SFL - 2018

When you say "had to happen" are you saying it was a good thing to lose so many playeRs? Including arguably 2 of the beat midfielders in the league in r and b Hards?

It's never good losing 2 footballers who have greatly contributed to the on-field success of the club, out and out guns of the competition, let alone the club. Even worse is the number of guys moving on. However, Imps have gone out in straight sets in the past 2 finals series. Granted, injury contributed to 2009's loss, and they were unprepared for 2010. There had to be some changes on-field and off-field to move forward and get back to winning premierships, which is what they do better than any club in the region. It won't happen this year, but it might in a couple of years, with some good juniors coming through. You never know...........South might have more money in a couple of years to afford R & B Hards when they return.......I doubt it though.

may be why people like baggin imps as their supporters are always big noting them.[outsiders perspective]

Why not, don't see anyone big noting Merbein or Red Cliffs lately, just feeling sorry for them. Lets be honest, success breeds comtempt from others. If your hated outside your club, but you have the silverware, you are doing something right. There is nothing better than sitting back in the clubrooms, looking at the cups and flags (accross all sections), having a beer and enjoting the success. I've sat in those rooms and listened to an opposition player say how much he dislikes the rooms, because of the cups and flags and the 'perceived' success. I told him his perception was stop on, it is success. Thats the culture the club will return to.......might take a couple of years, but..........:D

Imps did the junior developoment very, very well. But now other clubs have taken adopted the the same approach and some do it even better. Imps will fire up again but the opposition will be better.
There will be clubs that are richer and make up the shortfall in numbers and quality. Whether they can maintain this approach is questionable, it takes one off year, some bad choices and these clubs can falter.
Then there are the clubs with with heaps of juniors and cash they will be the front runners.

bateman definitely over rated where is he headed? richardson training with mildura, and zack kelly i hear to be going to merbein??!! but dont take on that 1 could be a silly rumor.... been pretty quite gents whats been happening out robinvake and wenty??? havent heard much else from them....

Both Bato and Zac Kelly are out at merbein.. both looking to be handy pick ups as both have put in a very solid pre season bateman nice and fit can only be a positive at the club have to wait and see

Imps did the junior developoment very, very well. But now other clubs have taken adopted the the same approach and some do it even better. Imps will fire up again but the opposition will be better.
There will be clubs that are richer and make up the shortfall in numbers and quality. Whether they can maintain this approach is questionable, it takes one off year, some bad choices and these clubs can falter.
Then there are the clubs with with heaps of juniors and cash they will be the front runners.

true, but if you look ar Robinvale, they havnt had much of a junior side for a while, but plenty of cash, surely clubs with the most amount of cash can chase and win any player they want??

And Mildura, winning the last 3 u18 grand finals, if they can hold onto all the young guns coming threw, they must be in with a good chance in years to come.

true, but if you look ar Robinvale, they havnt had much of a junior side for a while, but plenty of cash, surely clubs with the most amount of cash can chase and win any player they want??

And Mildura, winning the last 3 u18 grand finals, if they can hold onto all the young guns coming threw, they must be in with a good chance in years to come.
True but eventually the points system will catch up with them. I lot of their players live in Mildura and the travel will eventually be a problem. The coach wont live there (i know he is a teacher in Mildura but he could get a job in Robinvale easily ...if he wanted to)
Mildura have to have kids that want to stay in mildura, get an apprenticeship or go to latrobe uni here. retention is the problem as it has been with other sides.
Looking at the u17 and u18 premiers since 2000 the biggest non performers were red Cliffs winning back to bac in 2003-4 they should have a great side now. South have won 3 2000-6-7 they too should be doing better if good U18 sides make you a chance

True but eventually the points system will catch up with them. I lot of their players live in Mildura and the travel will eventually be a problem. The coach wont live there (i know he is a teacher in Mildura but he could get a job in Robinvale easily ...if he wanted to)
Mildura have to have kids that want to stay in mildura, get an apprenticeship or go to latrobe uni here. retention is the problem as it has been with other sides.
Looking at the u17 and u18 premiers since 2000 the biggest non performers were red Cliffs winning back to bac in 2003-4 they should have a great side now. South have won 3 2000-6-7 they too should be doing better if good U18 sides make you a chance

thats very true about the u/18's hillite. theres also the issue of other leagues offering dollars to young blokes both just out of u/18's and still eligible. i know this is happening with the millewa offers. you might find imps have/had the best father son type of arrangement in the comp also with a lot of their guys being tradies.

