your team and not you as a individual. When it comes to the "alledged" short pitched bowling to the 14yo's, you say it didn't happen and i heard from 3 of my 'hill teamates that it did i guess we'll have to agree to disagree on that one.

Some teams do on occasion throw up some "difficult" characters to deal with on the field and the 'hill are no exception, having had a run-in with them myself when playing at Avenel. Having said that taking the "law" so to speak into your own hands is not on and if it effects the outcome of the game, you have the power to report such "difficult" characters to the association.As far as the drinking thing go's mate,in 22 years of playing cricket not just here but interstate and overseas i've never seen players of any grade consume alcohol during an interval :thumbsu:.

p.s Please, no s on the end of my surname :).

If you check the original post joey you will see that i said "you clowns" which infers to your team and not you as a individual. When it comes to the "alledged" short pitched bowling to the 14yo's, you say it didn't happen and i heard from 3 of my 'hill teamates that it did i guess we'll have to agree to disagree on that one.

Some teams do on occasion throw up some "difficult" characters to deal with on the field and the 'hill are no exception, having had a run-in with them myself when playing at Avenel. Having said that taking the "law" so to speak into your own hands is not on and if it effects the outcome of the game, you have the power to report such "difficult" characters to the association.As far as the drinking thing go's mate,in 22 years of playing cricket not just here but interstate and overseas i've never seen players of any grade consume alcohol during an interval :thumbsu:.

p.s Please, no s on the end of my surname :).

Come on you blokes let it go and lets talk some cricket for christs sake