Should alcohol be banned from games?

AussiFootballFan

Jan 11, 2010
aussie
hey guys, I went to a few games last year and there were so many abusive people full up on the alcohol.

does anyone else think it should be banned at games to prevent this kind of behavior from bogans?

Maybe give it to the umpires... In b grade anyways they can't get much worse... Maybe having a drink may improve their judgement it certainly cannot hinder them...

This also may keep the natives from being restless as well as attract more to the umpiring ranks...
Oh... I am just being silly now..!!
Aussifootballfan... You certainly do ask the questions...? Are you Carro..?
:)

hey guys, I went to a few games last year and there were so many abusive people full up on the alcohol.

does anyone else think it should be banned at games to prevent this kind of behavior from bogans?

you serious? please stop what your doing. it makes me not want to log onto big footy when im bored at work!

Def not, the majority should not be punished because of the actions of the minority.

Going to watch local footy and having a few beers with your mates creates a valuable social service to many men (and some women) It is part of the culture of local footy and should be kept at all cost.

I don't have facts but if i was to take my guess any trouble that was a result of alcohol I would reckon would not be people that buy a few cans in the social rooms, but more people who are bringing in there own cans thus making it impossible for clubs to police. If you banned alcohol this would not change. There is also no real proof that alcohol played any part in any off field incidents.

Remove alcohol sales and a major part of a clubs revenue is lost. Clubs in the EDFL rely heavily on this source of income to be able to put together competitive sides. As you know we are competing with other leagues for quality players and some of these leagues have income streams generated from Pokies. It is hard to compete as it is - remove alcohol sales and we risk becoming a 5th rate competition.
I do agree that clubs need to take a more active role in eliminating intoxication at games. Bar staff need to be more proactive in the responsible serving of alcohol and the decision to disallow alcohol sales at junior games until after 4:30 pm is a good one.

Banning the sale of alcohol at Senior games will not stop the issues that occur.

From my own observations the trouble during game times usually results from the bogans that take their own esky in the back of a ute which is usually full of mixed drinks not beer.

Ban the taking of alcohol into grounds may help.

1 option would be to reduce all alcohol sales to beer only and make it light beer only.

This would be an issue for the ladies who would like something different. Need to come up with something there.

Yes the beer drinkers are going to complain about the light beer but after all it's just a social drink at the footy isn't it?
So alcohol strength shouldn't be an issue. A compromise that would benefit all. And I'm sure some of the kids and wives would be happy to see dad come home and actually be able to hold a conversation on a Saturday night for a change.

Should alcohol be banned from games?