True, but if you look ar Robinvale, they havnt had much of a junior side for a while, but plenty of cash, surely clubs with the most amount of cash can chase and win any player they want??

You hit the nail on the head. If junior clubs can wotk close with their senior clubs, there can be better transition to the senior ranks. Mildura are in the prime position to reap the benefits of several years of a superior junior program (U/16 & U/18), if they can keep them all. Cadmore, Rowles, McWilliam, Sailor, Healy, Chirgwin, Williams, Bower, Christadoulou (Pioneers), it's probably the best list under the age of 18 you will probably see in a long time. Thats how you plan for, and ultimately create dynasties. If they can stay together, or come together in their early/mid twenties again at Mildura, that 2 - 3 year group will be awesome. Money is not everything, push for 2 - 4 years of dedication to the team and club and you will have something to speak about for years to come.......that's coming from an Imps supporter and overweight/40 something two's player.
GOOD FOOTY.....PLAYED BY ANYONE, IS GOOD TO WATCH. SUPPORT IT, AND THE REST OF THE LEAGUE WILL FOLLOW.

Saw Imps practice match tonight against Werrimal, good hitout, about 26 fronted for the game and all were up to it. Belted them in the end. Young fellas went well, Connor Lynch, Rhys Keating, Nick Mee, Dylan Darby (really young fella), Gabe Williams, Jono Hausler all played well.

I would'nt bet on Imps getting smashed all year like most hope.......Plenty of older 1's players did'nt play........ and the youth will fly under the radar.....:D

Here's a question....how do we retain the players and promote the SFNL?

I've played and seen 3 leagues (North and South) and found that the SFNL has probably the best grounds amongst the lot (anyone who's played or watched the Geelong Football League would have to agree).

The thing I can't get my head around is the split betweem the SFNL and the Junior league. I can understand the different charters but there needs to be better communication between the two. Imps had it right for a long time, Mildura seem to be getting good juniors through, Red Cliffs struggle for an unknown reason (kids moving on, 2 X Pearts going to school in Ballarat is an example)......the senior league is better than Div 3/4. Trevor Ryan has done a great job with the junior elite (possibly 5 U/18 Pioneers this year, 5 U/16's Pioneers), the football pedigree in the area. Get to the junior games, let the kids know that they're supported. Encourage the transition from SJFNL to the SFNL. I've seen young footballers that are there abouts in the SJFNL who stopped playing because they had no confidence that they would be accepted. These kids usually turn into the best clubmen because of the comaradirie and the people, whatever the clube may be.....

Merge the Millewa and SFNL, 2 divisions....there are enough footballers.......

FOOTBALL SUNRAYSIA

P.S....I know I'll cop it......but it's worth the discussion....

True, but if you look ar Robinvale, they havnt had much of a junior side for a while, but plenty of cash, surely clubs with the most amount of cash can chase and win any player they want??

You hit the nail on the head. If junior clubs can wotk close with their senior clubs, there can be better transition to the senior ranks. Mildura are in the prime position to reap the benefits of several years of a superior junior program (U/16 & U/18), if they can keep them all. Cadmore, Rowles, McWilliam, Sailor, Healy, Chirgwin, Williams, Bower, Christadoulou (Pioneers), it's probably the best list under the age of 18 you will probably see in a long time. Thats how you plan for, and ultimately create dynasties. If they can stay together, or come together in their early/mid twenties again at Mildura, that 2 - 3 year group will be awesome. Money is not everything, push for 2 - 4 years of dedication to the team and club and you will have something to speak about for years to come.......that's coming from an Imps supporter and overweight/40 something two's player.
GOOD FOOTY.....PLAYED BY ANYONE, IS GOOD TO WATCH. SUPPORT IT, AND THE REST OF THE LEAGUE WILL FOLLOW.

Thats it, alot of kids see these days that out in the Millewa not a very strong league, So they think ill get a easy kick out there, wont have to train much, the layed back approach you could say. And they Juts play for the money not the passion

Thats a big call seasons past you could of said that but little different this year blokes earning there spots good numbers on the track probably shouldn't judge until we play a few

Saw Imps practice match tonight against Werrimal, good hitout, about 26 fronted for the game and all were up to it. Belted them in the end. Young fellas went well, Connor Lynch, Rhys Keating, Nick Mee, Dylan Darby (really young fella), Gabe Williams, Jono Hausler all played well.

I would'nt bet on Imps getting smashed all year like most hope.......Plenty of older 1's players did'nt play........ and the youth will fly under the radar.....:D
I am not sure how you could take much from that game, 16 a side, undersized oval and playing a Millewa team with 5 of their starting 18 not playing plus many that haven't exactly had huge pre seasons.

The imps kids looked very fit i'll pay that although a lot didn't use it to their advantage as they didn't seem to no where to run. Personally i felt the better Imps players were the more experienced in Kelly, Ridley, Doherty, Carr, Gribble & Clohesy.

What recruits did imps have playing and how did they go eg coach, who played in the ruck and on ball with hards x2 gone and Atkinson not playing ect ect ???????

Thats it, alot of kids see these days that out in the Millewa not a very strong league, So they think ill get a easy kick out there, wont have to train much, the layed back approach you could say. And they Juts play for the money not the passion

The thing that annoys me is that there are kids going out to the millewa that are still eligible for under 18s because they have been offered money I think it's time that these millewa clubs had a long hard look at who they recruit as I don,t. Think this benefits anyone offering 17 year olds $$ two clubs that I know of are guilty this year

which millewa clubs are you referring to?

In most instances you will find that players who head out to the bush to have a kick do so as it is a bit more laidback eg not as stringent in training 2-3 times a week, and youll find that a lot of blokes have young families, which makes it hard to commit to SFL.

Also the fact that it is a solo team per club benefits some people as they arent mixing between the seniors and ressies cultures. In my experience I have found that most SFL clubs only care about the 'Ones' players and especially the 'Ones recruits from outa town'.

Millewa clubs may use $ as a bargaining tool (mainly to sway the recruit away from their SFL club) but hopefully it is at a relevant market value. And yes I do agree with you that this shouldnt be the tactic to woo younger players, unless they fall under the two points above.

In closing, aside from the clubs that are using $ to attract young players, if the SFL looked after their players across the 3 grades, we probably wouldnt be having this arguement.

Look forward to your response

hammo - meringur

How did all the practice matches go on the weekend for all the clubs that had them!!!Any standouts, any kids that look the goods and what are the predictions for the year?

Cardross and Gol Gol,(there may be others??) both kids are under 18s as i said so they dont have a young family your 2nd point re clubs only caring about "ones" one of the boys has already played ones and I'm sure the other would be in seniors this year if he stays at his SFL club.
finally what is relevent market value for a 17 year old????

I dont have any figures but it would be interesting to se which clubs (if any) lose the most players to the Millewa.Is it the less successful or the ones prone to spend up big on a regular basis.

By the looks of the clearences, it seems to be Red Cliffs and Merbein and if i recall its been the same way for a few years now.
So to answer your question i guess its the less successful teams.

Re: Mallee FL - Season 2011
ouyen had a praccy against mildura on saturday and got up over 6 quarters by a goal or 2.

If Mildura can't beat Ouyen then they are going to be in for a long year.
The final four is already set with Robinvale, Irymple, South and Wenty, they will be 10 goals better and more than the bottom 4 this year

What recruits did imps have playing and how did they go eg coach, who played in the ruck and on ball with hards x2 gone and Atkinson not playing ect ect ???????

Young Reece McNally might have to step up to ruck and Clohesy and Doherty are good subs for the Hards boys

3inarow
the mildura players ive spoken to said it was a solid hit out over the course of the day with a lot of young players making their mark for spot in the team, did hear young sloarch done his ankle?? any word?? also if it matters the guys said mildura were up by 4 goals after the 4 quarters and the last 2 were mainly the young kids who didnt much game time surly doesnt mean much and it was only there only second hit out... wouldnt seal the top 4 season hasnt started yet :)